Lands' End Views + Reviews

Customer Reviews for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress

Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress

Have you ever worn a dress just to run errands? It’s slightly faulous. This dress would be perfect: soft French terry without a defined waist (so you can belt it or not). And the notch neckline is so flattering. 42% cotton/34% rayon/24% polyester. Machine wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.31 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 boats
20
4 boats
3
3 boats
3
2 boats
1
1 boat
2
24 out of 28(86%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Review 1 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Looks like a bag

DateMarch 10, 2014
by Mdel
from Cape Cod, Ma
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
No way..not feminine unless you like wearing a bag. The material is too thin so the dress doesn't hang right and it is sized on the large side.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable and nice looking!

DateMarch 7, 2014
by ekelley
from Virginia
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
I love this dress. The fabric is so comfortable and the cut is really nice. The length is perfect (I am 5'6") and the weight of the fabric is great. This is just a great dress. I hope Land's End decides to make it in more colors.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is so comfortable, yet casually chic

DateMarch 1, 2014
by SanneTay
from Singapore
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
The fit was good, though I felt it ran a little long - slightly below knees (I'm 166cm tall). Everything else was perfect, got both the indigo blue & deep red, lovely colors! It's a casual everyday thrown on dress which can be easily dressed up or down, so easy in every sense. Love it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This dress was a great disappointment to me

DateDecember 12, 2013
by GrandPat
from Gardiner, NY
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
I am sorry to say that I was very dismayed when I received this dress and tried it on.
The material looked and felt, cheap. The fit was terrible and the length was very short, and I am
only 5'5'. I sent it back. What is happening to your quality, my friends at Lands End?
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Versatile

DateDecember 8, 2013
by Skwerli
from Hillsboro, Oregon
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I got this dress in both red and navy and I am so glad I did. They can be casual or with just a few accessories great for dressy occasions. I have added a brightly colored blouse worn as a jacket over the dress to attend church and got loads of compliments!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

casual, comfortable dress

DateDecember 7, 2013
by Lonczakm
from VT
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I love my Lands End dresses and this is no exception. Its generously cut and feels especially comfortable when I'm having a fat day. I'm 5' 6" 154 lbs and ordered a small which fits fine.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sizing is off

DateNovember 17, 2013
by smrtwmn12
from SoCal
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
According to the size chart I am between an 8 and a 10 so I ordered the M thinking it would fit okay. My mistake, I could have fit two of me in this dress. I am returning it and hoping that the smaller size I exchange it for will fit. The fabric is nice for the cooler months and I was planning on wearing it with a scarf and heeled loafers or boots. The first dress (shirt style) I ordered form L.E. was way off in sizing and fit too. If I get the exchange and the sizing is still off a third time, I won't shop here anymore.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect fit. Very flattering

DateNovember 16, 2013
by KMKehoe
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Not too tight, not too loose - perfect fit. Very flattering shape and fit. So comfortable!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not flattering

DateNovember 15, 2013
by Marachen
from Qatar
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I find this dress, which I bought in navy and burgundy, is not flattering on me. I think if I was slimmer it would be more attractive. On the right body type it would look great. There is not enough of a waistline for my body type. I find the modal fit dress much more flattering.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfy and flattering

DateOctober 28, 2013
by DCMom72
from Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
This is a nice dress for my petite-height but overweight body. The material is thick enough to provide shape to my curves without being uncomfortably clingy, and the A-line skirt with belt is flattering. I'd say the dress is roomy without being saggy and shapeless, which is nice. The material is a little too casual for the typical office, but you can dress it up with a nice cardigan.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect casual dress

DateOctober 28, 2013
by VictoriaV
from Spokane, WA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I love the fit of this dress and get compliments whenever I wear it. I actually ordered it in both blue and burgundy. It is basically made of "sweatshirt" material, so it is very soft and drapes very well. I am 5'9" and I LOVED that I could belt it at my natural waistline. Most dresses seem to have the waist much too high for me. I usually wear this with knee high socks and boots, and it has been fine for me to wear this fall because of the elbow-length sleeves. I can dress it up or down with a scarf or jewelry and I appreciate that I do not need a slip. I usually order an XL in shirts and a 14 in pants, but the L fit me best in this dress.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It!

DateOctober 26, 2013
by SometimeShopper
from Colorado
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
This dress is attractive and comfortable, and it is suitable for work and afterward. It fits nicely, and it looks great. That's why I got two of them.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great,casual dress

DateOctober 18, 2013
by Gabriola
from Burnaby,B.C,
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
This is the dress I have been waiting for.As I am most comfortable wearing dresses I am always looking for a casual,yet stylish dress and this is it.I am 5'6" and weigh 155 lb.The medium is a perfect fit,not boxy and the waist is not the empire style, as with many of the L.E.dresses.It is versatile and could be dressed up with jewellery or a scarf.It looks fine without the belt as it is a bit fitted.The fabric is lightweight but substantial enough to drape well.I have the 2 colours offered and only wish there were more colours.I would order more in a heartbeat!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NICE dress!

DateOctober 18, 2013
by GrammyP
from Western New York State
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
This dress is just a little bit thin, but that's not a negative....it can be worn in Fall & Spring.....comfortably....this is a review from someone living in Western New York State; seasonal weather temperatures!!!!!
The navy is good, the cranberry color was unfortunately sold out, because I do like the dress enough that I would have bought it in other colors along with the navy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable and looks good!

