Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Shorts or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts

Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts

These pull-on style shorts are go-to’s for active boys — built to handle all the abuse your guy throws at them. With an updated look, they still pack legendary durability. Cargo pockets are plenty big for hauling toy cars, sticks & whatnot.
Average Customer Rating:
4.731 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 boats
21
4 boats
3
3 boats
2
2 boats
0
1 boat
0
25 out of 25(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Review 1 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My son loves these.

DateNovember 3, 2014
by gardenguitar
from Ohio
Age: 45-54
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
So happy to find elastic waist pants for my son that are stylish, comfortable and wash great. Perfect cargo shorts for summer and school. Thank you, Lands End. Please don't ever stop making this type of shorts and pants for kids. There is nothing like this in the stores and shopping can become a demoralizing affair when nothing fits.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shorts more colors

DateOctober 5, 2014
by twocatsandadog
from nj
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My daughter loves these, especially the elastic waist and pockets. We wish there were more vibrant color options.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

neat in appearance. durable fabric

DateSeptember 25, 2014
by CR100
from Vermont
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
bought these shorts for school wear. they are everything promised
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable shorts

DateSeptember 14, 2014
by RaceF13
from Newton, NC
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son loves these shorts. They are a comfortable fit with a stylish look.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

DateSeptember 3, 2014
by Natalei
from Lanai City, HI
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
This item is great for big or overweight kids. My son is usually in the biggest sizes in other shorts but in this one he could still fit the husky L and although I at first ordered the XL I kept both sizes for now and then later.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy On and Off

DateJuly 20, 2014
by 3musketeermamma
from PA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
My son likes how comfortable these shorts are and how he can get them on and off quickly. I purchased the husky size for my son. He needs the extra room more so around his bottom than his waist. These fit perfectly without being too loose around the waist and too baggie up in front.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect summer short

DateJune 15, 2014
by PaigeRO
from Chicago IL
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Nice fabric weight, blue color hides stains. Dress up or dress down for any occasion.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hard-to-find slim size pull-on shorts

DateJune 14, 2014
by CarterMom
from Palo Alto, CA
Photos for this Review
User submitted photo
My 9-year-old son is tall (4’ 10”) and thin. He needs size 12 for length, but even a slim size is too big, so I always need the pull-in elastic. However, he likes pull-on shorts, which are really hard to find in slim sizes. These are great. I ordered four pairs and expect to get much use out of them.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thanks for XL husky boy size with elastic waist!

DateJune 2, 2014
by Becky1inRoanoke
from Roanoke, Virginia
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Have SECIAL NEEDS ADULT SON. Thank you for carrying these elastic waist shorts in a large size in both blue and khaki. My son, now 32, has been wearing the shorts for years. He is 5 foot 6 1/2 inches tall and weighs 135 pounds. This size fits him perfectly, and he is able to pull them up and down easily by himself. They were big enough in the crotch too! Last fall for the first time we had a problem with the crotch in the biggest of elastic waist slacks being too small and I hope you've corrected that. LE, you're a godsend! I don't know of anywhere else to get nice-looking shorts and slacks with elastic waist for bigger boys or young men. Without you, they'd be reduced to wearing athletic shorts in the summer and jogging sweats in the winter. Thanks again for meeting the special needs of some of our special young men.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great slim shorts

DateJune 1, 2014
by luvbeagles
from Richmond, VA
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
Perfect for a skinny 6 year old. He loves these easy on, hard-to-find shorts. They colors are good, and they wash well. Just right for summer camp!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Please make shorts like these for GIRLS TOO!!

DateMay 14, 2014
by TracyDP
from Eagle Creek, OR
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
These are great shorts, and I have purchased the orange for my daughter. She loves the longer shorts and the elastic waist (she does not like the adjustable waist which is all you sell for girls in the longer short s). There is NO REASON you could not make cargo shorts in a variety of colors for kids in general, not just boys. I would request this for the board shorts as well, You have NO knee length board shorts to match the girls swimwear. Please fix this, it is the one complaint I have about Lands End...not enough modest, longer length comfortable options for girls.
+23points
24of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice fit.

