Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Women or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Women's Handknit Cashmere Aran Sweater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lands' End.

Women's Handknit Cashmere Aran Sweater

Design: A beautiful mix of hand-knit cable patterns and intricate pointelle details in a modern update to the traditional fisherman's sweaters of the Aran Isles. Individually hand-knit with the finest Grade A Inner Mongolia cashmere for unmatched softness and designed in a slightly longer silhouette, it's our most luxe sweater you'll never want to take off. Possibilities: A sweater with spectacular highs and lows — amp it up with a sparkly mini skirt, or take it down a notch with denim. Material: 100% cashmere. Dry clean or hand wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 boats
12
4 boats
2
3 boats
0
2 boats
1
1 boat
2
14 out of 17(82%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Women's Handknit Cashmere Aran Sweater
Review 1 for Women's Handknit Cashmere Aran Sweater
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Husband tired of seeing this sweater...

DateFebruary 10, 2012
by northwestdoc
from seattle, wa
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
...because i wear it all the time. Yes, the pointelle pattern along the sides is more of an open weave--but not too large to me--i like it so i won't get too hot under all this cashmere. I am size 4-6 at Canvas and got a small; not to long in the arms (looks bigger on model). This is wonderful, cozy, thick cashmere. Very happy with my purchase!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Handknit Cashmere Aran Sweater
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed...even after buying it on sale!

DateJanuary 31, 2012
by Seattle
from Seattle
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
The picture and the actual sweater are just beautiful. I so wanted this sweater to work. The sleeves are too short. The holes stretch out way too much and make it look like a cheap acrylic sweater. The waist and stomach area stretch out terribly. I look like I gained 10 pounds.
So bummed!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Handknit Cashmere Aran Sweater
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love this sweater

DateJanuary 22, 2012
by therese38
from califon
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Beautiful cashmere sweater. Not oversized as shown in picture but I am happy with the fit. Great with skinny jeans, can be belted. Highly recommend it at sale price
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Handknit Cashmere Aran Sweater
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful hand knit sweater to be loved for years

DateJanuary 22, 2012
by Lcecile
from Ohio
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
After searching for a fishermen's sweater, I was happy to find that Lands End had one . I was lucky to purchase This on sale as it is a bit pricey. I am able to wear the sweater with only a tank , as the cashmere is soft and not itchy at all. Looks great with leggings and boots. Loved it so much that I purchased the Khaki one as well. I am 5'5 and 130 lbs. And I am happy with the way the small fits me. A real must have!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Handknit Cashmere Aran Sweater
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Luxurious!

DateJanuary 21, 2012
by MarM
from New York
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
This sweater is defintely worth the price. It's a substantial, hefty knit but very soft and lightweight. The fit is generous, which makes it flow nicely over slim jeans. Overall, very luxurious. One caution - the knit leaves big peek-a-boo openings in the sleeves and sides. Highly recommend a tank or turtle underneath.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Handknit Cashmere Aran Sweater
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soft and beautiful

DateJanuary 21, 2012
by ColdinOR
from Portland OR
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Great material, soft and comfortable. I order in the ivory color, looks great with jeans or black pants!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Handknit Cashmere Aran Sweater
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Missing cashmere!

DateJanuary 17, 2012
by js3
from ohio
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Very Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I found the holes too numerous and unflatttering, not to mention they detract from the warmth and luxuriousness a cashmere sweater should have.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Handknit Cashmere Aran Sweater
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Sweater!

DateJanuary 8, 2012
by Gizmosmom
from Brockton, MA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I had been looking at this sweater and it went on sale so I purchased it. I can't believe the beautiful sweater that it is. The softest, and coziest and it is the best quality cashmere I have seen anywhere. The fit is TTS too! Thank you LE for this lovely gem!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Handknit Cashmere Aran Sweater
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Could wear it all day every day

DateJanuary 7, 2012
by jagqc
from Montreal
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Couldn’t do the original price (especially with shipping/duties)but the minute it went on sale, I got the taupe version of this beautiful sweater. The S is perfect (I’m 5-5, 128 lbs or so), nice cozy length over skinny pants/leggings, perfect sleeve length, nice shaped crew neck and solid cables down the front & back. Other reviewers objected to the looser stitch down the sides and sleeves (sure, you can see through it, but I wear it with tissue T or T-neck) but I think it looks great and probably reduces any bulk. The shape is not too slim, not boxy either - dress it up or down. And so soft, feels like getting hugged all day long.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Handknit Cashmere Aran Sweater
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

beautiful, on trend sweater

DateDecember 29, 2011
by Pati
from East Lansing, MI
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I received this sweater for Christmas. It IS airy but I wear it with a silk undershirt. The sweater is VERY soft and the knit is lovely. Highly recommend
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Handknit Cashmere Aran Sweater
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this sweater

