Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Men or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Men's Vintage Slim Fit Chino

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lands' End.

Men's Vintage Slim Fit Chino

Design: Low-rise attitude — slim leg that looks and feels modern from top to bottom. Made with a much denser cotton twill you can hear every step of the way. Finished with a Hollywood waistband that won't grip your hips so it sits naturally lower. Possibilities: Works with everything from tees to polos to Oxfords or cardigans. Keeping them casual is key and a roll or two of the cuffs is good form. Material: 100% cotton twill. Machine wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.222 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 boats
4
4 boats
5
3 boats
1
2 boats
7
1 boat
1
9 out of 18(50%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Men's Vintage Slim Fit Chino
Review 1 for Men's Vintage Slim Fit Chino
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor material!

DateAugust 1, 2012
by Roadie
from Atlanta, GA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I usually love my items from LEC but these pants are all wrong. The material is heavy and does not wash up well. Very splotchy and after two washes had holes. Also they have a very unactractive cut to them.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Vintage Slim Fit Chino
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good pants, slim for US, regular straight elsewhere

DateJuly 14, 2012
by CCSS
from Australia
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
Fabric good. No problem with washing and drying as stated in another review. More a regular straight leg on loose side at hip than slim if you are used to European or UK descriptors, but these are neat and tidy enough.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Vintage Slim Fit Chino
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fit was way off! BE warned

DateJuly 13, 2012
by Benny33
Age: 19-24
Gender: Male
Fit
Fits Very Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I'm a 32 waist. Bought the cousin of these (slim fit cargo pants) and those fit perfectly. Bought these in size 32 and it was easily 2 sizes too big. Maybe they missized my pair but I ordered a 32 and they were really like a 34 or 35
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Vintage Slim Fit Chino
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fits Good But Ruined In The Wash

DateJune 22, 2012
by KAS
from St. Paul, MN
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
I was excited when I got these pants. They fit perfectly and looked great. I then washed the one blue and one green pair I ordered online. After the wash I hung dried them but the marbling creases appeared all over them as noted in other reviews listed here.
So disappointed. I've ordered a number of things from Lands End and they always are exactly as I had expected but these ones were a lemon. If I knew the dye problems were addressed I would order this fit again.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Vintage Slim Fit Chino
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

People rely on the numbers...

DateJune 15, 2012
by TonyM
from Miami, FL
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
When you're 6'5" and know that a 34" inseam is the sweet spot, it's important that you get every one of those thirty-four inches. The two brand-new pairs I ordered measured out to about 33", so they had to go back at my expense. (Tried to exchange, but they were out of stock on the substitute item.)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Vintage Slim Fit Chino
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Get it an inch smaller in the waist...

DateJune 11, 2012
by Jnw07b
from Fort Worth, TX
Age: 19-24
Gender: Male
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
than what you normally wear, I read a review saying to do so and it was an excellent decision. They fit wonderfully and look great. This has probably already been mentioned but these guys are THICK in comparison to other chinos I own. Can't comment on the fading upon being washed a few times, but so far I have worn them a few times and love them.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Vintage Slim Fit Chino
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit!

DateJune 10, 2012
by ljasdjlasfjlafljk
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
6'3", 205lbs - These fit absolutely perfect. They're not so slim that they are restricting, but they fit nicely in the legs and stack well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Vintage Slim Fit Chino
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

While fabric was good, the design changes led me to return pants.

DateJune 9, 2012
by DaleK
from Southern California
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
The fabric was "vintage" and what I like, but the design changes to the front pockets made it easy for stuff to fall out or drop out if you ever lay down. Previous design of front pockets had them deeper and on the side seam. These front pockets were relatively shallow and cut off the seam resulting in having to be careful not to lose keys and other stuff if wearing them while doing anything active or even laying down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Vintage Slim Fit Chino
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good all-rounder

DateJune 9, 2012
by PhilipH
from Sydney
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I'm an older guy (50)who is still trim. These are definitely more youthful in that they sit more on the hips than I like, but they aren't exaggeratedly low cut. For a slim fit, they are not Too fitted: they taper below the knee and are trim through the thigh. The material feels funny before the first wash, more like cardboard than cotton, but they quickly soften up. The color is good.
I like to wear khakis with a blazer (TNSIL). These are more casual than that and are best worn with a polo, an ocbd, or a sweater.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Vintage Slim Fit Chino
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Really Lands End?

