Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Dresses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lands' End.

Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress

Design: We gave this pullover day dress some evening-worthy appeal — like tailored finishes and a charming all-over floral print. Made in breezy cotton voile with an easy sheath slip underneath, it’s a definitely a dress made for hours of sun. Possibilities: Add strappy sandals and your favorite skinny belt and take the weekend off. Material: 100% cotton. Machine wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 boats
9
4 boats
6
3 boats
3
2 boats
2
1 boat
0
17 out of 20(85%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress
Review 1 for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Summer Dress

DateOctober 3, 2013
by SierraNevadaGrandma
from Placerville, CA
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
This dress has been worn and washed more than any dress I own...It is comfortable and easy to wear, just slip over my head and off for the day..It is slightly short waisted but I love it regardless. A belt does dress it up but I usually do not wear a belt because of the hot weather...The lining is light weight and a slip is not required...I do touch the dress up with an iron...Great dress,Great price...I wish it came in different colors...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pretty fabric, awkward fit

DateApril 15, 2013
by Parousia
from Atlanta, GA
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I ordered this dress twice. First in a 4, per the size chart. (I'm 5'7", 120 lbs.) It was huge in the waist! I then ordered a 2. The waistband fit better, but the top and bottom were still puffy, especially at the hips. The neckline is also cut strangely. Sadly, I ended up returning both. The print on the dress is gorgeous, but the cut is just strange.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beautiful, but kind of a strange fit

DateApril 10, 2013
by tomorryo
from Albuquerque, NM
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
This dress fits me kind of weird, but maybe I'm just a weird shape. I'm 5'11" with measurements 41-34-43, usually a size 14. 12 was the largest I could get this in, so I took a chance. I think I got the right size (meaning this dress runs a bit big), but I think the placement of the waist might be a little off. The bodice seems like the right size, but the neck area fits a little tight, and while the stretchy waistband seems the right size, the fabric poofs out above it. It makes me look like I have balloon-bodice a little. I tried it with a belt but this just made it ride up higher somehow. The skirt shape is flattering but a bit short on me since I'm so tall. I tried wearing leggings with this (they're rayon and don't usually stick to fabrics), but the skirt is not full enough and the lining kept clinging to them when I'd try to walk.
Overall, I do like the fit - the waist just seems a little off, maybe placed a little low. I love the fabric and that's what convinced me to keep it!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

poofy

DateMarch 2, 2013
by Negrilgirl
from Jamaica
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
The waist is too high and so the bottom poufs out in a very unflattering way. Its a pity as the fabric is lovey . I am 5' 6" and 125 lbs. I usualy wear a small and i am neither short nor long waisted.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beautiful but high waisted

DateFebruary 19, 2013
by Cecie
from hiawassee, GA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
The fabric of this dress is beautiful! The fit is lovely! But the waist is too high and yet not high enough to be an empire waist! I like the dress and will run another band or two of elastic below the original to create a "smocked" waist and I think then it will be fine. A lot of work, but I like the dress! Just be aware of the drawback if you want to order.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for short waisted person

DateJanuary 16, 2013
by OceanBegins
from South Florida
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Pro~ The dress is gorgeous!
It is not white. It is a soft cream/ parchment base with beautiful design.
The pockets in the skirt are not noticable and quite deep and nice.
The cut around the neck and arms is flattering and does not bind.
It is a wonderful, happy spring dress. What I would call a "Charlotte" dress.
Con~ If you are long waisted like me, your figure disappears in the high waist.
The dress is poofy, not in a good way,
in a way that makes you run from a full length mirror, like the 1st day of swimsuit season.
This gorgeous creation becomes a potato sack.
I have a great seamstress who, if she can drop the waist, this will be one of my new favorites!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this dress, its comfortable and fun to wear.

DateNovember 26, 2012
by NMBorders
from Orlando Florida
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
It's a perfect fit, great for shopping, family outing or walk in the park.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Love Love this dress

DateOctober 12, 2012
by Anonymous
from Madison, WI
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I loved the way it fit and loved how stylish the design is
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lovely fabric, lovely print, difficult shape

DateOctober 10, 2012
by SkierInNJ
from Teaneck, NJ
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I fell in love with this dress when I saw it, loved it even more once I received it. But found that it was just not for me. The top is designed in a way that makes it puff out, which made me look 20 pounds heavier than I am. Maybe it's my shape (good-sized top, straight waist, no hips).
The fabric is a lovely and so is the print. I really liked this dress, but it just did nothing for me. This is probably best for very slim or smaller chested women.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Effortless

DateOctober 9, 2012
by JaclynL
from Upstate, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I'm 5'4" 135lbs 37.5(32DD)x26x38 LEC size XS/S/4/6.
Sizing: After speaking with customer service and getting the garment measurements (always a good idea) I decided to get the 4. This worked well. It fits great everywhere. The bodice is not fitted and therefore sits away from the body a bit. The length comes to my knee, slightly above. The waist, while a little short, is not an empire. It sits about 1/2" above my natural waistline (I'm a bit long waisted).
Material and Construction: The cotton is airy and light, it's smooth and woven well. The lingerie snaps are a wonderful addition and I wish more dresses had them. Pockets! Love. The lining is only attached at the top, not at the waist and not at the hem. This not being tacked down in the middle could be a part of the "puffiness" issue.
Color: I like it. The base color is bit yellowed, like old linen. The pattern ranges from barely there gray to black.
This is a full-skirted dress. It will add volume to your frame no matter what size you order, but it's flattering and ladylike. This is very easy to just pull on and go. It's also very easy to dress up or down. I ordered this counting on having to return it, but it's a win for me.
I've found it quite versatile as well. On it's own with strappy sandals when it was hot, with a cardigan and boots now that fall is upon us.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with this dress

