Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Jackets Parkas & Coats or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lands' End.

Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka

Looking for our warmest protection? Expedition Parka is it. For exceptional warming power, the parka is insulated with 600 fill down, ounce for ounce the best insulator out there. Plus, the windproof nylon shell with DriOff™ finish has taped critical seams and is fully waterproof. Innovative features make it an incredible value: Grow-A-Long™ arms easily extend for growing kids; SnowGuard wrist cuffs lock out the elements; an interior Stowaway Pocket is great for stashing mittens and a hat; the EZ-Zip Tab helps them zip-up themselves; and a hand warmer sheath in each front pocket secures a hand warmer (sold separately). Other features include: an attached hood, rip-grip adjustable cuffs to cinch out cold and snow. Faux fur hood ruff is removable (dry clean only). 100% nylon shell. 100% nylon lining. Machine wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 boats
17
4 boats
8
3 boats
1
2 boats
2
1 boat
0
24 out of 25(96%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Review 1 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is my third that I have purchased in the same style. ... I am not pleased that the faux fur trim on the hood is not as fluffy.

DateJune 8, 2014
by WarmInOntario
from Southern Ontario
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My son has not worn his new one in the Regimental Navy size XL . I have previously purchased the size M in Navy which then had lime green trim (very cool) And the size L in Orange. Both of these were great purchases and have gone on "like new" for other children to enjoy. This one looks very similar to the previous.. but the Faux Fur Hood Trim is very cheap looking.. Not at all like the photo .. or the previous. I am quite disappointed about this as to me it is a sign of declining quality.. Not enough to return the coat, but certainly not pleased. I am also wondering if there is some way to get a replacement fur trim.. (fuller ?) I would be willing to pay extra for it. Who would I contact to arrange for that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and durable!

DateMay 22, 2014
by Ramadori
from Montreal.
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I am a big fan of this coat! We had one of the longest coldest winters here in Montreal, and my eight year old son never once complained….or even actually mentioned the cold. He's a rough and tumble boy and after a full winter of hard wearing the coat still looks as good as new. I am so pleased with this coat that I just bought one for my younger son.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hoping this coat is as good as the last two.

DateMarch 5, 2014
by JU9
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I purchased two of these coats last year and LOVED them but was disappointed when this year’s coat came in the mail. I found the coat fits larger than last year’s model. The elbow patches have been removed from the arms which was great for boys that play rough. The fur trim is not as full and the coat feels much thinner and the fabric not as strong. I am hoping to be proved wrong and that is coat is as good as the last two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best parka for boys but needs a tag attachment

DateMarch 3, 2014
by CanadaBob
from Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male
We have bought six of these parkas for our kids over the years because they are the best available on the market in the price range, and one of the best available at any price range.
This years model is a little lighter and the shell is a little finer looking. The shell has always been fairly durable but my kids do wear them out so hopefully the material has bee upgraded.
The parkas are warm and have a great length for kids, but cut to allow movement and play. The finger cuffs are great for kids that refuse to keep their mitts on (ie, all kids). Down insulation is so much warmer than poly-fill, and the hood is actually useful as well.
One big problem with this years model: nowhere to attach ski tags. Previously there was a zipper on the sleeve where you could attach the ski tags, but this year it is missing. This means there is nowhere to attach the ski tags and that is a problem because my kids love to ski and I don't want to buy separate parkas just for skiing.
Lands End, listen up: put back the zipper or add a little D-ring somewhere on the jacket so they can be used for skiing!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Son loves it!

DateFebruary 20, 2014
by Smilyface
from La Prairie, Quebec, Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I bought this jacket in avocado peel for my 10 year old son....immediately became his favorite!...he loves the look, the color and the faux fur! He look so handsome!... And he says it is so warm!....even if we have the worst winter in years here in Montreal, where is usually extremely cold with lots of snow!....I found the perfect parka for him!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Thin and not warm enough

DateFebruary 9, 2014
by JDMN
from MN
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
We rely on LE parkas to get us through the winters, especially when the winters are like this one with -10 days regularly. I would not send my kid out where this coat on those days. Both kids have the 3 in 1 right now. But the sleeves are awful. They dont stay together. I thought I would try this one to give my daughter a warm coat without sleeve issues. I cannot believe that this is rated as "warmest." It is going back. LE makes a good product and then seems to cut corners in the following year's version. It is difficult to stay a returning customer when the quality continues to decline.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

