Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Swim Trunks or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Men's 9" Cargo Board Shorts

Men's 9" Cargo Board Shorts

These Cargo Board Shorts are made with top-notch features: comfortably shaped, three-piece mesh liner (most others are two-piece, with a seam where you don’t want one), pockets that let water drain and soft, fast-drying 100% polyester fabric. Plus we added a front sunglasses loop, one back pocket with rip-grip seal — and all in colors and patterns as bright as the noonday sun. Machine wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.944 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 boats
9
4 boats
4
3 boats
2
2 boats
1
1 boat
2
13 out of 18(72%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Men's 9" Cargo Board Shorts
Review 1 for Men's 9" Cargo Board Shorts
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Returned them for smaller size

DateSeptember 2, 2014
by DEBarber
from PC, FL
Age: 35-44
Gender: Male
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I returned the two large size pair of these for the medium size version. If they had fit better I would've kept them both and given them five/five boats. IMO the elastic waist band in the back made these shorts feel not so secured when tied as tightly as possible they still felt very loose. Otherwise. I liked the design, colors and feel of them but wasn't impressed with the fit of size large. Have not gotten the medium size back yet so cannot say if the medium size is any better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's 9" Cargo Board Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice swimsuit.

DateAugust 31, 2014
by ScSchroder
from Dallas, TX
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
The XL was too big for my husband who is 6'5" and 225 lbs. But he really liked the swimsuit so I've ordered a large and hopefully it will fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's 9" Cargo Board Shorts
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great, Great shorts but watch for waist size...

DateAugust 11, 2014
by Jed
from California
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
Nicer, more pliable material (than similar shorts I bought five years ago, which I also liked). Love the dark blue color and cargo styling.
My gut is that the new three piece liner is more comfortable.
My only complaint: the waist is too big and the drawstring only laces up and closes the front. The drawstring does not pull the entire waist in.
My problem? The waist on the medium nearly falls off my hips. I have to use safety pins to cinch in the waist.
I guess I could return it but it's way too much hassle for me.
I rely on Lands End maintaining measurement standards...unfortunately, that presumption on my part failed me this time.
Otherwise, as I hitch up my shorts, love 'em...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's 9" Cargo Board Shorts
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice

DateAugust 3, 2014
by Rose1971
from Aurora, Ontario Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I bought three suits. 2 for hubby and one for my son. My son has worn his twice and really likes it. My son is 16 and the small for perfectly. He says they are very comfortable. My husband tried both his on and say that he like the feel and really like the idea of the pockets. Hubby got large sizes. My one complaint it that the stitching on my sons waist band began to unravel after 2 wears. I fixed it myself. That is why I have it 4 stars not 5. Would order these again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's 9" Cargo Board Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits great and love the stlye

DateJuly 28, 2014
by MichaelattheLake
from Lake Norman, NC
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
fits great. mesh inside could be a little better but overall my new favorite bathing suit now.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's 9" Cargo Board Shorts
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

wait smaller than normal

DateJuly 15, 2014
by Krishdfw
from Dallas, TX
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
I ordered medium (M) size. Unlike other medium sizes, the waist is much smaller.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's 9" Cargo Board Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good fit and material

DateJuly 13, 2014
by Captainguava
from Ewa Beach, HI
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Shorts is what I wanted and wear everyday..along with other shorts that I purchased..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's 9" Cargo Board Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bathing Suit

DateJuly 13, 2014
by Brian9966
from Washington, DC
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
I'm reviewing for my husband (although he's standing next to me giving his opinion!) he's usually a waist 35-36 and bought the size Large, they fit great, but if you are between sizes, size down because when they got wet, they stretched a little bit ... He bought the yellow - color was great and fit (especially the lining) was comfortable.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's 9" Cargo Board Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The swimsuit was a gift. He loved how they fit especially the mesh liner. The white stitching is a nice contrast and the quality is excellent.

DateJuly 10, 2014
by outdoorprincess
from San Antonio
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
The fit was good with no pulling across the seat.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's 9" Cargo Board Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Husband likes!

DateJuly 4, 2014
by Pilotco
from Lethbridge, AB, Canada
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
My husband likes these very much and will wear these in Mexico.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's 9" Cargo Board Shorts
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I returned these items.

DateJune 24, 2014
by LSF
from W. Orange, NJ
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
I was planning to use these board shorts as a bathing suit - that's how they are advertised. And they look great. The photo shows a drawstring tie, but only after I received the shorts I learned the drawstring does not go all the way around the waist, and the elastic isn't strong enough to hold up the shorts. First dive into the water and the shorts would slip off. Not a good design for a bathing suit.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's 9" Cargo Board Shorts
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Drawstring doesn't work!

DateJune 17, 2014
by TheMomster
from Westport, CT
I bought these for my husband. We both loved the look of them and they seemed to be the quality you would expect from Lands End. However we were disappointed to discover that the drawstring doesn't work. It is just for show which seems to be a cheap shortcut to me. They shorts were a little too loose so unfortunately they have to go back. Thank goodness Lands End has a great return policy. If they made them with a proper drawstring, they would have been great swim trunks!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's 9" Cargo Board Shorts
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

tie is for dress, can't make it tight - they come down too easily

DateJune 6, 2014
by SadSack
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
bad choice 8*(
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's 9" Cargo Board Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect fit, perfect colour

DateApril 12, 2014
by toecutter
from Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
exactly what I was looking for
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's 9" Cargo Board Shorts
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great for Pool; Lousy for Beach

DateJuly 13, 2013
by Dylansmommy
from El Segundo
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My son wore these to Junior Guards and that will be the last time he does that! These shorts have 5 pockets and all of them got filled with sand and pebbles. The liner also held on to the sand since the holes were too small. And it was hard to remove the sand after he had taken them off as not all the pockets turn inside out. These shorts earn a 5 Star for pools but a 1 Star for beach or any where with pebbly sand.
Fit and comfort are excellent and the elastic waistband ensures that you can wear them more than one year. Length is perfect California length.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's 9" Cargo Board Shorts
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

too large

DateJune 24, 2013
by aseyferth
from Grosse Ile, Mi
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
My husband usually wears a large but these were a little too loose, the swimsuit still seemed good quality and we liked the look.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's 9" Cargo Board Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great trunks !

DateMay 1, 2013
by KLester
from Toronto, Ontario
Age: 35-44
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
These look and fit great ! I'd been looking for good board shorts, but they can be expensive. The quality of these is outstanding. Great deal !
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's 9" Cargo Board Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything is good color size and pockets

DateApril 13, 2013
by WIMPY
from LAKE HAVASU CITY,AZ.
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Fits good and I ware these shorts all the time.If they get wet they dry quick
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.