Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Jackets Parkas & Coats or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Girls' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka

Girls' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka

Our best down-filled, fleece-lined, crazy-warm, fully waterproof winter wonder for kids “out there.” Faux fur ruff is removable and dry clean only. Machine wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 boats
11
4 boats
2
3 boats
1
2 boats
0
1 boat
1
12 out of 15(80%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Girls' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Review 1 for Girls' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cannot be cleaned

DateApril 6, 2014
by Gibbles
from Vermont
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Photos for this Review
User submitted photo
My daughter loves thus parka and has it in yellow. However it has been soiled since the day she first wore it. We have tried soaking it and have used stronger detergents on it even had it dry cleaned and it remains black.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Girls' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The only coat I will ever buy!

DateJanuary 13, 2014
by OldWomanWhoLivesInAShoe
All four of my children have the Expedition coat. I have been through many, MANY, different (expensive!) brands of winter coats and this one kept my kids the warmest in the frigid Northwoods of Wisconsin. The thumb holes are great to keep the snow out and actually help their hands stay warmer. The adjustable hood is great because it's plenty warm on its own, but can also be used on the largest size so you can add a hat for the extra cold days. Also, I have no idea what the other reviewer is talking about with the pockets. This thing has a thousand pockets, at least. There are two pockets on the inside, and the lower one is definitely large enough to hold a phone.
My only complaint is that the boys' Expedition parka has a sherpa-like lining in the coat and hood, while the girls' has fleece. The sherpa seems much warmer to me and I would have preferred it for the girls' coat.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Girls' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Faux fur ruff snap broke first time removing

DateJanuary 8, 2014
by JLGreer
from Connecticut
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Photos for this Review
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I ordered these for my 5-year-old and my 9-year-old, specifically for downhill skiing. They are nice and warm, and the wrist cuffs are great to keep out snow and cold. However, there is no place for a lift ticket other than at the top of the zipper, causing the lift ticket to flap around in their faces as they ski down the hill. Another issue with these coats is the cheap plastic snaps that hold the faux fur ruff on the hood. First time I removed the ruff to launder one of the coats, a snap broke in half. We will continue using the it ruff-free because it is a nice parka. Would have been nice if the snaps matched the quality of the rest of the parka. Use metal snaps next time, Lands End, like what is on the rest of the parka.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Girls' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warmest winter coat my kids have ever owned

DateJanuary 1, 2014
by LaneyJet
from Toronto, Ontario
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I have been searching for years for a warm winter coat for our cold Canadian winters. This parka seemed very similar to my Northface parka, and I bought one for my 5yo daughter and 8yo son. They are exactly like my Northface, but have some way better features. The girl parka has a very soft fleece lining on the inside. The finger holes are awesome when we forget mitts. The removable fur collar is great when we want to ski in the parka. The fit was perfect, and we get compliments on the jacket all the time, although we bought the cream colour from last season so we do have to wash it about once a month. It washes very nicely. As for the boy version of the parka, it has a Sherpa lining inside. My son was a little jealous of his sister's soft shiny fleece lining at first! His jacket did not fit so perfectly and right from the get-go I had to extend the sleeves. It was better after that but I think it will only last him one season. I bought him a size 7 but he is a very small 8yo. My daughter got a size 5-6 and she is an average height and size, and her jacket will last another year. Overall, we are extremely pleased with this jacket and I will buy another one for my son next year, especially if we can find it at the amazing price that we got these at. Landsend has completely won our family over for excellent products!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Girls' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

3rd edition of this jacket

DateJanuary 1, 2014
by Mommystyle
from BG, Ohio
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
This is the 3rd edition of this jacket we have purchased. We use it for everyday and winter recreational activities including sledding, skiing, and horseback rides (not too bulky or long for the saddle). It is warm with minimal base layers, functional with the sleeve thumb cuffs, and lives up to its wind and waterproof claims. This year we thought about purchasing a Spyder or similar brand for cuteness, but when you compare function and feature, and then price, coat to coat, Lands End wins every time! I can't rationalize spending more to get less (although patterns would be nice, accessories make up the difference for our 7 going on13 year old!). We typically get 1.5-2.0 years worth of wear and I've never had a quality issue with the coat. We could get more years of wear, but my kiddo is super tall so I think the extended use we get from the grow along sleeves is a bonus! The coat used to have an elastic drawstring in the middle to synch the wait and this feature is absent this year, replaced with a non adjustable gather that is not purposeful! Lands End, bring back that feature for the perfect coat. Overall, highly recommend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Girls' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent waterproof coat

DateDecember 8, 2013
by nobadweather
from wisconsin
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
2nd year for my granddaughter in this warm, waterproof coat. Looks great. washes well and very comfy.
Just let out the sleeves which is a nice feature. She plays outside daily in our sometimes wet muddy winter weather and is always warm and dry underneath, not matter how muddy and wet on outside.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Girls' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!!!!!

DateDecember 8, 2013
by JanRo
from Oklahoma
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
These coats are great. Our 10 and 7 y.o. girls love them and they are some picky customers!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Girls' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding coat!