DateFebruary 1, 2014
by Charmed01
from Bethesda, MD
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I got the size small in avocado peel. My boy is on the small side for a kid who is turning 6 in May, but this fits him well. Looks a little big, but not ridiculously so. There is obvious room for him to grow into it. He will most definitely be able to wear this next year, and most likely for part of the year after that as well. Most importantly, he has refused to wear big heavy coats in the past (opting for lighter jackets and layers), but he loves this coat. It keeps him warm in the very cold weather we've been getting lately (it's been 11-12 degrees fahrenheit in the mornings at the bus stop)...not only does he reassure me that it's very warm, but you can tell by the big smile on his face and the way he frolics outdoors instead of trying to rush in the house or car. He only needs a mid-weight long sleeve shirt underneath...no sweater, vest, or other layer needed. This is a fantastic coat. I highly recommend it. The only detail that is a little different than expected is the color...the avocado peel looks more like matte black in person than it looked online.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat!

DateJanuary 18, 2014
by CHatcher
from Louisville, KY
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My son loves this coat. Very warm with plenty of pockets. He likes the fur trim and wrist cuffs. I like that he'll be able to wear it again next year with the sleeves let out.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a good jacket

DateJanuary 6, 2014
by WonderWill5
from Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Male
it is a good jacket. Things I liked are that it is warm. There is a drawcord cynch inside at the waist. This stops cold air from getting in. lots of nice pockets, nice hood with fleece.
It turned out to be an 1.5 inch longer in the sleeve. A velcro at sleeve ends would have been very helpful. Not sure if it has down near the upper chest because what we see is fleece inside which is quite warm too. With velcro on sleeves would have made this an excellent product for the present price.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My son rated this coat

DateJanuary 6, 2014
by StayatHomeMomofFive
from Sun Prairie, WI
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
My son absolutely loves this coat. He picked it because he thought he would look like Han Solo in Star Wars Episode 5(?). After we got the coat, he was even more excited. He said the coat is VERY warm, even in our cold Wisconsin climate. The only thing he dislikes about it is that the hood is too big for his head, even with the velcro strap tightened as far as it will go. I'm sure he will grow into it eventually, and it is better if he wears a hat under his hood. I have had kids' down coats from Lands End in the past, and I like the construction of this one better with the waterproof exterior lining. Previous down coats would get soaked when they would play in the snow. This one stays nice and dry. With the grow-a-long sleeves, I hope to get 2-3 winters out of this one!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The fur trim

DateDecember 17, 2013
by snowname
from Montreal, Quebec
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I am satisfied with the coat. It is warm.
The fur trim is not zipped to the hat, so it gets off several times when my son pull on the hat.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for one kid, but not for the other

DateDecember 9, 2013
by Lisa23
from Milwaukee, WI
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I bought this coat for both my 5 year old (size 8) and my 2 year old (size 3T) and they have opposite opinions on it.
My 5 year old LOVES this coat. It keeps him so warm and looks so nice on him. He loves the fur lined hood. He gets compliments on it every day. The coat makes him look even taller and thinner than he usually does - it's kind of a "narrow" coat though, so I'm glad his build is slim.
My 2 year old can't stand this coat and throws tantrums every time we try to get him to wear it - primarily because of the stiff fabric and the overly tight fit at his chin. Initially he resisted wearing it, I think because it is so much stiffer and warmer than his old (worn-out and therefore "softer feeling") winter coat. One day he called it the "hot coat," so as the weather turned colder we were able to convince him to go with his "hot coat" vs his old coat (which he'd cry for even when we had it hidden out of sight). But although we could convince him to put it on, when fully zipped it kept hitting his chin in an uncomfortable way and he never wanted to keep it zipped all the way to the top. It just hits his chin in the wrong spot. If the fabric there were softer it might not be a problem, but it was just too irritating for him. We bought a different coat for half the price elsewhere and he is thrilled with his new coat since it doesn't bother his chin. I think part of the issue is that the coat is such a slim build. I recommend Land's End start making the neck diameter a little bigger in the future as well as make the fabric at the chin softer.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice quality coat for MN winters.

