Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Outerwear or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Women's Ultralight Anorak

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lands' End.

Women's Ultralight Anorak

Design: FYI, a great anorak is pretty hard to find these days. For those who might not be sure what an "anorak" is, it's a jacket or parka with only a half-zip, so you put in on pullover-style. The advantage of our design is a little more weatherproofing (no zipper to leak) and slightly lighter weight (again, no metal zipper). Ours is ultralight and packable, so you can have an adventure anywhere. Possibilities: Casual chic layer for between seasons. Cool over jeans or a bikini. Material : 100% nylon. Machine wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 boats
15
4 boats
4
3 boats
1
2 boats
0
1 boat
2
20 out of 22(91%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Review 1 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Liked it, good value

DateApril 17, 2011
by BeachGrammy
from Easton, PA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I ordered this when it was on sale - I have to say that I would definitely buy it again, but at the sale price. I got the white, and as described in other reviews, the fabric is very light, almost see-through, but the point is to wear a shirt or sweater under it. I got it for the beach, for over a long-sleeve T-shirt with jeans - to wear when walking on windy days, or out boating. It definitely protects from wind, and water. It's perfect for activities where you want a layer to stay a little warmer and drier. I wear XL - I would say runs true to size, because I could even fit a heavy sweatshirt under it. I wish they had it in red. Great deal - go for it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for out door activities

DateApril 16, 2011
by MEM
from Phillipsburg, N.J.
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I purchased this item for outdoor sporting events which my granddaughters participate in. They play in both beautiful and nasty weather conditions. The Anorak is both versatile and easy to carry along with you. I love the style, the color and most of all the fabric. It has pockets to keep you hands free while cheering at a sports event and a hood if it rains. It is roomy enough for layering. Everything I expected and more. Love it!!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

so so

DateApril 16, 2011
by Elizabeth1203
from Chicago, IL
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
On the model this anorak looks much less see through than it actually is. I ordered the white and it was very thin, like tissue. I wanted something a little thicker, but I think this would be perfect for summer if that is what you are looking for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't Be Deceived!

DateApril 4, 2011
by Anonymous
from Western Massachusetts
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
As some people said, the material is surprisingly thin, but I found it to still be ultra waterproof. It was about 50 degrees and raining (at some points pouring) today. I wore a somewhat heavy sweatshirt underneath and was kept completely dry! The water beaded and rolled off, and once indoors it also dried very quickly. I didn't even think it would work that well. I ordered the same size I do for almost all my clothes and while I am able to layer things underneath, I don't find it to be too big without the layers, meaning that it will be versatile throughout spring, summer and fall. The sleeves and torso length are good too. I ordered it in green and it is a bit more neon than the picture portrays, but I like it that way. I am incredibly happy with this purchase and at the sale price, this item is more than worth it!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the Lime!

DateApril 3, 2011
by Deani
from Overland Park, KS
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Color is great...I wear a LOT of green, and this is perfect for me. It is waterproof and windproof and became much softer after washing. I like that the neck opening is large enough to be able to pull it off over your head without ruining your hair style. It is transparent, so I recommend wearing a solid color tee underneath for the best look. The only thing I wish were different is that the lower pockets are see-thru. Not good if you carry something you don't want everyone to see (like your camera, wallet, etc.). Otherwise, a great anorak.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesomeness! Make more :)

DateApril 2, 2011
by Rosa
from Texas
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought three since i'm between sizes small and medium. I'm wear between size 6-8. The "Green" small is more fitted on me since i'm on the curvy side but it looks great over my swimsuit. The "Navy" medium fits great with ample room for my t-shirt and tanks. I've already used it several times for walking/jogging. The Rip-Stop fabric is translucent and thin but it's amazingly TOUGH AND STURDY. It's breathable and perfect for Spring, Summer. Since it was on sale I also bought the large in "White" and it's a bit big on me but my hubby is on the slim side (S-M) and he loved it so we kept all three. I've priced them elsewhere for twice as much ($89+). Thank you Lands' End!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

must have

DateApril 2, 2011
by FF
from Philly, PA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This piece of raincoat is extremely light weight yet of great quality, water proof and breathable. it runs true to size, and it will definitely be a must in my bag for this coming summer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Ultra-Lightweight and Compressible Shell

