Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Swim Trunks or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts

Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts

What better way to take to the water than with Swim Shorts that repel it, right? With our new ShakeDry fabric, These Volley Swim Shorts are dry practically the second you come out of the water (really nice when you have to hop in the car right away!). Made with top-notch features, too: comfortably shaped, three-piece mesh liner (most others are two-piece, with a seam where you don’t want one), two side pockets, rear zippered pocket and a coin pocket on the inside waistband. All in a nice range of solid colors too. 100% nylon with 100% polyester liner. Machine wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.697 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
5 boats
25
4 boats
7
3 boats
0
2 boats
1
1 boat
0
31 out of 32(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Review 1 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great swim suit

DateJuly 10, 2014
by GrampaC
from Massachusetts
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Have already used the suit a number of times. I like the fit and feel of it. Having short legs I needed a suit with shorter legs to be comfortable swimming. This suit fills the bill. Love it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

high quality

DateJuly 9, 2014
by Grandpa1234
from Boston
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
This product is very high quality, dries very fast, fits well and is very comfortable.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely what I wanted!

DateJuly 4, 2014
by quarterhorse
from Olathe, Ks
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
I go to pool therapy every week. These are perfect! Zipper is way better than velcro . Drawstring inside where it should be. No issues at all.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent athletic shorts.

DateJune 28, 2014
by PSGVA
from CENTRAL VIRGINIA
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Not fancy, but good quality and exactly right for most athletic activities, particularly in the water. Just what I was looking for.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great shorts

DateJune 28, 2014
by Sailor2015
from Williamsburg
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
The shorts are cut well, dry quickly and wear well. It would be nice if they had a small "v" cut on the outside of each leg at the bottom hem to provide a bit more movement.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

NEED SMALL

DateJune 27, 2014
by TEEDLE
from NJ
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male
I really like these swim shorts. However, I will be returning them because I definitely need a size small.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, but......

DateJune 27, 2014
by JungleJim
from Clearwater FL
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
I have been a Lands End shopper for over thirty years. Their quality is the gold standard. My only quibble with LEI is their sizing. They have a range of acceptable variation. So, a 44 may be a 43 or a 45, and this extends to the "comfort fit" sizes. Some are at the high end of the scale, others at the low end. That may seem minor, but when you can't try them on it is a nuisance. I know I can return the ones that are too far off but it is a nuisance nonetheless. There, I said it and I'm glad.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pair of basic swim trunks

DateJune 22, 2014
by Ronofrockford
from Rockford
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Fit was right on target.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I don't want a loud print or over-sized shorts when I swim or workout.

DateJune 22, 2014
by Mcschroeder
from Bay Area, California
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
I want them to be comfortable, stay put while I'm working out, and hold up over time. These shorts are excellent. They feel good on and look good after dozens of washings. Please continue to offer these high quality swim/gym shorts.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Green?

DateJune 22, 2014
by RRRob
from WV
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
I live in these shorts during the summer. They're comfortable, dry fast, and take a beating. I ordered several pairs this summer and the green last summer, which is a nice color, but don't see it now. Great shorts, great style! You keep makin' em, I'll keep buyin' em! And, I'll be lookin' for the green!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love these shorts for my water exercise class.

DateJune 20, 2014
by LFB47
from Salt Lake City, Utah
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
I use these shorts in my water exercise class and am now on my third pair. The first pair still look like new, but I have found where the fridge goodies are hidden and they no longer fit like the should. The second pair finally had too much chlorine and they ripped due to the wear. Not too bad though as I had been using them for over two years. Now on the third pair and hope to get the usage out of these like on the other pair. I like the length, as they aren't baggy or bulky in the water.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific swim suit - comfortable and wears well.

DateJune 19, 2014
by DaveFos
from Rochester, NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
I was looking for a new swimsuit to wear on vacation and at our pool this summer. After looking around at many stores and online sites I picked this swimsuit. It is terrific. Very comfortable and well made. I tend to be rough on clothes and I've worn this suit every day on vacation with night time washing and it has held up great. The color is the same as when I bought it, no fading and it feels like it did when I bought it after a week of constant use. Very happy with it and would definitely recommend it. One other comment: Lands End has stepped up it game in the style department, this is but one example of this.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Fit and Well Made

DateJune 18, 2014
by BajaAlan
from Cabo San Lucas, MX
Gender: Male
I have bought all my swimming suits from Lands End over the past 15 years. They are very well made with large pockets and the draw string. They dry very fast and do not fade with time. The only thing I wish that Lands End would do is to offer these trunks in more bright colors. I am used to the bright oranges, lime greens, purples, blues and greens. Otherwise you can't beat these swim shorts.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect color and fit with these swim shorts

DateJune 2, 2014
by weitweit
from Chambersburg, PA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
These, I'm so pleased, come in a shorter length than almost all other men's bathing suits. I'm an average- built guy, and the long swimsuits just don't look or feel right. These swim shorts fit just right and are totally comfortable. I swim often and need shorts that dry quickly--these do! Thanks!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

These shorts really hold up well.

DateMay 29, 2014
by Prather
from Pride, LA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I have been purchasing these shorts for my husband for many years. Unfortunately, he likes the belt that used to come with them because he wears them as shorts and loads them with cell phone, keys, etc. But the quality is very good so he tolerates the drawstring.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wish there were MORE!

