Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Casual Pants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants

Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants

Substantial cotton poplin lined with soft jersey for a touch of warmth. Rib-knit waist with drawstring for pull-on convenience and a great ft. Machine wash warm. Imported
Average Customer Rating:
4.567 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 boats
20
4 boats
8
3 boats
1
2 boats
1
1 boat
0
28 out of 29(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Review 1 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Value Pants

DateNovember 9, 2014
by LangM
from Chattanooga, TN.
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
These are great three season pants (Fall, Winter, Spring). I have now purchased four pair; two last year, two this year. They are reasonably rugged , good elastic beltline with drawstring that adjusts a small amount, and the lining is comfortable and soft. They also travel through the washer and dryer well. Both my boys love 'em!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect pant for my active son. Super hip and super comfy. Love the tshirts like material that they are lined with.

DateNovember 8, 2014
by FNK
from Jenkintown, PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My almost 10 year old has these inn every color. They are the perfect weight and they wash up great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy and comfortable

DateOctober 25, 2014
by LeslieStr
from Maryland
Age: Under 18
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Reviewing for my 13-year-old son, who has had pants like this from Lands End for several years in a row. They wear well and are comfortable. He's very slim, so the slim size option is exactly what we need.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My son loves the feel of these pants.

DateOctober 9, 2014
by SarahHall
from Newburyport, MA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
These pants are so comfortable that my son wants to wear them to bed. The jersey lining is super soft. He now has three pairs in different colors because he loves them so much.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

DateSeptember 29, 2014
by lyonsmm
from Bellingham, WA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My now-13 yo son lives in these and the unlined boat pants. He wears them daily and are the only pants he's worn for a year now. He says these lined ones are really soft, they keep him warm at school but aren't binding. All the pairs he's had have worn and washed well, and he's outgrown them before they've worn out. Excellent pants and I hope LE never discontinues them!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

DateFebruary 1, 2014
by poohfer
from Ohio
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
These are my five-year-old's favorite pants. He has to wear uniforms to school, but they are pretty relaxed about it. Just has to be navy or khaki pants with no emblems showing, and these work perfect! He says they are super comfy and he loves the ease of the big elastic waistband. He even wears them on non-school days. I now have 5 pairs, and when they went on sale, I stocked up with 3 more pairs for his next growth spurt. Oh, and they wash well. Had some fading, but not too bad. And they are very well made.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

fits well

DateJanuary 22, 2014
by tribecamom
from nyc
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I ordered the slim cut and it fits true to size. I have found that the waist measurement is the key measurement when determining whether to order the regular or the slim cut. the cotton poplin exterior is quite stiff, and I wish there was some stretch to it for more comfort. however, i think the material is made to take many washings, so i can understand why it's not made softer.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soft and durable

DateJanuary 20, 2014
by RCB40
from Montreal, Quebec
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I am very impressed with the material of these pants. They are so soft. My son is very happy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very good product

DateDecember 11, 2013
by classictwist
from eastern WA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My active six year old son is giving these pants a workout. He says they are comfortable and cozy, good for cold winter days in eastern WA. I am hoping that the reinforced knees will hold up as long as his energy does.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very warm and heavy

DateDecember 8, 2013
by SSBS
from Toronto, Ontario
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My 10 year old loves these pants. I wanted to get him out of his sweat pants and athletic pants and thought that the drawstring waist would appeal to him while bringing him the warmth he needs for winter. I was right -- he loves the pants and was very happy that I ordered 3 pair. They also look nicer than sweat pants all the time.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pants

DateDecember 7, 2013
by Stacie2187
from Quincy IL
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Great pair of pants. True to size.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

super comfy

DateNovember 24, 2013
by KBearMom
from Virginia
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Super picky - must feel like pajama pants if you expect me to wear them- elder son loves these pants. We're on his third pair now as he's grown. Well made, comfy, and just right toasty for fall and winter weekends at home in front of the computer. Just wish they came in slim sizes.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable and nice looking

DateOctober 19, 2013
by aulocks
from Chicago
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Perfect weight and style for a second grader to get through his whole day -- bus stop, classroom, recess, gym.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for cold weather

DateMay 13, 2013
by GB
from BC Canada
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
excellent quality pants, adjustable fit is important for a tall and thin grandson who wears these pants to school in Alberta, through fall and late winter on their own and in the coldest part of the winter under snowpants
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best pants ever

DateFebruary 15, 2013
by RachelC
from Iowa
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
These are my son's favorite pants ever! Please, please, please make them in more colors.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not an iron knee

DateFebruary 8, 2013
by mdbmdb
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
We bought 2 pairs of these pants in the beginning of the year and both have holes in both knees. The pant were nice but they did not hold up well. I would expect them to last 1 season - if not be outgrown at the price I paid.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfy, but runs REALLY big!

DateJanuary 16, 2013
by PAmom22
from Philadelphia, PA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Very Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
Just received the husky 14/16 in marine blue. It runs so big that my older son who normally wears size 20 or man's small can fit comfortably!! Both boys said it was really comfy. Recently I have noticed that Boy's pants tend to be on the slimmer side, but apparently not this.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cool pockets!

DateJanuary 12, 2013
by Comeau
from Nova Scotia
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son loves his pockets, he thinks they are very cool! The smokey olive colour is great, very neutral, goes with many colours. He normally wears a small (size 4), and these do run a little large but we can roll up his pants. Love the gray liner peeking out while rolled up. Thankfully we can tie his pants around the waist, as they are pretty loose on the waist. I plan to get another colour for him.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

These are keepers!

