Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Swim Trunks or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lands' End.

Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks

Tired of trunks that can’t go the distance? Built with lightweight, soft fabrics for all-day comfort, these cargo trunks are also as durable as a summer day is long. With UPF 50 sun protection and dry-in-a-flash fabric, they’re ready and able to take on every minute of wave-jumping, cannonballs and pool time. Machine wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 boats
17
4 boats
4
3 boats
3
2 boats
2
1 boat
0
23 out of 25(92%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Review 1 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

looks good and durable

DateAugust 4, 2013
by THD
from Midwest
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Although this was too big for my son, when he tried it on I could tell it was a great construction and looked good. Too bad it was too large for him, but now that he has tried it on and found out the right size, I will look for same thing in his size.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

long lasting trunks

DateAugust 3, 2013
by EYK
from Leawood, KS
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Chlorine, salt water, endless laundry cycles and two active boys are no match for these trunks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect tween suit!

DateAugust 3, 2013
by Canuckgirl
from canada
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Bought this suit in orange for my 12 year old son, and he has lived in it all summer. It's fast drying and he loves the longer length. I bought this in a 14-16, and it is just right for him now, so it is sized a bit small, as he is a little below average height & weight for his age. Also, this suit coulld use a little bit more room in the seat, as it's a bit tight there. Otherwise excellent value & quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So happy with these shorts!

DateAugust 2, 2013
by JMKey
from Georgia
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I've got a skinny 8 year old and the shorts he was wearing were size 5/6! I'm so happy he can have a great fit in his size with the "slim" version. The colors are bright and the shorts are comfortable and durable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice swim trunks

DateJuly 10, 2013
by moondog1
from St. Paul, MN
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My son has this trunk in yellow. He loves it. I bought the size 7, but think it runs small. He will not be able to wear it next year.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great color, true to size

DateJuly 9, 2013
by momUp2L8
from Jacksonville, FL
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My 8 1/2 year old really liked the color. He wasn't excited about the mesh liner. We usually end up cutting these out because they start to chafe after a long day at the beach. Otherwise, great fit, true to size. Material is sturdy, well made.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit for waist and length!

DateJune 29, 2013
by Mommy4Ever
from Newton, MA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
We love that Land's End makes swim trunks for boys in slim. My son is tall and slim and I can count on these swim trunks fitting him every year even when he doesn't tie it at the waist. We love the solid colors available, especially orange, my son's favorite color. We bought two in orange this year so he could mix and match with different rash guard shirts available. These are great value! They last all summer, with my son swimming everyday in the lake, and are still nice enough to pass down to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice, basic swim trunks

DateJune 28, 2013
by JBL26
from Texas
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
This definitely run slim. My boys are thin so I ordered the slim fit and in their regular size and they just fit. Usually I have to order a size smaller than their age in order for bottoms to fit. The designs is nice and classic.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not soft enough

DateJune 23, 2013
by jodimama
from Columbus, OH
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
WHile these trunks would probably be fine for most my super sensitive son thought they were too "scratchy." I ordered them thinking that even thought they weren't the cutest they might be the softest. I had to return them.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

comfortable, good fit

DateJune 23, 2013
by GR61
from grand rapids MI
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
DS is particular about comfort, especially waistbands, so I wasn't sure about ordering online, and he likes these a lot. He has a slim to average build (used to wear slims, just got into regulars) and the regulars fit him well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great swim trunks.

DateJune 23, 2013
by KAPLB
from Long Beach, CA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I was so thrilled to find swimsuits in a husky size. My boy is 4'6" tall and weighs 93 pounds. He isn't huge, but he is thick through the hips, thighs, and rear. The husky swim trunks are great. They must run big, according to the height/weight chart I should have bought a large, but thank goodness I went with the medium - they are perfect. I will shop LE husky from now on. Also great to find a variety of colors and prints for husky - usually just dull solids.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just right!