DateMarch 30, 2011
by Deedada
from Iowa
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
This anorak is simply awesome. I ordered it and a Lands End packable rain jacket in anticipation of studying abroad and traveling for three months this summer with only a backpack and small carry-on for luggage, so space and weight are at a serious premium in my preparations. The material of this anorak is very thin, but it's also very strong and lightweight ripstop nylon. If you're looking for a substantial layer, this is not the item for you. If you need a featherweight shell, buy this now.
Compared to the LE packable rain jacket, this anorak is about half the weight and compresses to at least a fourth of the size. Using it's pocket/storage pouch, it's about six by six inches and roughly two and a half inches high. That's probably small enough to satisfy most people, but it can be compressed further: I fit it into a small stuff sack about the size of a large apple without difficulty.
I plan to use this for rain, so I experimented and put my arm under the shower while wearing the anorak to test its effectiveness. I was amazed. The water beaded up, and even after a minute of constant indirect water spray, my arm stayed dry. I went further and put my arm directly under the shower, and the material still did not get soaked through. The fabric is not obviously coated, but it's definitely treated. I'd really like to know what kind of water repellant treatment the manufactures used, so I can look out for it in the future. I hope it is as durable as it is effective.
I realize I'm probably not the typical consumer for this product, but I hope my review helped. I've bought Lands End clothes off and on for the last 18 years, and the quality has always been exceptional. Sizing-wise, I usually take a medium in Canvas tee shirts, but I'm glad it wasn't available in navy because the large I ordered fits perfectly with room for a few layers underneath. Good luck finding what you're looking for and happy shopping!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it more everyday!

DateMarch 23, 2011
by Bea
from Portland, OR
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I debated about ordering one of these for a couple of months before I broke down and ordered two in navy and white. I'm so glad I did! Yes, they are super thin and lightweight, like tissue paper, but they have proven themselves to be tougher than they look and very useful. It's just a great jacket-alternative when you don't want to add bulk. And it does repel water pretty well, as I discovered in a freak downpour. I bought these in L, my usual size, and I can wear a tank top and long-sleeved tee underneath without them being snug. If you want to wear a heavier layer underneath, you will want to size up. These are great for spring and summer. I'm wearing the navy one so much, I'm thinking about getting another one just to keep in the car.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect waterproof, lightweight layer!

DateMarch 23, 2011
by lovetheclassics
from North Carolina
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I purchased one in navy for me and another in green for my 11 year old daughter. I am surprised there were any complaints about this product. What's great is that the jacket does fit a bit looser, which is great for layering while keeping you dry if it is damp outside.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Tissue paper thin and completely see-through

DateMarch 18, 2011
by Julie881
from Washington, DC
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
When I opened this jacket, I could not believe nine of the reviewers before me were happy with it. I actually thought the jacket was wrapped in white tissue paper until I discovered that it was the actual jacket. I can't see how this could be water-proof or wind-proof in the least. I was so very happy with everything else I purchased, but will certainly be returning this!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great lightweight waterproof jacket

DateFebruary 19, 2011
by Californiachica
from Menlo Park, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I got this anorak to exercise in the rain & I really like it. It is 100% waterproof & has holes near the armpits so it's breathable. I got a Small because I wanted ample length all over for rain protection. The hood also offers good protection. The only suggestion I would make to LE would be to make it a tad longer so that it covers more of your behind in the rain (though I know this might change the "look"). Overall, a great value. It is super-lightweight & packable, which is awesome.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new favorite. And ten boats for customer service!

DateFebruary 10, 2011
by cle
from Orange County, CA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This ultralight jacket has become a permanent gear in my hiking/traveling pack. I normally wear size 4-6 and size Small fits me comfortably with room for a fleece underneath if I decide to layer.
On a side note, I can't say enough about LE and LE Canvas customer services. Being the first time customer, I was a bit overwhelmed with the level of their supports. The phone didn't have to ring twice and I already got a really pleasant voice in the other end offering to help. And they did just that. I ended up ordering many more jackets for myself, family & friends. Everyone was happy with such quality products I helped orders. And I let them know that apart from winter end promotions, it's the customer service people that impressed me so much that I wanted to give them more business. So thank you for such great service! It's good to know that there are still companies out there that do care for their customers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket. Medium and fits just right.

