Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Casual Pants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants

Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants

Substantial cotton poplin reinforced with Iron Knees for durability where they need it most. Rib-knit waist with drawstring for pull-on convenience and a great fit. Machine wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
5 boats
21
4 boats
6
3 boats
6
2 boats
0
1 boat
0
29 out of 32(91%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Review 1 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy on and off and boy tough

DateJuly 8, 2013
by Grandmasays
from Oregon
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My grandson loves the ease of getting into and taking off these pants. Very comfortable and tough enough for the best in play.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful pants all around!

DateAugust 9, 2014
by lyonsmm
from Bellingham, WA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
These are the only pair of pants my 12-year old son has worn for a year. He doesn't like denim and I don't want him wearing only synthetic track pants, and these are the perfect alternative. They're soft enough to be comfortable, durable enough to be on a boy of average activity level. The soft, slightly-elastic waist allows for his growth spurts without falling off of him or being too snug. He has many pairs of these boat pants (various colors), including the lined ones for colder weather. They've held up perfectly well through so many washings. Perhaps because he has several pairs of each, my son's outgrowing them before they wear out, virtually a miracle.
I hope LE never retires these or the lined ones, but I've already ordered more pairs in the next size up!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs more sizes!

DateJuly 20, 2014
by Heidimarie
from Midwest
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
My son had these last year, and we loved them. The size 8 has gotten too short, but the next size up is medium, a 10-12--HUGE for my skinny boy! The jump in sizes is way too big. Lands' End, please adjust your sizes! Otherwise, we will have to shop elsewhere for the next two years.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants for boys

DateJuly 4, 2014
by Tadpole21
from Northern NH
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My son loves these pants and so do I! They are a little pricey for kids' pants if not on sale, but they are comfy, quick-drying, abrasion-resistant, and they look good. The rib-knit elastic waist is a nice touch for kids who don't like the feel of pants bunching around the waist, plus it makes it easy to get them on and off. Please do not stop making these...we will be wanting more!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too Large!

DateJune 23, 2014
by Seel
from Delaware
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
These may have been great pants, however I ordered my son's typical size (10-12 which is a Medium on this style) and they were overwhelmingly long and baggy when they arrived. I returned them, no sense keeping them in the closet for two years for him to grow into them. I ordered a different style pants at the same time, Boys' Seersucker Cadet Pants, size 10 and they fit perfectly, so Land's End needs to adjust the sizing on these particular boat pants in the future.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Size was different than I am used to an I ordered also a green one, which was smaller

DateJune 5, 2014
by VeeVai
from Zurich
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
this was far too big, I will wait my child to grow.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These pants are perfect for my husky grandson and they fit so well.

DateJune 1, 2014
by Liz1
from Corning, NY
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
My grandson is very particular and he loves these. The waist is easy on and off and perfect for a little huskier fellow. They fit him perfectly and he loves them so its a win/win situation. Love the green and grey color also.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made and a great fit.

DateMarch 1, 2014
by NanaChris
from Ohio
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
These pants run true to size. The draw string waist makes a comfortable fit. Easy on and off which works great for my handicapped grandson. Lands End clothing is very durable. This is my "go-to" place for clothing for my grandkids.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

weird sizing for pants

DateFebruary 3, 2014
by Jillanneg
from Columbus, OH
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I like these pants but I agree with another review that says the jump from 8s to 10s is HUGE! The 8slim fits well in the hips and waist but now that he is getting taller I have to go up in size. When I go up to the next size which is Medium (10slim-12slim) it is allover very large. It won't stay up on his waist and the hips are so large. The length is also very long. I wish that LE made their Medium a size 10 and then had a separate size 12. We can't buy LE pants until he is much bigger to fit into this next size!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice, but LE sizing always stumps us

DateDecember 16, 2013
by Snapples
from Charlotte, NC
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Very nice pants in terms of fabric, appearance, lined, and iron knee. I know my son is tall and skinny for his age....he just turned 9. He plays sports and swims all year. My son noted that some 10 slims from various shops, don't feel comfortable in the waist any more. None of his LE 8 R or S fit any longer. When he first tried on these 10 R I was surprised these pants had about 3 inches to spare on each side of his hips. About 2 inches extra in length. He likes the appearance, fabric and lining of the pants so we have washed and dried on medium and they have shrunk a bunch. They look better in the hips and bottom...not so clown like...but they are still too long to wear without excessive wear on the bottom cuffs...unless he chooses to roll them. Since they look nicer than the LE ripstop pants and no other size really works, we are keeping them at home to try them again in 3-6 months. The going from LE small 8 to LE M 10 to 12 has been an issue for our boy. I wish LE would just use one numeric sizing for the clothing. I hope these pants work!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit!