DateDecember 21, 2011
by Groupthink7
from Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I had my eye on this sweater for a long time. I had ordered a sweater by N.Peal Cashmere and it was not nearly as nice as this sweater. Very good quality and it is handknitted; not machine made. A must have.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Handknit Cashmere Aran Sweater
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful!!!!

DateDecember 20, 2011
by extrasupporter
from rural BC
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
After looking at it for weeks, I treated myself to this sweater when it went on sale for just a moment. All I can say is if you have to buy one sweater for the rest of your life, this could be the one. It is beautiful in look, feel and comfort. Wearing it today with leggings and boots. Love, love, love it!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Handknit Cashmere Aran Sweater
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely scrumptious!

DateDecember 15, 2011
by ClothesGardenTool
from San Francisco
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This sweater is absolutely wonderful. I purchased the khaki color, which I would describe as "mmmm...cafe au lait", and it is warm, soft, cozy and slightly fuzzy in a wonderful cashmere-y kind of way. Comfortable and easy-to-wear, it looks great with leggings or jeggings and knee-high boots!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Handknit Cashmere Aran Sweater
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

the knit pattern mostly open, not cable knit

DateDecember 15, 2011
by totallydisappointed
from florida
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
I was so excited about this sweater so much so that I ordered 4 for my self and Christmas gifts. But to my GREAT DISAPPOINTMENT I was so let down when it finally arrived. The yarn is great, its the knit pattern, it is represented as a cable hand knit but more of it is an open knit with large open holes, yes you can see this in the photo, but the photo does not show how much of this is open knit, over half of the sweater maybe even 2/3 plus all of the sleeve except for a cable detail on the top of sleeve. In the photo it does not appear to be worn with a long sleeve top underneath I live in florida and would not be able to wear this with out a long sleeve underneath. So the next time you attempt to produce a hand knit aran cable knit sweater especially in a glorious cashmere yarn please do a little more research on design and do it right. This could have been amazing and for the price you fell quite short in the finished product.
+9points
16of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Handknit Cashmere Aran Sweater
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and beautiful

DateDecember 14, 2011
by Jeanne
from New York, NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I received this sweater in the mail yesterday and I couldn't wait to put it on. It's so soft, warm and cozy! It's even nicer than I expected.
I'm keeping the dark khaki, but I ordered both colors so I could better evaluate them in real life. The dark khaki color has more depth and that sweater seems to fit me slightly better. Being hand made, there will be slight variations between the work of different knitters, which I expected. I also own the LEC lambswool Aran crew neck sweater in ivory, which is a similar color and style to the oyster color Aran cashmere sweater.
Be aware that the bulky, slightly oversized tunic length tends to make a person look larger and lumpier. I found that pairing the sweater with leggings, pencil skirt or higher waist slim pants is most flattering as the slim bottom helps to balance the oversized top.
I'm very happy with this sweater and I'm sure I will wear it for many years.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Handknit Cashmere Aran Sweater
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

When I saw this in the catalog, I had to look it up. It is beautiful and feminine.

DateNovember 29, 2011
by TLLT
from Newberry, FL
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I hope a more inexpensive version of this can be offered, as well, in cotton or a synthetic, even though nothing is as nice as having one in this soft wool. I love its color, its feminity, and its long length. I also love the fact that it comes in XS and XXS sizes. What a sweater!
-7points
11of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Handknit Cashmere Aran Sweater
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soooo Soft!

DateNovember 10, 2011
by EmilyLovedThis
from Washington, DC
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
Saw this at the local Land's End Canvas store and I have to say I'm impressed about the product. The knit is so nicely done and the fabric is just so soft. It's amazingly light enough and a little boxy but that's the way I like most of my clothes so it was not a problem at all.
I would recommend this to anyone but the price is a bit much. $350? I'll wait on it but it's really the perfect sweater!!!!
+10points
25of 40voted this as helpful.