DateJanuary 10, 2013
by M22B
from Vermont
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son loves these pants! He has been begging for "wind pants like Daddy's" for ages, but usually they have polyester or nylon either in the lining, exterior or both, which makes them too hot, smelly and "swishy". These are exactly what we have been looking for! 100% cotton, but still have the "look" he had in mind. On the other hand, the "look" is acceptable to me too, as there are no obnoxious logos or anything. They look decent enough to wear to normal functions (school, even church or out to dinner for younger kids like mine.) The lining is great for softness and warmth, but not as thick as a fleece or flannel lining for the days when you're on the fence. The pants feel substantial - much more so than similar styles we've seen from other companies, but they're not at all stiff or too hot. He doesn't complain about being hot in them for P.E. at school. Like most Land's End pants, the fit of these isn't perfect for my kids, which I anticipated and accounted for in sizing choices... basically, the seat is cut a little low (my kids still need more of a contour waist to fit the average muscular toddler-shape, as opposed to the no-butt school-aged boy shape) but the design makes it very easy to size up and eliminate that hurdle: Because the waist is soft and elastic, it can slide into place wherever it needs to, and the drawstring can be tightened. The cuffs have a not-tight, barely noticeable elastic, which means when you roll them up they stay rolled up - yay! My youngest is all about blue right now, so we were thrilled to find blue pants! I'm also excited about the iron-knees. My only reasons for four stars are the the short seat (which again, I expected,) and the fact that the older pair (by a few weeks) has faded to be noticeably lighter than the new pair. Not a huge issue for me since they're not exactly formal wear, but if vibrant colors are important to you, it's something to consider.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants!

DateJanuary 4, 2013
by Chica1130
from Eau Claire, WI
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought these pants for my 4 year old who is not able to button and zip pants on his own. Like others I wanted pants for him that weren't sweatpants that he could put on by himself. The quality of these pants is awesome, my sons loves the lining. These pants are sized big. I was initially going to buy my son a 5/6 since he is growing out of some of his 4T pants but after looking at the Item Dimensions I decided to go with a 4T since the waist was smaller than the 4 and the inseam was exactly the same. So glad I sized down since the pants are still a little big in the waist and we have more than enough room to grow in the length.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great quality

DateDecember 22, 2012
by Rosenberg
from Washington DC
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
Fits big otherwise great
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfy

DateDecember 22, 2012
by Senoa
from Alberta
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Comfortable enough to wear to school every day - by a boy who would previously only wear sweats!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very comfortable

DateDecember 8, 2012
by leeshoff
from Lancaster, PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I ordered the 10 husky for my 8 1/2 year old. They fit a little big and quite a bit long (especially when compared to the 10H Iron Knee Pull On Rip Stop Pants which fit him just right in the waist and the length) but he loves them! He's only worn them twice so I can't speak to durability but they seem to be good quality. They washed up nice with no shrinkage.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great husky fit

DateNovember 29, 2012
by UImom
from Iowa
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
These pants have a comfy cotton lining that my son loves, and I love that they fit. It's hard to find husky styles that really fit husky kids, but Land's End always comes through!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My son likes these pants!

DateNovember 24, 2012
by Meyers
from Madison, WI
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son is very particular about how pants feel. He doesn't like jeans or canvas and wears alot of sweats to school. I want him to wear less sweats so I like these pants because you can dress it up if needed. Also my son likes how it feels so he doesn't mind wearing it. I like the reinforced knee feature so I'm hoping it holds up (this was the problem with sweats that got holes way too quick). My son is also at a phase where he's growing in girth but not as much in height, therefore I got the pants husky so he has more room. The leg bottoms aren't so wide that when I roll it up, it stays most of the time (another problem with sweats was that I couldn't roll it up). This was a good find for my son and he likes it.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent style, looks great

DateNovember 11, 2012
by CMc456
from NL, Canada
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Bought a couple of pairs to try these out, and I am very pleased with the look and fit. These are my son's new favourite pants.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These pants work.

DateNovember 10, 2012
by Jardine
from Utah
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son is really particular about his pants. He prefers elastic waists and soft material. The lining in these pants and the stretchy waist band make him happy.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous pant

DateNovember 10, 2012
by lwills
from Ontario
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I absolutely love these pants. My son loves comfy pants, but I don't want him wearing jogging pants every day. These are the perfect compromise. They look great and the lining makes them very soft and comfortable, and the drawstring waist makes for easy on and off. These will be a staple in my son's fall/winter wardrobe.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My kids love these pants

DateNovember 10, 2012
by photoholic1
from Radnor, PA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought a pair in the marine blue color for both of my boys to try out. They love them so much, they want a pair in every color. The ribbed waistband is very comfortable and my skinny-as-a-rail youngest loves that he can adjust the tightness with the drawstring. Both kids prefer to wear these pants over jeans.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Boat Pants
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Absymal failure in the fit department

DateNovember 9, 2012
by Heidimarie
from Midwest
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Very Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I really, really wanted to like these pants: iron knee, soft knit lining, comfortable rib-knit waistband, nice colors, great construction. Unfortunately, they run huge. Granted, my 7-year-old is skinny and wears slim styles whenever they are available. Still, these looked like clown pants on him. I could have fit two of him in each leg. The drawstring waistband at least held the pants up, but the drawstring is so think and stiff that when my son put a shirt on to wear with the pants, the drawstrings stuck out and made him look six months pregnant. The length was good, so ordering down a size would have made them too short. Even though my son desperately needs pants, these are going back. If you son has a husky build or typically wears "plus" size pants, these should be a winner for you.
+26points
31of 36voted this as helpful.