DateDecember 7, 2013
by Hale
from Ohio
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I have a hard time finding elastic waist pants that aren't too big for my slim son. These fit perfectly! Ordered a pair and he liked them so much we ordered several more colors.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My boys love these but where are the fun colors?

DateDecember 2, 2013
by Wonderlander
These pants are great, and my 3- and 6- year old really like them. I find them way too wide at first, but they snug up after a couple of washes just perfectly (or maybe my children grow after a couple of washes!). I just wish the colors were more interesting--the orange, red, brighter blue and spruce green were so much more fun than the basics. I'll keep my fingers crossed for spring!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE THESE PANT'S!

DateOctober 13, 2013
by CarmellaL
from Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My 5 ft. 10 year old is built like a football player. I LOVE the fact Lands End carries Husky sizes for boys that you can't find anywhere else! I also LOVE the fact that you can cuff them at the bottom. Usually In order for pants to fit him properly in the waist, they are 8 inches too long ~ you can cuff them up and they look AND feel wonderful!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight and Durable

DateSeptember 25, 2013
by MomInDetroit
from Detroit, Michigan
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I bought these for my son in a Husky size. He's really between regular and husky. They are pretty room in the husky size. They look too big on him actually, but we're sticking with it because I think they'll shrink over time and he'll grow. They look nice when you take them out of the dryer.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product - Sizes Run LARGE

DateSeptember 24, 2013
by dfsimon
from Brookline, Ma
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
If you are not sure which size to order, go smaller. My son is nearly five feet tall and wears a youth large in almost everything, but these pants in a large were ridiculously long. There is a three inch difference in the inseam between the medium and large sizes. We exchanged for mediums which fit fine and still have a little growing room.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The fit is perfect!

DateSeptember 5, 2013
by cbear3
from Oak Creek, WI
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Size 8 slim fits my son perfect. He is 9 years old and 54" tall.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

perfect pants

DateSeptember 4, 2013
by Anastasiya
from Russia
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Pants fits good, but little longer then expected. Usefull for rain weather. my son love them.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good quality, larger than expected

DateSeptember 3, 2013
by Leapflower
from Mississauga, ON, CANADA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
i purchased the large husky for my boy. regular waist won't fit so husky is my usual safe bet. this item is rather large in waist/hip/seat than typical husky. yes, it has drawstring -- but it is minimal effect for the broad elastic waistband. keeps falling down on my son. will keep as i trust he will eventually grow it in
great, seemingly durable fabric. nice, deep pockets. very nice profile. i bought two (navy and tan) and the colours are great. the navy will certainly be dressed up with a good shirt and tie for the opera. washed once in warm water with no shrinkage/fading/pilling. fantastic wear on the first day of school (not counting the waist dropping down on him at recess).
classic LE quality is back. just get your Husky sizing sorted a bit better.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just great for my grandson excellent quality and no one else in his group has anything as good!

DateSeptember 1, 2013
by JoyOTTERS
from Adelaide Australia
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Love the Iron knees and colour range Fit really well Thank you
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Don't buy up a size for a slim kid!

DateAugust 20, 2013
by Kariri
from North Carolina
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
These pants look and feel like they're great quality. However... My son is right on the border between the little boy and big boy sizing - he's just half an inch shorter and 3 pounds lighter than the smallest Big Boy SLIM sizings. I took a chance and bought the smallest Big Boy size - made sure they were Slims - thinking we could roll up the cuffs until he grows into them. Well, the pants are laughably big. They won't stay around his waist unless we cinch them up tight, and then they're so balloon-y big, that they look like clown pants. And they're at least 3 inches too long. We'll definitely save them for later, but it'll be a while before he's ready for them! We also had the exact same problem with the Iron Knee open-bottom climber pants on the same order.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Elasticized cuff!?