DateJune 23, 2013
by MKennedy
from Loganville
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Love the style, the color (we got the red), and the fit (we have to buy our boys the slims sizes). My son calls them his lifeguard swim trunks. Can't go wrong with these, and the price is unbeatable for the great quality Lands End provides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Quality

DateJune 22, 2013
by Cathleen
from Saint Louis,MO
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Ordered 2 pair for my grandson. Orange and yellow. Both very nice fit well, and comfortable for him. Great value and Land's End quality! What more can you ask for?
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Swim shorts

DateJune 22, 2013
by rungirl
from Kingwood, TX
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I buy these very year...both boys live the way they fit and no rash!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Young boys don't do well with knotted waist adjustments.

DateJune 18, 2013
by oopsey
from carlsbad, ca
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Very Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
My boy is a slim 9 year old who wears a Gap 7/8 slim size. These were way too big in a small for my guy and his friend. The drawstring is good in theory but when you gotta go, you gotta go and sometimes the knot is too tight to undo in emergencies. Since we have to tie these shorts up tight, I would love to see a toggle waist adjustment for quick release.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not nearly as nice as in the past

DateJune 12, 2013
by frizzy1
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I've bought the previous versions of these swim shorts for many years for my son . The current product is very poor quality compared to previous versions. They are now down to one cargo pocket vs two. They also no longer have a contrasting hem / waist interior lining color which just makes the shorts seem unfinished. Also, the material is MUCH lighter than in the past and does not feel at all like it will withstand the chlorine / ocean and multiple washings.
Like so many other Lands'End products over recent years, these just aren't what they used to be. I will not be buying them again next year.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Unless your child is slim, size up on this one!

DateJune 12, 2013
by Mommyal
from Salt Lake City, UT
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
I agree with the reviews about the slimmer cut. My son is between sizes 12 to 14, making traditional 10/12 & 14/16 sizing a challenge. He hates baggy clothes and last year's trunks were an 8, so I went with the M. The waist and length were great, but the seat/hip area and legs were too tight to move freely (even more restricting than the size 8 we are replacing). We both love the fabric and looks, but I will have to return for a different pair in the next size up.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

DateJune 10, 2013
by lmbuscay
from Strasburg, PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
The swim trunks are a perfect fit and the navy color is nice. Also, my 13 year old son likes how they look like regular cargo shorts. I am very happy with the purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality swim trunks.

DateJune 9, 2013
by disneymom
from Atlanta, GA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
These swim trunks are of good quality and wash well. The colors seem to hold up well too. My son wears them without any complaints. He is very picky about how his clothes feel. He does not seem to have to pull or tug on these at all during swimming or jumping in the pool which I think is very important.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great swim trunks!

DateMay 29, 2013
by SC1
from Greenville, SC
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I buy these every year for my boys because they fit them well and hold up very well. My boys have small waists and these always fit them because I can pull the drawstring if need be. The color doesn't fade and they wash well too!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

He loved them

DateMay 13, 2013
by SBalfour
from Whitby, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son is in love with these swim trunk. The fit was perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Runs long and big

DateMay 2, 2013
by mamagray
from michigan
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Very Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son wears a size 10 in jeans, and I am going to have to order a little boy size Large because the big boy size small was way too big in the waist. I am not thrilled with their new sizing this year. Makes it difficult for everyone to find the right sizing.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ran small

DateApril 15, 2013
by upnorthgirl
from Fenton, MI
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
These swim trunks ran small and long. Even though we used the size chart they were too small and very long. Much longer than other Lands End trunks.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fit more like slim than regular

DateApril 8, 2013
by SUSANCNJ
from nj
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son wasn't able to lift up his knees, the legs were too narrow. Could have been just a little wider.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally! Slim trunks for boys that fit!

DateMarch 3, 2013
by Busymommathree
from Louisville, KY
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son will be ten this summer, but is small for his age. He's healthy, but VERY slim. It was wonderful to find slim swimming trunks that actually fit. The sizing chart was accurate and my son his happy to have trunks that fit and don't look like "baby trunks."
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Boys' Single Pocket Cargo Swim Trunks
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Four boys and WILL NOT BUY other swimsuits

DateFebruary 23, 2013
by LaraeF
from Virginia
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My four boys swear by these and will not wear other suits. The rash guard is irreplaceable! We have a pool and visit the ocean several times during the summer so our suits take A LOT of abuse. I always buy a few new Land's End suits for everyone in the spring and they last all year. Sometimes we are even lucky enough to be able to hand one down. They are durable, dry quickly and wash up well. Worth every cent!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.