Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Swim Trunks or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts

Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts

What better way to take to the water than with Swim Shorts that repel it, right? With our new ShakeDry fabric, These Volley Swim Shorts are dry practically the second you come out of the water (really nice when you have to hop in the car right away!). Made with top-notch features, too: comfortably shaped, three-piece mesh liner (most others are two-piece, with a seam where you don’t want one), two side pockets, rear zippered pocket and a coin pocket on the inside waistband. All in a nice range of solid colors too. 100% nylon with 100% polyester liner. Machine wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 boats
14
4 boats
2
3 boats
0
2 boats
0
1 boat
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Review 1 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Right sized.

DateMarch 30, 2014
by DeaconDan
Age: Over 65
Thanks for bringing back solid color, short legged swimming trunks with an out of sight drawstring. Ordered XL and it is perfect for my 42-43 waist.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a pile of small refinements spell volley water shorts heaven

DateMarch 18, 2014
by Benway
from New Jersey
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
A medium pair of water shorts fits like a medium should, as expected. I wear these shorts when I work out at the gym on a daily basis, after which I rinse them and let them drip dry overnight. These shorts replace a pair that wore out over time, also from Lands End, as were a pair before that. So I have a perspective on various "make" details. These shorts are the best of the best: a new fabric that has a thicker hand, sheds water, and when wet-through-and-through dries faster than the prior shorts without being stiff after drip drying. The draw string is thicker, softer and therefore more comfortable than the others. The back pocket - has a zipper! yes a zipper! --no self-close fuzzy stuff. Normally in a review I would mention drawbacks. In this case there are none! These are the best water shorts that I have ever had.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good fit, good quality

DateMarch 15, 2014
by MikeOC
from Seattle
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
I've only used these sorts a couple weeks, so far. But they fit well and have all the features I looked for. The description said it had a mesh liner. I checked to make sure that meant a mesh brief. I'd order a couple pair of Lands End shorts with that description, but they did not have a mesh brief and I had to send them back at a loss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good swim suit.

DateMarch 2, 2014
by Walter1
from Waynesboro, PA
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
The suit fit very well and they last.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hooray! The Classics are Back! Now bring on more colors....

DateNovember 13, 2013
by TMcMullen
from Southern California
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
In short, these shorts are great!
When last year's model came out with the drawstring on the outside and the hideous visible white stitching on the pocket and crotch, I wrote a long and very negative review asking that Land's End return to offering plain shorts with the tie inside. At least 90 people endorsed that call plus many other commenters. This year Land's End responded by offering this 5" short which is a 100% improvement over the previous version.
These are probably not the pair for very tall men, but at 5'7", these are the perfect length for me. They are good quality, like all of the Land's End products that I have used. I have to admit that I am not as fond of the large back zipper as I was the simple velcro tab on the back pocket, but it is not at all bad and really not noticeable.
These shorts are extremely functional not merely for swimming but for casual wear anywhere. The lines are clean; the pockets are discrete; the material is soft and supple; and they travel very well. The quick drying feature is also great. At one time Land's End had comparable shorts in many colors, and I hope that they will continue to offer the black and bright indigo as well as variations of green, red, yellow, purple and blue as they have in the past.
Thanks, Land's End, for responding to popular demand and reviving a classic.
+27points
27of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My favorite shorts

DateOctober 29, 2013
by Snekline
from Hawaii
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
I use these shorts as my only shorts and I love them! The only problem I have is the belt. After a short while, the belt clip hangs up, making it difficult to get them off. Every pair I have has no belt now, because I I cut them off.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fit well.

DateAugust 3, 2013
by PhotoGuy
from Algonquin, IL
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Good quality - what I expect from Lands End.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great on my husband

DateJuly 27, 2013
by ploorob
from Scottsdale, AZ
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I bought these shorts for my 5' 9" husband and he likes them very much. They are the right length and he wears them a lot. will buy again, which there were more colors on sale when we purchased.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what was needed

DateJuly 22, 2013
by BrookT
from Michigan
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
My husband was having a terrible time finding swim shorts that didn't come down to his knees or longer.
These 5" volley ball shorts were just what he was looking for. He liked them so much, we have bought two additional pair since our first order.
Great fit, great length. Sturdy construction. Great product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great color - good fit

DateJuly 21, 2013
by Sonshine
from Sw Florida
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
Another sale item - happy to find the correct size while on sale. Nice color, great length. Husband really likes them.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleased a critic!

DateJuly 12, 2013
by bornknoble
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
My extremely fussy hubby loved these! He is rarely impressed, so thumbs up to this one.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the length

DateJune 24, 2013
by Honeybee13
from NC
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
My husband loves these shorts, especially the length, shorter than most swim trunks. He is 5'9" 150 lb. ordered size M The fit is great, and the color not bright, just right.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Fit Good Value

DateJune 22, 2013
by JoeGee
from Beaufort, SC
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Talk about swim shorts that actually dry quickly, this is the product you want. Good quality and fair price.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit and value

DateMay 28, 2013
by bellaspapa
from Evansville, IN
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Great fit; like the short length and not baggy like most shorts today. Dry quickly, and love the long waist-cord.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Swim Trunks

DateMay 27, 2013
by DOUGMILLER
from Fort Wayne, IN
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Thank you Lands Ends for bring this swim short back, even though advertised as a volleyball short. Inside drawstring, zippered back pocket, very comfortable, excellant construction and the material drys very fast. A great swim trunk. I highly recommend.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's 5" ShakeDry Volley Water Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great looking functional shorts

DateApril 29, 2013
by ClayCourt
from Pennsylvania
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I use these shorts for tennis and leisure wear. They fit great (its impossible to buy tennis shorts these days that aren"t cut to the knees) and look great. I hope that you will add additional colors. I'll be buying more.
+37points
37of 37voted this as helpful.