DateOctober 8, 2012
by VanessaE
from Australia
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This is a gorgeous dress. High quality, fantastic sale price. Other reviewers have mentioned that the waistline is high - it is slightly, but this is a good thing as I have short legs and a long torso. When belted, it creates the illusion of a longer bottom half. The gathering in the top half even creates the illusion that I have more in the chest area. Awesome!
The fabric is not as white as in the photo - more cream. I purchased a size 2, even though according to the charts I'm a size 4-6. This is normal though - a size 2 is what I always order from LE Canvas. Never trust those charts! I'm 5'4" and the dress comes to my knees.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lovely fabric but puffy

DateSeptember 19, 2012
by Kutty
from Australia
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
It's a lovely dress but not recommended for someone with heavier bottom as the dress puffs up .
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Husband loves it!

DateSeptember 17, 2012
by WilliamsFamily
from Michigan
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
My husband totally loves this dress. It's usually his first pick when I let him have the say ;-) It does seem to run big. I ordered a size down from normal to keep it from looking to puffy. The waist sets a lot higher that shown on the model, but I really like it with a thick leather belt and boots - just totally romantic look feel and design to the fabric. bravo!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a very cute dress...

DateSeptember 11, 2012
by torryv
from Arlington, VA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I've ordered this dress in a size 12 (I'm 5'11"/ 38DD). The upper part of this dress fits very good but down the waist- a bit puffy and too short for me (doesn't hit the knee). However, the fabric is very lightweight and I love the print. It looks really cute with the belt!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beautiful, but may become an empire style if you're long-waisted...

DateSeptember 8, 2012
by Hadley81
from Kentucky
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Beautiful workmanship with every stitch in place from the soft full-length slip to the lingerie snaps and deep hem—I hate that it has to go back. Normally LE petite small/6 fits me well, so I ordered a 6 without looking at the size chart. Technically, the dress isn’t too small, but it’s short-waisted by 2-3 inches. (I’m only 5-4 ½”.) If I pull the waistband down and hunch forward like the model in the photo with the belt, that’s pretty much how the dress looks on me, but if I move around normally without tugging at the waistband, it ends up as an empire style that looks puffy. I’m long-waisted, though, and should have followed the size chart—my measurements are closer to those given for a size 8. I may try again later with another size.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful and Romantic!

DateAugust 27, 2012
by FLover50
from Orlando, FL
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This is a beautiful dress, love the soft, almost ombre' effect print. GREAT quality and it has a nice light lining. Very feminine - perfect for a oh so many occassions!. It is a tiny bit short-waited, but is graceful and almost "grecian goddess" in the way it flows - just enough of a soft, full skirt. LOVE the pockets! Thanks for another wonderful Land's End beauty!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet sweet sweet!

DateAugust 22, 2012
by LazyDaisy
from Nova Scotia, Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I was checking out this dress from the moment it came out, and based on earlier reviews was a little hesitant... However, I bought it at a great price, an boy am I thankful! For my body (5' 6", 125lbs, 36B) the size 2 fits perfectly and looks very sweet!
The dress is very comfortable, tailored and easy to wear. It is cool and looks polished (it has lingerie snaps!), and is so easy to dress up or down based on shoes and accessories... Wedding, garden party, or hanging at the market. It is short waisted (and I'm very long waisted), but on me it looks almost like a classic grecian style. It is more "flouncy" as other reviewers have mentioned, but it certainly does not stick out, and is more the full-skirted style of many dresses these days. I have received many compliments so far, and look forward to wearing it throughout the rest of the summer and into the fall with a pair of leather boots and a sweater!
My only other comment is about the color -- it is cream with a very brown-gray pattern... "Graybird" is a little misleading, but I'm not fussed!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adorable!

DateAugust 21, 2012
by EofG
from Right Coast
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Love, love, love this dress! So light & comfortable. No skirt slip required. The only difference compared to the picture here is the elastic band on my dress is thinner. I would have preferred it to be wider like the photo but it's a minor detail. Great quality, excellent sale price!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful dress...simple and classic!

DateAugust 15, 2012
by Seriousseattleshopper
from Seattle
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I had many fitting problems with LE dresses from the Canvas line ( all ordered in the same size 0), however this one is a keeper. One of the other dresses I wanted to keep but could not settle for the fit was the Madras ( way too high waisted and way to much material below the high waist ) and I was worried the same design flaws would carry over to most of the other dresses in the same size, but that was not the case with this dress. It does billow a bit at the top, but if you have a small bust like me (34 B) it actually helps the proportion and appears more filled out. I like this feature. It is a nice cotton for being dressed up or casual. I think if you ironed it, you could wear this on a date or to a wedding, and if not, it still holds a nice shape without being too puffy. I love the print, as well, I feel it gives a romantic and slightly vintage look. If you are on the fence about this dress you should order it, put it on, and enjoy leaping over the fence as this steal of a dress will win you over!
+24points
27of 30voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Women's Scoopneck Floral Dress
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product