Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Backpacks or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Solid ClassMate® Medium Backpack

Solid ClassMate® Medium Backpack

ClassMate® Medium Backpack is designed & tested to carry everything your kid needs for class and more. Additional features not listed below include: no-tip design; water-repellent finish; plus an ergonomic design with padded shoulder straps & back panels for comfort. 600-denier polyester body with 1200-denier base. Spot clean. Imported. 18"Hx12 1/2"Wx6 1/2"D. 1670 cu. in.
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 boats
7
4 boats
0
3 boats
1
2 boats
1
1 boat
1
7 out of 10(70%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Solid ClassMate® Medium Backpack
Review 1 for Solid ClassMate® Medium Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased!

DateSeptember 20, 2014
by Majoujou
from New York, NY
Gender: Female
My son loves his new school backpack! It's durable, spacious, functional, & attractive...all in one. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Solid ClassMate® Medium Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We bought the solid black backpack and it is fine.

DateSeptember 17, 2014
by Jany
from Green Bay WI
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
I bought this medium sized backpack for my 9 year old grandson. He likes the backpack very much.
It has fewer pockets than his last one, but we are managing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Solid ClassMate® Medium Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Backpack!

DateAugust 30, 2014
by ValarieAnn
from St. Louis, MO
Age: 35-44
I bought this for my son when he was entering the 1st grade. He is now in 2nd grade and it still looks brand new. It's been thrown on the ground, squeezed into his locker, had water spilled on it, stepped on more times then I can count, and in general been treated like most young boys would treat a backpack. I bought the black one to help hide the dirt. I know the dirt is there, but I just can't see it. I have read about zipper problems, but have not experienced any issues w/ the zippers. I would highly recommend this backpack!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Solid ClassMate® Medium Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tough kid's backpack

DateMarch 1, 2014
by jakyser
from cincinnati oh
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
we love Lands End backpacks - they hold up well to my rough and tough boys and look good too
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Solid ClassMate® Medium Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My daughter loves this backpack

DateNovember 30, 2013
by momof2activekids
from West Milford, NJ
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
This backpack is the perfect size for my 6 yo. She is a Waldorf student and can fit all her gear and extra pair of hikers or rain boots on the outside strap. Great for an active outdoorsy kid. And BTW her teacher has the same one!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Solid ClassMate® Medium Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for 3rd grader

DateNovember 24, 2013
by MominCT
from CT
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Lighweight and roomy. This is the perfect size for my third grader. He loves the green color.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Solid ClassMate® Medium Backpack
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Zipper doesn't last

DateNovember 13, 2013
by SusanneH
from Indianapolis, IN
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
We have gone through 2 of these in a year (and really less if you consider that it wasn't used at all during the summer). The zipper is so poorly constructed it just pulls away from the seam over time. We originally purchased the back pack for my kindergartener in 8/12. The backpack didn't make it much past Christmas before the zipper came apart - and not from strenuous use - the most he comes home with is a folder or 2 and maybe a small book. We are now returning the replacement Lands End kindly sent us (which I must say was hassle free - kudos to their customer service). We have had LE backpacks in the past and have been happy, but not sure I'll order another one to replace the one that's going back.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Solid ClassMate® Medium Backpack
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Meh

DateAugust 13, 2013
by Pat2theT
from arlington, va
Age: 35-44
Gender: Male
After hearing from several people that I can't go wrong with a Lands End backpack I got one. Meh. The material is extremely thin and the bottom of the bag should have been thick cordura to stand up to the abuse of a kindergartner. Instead it's very thing cordura type material. I doubt this thing is going to last a school year.
-1point
13of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Solid ClassMate® Medium Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great backpack, need bigger size

DateApril 9, 2013
by katelizt
from Michigan
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My 13 year old has had this backpack for two years of middle school and it has held up phenomenally well. He probably went through 4 less expensive off the shelf backpacks in two years before I invested in this one. The only problem now is that it's a bit too small. It is not worn out at all, he just needs more space, so not sure if this size will be sufficient even next year, let alone for high school. I would agree with the other review that the bottle carrier on the side is a bit shallow, though I don't think his bottle has been falling out, it doesn't fit all the way in, though, it could use a couple more inches in height and there is room for those pockets to be taller. The only LE backpack I see that is larger has comic book stuff all over it, and he won't like that, it'll be too "little kid" looking for him. So please offer a larger version of this backpack before the fall!!!
+78points
78of 78voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Solid ClassMate® Medium Backpack
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

needs improvement

DateJanuary 27, 2013
by Tsreview
from NoVA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
This review is for the Classmate Large/Magenta backpack. My son has the Classmate Big Haul and it's been a fantastic backpack for 4 years. Bighaul was no longer offered so I got my daughter the Classmate Large and I'm now returning it. Kudos to LE for taking this back after 5 months (even though we only used it for Disney out of desperation--it's functionless for school). The backpack has several flaws: water bottle holders on the side are too shallow...her stainless steel water cup (12 oz) keeps falling out. It's not a tall cup, and to compare, the Big Haul holds my son's 20 oz s.s. water bottle just fine. These side mesh pockets will only hold a plastic water bottle without an issue. Second, the backpack is like a black hole. There's no divider in the main pocket so everything ends up getting smashed together. The big haul had a laptop divider which works great at keeping folders un-wrinkled. The front pouch is fine for small stuff (keys, chapstick) but the medium pouch is again a black hole. To compare big haul had 3 separate internal compartments, a key ring bungee, and a removable pencil case. I was going to return this for the Featherlight (which has a laptop divider) but the water bottle holders look just as shallow so I'll wait for next year's new design in hopes of something better. I guess I was spoiled by the Big Haul and this or the Featherlight just won't do for the money. Also, the zippers seem cheap...I really don't think they'd hold up like I'd expect from Lands End. Bring back the Big Haul with all it's compartments, sturdy zippers and thicker nylon construction and you'll have a winner. FYI: color is bright but it will hide the dirt. Also, daughter is average second grader and it's just a bit too large for her but it's not worth downsizing since the size will be fine next year and for years to come.
+123points
134of 145voted this as helpful.