Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Casual Buttondown Shirts or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt

Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt

Design: Lightweight, crisp poplin fabric with careful attention to detail. Perfectly proportioned collar, placket and sleeves with a fit that’s more defined and inline with today’s style. Possibilities: Goes everywhere — pairs with everything. Shorts, jeans, cargos, chinos ... your call. Material: 100% cotton. Machine wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.842 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 boats
8
4 boats
5
3 boats
2
2 boats
3
1 boat
1
13 out of 19(68%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt
Review 1 for Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shirt

DateMarch 29, 2014
by HustannaH
from Atlanta, GA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
My husband has two of these and wears them year round...with a sweater in the winter and with the sleeves rolled up in the summer. I think he'd wear them every day if it was socially acceptable! He's 6 ft. and about 185 and a large fits well. We haven't had a problem with the length like others. The Mineral Sky Plaid is really nice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Terrible packaging

DateMarch 8, 2014
by DGinVT
from Burlington, VT
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
The shirt arrives in a tight ball and emerges as a wrinkled mess. I can't believe it was shipped this way. My first one arrived and was too small, so I ordered a size up. The second one arrived in a wad as well. I can appreciate the appeal of a rumpled shirt, but this goes too far. I like the slim fit, but the large size is too short for a 6'3", 185 lb. guy. Will probably wear it untucked. Fabric feels nice. Good color.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent shirts for the pricepoint

DateMarch 5, 2014
by Chesapeakean
from Chesapeake, VA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male
I'm 6.1 and 175 pounds with a slim build and these shirts fit fantastic! I ordered 3 medium shirts with the hopes they wouldn't be too baggy or too tight. Well, they are right on the money. The sleeves are perfect length and the bottom of the shirts look great both tucked and untucked. The chest area fits well without being too fitted or too loose. The collar offers buttons to wear with ties or to wear unbuttoned for a more laid back look. l would hurry up and order these while they are on sale. I will be purchasing the other colors now as well!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This shirt is way too short

DateMarch 3, 2014
by Garth
from Utah
Age: 19-24
Gender: Male
I just bought this shirt. I am 6,1' and weigh 180. It is TOO SHORT to even tuck in my Lands End shorts! Nice color, and don't mind the tailored fit but the length is only going to get shorter with each washing. Will not buy it again! Too bad cause I like the plaid and light weight.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

4 sails - Stylish and comfortable

DateFebruary 15, 2014
by RMEC
from Indianapolis, IN
Age: 19-24
Gender: Male
I picked these up on sale, which really was an unbeatable deal. I can't give it the full five sails because of the sizing. I usually wear a medium (5'11, 160) but I felt that the medium was far too big in the chest. I had to return it in store and opted for a small. I always thought the Canvass line was meant to be more slim fit and modern, so I was a little disappointed in the confusing sizing. Still, even if I must wear a size down, I like the shirts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Small to size

DateJanuary 8, 2014
by Iqzoo
from Arkansas
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
I always buy XL without a problem, but this XL fits very small. Unfortunately, was sent to laundry prior to wearing. Disappointed with the shirt.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like them

DateJanuary 7, 2014
by semmla
from New York
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
I like the shirts so much, I bought 3 of a different color.
Go one size up as it is rather small.
If you do it be aware that sleeves will be longer in
proportion to a shirt's size.
I just rolled them up one roll and it did it.
They come pretty tumbled so either wear it like that
or iron it. They are not wrinkle free.
All in all I like them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice design and colors

DateJanuary 7, 2014
by virginia528
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My young adult son now owns three of this shirt, in different colors and patterns. These are his favorite shirts. Fabric is excellent weight, being heavy and crisp enough to hold its shape but thin and soft enough to be comfortable and offer a clean, fitted line. It's a great shirt for a thin build especially, since it is a more modern slim cut. Only negative is that it is a little wrinkled when it comes out of the dryer. Son gets away with it at college, but it looks better when mom can add a bit of ironing. I would give it a 4.5 rating based on this. Will definitely buy more of these, so hope it stays in the catalog!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sizing is disappointing

DateDecember 26, 2013
by CoffeeKristin
from Michigan
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
The sizing in the Canvas line is unfortunate and disappointing. My husband loves the regular poplin shirts and I bought two in XL for Christmas. I didn't realize how small the XL would be. While all other LE shirts in XL fit perfectly, this one was tight in the arms and waist. I don't know if they offer an XL (it wasn't available when I ordered my Christmas presents), and I don't understand why the sizing in Canvas is different. Are only skinny-ish, shorter men the target market?
The packaging for the shirts was ridiculous. Both shirts were balled up and tucked into the collars, stretching the buttons out to the extent that on one shirt, the button would not stay buttoned; I don't know if that collar will ever button correctly. The shirts were also extremely wrinkled, to the point that I had to iron them. I'm shocked LE would ship something that arrives in that kind of shape.
I can't recommend this shirt, and I won't be buying any Canvas items again.
-14points
2of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The fit on the shirt seemed good, but the wrong pattern/color was sent