DateDecember 9, 2013
by lovelee
from Minneapolis, MN
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
I like that the end sleeve of the coat can be snipped and stretched for further wear as child grows. The midsection of the coat can be tighted for further insulation. My 3 year old loves his coat; especially the extra coat pockets on the outside and inside to store his gloves/mittens and toys.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

DateDecember 8, 2013
by boo12
from NY
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
This coat is very well made. Inside is so soft and warm, and love the glove part. I bought these coats for my daughter and son. I am glad I got them. Highly recommended.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding coat!

DateDecember 7, 2013
by LakeErieMom
from Lake Erie, Ohio
I am a very particular shopper, and as usual, I researched and compared before I bought this coat. I wanted a waterproof exterior, and down insulation. I could not be more pleased with this coat. It is such high quality, and it looks terrific. The other review had criticized the hood being too big, but it has an adjustable velcro strap on the back of the hood that accomodates for size. The material that makes the thumb hook is great, on warmer days, my kids use this as a sort of fingerless glove. I love this coat so much I am tempted to by them in the next sizes to make sure I have them as my kids grow! Thanks, Land's End for making such a great product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Proud Jack

DateDecember 7, 2013
by Haggis
from Plymouth, MI
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
I bought this parka for my grandson. He just loves it and he stays warm and dry for the most part…
He would still be waring his Land's End parka from last year if he wouldn't grow so much. Lands End can keep him for a customer for life if they put that little thumb holed knitted cuff in their men's parkas!
The parka is well made and warm and traditionally stylish. What little boy wouldn't want one just like it?
If I were younger I'd get one for myself---with the thumb holed knitted cuffs, too!
Oh, and that last year's parka was laundered with a bit of that OXY stuff and is now as crisp and bright as it was last year and has a new home. Same for the snow bibs.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this coat is the perfect color and fit

DateDecember 7, 2013
by Dkcharlie
from Cincinnati, Oh
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My 9 year old boy likes the coat because it it warm but not too bulky. He really likes the Sherpa lining and the hand warmers. I was surprised that the zipper was plastic but so far has been fine. Our last LE coats lasted 2years before needing to get new but due to size not quality.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive Quality!

DateDecember 5, 2013
by JANA410
from New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
This coat (for my 6 year old son) was my first ever Land's End purchase and it does not disappoint!! It is extremely well made, great looking (love the fur trim around the hood), and most importantly-- very warm! We have already had some extremely cold, windy days here in NYC and my son said he did not feel cold at all in this coat. My son wears a size 5/6 in boy's clothes, so I got him a Medium and is very roomy. He will definitely be able to wear it again next year. The only feature we did not like is the thumb holes in the grow-along-sleeves....my son had a hard time maneuvering his hands and thumb into the right openings, so I stitched the thumb holes closed. I had been buying both of my children another company's Warmest Coat since they were toddlers, but noticed over the last few years that the other company had begun using cheap materials and the coats did not hold up very well through the long winters and many washings, so I am extremely happy I found this down parka from Land's End. I absolutely love it!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific, good quality coat.

DateDecember 4, 2013
by Europe13
We have lived in Europe for a number of years. My son wore this coat age 7-8. (I bought a size up). Because it was down, it was warm. Because it had a waterproof lining on the outside, he stayed dry. The hood could be removed, which I liked. It wasn't cheap, but well worth the money in the end.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket!

DateNovember 4, 2013
by CanadianChk
from Toronto, Canada
I bought the old 3-in-1 for my eldest son a few years ago which I loved... but this I love even more! I ordered it for my 6 year old. The quality is great, it's super warm, enough to withstand Canadian winters, I love the fleece lining in the hood and that it's large enough to block all of the cold elements from his head and face. Most of all, I love that it's actually waterproof! We ordered the zinc colour, and while I worried it wouldn't be bright enough, the colour is just right. In only the couple of weeks he's been wearing it he's gotten so many compliments on it and everyone wants to know where it's from. He'll fit in this jacket for another year or 2 with the extend a sleeve feature. I've bought a lot of stuff from Lands End, and this is by far my favourite purchase. For the quality and wearability, the price is decent, especially with 30% off :)
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Third year and still like new!