DateDecember 7, 2013
by LakeErieMom
from Lake Erie, Ohio
I am a particular shopper, researching and comparing before I buy.I was looking for a waterproof exterior and down filling. I could not be more pleased with this coat. It is excellent quality, and looks terrific. I was hesitant to purchase the pink color, as so much for girls is pink. This color, however is more of a nice fuscia, with sporty orange trim. The material that comes down for the thumb loop is great, and acts almost like a fingerless mitten on warmer days. One of the other reviews of this coat criticized the hood being too big. However, the hood has an adjustable velcro strap that a accomodates for size, so this isn't a problem. I love this coat, and am tempted to buy more in bigger sizes to make sure I have them as my kids grow. Thanks , Land's End for making such a great product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Girls' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pockets Only Fit Chap Stick

DateDecember 7, 2013
by OneHarlemMOM
from NYC, NY
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Not enough pockets. IPhone doesn't fit the only shallow interior pocket, exterior pockets close only by Velcro. Great for skier that doesn't need to carry anything more than chap stick. Seems very warm.
-10points
2of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Girls' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great winter jacket.

DateDecember 7, 2013
by Lisa8
from Plaistow, NH
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
When it comes to winter gear it is important to me to purchase quality items that will keep my daughter warm and dry while she is outside during the winter. I previously bought the squall parka for my daughter. With the ability to lengthen the arms, my daughter got 2 seasons out of it and it is still in great shape, so it can be passed along for someone else to enjoy. So, when it was time to buy another jacket, I came right to Land's End. I got the Expedition Parka in Midnight Sky. My daughter loves and it and so do I. She loves the color and the faux fur. I also love the style, as well as, how well made it is and that it will keep her warm and dry. Haven't had one single argument about wearing a warm jacket since she got this. She will also get 2 seasons out of this coat, so it is worth the cost. I wish the women's version came in this color!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Girls' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great fit, warm, cozy. Disappointed with zipper top.

DateNovember 13, 2013
by Wendyforcomfort
from Toronto, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Most aspects of this coat are sure to please my tall 4 year old throughout this and next winter. The warmth, cut, colour, grow-a-long sleeves, and thumb grabber/sleeve feature are all great. I am very disappointed that the coat is missing what I consider to be a critical feature in children's winter jackets, and that is fabric at the zipper tops to protect their sensitive little chins from rubbing on the zipper. We've had to add a scarf around her neck in order to solve the problem. Adding non-essetial clothing for a kindergartener is not ideal. We'll make it work, but I wouldn't re-purchase.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Girls' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Coat!!

DateNovember 12, 2013
by RBT76
from IL
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I purchased this coat for my 8 year old daughter. I was looking for a high quality coat that would keep her warm in the very cold weather. When we saw the coat we both loved the way it looked. It looks like a very good quality well made coat. So far we are highly satisfied with the coat. I already have a winter coat for my 6 year old son but next year when he out grows it. I plan on purchasing him the boys down parka, I love the quality and style of the coats at Lands End!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Girls' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not bulky but surly perfect for an active child in winter times

DateOctober 18, 2013
by Cb011512
from Bronx, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
I bought this coat a little bigger than usual but my daughter will be growing into it very soon. I love the quality and cut of it. This will be my first time using landsend quality and hope to put to test. I do love the fact that it has deep pockets that mitten and hats could easily fit and be put away. My only wish is that there would have been an elasticity feature to be able to adjust the tightness of waist. My daughter is slim and there is alot of gap between her and the coat. The adjustment that coat has now doesn't provide enough tightness but with a thick sweater it should be fine. Definitely will recommend
-1point
9of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Girls' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome! Going on third winter of wear!

DateOctober 18, 2013
by dollyrink
from Rochester, MN
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
I bought this coat for both my son and my daughter two years ago, and it is AWESOME. Here in Minnesota, winter lasts for MONTHS, and they play in the snow for several hours every single day. They love how the fur on the hood catches the wind and snowflakes and protects their faces. They stay very warm and dry. The snow cuff in the sleeves and the Grow-a-long features are absolute GENIUS. This coat washes very well (remember: DON'T wash OR MACHINE DRY the fur!!!). We're starting to break them out for their third winter and both coats still look like new. Took out the grow-a-long stitches for the first time--very easy, so now have two more winters of wear! Also have a younger son, and have absolutely no doubt that my oldest's coat will be in perfectly good shape to be handed down and worn for another two winters! Bottom line: these coats were worth every penny. Waterproof, windproof, very warm, LASTS FOREVER!
+32points
33of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Girls' Expedition Waterproof Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Coat is simply beautiful inside, so soft and the color is real to real

DateSeptember 30, 2013
by RL7
from Bklyn, N.Y.
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
My grandaughter is 5. She loves this coat. she said, nanna I love, my new coat, thank you... The fit is perfect . Also the lengh. . I hope everyone knows, that all your children, coats are a execellent purchase.
+17points
25of 33voted this as helpful.