DateMay 13, 2014
by KevinP
from Fairfield, CT
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
I'm cheating a little with my review here. I have not purchased this specific item (yet), but have purchased many, many of this product's predecessors. I LOVED all the options (6" and 9" inseams as well as both subtle and vivid colors) and absolutely HATED that they disappeared, replaced by outside, visible drawstrings and/or hideous visible stitching. Making them plain it what helps make them so versatile! I truly hope bringing these back (though I'm a little worried about the 5" inseam) with such a limited selection is just a 'beginning' toward offering a much wider selection of colors (in particular) as well as alternative inseam sizes!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Everything good except Cinnamon color faded almost totally in three weeks

DateApril 19, 2014
by PGN
from Central Virginia
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
It fits fine and quality seems good and I like all its features except the color, Cinnamon, which is fast fading to off white in only three weeks.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Right sized.

DateMarch 30, 2014
by DeaconDan
Age: Over 65
Thanks for bringing back solid color, short legged swimming trunks with an out of sight drawstring. Ordered XL and it is perfect for my 42-43 waist.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a pile of small refinements spell volley water shorts heaven

DateMarch 18, 2014
by Benway
from New Jersey
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
A medium pair of water shorts fits like a medium should, as expected. I wear these shorts when I work out at the gym on a daily basis, after which I rinse them and let them drip dry overnight. These shorts replace a pair that wore out over time, also from Lands End, as were a pair before that. So I have a perspective on various "make" details. These shorts are the best of the best: a new fabric that has a thicker hand, sheds water, and when wet-through-and-through dries faster than the prior shorts without being stiff after drip drying. The draw string is thicker, softer and therefore more comfortable than the others. The back pocket - has a zipper! yes a zipper! --no self-close fuzzy stuff. Normally in a review I would mention drawbacks. In this case there are none! These are the best water shorts that I have ever had.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good fit, good quality

DateMarch 15, 2014
by MikeOC
from Seattle
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
I've only used these sorts a couple weeks, so far. But they fit well and have all the features I looked for. The description said it had a mesh liner. I checked to make sure that meant a mesh brief. I'd order a couple pair of Lands End shorts with that description, but they did not have a mesh brief and I had to send them back at a loss.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good swim suit.

DateMarch 2, 2014
by Walter1
from Waynesboro, PA
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
The suit fit very well and they last.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hooray! The Classics are Back! Now bring on more colors....

DateNovember 13, 2013
by TMcMullen
from Southern California
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
In short, these shorts are great!
When last year's model came out with the drawstring on the outside and the hideous visible white stitching on the pocket and crotch, I wrote a long and very negative review asking that Land's End return to offering plain shorts with the tie inside. At least 90 people endorsed that call plus many other commenters. This year Land's End responded by offering this 5" short which is a 100% improvement over the previous version.
These are probably not the pair for very tall men, but at 5'7", these are the perfect length for me. They are good quality, like all of the Land's End products that I have used. I have to admit that I am not as fond of the large back zipper as I was the simple velcro tab on the back pocket, but it is not at all bad and really not noticeable.
These shorts are extremely functional not merely for swimming but for casual wear anywhere. The lines are clean; the pockets are discrete; the material is soft and supple; and they travel very well. The quick drying feature is also great. At one time Land's End had comparable shorts in many colors, and I hope that they will continue to offer the black and bright indigo as well as variations of green, red, yellow, purple and blue as they have in the past.
Thanks, Land's End, for responding to popular demand and reviving a classic.
+37points
37of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My favorite shorts

DateOctober 29, 2013
by Snekline
from Hawaii
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
I use these shorts as my only shorts and I love them! The only problem I have is the belt. After a short while, the belt clip hangs up, making it difficult to get them off. Every pair I have has no belt now, because I I cut them off.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fit well.

DateAugust 3, 2013
by PhotoGuy
from Algonquin, IL
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Good quality - what I expect from Lands End.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great on my husband

DateJuly 27, 2013
by ploorob
from Scottsdale, AZ
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I bought these shorts for my 5' 9" husband and he likes them very much. They are the right length and he wears them a lot. will buy again, which there were more colors on sale when we purchased.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what was needed

DateJuly 22, 2013
by BrookT
from Michigan
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
My husband was having a terrible time finding swim shorts that didn't come down to his knees or longer.
These 5" volley ball shorts were just what he was looking for. He liked them so much, we have bought two additional pair since our first order.
Great fit, great length. Sturdy construction. Great product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great color - good fit

DateJuly 21, 2013
by Sonshine
from Sw Florida
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
Another sale item - happy to find the correct size while on sale. Nice color, great length. Husband really likes them.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleased a critic!

DateJuly 12, 2013
by bornknoble
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
My extremely fussy hubby loved these! He is rarely impressed, so thumbs up to this one.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the length

DateJune 24, 2013
by Honeybee13
from NC
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
My husband loves these shorts, especially the length, shorter than most swim trunks. He is 5'9" 150 lb. ordered size M The fit is great, and the color not bright, just right.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Fit Good Value

DateJune 22, 2013
by JoeGee
from Beaufort, SC
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Talk about swim shorts that actually dry quickly, this is the product you want. Good quality and fair price.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit and value

DateMay 28, 2013
by bellaspapa
from Evansville, IN
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Great fit; like the short length and not baggy like most shorts today. Dry quickly, and love the long waist-cord.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Swim Trunks

DateMay 27, 2013
by DOUGMILLER
from Fort Wayne, IN
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Thank you Lands Ends for bring this swim short back, even though advertised as a volleyball short. Inside drawstring, zippered back pocket, very comfortable, excellant construction and the material drys very fast. A great swim trunk. I highly recommend.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great looking functional shorts

DateApril 29, 2013
by ClayCourt
from Pennsylvania
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I use these shorts for tennis and leisure wear. They fit great (its impossible to buy tennis shorts these days that aren"t cut to the knees) and look great. I hope that you will add additional colors. I'll be buying more.
+38points
38of 38voted this as helpful.