DateNovember 5, 2013
by SoonerGal84
from Norman, OK
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
This shirt fit well on my husband, who has broad shoulders and a narrow waist. However, the wrong pattern/color was sent, and by the time we received it, the color/size he wanted was sold out. We returned and will not repurchase unless the pattern and size he wanted is restocked.
-3points
6of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really like these shirts

DateOctober 26, 2013
by PeterGBrooklyn
from Brooklyn, NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
Reasonably priced and nice fabric, these shirts have a trim, contemporary cut and a nice drape. I get complemented by my wife, daughter and son when I were them! (This almost never happens....). I have ordered a couple more and replaced some of the boxier shirts I have worn for years.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great shirt!

DateOctober 21, 2013
by Tsohn
from chicago
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
i usually buy one of these plaid shirts for my son every year especially the red one. He loves it and wears all year. The colors are vibrant and the fabric is high quality. The length is also just right; not too long or too short.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good buy.

DateOctober 4, 2013
by Dana48
from York, Pennsylvania
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
I ordered a medium in order to keep the arm length from being too long... normally I where a large (I am 5'10", proportional).
The medium is a little snug when compared to another LE medium shirt that came with today's order. This shirt will remind me to loose 12 lbs.
Fabric weight is good. Construction is what you would expect from LE.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great colors, nice fabric

DateSeptember 30, 2013
by Greg17601
from PA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male
The fabric is a bit heavier than expected, which is a welcome surprise. More of a spring/fall weight than summer. There's also a nice, almost "peached" texture to it that mutes the colors a bit and makes the shirt feel softer.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tall Sizes??

DateSeptember 7, 2013
by Okieboxer
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male
I like the Canvas line of clothing but I wish they offered them in tall sizes.
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love the color combination patterns on these shirts. That is what sold me.

DateAugust 31, 2013
by DavidHarold
from Schnecksville, PA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Good quality as always. I am still waiting for Lands End to produce Snap button shirts. I would be the first to buy them.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Much too small, and the canvas fabric is like wearing plastic

DateJuly 13, 2013
by Nathan30
from Seattle, WA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male
I ordered three of these because I liked the patterns, but when I received them I promptly packaged them up for return after trying one on. For that reason I can't bash their durability or post-washing fit. However, I found them them to be extremely tight and short -- like a nice t-shirt short rather than a casual un-tucked button down. It's hard to get that length right -- many oxford shirts are too long un-tucked, but these were definitely too short. Also, the fabric doesn't breath, and the pattern seems painted on. It is canvas after all, I guess, but I expected it to feel a little less like wearing a tight garbage bag.
I didn't give these one star because I think there are probably people who will like these, but I felt like the shirt description was somewhat misleading.
I am 215 lbs and 6 ft tall, my torso tends to be a bit longer than my legs in proportion to most people. I ordered the large size. I generally wear large sizes in most things and I'm not chubby -- by torso has definition, so don't disregard this review on the assumption that I must be overwieght or something. By the same token, I'm no model. Take from this what you will, but I wanted to warn other shoppers.
You might consider trying a larger size, but in the end I just didn't like the fabric.
+6points
20of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit & Material

DateJune 28, 2013
by CSoars
from Edmonton, CANADA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male
Bought two of these last year and was very impressed by the cut and quality - a M fits my 6'2" 185 lb frame great - it's trim but not skinny, well proportioned, and it's long enough in the sleeves and overall length. One of the best fitting (and most inexpensive) button-up shirts I own. Had to buy another in 2013 and was glad to see they hadn't messed with the fit.
The fabric is a surprisingly nice poplin - it has a sort of soft crackly stiffness and feels substantial for being a lighter weight shirt. Pattern matching is suberb. The buttons are thick and the placement is such that there's no pulling when the top button is undone.
Land's End, Please, PLEASE don't change ANYTHING about this shirt, except for the patterns from year to year. I'll keep buying them if you leave a good thing alone.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Plaid Poplin Shirt
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just received this awesome shirt. Wore it the first day!

DateMay 24, 2013
by thrhld
from Richmond, VA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Just received this awesome shirt. Wore it the first day! The colors are incredible and the fit is exceptional. Might wear it out before its time. Will definitely look into others similar as they come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.