DateMay 29, 2012
by ScottinMA
from Worcester, MA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Male
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
Great color and fabric but the most ridiculous pant ever from Lands End. These are not "slim", they are "skinny". The waist and upper leg fit fine but they are so narrow at the ankle they look absolutely silly when you put them on. And if you wear socks, put them on before the pants because you won't be able to do it after. These were a great deal but there are too many other options out there with an actual slim leg.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Vintage Slim Fit Chino
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Loved them until I washed them

DateApril 2, 2012
by RussB
from Fort Worth, TX
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Photos for this Review
User submitted photo
Out of the package I loved these pants. The fit was exactly what I wanted (trim but not tight), and LEC fixed the problem of the pockets pulling open on the previous slim fit chinos. However, when I took them out of the dryer there were horrible creases in the fabric that I couldn't get rid of after serious ironing. There were also weird, light white streaks in the fabric (I call it "marbling") that you can see when you look closely. I bought two pair (blue and tan) and they both did the same thing, so it must be the nature of the harsher canvas-y fabric. I wish they had kept the same soft fabric as the old slim chinos with the improved fit of these. I haven't given up, though - I'm hoping they get softer and the problems subside with more washing and wearing.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Vintage Slim Fit Chino
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice medium weight chinos

DateMarch 17, 2012
by odds
from LA, CA
Age: 19-24
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
These are great. I got them in the mail a few weeks ago and have been wearing them at least a few times a week. The quality is great, especially for the very reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Vintage Slim Fit Chino
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit and quality

DateMarch 17, 2012
by EOH
from Newton, MA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
These pants are great. The fit is loose and comfortable, while still being modern. They have just a small amount of break, and the ankle is slightly tapered. The fabric is thick and durable, almost approaching stiff but very smooth and comfortable. The waistband is really just a continuation of the leg fabric, so there is no pouchy ballooning at the butt and the pockets sit nice and flat.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Vintage Slim Fit Chino
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Others say they fit big, I say they fit small.

DateMarch 15, 2012
by Sweetback
from LA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
Ordered one waist size smaller, per other reviews. Apparently, all of them have no backside, cuz my pants came in and they were SO tight. I'm gonna be honest, I got some trunk, so I'm not angry (other than having to return two pairs that I had bought for 50% off. Now I can't by them at the same price.) But when they go back on sale, hopefully soon, I will snag a couple pairs in the proper size. Great looking/feeling pant!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Vintage Slim Fit Chino
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Buy these pants if you never want to wash them.

DateMarch 12, 2012
by Claws
from Burke, VA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
First off these pants fit great. Not as low as I thought they would be. Then there is the matter of color. I am on my second set of two that I purchased online. The first from a local Sears. After the first wash done according to label settings the pants came out spotted and very discolored. Took them back and ordered another pair online. Thinking it might just be a bad run. Washed these yesterday for the frist time. Same thing. If you like these pants plan on buying some RIT dye.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Vintage Slim Fit Chino
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice fabric and colour, fit a little bit on the big side though.

DateNovember 27, 2011
by Stabilized
from Edinburgh, UK
Age: 19-24
Gender: Male
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
First off, I have to say I really like the colour and the fabric from which these chinos are constructed. The fabric is thick and quite stiff to begin with but after you break it in, is very comfortable. The colour is a dark green, almost gray, and is really quite versatile.
I also enjoy the button for each of the back pockets and also how the pockets are really quite deep. I would maybe prefer a thicker pocket lining material but that's just nit picking.
The fit of the chinos is, on the whole, very good, but I have a couple of complaints. First of all, I ordered a size 30, I am a 31 in J Crew and most other chinos styles but can size down quite comfortably, and the waist is very large; I need to wear a belt all the time or else they would fall down. The other complaint with the fit is the rise. I know these are meant to be a more trendy cut but why this fixation with wearing chinos around your rear end? A couple more inches in the rise would be much appreciated!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Vintage Slim Fit Chino
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WHAT AWESOME TROUSERS

DateOctober 26, 2011
by Engineer
from Chitown
Age: 35-44
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
These are the most perfect fit trousers I have come across in long time (not too slim, not a straight fit either).
The fabric is high-quality (beats j-crew). The green color by far is the best of 3.
Negative:
The khaki color is no way close to what is in the pictures. But still, its quality is nice.
Bottom Line: These are everyday casual-rugged chinos. I plan to have at least one of each color. Sears have them for 40% off.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Vintage Slim Fit Chino
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

nearly one waist size larger than sized, don't wash well

DateOctober 15, 2011
by arkaboogie
from fort smith, arkansas
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Fit
Fits Very Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
received a pair of 33/32 in expedition green. love the color and heavier weight of the fabric, exactly what i was looking for there. however, they're cut much larger than the refined and regular slim fit chinos, which overall fit very well. also the vintage chinos don't wash well - will require serious ironing for anything close to a neat appearance, and i'm concerned that the fabric will get shiny spots when ironed. i've returned them and reordered a pair of 32/32 in blue. if i learn anything useful on them, i'll pass it on here.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.