DateJanuary 4, 2011
by Danielle
from Chicago, IL
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Photos for this Review
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This jacket is exactly what I was expecting and will be perfect for wearing over a sweater in the Fall or during the Spring and later Summer nights. Very lightweight to be able to carry around anywhere. The navy color does not appear to be as see through as the white has been described to be. I read the other reviews and saw that this jacket runs a little snug if you order your normal size so I went up one and it fits perfectly! I would definitely recommend this jacket to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice rain jacket --- Might need to size up for sleeves, though

DateNovember 13, 2010
by elby
from SC
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
DIMENSIONS (XS)
Shoulder seam to shoulder seam: 16"
Shoulder seam to cuff: 23.5"
Back of collar to hem: 23"
Width of hem (lying flat): 20.75"
REVIEW
As other reviewers have mentioned, the fabric is very thin. This is a plus for me, though, because I'm planning on moving to a much warmer (and wetter!) climate. As you put it on, you might think the storm has moved indoors since the fabric is a bit noisy. :)
The fit is more snug than I anticipated. I expected to have to sinch up the drawstring at the hem to make it blousy just above the hip like it is in the photos, but if you leave it alone, it will look more like a loose shirt. The sleeves are a good length with anything but a long sleeve shirt underneath. The fabric, since it is thin and slippery, tends to "ride up" on t-shirts, leaving the cuff hanging out . . . I suppose if you plan on using this mostly in the summer it won't be a problem.
My only real complaint with the jacket is the drawstring fasteners. Usually, with this type of garment, the fastener is plastic and tends to make the nylon and rubber cord wear out too quickly --- and is pretty hard, to boot. I suppose in an effort to avoid this, LEC used a soft, neoprene circle with two holes in it for the cord. This doesn't seem durable to me, and is the weak point of the jacket since it doesn't hold the cord very well at the hem. For the hood, it seems fine as there's little tension there as I wear it.
The pockets are really nice! There is the pouch with a flap over it which covers the whole ab area, and the zippered pockets each cover half of the pouch. So, if you really want to --- and you order a size up --- you could stash quite a lot in there . . . Of course, by then it would cease to be flattering. ;)
Overall, there are a couple things I would change (longer sleeves, better fasteners), but it's a very nice and practical rain jacket. I anticipate using it frequently.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lovely for that extra layer on a brisk day

DateOctober 30, 2010
by Teesh
from Qns, NY
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
bought this in the blue, fits just right, with enough space for light-layering beneath. Practical but stylish little accessory!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lightweight and roomy

DateOctober 18, 2010
by nanakathi
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
This is the perfect fall jacket to throw on when you need protected from the wind or rain. Cute fit will go with tights and boots if necessary. Durable ripstop fabric is always a favorite with my family.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's a Keeper!

DateOctober 14, 2010
by katd
from NJ
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I ordered this in the apple green and yes it's thin but it supposed to be. I brought this for the late spring and summer months. It's great for early morning bike rides on the beach and it's waterproof. That's exactly what I was looking for. My boyfriend loved it!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

DateOctober 5, 2010
by Irene
from California
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Never had an Anorak before and didnt' know what I was missing. It is super lightweight and so easy to put on and off. I wear my Lands End Cashmere sweater or just a light top under and get the warmth and then the waterproof layer (this Anorak)without the bulk. Beats having to wear a heavy parka too. ANd it is very comfortable and versatile. I got the True Navy and love it. I think that a person who may be disatisfied with this has to do with lack of knowledge about why this items is so light. I truly find it one of the most versatile pieces. Its like an instant waterproof layer on top of your stylish clothes and it keeps your look 'chic'.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lightweight, packable wind and rain protection

DateSeptember 30, 2010
by Marie
from Midwest
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
What I like best about this jacket is that it is a super lightweight, yet strong, windbreaker material that I can pack in my purse in the case of warm weather downpours. It also works as wind protection over a sweater or fleece in the fall. It's a great travel jacket. I like that it is machine washable, too.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WONDERFUL ULTRALIGHT!!!

DateSeptember 25, 2010
by miaoux
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
LOVE! Yes, it's light and the fabric is whisper-weight - even a little translucent. I own a similar shell made by a high-end sporting company, so unlike a previous reviewer, I knew what I was ordering. I LOVE it!!! It's featherweight and comfortable for warm weather athletics, or just for wearing around. If you like high-tech lightweight clothes that breathe, don't hesitate! The fit is slightly loose.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Women's Ultralight Anorak
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible quality. Tissue paper thin. Returned without trying it on.

DateSeptember 21, 2010
by Barbara26455
from Boston MA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Very Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
After being so delighted with all of the items I have recently purchased from Land's End, I was genuinely shocked that this item came from you. It is such poor quality I never even bothered to try it on. So thin and flimsy it was unbelievable to me you would have it in your collection with the Land's End name on it. I wouldn't take it if you gave it to me.
-31points
0of 31voted this as helpful.