Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Backpacks or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Solid ClassMate® Large Backpack

Solid ClassMate® Large Backpack

ClassMate® Large Backpack is designed & tested to carry everything your kid needs for class and more. Additional features not listed below include: no-tip design; water-repellent finish; plus an ergonomic design with padded shoulder straps & back panels for comfort. 600D polyester body with 1200D base. Spot clean. Imported. 19″Hx13″Wx8″D. 2100 cu. in.
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 boats
4
4 boats
5
3 boats
0
2 boats
0
1 boat
1
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Solid ClassMate® Large Backpack
Review 1 for Solid ClassMate® Large Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Have been using Small and Medium backpacks for years. Got the Large backpack for the first time.

DateAugust 20, 2014
by MotherfromNV
from NV
Haven't used the Classmate Large backpack yet. But it looks sturdy and well made. I was a bit hesitant about ordering the Large backpack after reading some of the reviews (that the bag fell apart after a few weeks). But then took a chance and ordered it online, hoping that it will turn to be of the same good quality as the small and medium bags.
I have been purchasing small and medium backpacks for my kid from the past 4 to 5 years. They always turn out to be of excellent quality, no complaints. The only reason we get a new bag every year is that we want a new design or a bigger size bag. We still have the old backpacks and they are in good condition. A few things that I like best about LE bags are that they have a outside front pocket, where kids can keep the warm/cold weather accessories like hats, glasses & gloves, otherwise these things get lost among textbooks. Second these bags have very smooth and sturdy zippers, they never get stuck. Last, the two outside pockets to keep water bottle are very useful.
I hope that LE Large backpack turns out to be as durable as the small and medium backpacks. Thank you.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Solid ClassMate® Large Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid and pretty

DateOctober 26, 2014
by kardomr
from nc
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
This backpack can handle a kid's homework folder, lunch bag, and water bottle easily. They all fit in the cavernous main compartment. There is also a smaller zipper front section and two mesh, open, side pockets. The backpack is lightweight but is solid and well-constructed. My daughter added a personalized owl. It took longer to receive so they could add this but it looks great; the colors work well with the backpack but the owl isn't camouflaged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Solid ClassMate® Large Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great backpack

DateOctober 2, 2014
by MargeryB
from Michigan
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I bought this for my 9 year-old daughter. It seems to be well made and I am confident it will hold up through the school year, unlike one we had last year bought from an office supply store which fell apart after 2 months. Lots of pockets. She loves the colors. It's a little larger than I had expected, but I am hoping to get several years of use out of it, so the large size will probably be needed as she grows older and gets more homework to carry in it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Solid ClassMate® Large Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Large backpack is quite large

DateSeptember 13, 2014
by Mommawith9yearsexperience
from Minneapolis, MN
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I got the large backpack for my 9-year-old (54.5 inches tall), and it is a little bit too big for her. I hope it will last for another couple years and as she grows that it will fit her better. She says when it is buckled in front that it is uncomfortable on her neck, so she prefers to keep it unbuckled. It is a nice looking backpack with lots of compartments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Solid ClassMate® Large Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Durable, comfortable, lightweight backpack

DateSeptember 12, 2014
by JessicaSar
from Wall Township, NJ
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
I recently purchased this backpack for my 7 year old daughter. Although it's a little large for her, everything that she needs to bring to/from school fits inside the backpack (we don't have to clip her lunchbox to the outside). I expect to get years of use out of the backpack - which again is why we purchased the size that we did. The backpack is lightweight, durable, and comfortable to wear. It's already gone through a walk home from the bus stop in the rain - found it to be nicely water repellent. My daughter loves all of the compartments - plenty of room for her school things and some extra toys/treasures! We are thrilled with this product so far!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Solid ClassMate® Large Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This large backpack is very useful for my 9 y.o. granddaughter who has lots of textbooks, folder, tablets to carry from school to home and back.

DateAugust 27, 2014
by Tutuwahine1
from Hawaii
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
The size including the number of pockets are needed to store/carry not only school supplies, books, etc. but also a hoodie and water bottle. There is still room for more things. I just wish that you make a similar size backpack with wheels/retractible handle as it's very heavy when fully loaded down with textbooks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Solid ClassMate® Large Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Colors!

DateAugust 21, 2014
by SusieQ65
from Mountains, Colorado
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I bought this for my 9 year old. Land's End had better colors than some other options out there. She hasn't used it yet, but she absolutely loves the color (aqua) and it holds a lot of stuff. She is about 53-54" tall and I think this backpack will fit for years. I'm only giving it a 4 because I'm not sure how it will hold up yet.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Solid ClassMate® Large Backpack
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Looks great, but not very durable

DateDecember 11, 2013
by LissaOK
from Atlanta, GA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I have purchased Lands End backpacks in past years and found them to be of high quality, easily able to last an entire school year. And, at $49, I would expect the same with this backpack. However, that hasn't been my experience.
I purchased this backpack in turquoise for my 10 year old just before school began this year. She uses this backpack everyday to carry her books and other school items back and forth to school. The backpack is very cute. I paid extra to personalize with monogramming of her name and a small image. Within a few weeks of use the sternum strap began to fray and then completely broke a few weeks later. After 4 months, the backpack is coming apart at the seams. I don't think it will even make it through the calendar year much less the school year.
I was very disappointed in the durability of this pack given the price point.
Response from Lands' End:By Customer CareJuly 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. If you are unsatisfied for any reason, remember we are Guaranteed. Period, even with a personalized monogram. We encourage you to return the backpack for a refund or replacement. We're not happy if you're not happy.
+45points
47of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Solid ClassMate® Large Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My daughter loves the lightweight feel of this school bag.

DateSeptember 16, 2013
by KRAABG
from Suburbs of Philadelphia, PA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My daughter loves the lightweight feel of this school bag. She has only had it for 2 weeks now but it seems pretty durable. I also like that Lands End backs their products.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Solid ClassMate® Large Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HIghly Recommend

DateAugust 31, 2013
by dplybon
from SC
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I have bought all my children's book bags from Lands End and have never be disappointed. Her last one is still good, the only reason she got a new one was she started middle school.
+27points
28of 29voted this as helpful.