DateOctober 11, 2013
by EmmieS
from Bay Area, California
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I love this dress - I have 2 in blue and 1 in burgundy. Very comfortable but also looks pulled together for casual days and running around. Fits great - the neckline is very flattering.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Casual Fall Drss

DateSeptember 30, 2013
by Enchanted
from NH
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
The dress runs true to size and hits my knee ( I am 5'9"). This dress (I purchased burgundy and navy) is very casual and basic. The fabric is a soft knit on the outside and like a towel on the inside. It can be dressed up very easily which makes it versatile. Be cautious as it does shrink up when put in the dryer; however it will stretch out again with wear. That being said, it is a casual dress.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This dress is flattering and comfortable!

DateSeptember 30, 2013
by KristinVA
from Alexandria, VA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I love this dress. I ordered the red and my regular size (XS petite) and the fit is perfect. The red is a deep brick color. The material is so soft and comfortable. On it's own, it's a pretty casual dress, but I plan to dress it up with a different belt and accessories for a wedding, and it will be perfect. A great buy from Land's End!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I don't often wear dresses, but this is perfect

DateSeptember 30, 2013
by KBrady
from NJ
Age: 35-44
I loved the length of the sleeve, the neckline, and fit of the dress itself. It's incredibly comfortable and flattering. I got it in the other color, and ordered both for my sister's birthday as well!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dress Lengths

DateSeptember 30, 2013
by GGee
from The Village
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
I loved this dress, the fabric was nice, and the fit was good, until I got to the length. It was just too short. Why oh Why, can't you make some of your dresses for just below tne knee. The knee is the most unflattering part of the body. I think your dress styles are so very nice, I love them, but they are all too short for this older lady.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dress!

DateSeptember 29, 2013
by DaveysMom
from Central NJ
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I just wore this for the first time yesterday. Very comfortable, looks great & fantastic price. I am going to buy the other color today. I ordered my regular size.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty and comfy.

DateSeptember 21, 2013
by MsNancy
from Mount Forest, Ontario
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I bought the burgundy colour of this dress. It`s really a lovely colour. It is a very comfortable, flattering dress. I love the fabric, it`s kind of a terry material and it seems to help hide lumps and bumps. I like the little notch at the neck that gives it a special detail. I am 5`8`` and 200 pounds and I bought the Large and it fit well... not too tight or lose ... a good length ...not too short or long. I am really happy about this purchase. I bought it on sale with an extra percentage off... so if I get another one of those coupons I will be buying the blue colour.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very comfortable, yet attractive to wear. I received many compliments

DateSeptember 19, 2013
by Beverly2007
from Atlanta, GA
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
The dress fits perfectly. The quality is wonderful. I wore it to church and to lunch afterwards, and received many compliments from my friends. I was comfortable in it for a long period of time and enjoyed the feeling it gave me. The length is very flattering. The dress washes wonderfully.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dress

DateSeptember 14, 2013
by phdatc
from Grand Rapids
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Love it, fits well, comfortable. What more can you ask?
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good fit, quality, color. However it was not the fabric I really wanted. Too sporty for my need.

DateSeptember 14, 2013
by Neptunia
from Kansas City, MO
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
Everything about the dress is fine. I returned it because I was looking for a lighter cotton.
Nice fit, good color, fine tailoring, style, etc. A great casual dress.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect for fall

DateSeptember 5, 2013
by WMMOM
from Muskegon, MI
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Comfy, cozy, and soft. Allows for good movement and I am excited to wear it to a B&B cottage weekend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great fit, comfortable

DateSeptember 3, 2013
by BHR
from Raleigh NC
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
love the just below knee length (ok, I have short legs), and the fact that it works well with a pear-shaped body. The skirt is loose enough to not pull over a larger-than-size hips. The terry knit keeps it from being clingy, but it still drapes really well. Can dress it up with a scarf and patent belt, or leave it casual - either way it is a winner! More colors, please!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A nice "go to" dress

DateAugust 27, 2013
by LonglegsinMN
from Minneapolis MN
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I love wearing dresses more than anything, especially if they don't have a defined waist. I wasn't sure this dress would work for my 5' 6" average womanly figure. I have broad shoulders and taper down with not much of a waistline to speak of. I bought this dress in wine and like it so much I am buying it in navy blue as well. I have learned that when you find something you can toss on, dress up and down, packs well - you are stupid not to buy it in other colors. I too hope this dress comes out in additional colors. I would love teal blue, chocolate brown and dark purple.
+35points
35of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cute, flattering, and comfortable!

DateAugust 9, 2013
by Nolwenn
Age: 45-54
I hesitated before buying this dress. I was afraid it would be too plain. But it just came, the small fits me perfectly, and it is really cute on. It's super comfy, too. The terry loops on the inside of the fabric makes it feel like you are wearing a very soft towel, but the outside is smooth. The weight of the dress is substantial enough to cover any figure flaws. It's a great, casual dress.
+40points
40of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Women's Half Sleeve French Terry Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable and Flattering

DateJuly 26, 2013
by carolinamom123
from North Carolina
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I ordered this in the navy and am very pleased with it. The v-neck is not too low and the gentle flare hides my figure flaws. I am 5'8" and this falls an inch below my knees which is a huge plus! My only design tweaks would be to eliminate the rolled sleeve and offer it in more fall colors (emerald, amethyst, gray).
+69points
69of 69voted this as helpful.