DateAugust 8, 2013
by MkeMom
from Milwaukee Wi
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Nice pants - but the description doesn't mention that they are elasticized at the bottom cuff. I guess now that I know that, I can see it in the picture, but I certainly wasn't expecting it. My (admittedly fussy) son won't wear them, so they're going back. It's not particularly tight elastic, but it's an odd detail.
+28points
28of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hooray working drawstrings

DateJuly 8, 2013
by Julied7
from Chicagoland, IL
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My slim and average height little guy can finally keep his pants around his waist. Also love the fabric reinforced knees...and for an added bonus they come in orange!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice unlined pants

DateJune 8, 2013
by MommaV
from Louisiana
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
These pants are very nice. I have an extremely thin 11 1/2 year old boy (65 lbs and nearly 5 ft tall), so even the medium 10/12 are pretty roomy on him, but I need the length! Fortunately, these pants have the drawstring, so for now until he gains a few pounds, he can wear these pants! It's very difficult to find pull on pants to fit this tall slender kiddo.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Pair of Pants

DateJune 8, 2013
by Jur
from Indiana
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son loves these pants for the elastic waist and drawstring. I love that they look nicer than athletic pants. I got him the red ones and he loves them... though I had to ask him not to wear them to baseball practice the other day because I didn't want to risk shortening their life before the little brother gets them in a couple years. They are great-looking pants, fit my tall, skinny boy well, and were on sale for a great price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great elastic waist pants!

DateJune 2, 2013
by tckmom
from US
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son is not able to do buttons or zippers and it is so hard to find good quality elastic waist pants for any kid older than a toddler. the fabric has a great soft feeling almost like brushed suede and they are sturdy and comfortable. Thanks for making some good looking elastic waist pants that don't look like casual gym pants!!!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fit well

DateMay 14, 2013
by LeslieE
from Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son has not worn these pants yet, but the size seems great and they are comfy. I expect them to wear well.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable Pants!

DateMay 12, 2013
by MominIowa
from Iowa
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son loves the comfort of these pants and asked me to get more. The waist is very soft and the material is lightweight. I wasn't sure how I'd feel about the elastic at the bottom of the legs, but he wears them so long that they just bunch up a bit and I don't notice that at all.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

He doesn't want to let me wash them!

DateApril 30, 2013
by LindaAlison48
from South Korea
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I was way off about sizes; fortunately these fit my oldest son, though bought for the younger. He complained about the color (blue), but now he wears them almost non-stop. I have to sneak to get them in the wash. They did wash well, and I am sure hoping the "iron knee" is true to its name, as the pants he got for Christmas are already worn through the knee four months later. I probably won't remember to review them again in a year to let you know how durable they really were.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

price was right!! Great color!!

DateApril 15, 2013
by sweetladyfla
from By the lake
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My grandson has cerebral palsy, and has a difficult time dressing himself. The elastic in your waists helps him be more self sufficient. He can even go to the bathroom himself. There are very few places that sell clothes with elastic waists for older boys. Thank you!!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits everywhere and very comfortable

DateApril 13, 2013
by aulocks
from Chicago
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I think my tallish, active six-year-old just found his new favorite pants. They're appropriate for school but comfortable enough to do anything.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pleased with the husky xl fit

DateApril 1, 2013
by MominOntario
from Ontario, Canada
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I purchased these in husky xl. There is plenty of wiggle room, typical fit.
I love the waist band and the fabric is nice and light.
Since there isnt a husky xl in the same shorts...I may purchase more of these and cut them off /sew them up....
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent buy

DateMarch 8, 2013
by EmoMom
from Emo, Ontario
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son is very fussy about his pants and he loved these. Spent a day at school doing winter activties and didn't even wear ski pants - felt these did the job, kept him dry when he fell in the snow. Fit was great. Will be ordering more of these.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Boys' Iron Knee® Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"Yes!"

DateMarch 6, 2013
by Ekdumdevi
from Ct
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
These pants just arrived and I tried them on my son, who is a boy of a few words. Finding him comfortable pants is a difficult task since he needs a husky size. I asked him to try them on and he pulled them up quickly and looked at me with a smile and let out an enthusiastic "Yes!"
Thanks Lands End for these pants! They have all the comfort of a very soft elastic waist, great colors, (he especially liked the blue ones) and they are even a little roomy. The last two years the boat pants were fit more snug and the elastic waist wasn't this substantial and soft. We love these pants and highly recommend them!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.