DateMarch 30, 2014
by chickadee60
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My kid likes the cargo pockets. Good look for work. The fabric goes semi see through when it gets wet.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice shorts

DateMarch 1, 2014
by vprso
from Prairie du Sac, WI
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Our son loves these shorts. He likes easy on/easy off. They fit good.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Would be great w/o cargo pockets

DateAugust 23, 2013
by 3BOYSHRA
from WILLIAMSBURG, VA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
These would be perfect for my boys except our school doesn't allow the cargo-style pockets. Please make pull on shorts just like these for the spring without the pockets!!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally, elastic waist for slim fit

DateAugust 21, 2013
by ExportedFromWi
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My son love elastic waists on shorts but usually they only come in regular sizes and they slide down his skinny body. The slim fit are perfect for him, and they look nice. Came looking for more pairs now that school is starting and LE is out of stock!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Need to have XL in Husky

DateJune 10, 2013
by momof3js
from KY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
The colors were fine, but more colors are needed. Also, my son has special needs and wears only elastic waist pants and shorts. These would have fit better in a Husky size. Please make more shorts like these in XL Husky!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect shorts!

DateMay 29, 2013
by Joyce123
from Delaware
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
i love these shorts. these are the perfect fit for my son. i wish they have them in many colors. they actually fit better than the boat shorts. i really wish they have them in the same colors as the boat shorts. would buy them in all the colors! the material is great. not too thick not too thin. just right. the elastic is actually very comfortable.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality and fit!

DateMay 29, 2013
by CKNonni
from Georgia
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I ordered these shorts for my chunky little grandson's kindergarten graduation and they were perfect. I got the Medium Husky and was very pleased with the fit. The adjustable waistband is a super feature, which has served him well in other Lands End pants I've ordered and prevents "sagging." Great quality and style. The material is lightweight enough for summer and holds up well.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Are you discontinuing these, too? :(

DateMay 27, 2013
by ShelleySuzanne
from Nevada City, CA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I can't believe I can't find Husky XL shorts that look like ordinary shorts.. but with an elastic waist, not that awful 'adjustable' waist with buttons. The new sweatpants- waist shorts are too long and don't have the pockets and 'look' of these... my son loved these and now I can't find them this year.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent overall

DateMay 11, 2013
by BarbMarc
from Niagara Falls, NY
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I have not had a problem with any of the items I purchased from Lands'End. Thank you. Each item purchased above was well received.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Confortable cargos for teen

DateMay 8, 2013
by chillyNY
from upstate NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son has never liked pants or shorts that lack an elastic waist, and that continues even though he is now 14. These shorts are great. He finds them comfortable to wear. The main alternative is athletic shorts, but these are much more dressy and the cargo pockets work well for a mobile phone (iPhone fits) and a small wallet. They also aren't as stiff as some shorts with this look are, and they are a little lighter, too, both big bonuses for my son's enjoyment of the clothing. Also, they are well-made.
Big win, Lands End... thanks for a great option this summer!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Finally shorts with an elastic waist that don't look like gym clothes

DateApril 13, 2013
by Fan60
from Arlington, VA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son hates pants and shorts that require zippers/buttons to close. These shorts are perfect since they slip right on and are a good length (not too short or long). Fabric is nice enough to wear to school. Wish they came in other colors (like navy).
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shorts

DateApril 4, 2013
by CassieCastleberry
from Sumter, SC
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I ordered these shorts for my son last year as uniform shorts and they worked perfectly! Sadly tho he outgrew the 10 husky size. I ordered the next husky size up and they are a little big (he's kind of in between sizes right now), but that's ok. The adjustable waist helps. He'll be able to finish out the school year and start the next one with them. They hold up very well washing and wearing. My son is not easy on clothes. :)
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love these shorts

DateMarch 30, 2013
by clkcjk
from toronto, ca
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
the color is more greeny blue but we still really like them. they fit well.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shorts

DateMarch 23, 2013
by Sljg71
from LA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son needs husky sizing. Thankfully LE has the best selection of husky boys clothing. I ordered these in a medium 10/12 husky and they fit his waist well. They fall just below the knee on him, but look great. Nice weight of material. We tried the boat shorts in husky, but they were much longer than these. These fit him much better and waist band styling is a little nicer. Not bulky and thick.
For reference, we ordered several LE swimsuits for him this year in husky medium 10/12 and they fit exactly the same as these shorts!!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Boys' Pull-on Cargo Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These shorts are the perfect length for my son.

DateMarch 21, 2013
by AmyJW
from KY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son wears a 10 husky and I usually have a problem with his pants and shorts being too long. These shorts fit perfectly and were the right length. The material was sturdy but lightweight enough for summer. They also look great and my son loves the cargo style.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.