DateOctober 29, 2013
by SnowboundMom
from Idaho
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
We bought this coat for my then, 8 year old son, three winters ago! It still looks like new. It still fits. It is very warm, for our frigid winters! My son is crazy harsh on clothes, especially outerwear. This coat has stayed nice through two winters and is bracing for the third. I am impressed. The price has increased significantly in 3 years, however.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but missing hood closure and reflective strips

DateOctober 27, 2013
by channa
from Toronto, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Overall the coat is super. It is extremely warm, fits well and looks great. There are 2 features that are missing. Your version from a few years ago had reflective strips on the front and back them so that a child is safe walking around after night fall. This was ingenious. Alas now this feature is gone. There is also no way to close the hood around the face. The hood is wide and gapey. A coat this warm needs to have closure around the face. The hood easily flops off with a gust of wind. We live in Canada and my sons need the same warm protection around their heads, ears and chin as they do around their bodies. Please bring back these features. Thank you
+35points
35of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Love this coat - where did the husky go?

DateOctober 23, 2013
by UnhappyMother
from Monticello Indiana
Gender: Female
Bought this coat 2 years ago for my son in a 14-16Husky and he loves it. Unfortunately he has grown a size this year and we need to replace it. Much to my dismay and dissappointment it is no longer available in husky sizes. Please Lands End - bring back the husky option. If available in husky this product would have gotten a 5 sail boat rating, but since husky is no longer and option I had to lower the rating
+5points
15of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

survived 3 winters in Chicago

DateOctober 22, 2013
by NickyH
from Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Best winter jacket ever. I bought one each for my son and daughter and both were able to wear them through our first 3 winters in Chicago, walking to and from school and all over the city. The grow-a-long sleeves made this possible. My daughter is now older and wants something a little more stylish, but I am buying the same one for my son in a bigger size. They both survived wash after wash looking great and the only reason I need to replace them now is my kids have outgrown them! Great job Lands End... but PLEASE for the love of all that is good, get some better colors for your girls clothes and jackets! I've seen many things that I would have purchased had they come in other colors and shades besides the cheesy turqoise, weird purples, diluted blues and pepto-pinks!
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome! Going on third winter of wear!

DateOctober 18, 2013
by dollyrink
from Rochester, MN
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
I bought this coat for both my son and my daughter two years ago, and it is AWESOME. Here in Minnesota, winter lasts for MONTHS, and they play in the snow for several hours every single day. They love how the fur on the hood catches the wind and snowflakes and protects their faces. They stay very warm and dry. The snow cuff in the sleeves and the Grow-a-long features are absolute GENIUS. This coat washes very well (remember: DON'T wash OR MACHINE DRY the fur!!!). We're starting to break them out for their third winter and both coats still look like new. Took out the grow-a-long stitches for the first time--very easy, so now have two more winters of wear! Also have a younger son, and have absolutely no doubt that my oldest's coat will be in perfectly good shape to be handed down and worn for another two winters! Bottom line: these coats were worth every penny. Waterproof, windproof, very warm, LASTS FOREVER!
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not as nice as the old version

DateSeptember 21, 2013
by Bichonlover
from Silver Spring MD
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Shame on you, Lands End, for cheapening what used to be your premium down jacket for kids. I bought the old version of this jacket a few years ago. The new version has no down from the waist up, including the hood, and instead has fleece, which is noticeably heavier and not nearly as nice as the old all-down-filled jacket. It also unfortunately has velcro along the front flap instead of snaps.
Pro's: we love the thumbholes in the sleeves and all of the pockets.
We will keep the jacket, but I'm just sorry we couldn't get one like the old version.
+62points
64of 66voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy with my purchase.

DateSeptember 14, 2013
by 212Mom
from New York, NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
It's an attractive looking jacket, true to size, comfortable, and I can tell it will be warm. Another good purchase from Lands' End.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Boys' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat, very warm.

DateAugust 30, 2013
by TinaMR
from New York, NY
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I've bought 2-3 of these every year for the last 10 years. I've got 5 grandchildren and wouldn't have them wear anything else. It's the warmest coat out there and the quality is great. I just want to ask LandsEnd, why no orange this year for the boys? I've always bought orange for the boys, my daughter insists on having the kids in bright colors that can be seen easily. The red is ok but all their accessories are orange. So this year, if it fits, we'll be passing down an orange coat and hope orange comes back next year. Although I'll be buying the pink for the girls as usual, I'm a little dissapointed that LandsEnd has changed from last years pink.
+26points
27of 28voted this as helpful.