Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Casual Pants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants

Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants

These pull-on pants are the go-to pants for active boys — built to handle all the abuse your guy throws at them. With an updated look, they still pack legendary durability and more thanks to Iron Knees®. Cargo pockets are plenty big for hauling toy cars, sticks & whatnot. Lined with cotton jersey for soft warmth. Machine wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.633 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 boats
22
4 boats
7
3 boats
0
2 boats
0
1 boat
1
28 out of 30(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Review 1 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm and Soft but tough

DateDecember 4, 2014
by JLSk
from Nebraska
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I really like these pants but my boy is quite slim and they kind of float around his waist. I wish there were an elastic adjustment strap at the waist like some of the other pants from LE. However, they don't fall off so I'm pleased with them although I won't order a second pair.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They are great! My son will not wear jeans, so this is a nice warm alternative.

DateDecember 1, 2014
by lizaanne
from Saint Joseph, MI
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
These pants are nice enough to wear to church, but comfortable and warm for everyday.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My son is 112 lbs and 5'4"

DateOctober 7, 2014
by dnewell
from Mequon, WI
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
The waist and length are great for my son who has a hard time fitting both. If you like these get the jeans too, he loves them both
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These pants are perfect!

DateFebruary 27, 2014
by AJGrace1
from Holbrook, NY
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I love these pants! I purchased two (khaki and navy - size 7 slim) for my son. I was nervous at first because the adjustable waist is not offered in this size. They fit perfectly, and look great. I did get them on sale which makes it even better. The quality is outstanding - I will only purchase the iron knee going forward. They are perfect for everyday wear.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great!

DateJanuary 13, 2014
by Anila
from Toronto
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
I love these pants. My son is 4 years old and has a hard time with buttons. These pants allow him to be independent to use the bathroom at school. They also look really nice. I got him the Navy and the orange colour ones. These pants are warm and the lining makes it soft. I ended up ordering him a third pair. I highly recommend them and hope Lands End will have these available so that we can purchase them every year. I ordered him a size 5 since he is tall for his age.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The pants fit my grandson perfectly.

DateJanuary 6, 2014
by DStern
from St. Louis, MO
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
These pants are a very high quality and the lining is so warm for this time of year. I am sure they will be passed down to the second grandson.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the quality of these pants.

DateJanuary 6, 2014
by MontrealMom3
from Montreal, Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I had a hard time with ordering this particular model with the S, M, L sizing. My son is very slim and size 5 or six, so thought the M slim would be perfect. It was way too big. I liked the pants so I just kept the Medium for next year and ordered a Small for right now. They fit perfectly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my skinny tallish boy

DateJanuary 6, 2014
by KittieK
from Wiesbaden, Germany
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My son is 6 years old and weighs 49lbs. I ordered the slim fit size 6 and they are a great fit. He is not confident about buttons and zippers yet so the pull on feature allows him independence. The lined pants are really perfect for the colder climate we are in. They provide a little extra warmth without any bulk. I want these pants for myself!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very good product

DateDecember 11, 2013
by classictwist
from eastern WA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My active six year old son is giving these pants a workout. He says they are comfortable and cozy, good for cold winter days in eastern WA. I am hoping that the reinforced knees will hold up as long as his energy does.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The pants came fast where the right size and color

DateOctober 31, 2013
by Grandmalynn
from Winnemucca, NV
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
I ordered these pants for my grandson. He will not wear jeans so this type of pants are warm and soft. I will be ordering him another pair for Christmas
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Huge fan of Iron Knees!

DateOctober 19, 2013
by aulocks
from Chicago
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
We have several pairs of Iron Knees in different styles and I won't buy anything else until my son doesn't slide on his knees any more. Good quality, comfortable and neat looking.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

DateApril 27, 2013
by Gamster
from Santa Rosa, CA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
It fit perfectly - good job - looks sturdy great color
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not slim enough

DateDecember 27, 2012
by LexiL
from Arizona
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
Thesea are great pants but they are not slim enough. They really need the elastic and button on the waist band.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm for cooler/cold winter; great for independent boys who can't snap & zip

DateDecember 23, 2012
by Eli2
from Chicago & Europe
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My almost 5 yr old boy can't zip & snap, but wants to be independent, so he is very happy with this elastic waist that he can pull on himself (as are his teachers, who don't have to help him with the bathroom). The lining is soft and comfortable, without being too hot (like fleece lining sometimes is), which is perfect for those cooler/cold winter days, when he doesn't want to wear snowpants or long john pants. The double knee is fantastic! We have these also in unlined version and they are terrific! Love the orangey/red color (such a unique color good for boys to get away from just blue and brown) and all the shades of blue that are available. Please make these again next year.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice warm comfortable pants

DateDecember 23, 2012
by HollyC
from MN
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
Usually my son wears a slim, but I was able to buy these in the regular.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit & features

DateDecember 22, 2012
by DeannaT
from Toronto, ON
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
The slim fit is terrific for my son who is small for his age. Love that these are lined for the winter, and the reinforced knee is so valuable for boys who love to slide whenever possible.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

never disappointed

DateDecember 22, 2012
by Net
from New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
These pants are comfortable and durable and my son loves them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

will only buy iron knee pants from now on!

DateDecember 9, 2012
by AnnaHelene
from toronto, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
best pants ever. I will not buy my 6 yr old son any other pants but these!! I was getting tired of the knees ripping after a month. the fit is great and with no zipper or snap/button they are easy for him to get on and off. the lined version will be fantastic for the winter.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

fits well (slim size) but the pants are heavy

DateNovember 25, 2012
by Spong
from Alexandria, VA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
These pants fit well, and the styling is good, but the combination of the all-cotton rip-stop outer fabric and the cotton jersey lining makes the pants heavy to wear. I frequently buy pants for my son from Land's End for two primary reasons: (1) he doesn't like to have zippers on pants and (2) he needs a slim size. It' seems Land's End is the only place we can find elastic waist, slim-sized pants, that still have mature-enough styling for an 11 yr old. We've had several pairs of the previously-offered lined pants that were made of a cotton-nylon blend fabric lined with cotton jersey. Those seem to have been discontinued, so we tried these new pants. My son likes the styling and color of these, and the fit is good (as always!), but the sturdy all-cotton outer fabric combined with the cotton jersey lining makes the pants heavy. I think we'll get less use out of these, because the fabric will seem too heavy for warmer weather.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality, comfy

DateNovember 25, 2012
by AKTransplant
from N Pole, AK
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I ordered these for my 10 year old son who is most comfortable in sweats. He says they are really comfortable and warmer than jeans. He is tall and slim and they fit great.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

substantial yet soft

DateNovember 16, 2012
by Lanon
from NC
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son liked these pants right away, commenting on the soft lining. He favors cloth that isn't too thin, both for the look and the added warmth, and these pants have a sturdy look without being overly heavy. Liked them enough that he asked for a second pair!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants for colder days

DateNovember 12, 2012
by RoseV
from Bloomington, IN
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I have a slender 4 (almost 5) year old and bought a pair of the "slim" size 5 green unlined boys ripstop pants. They fit so well and are so sturdy that we bought two pairs of the lined ripstop pants (the orange and brown). The weight is perfect for chilly winter days, not too heavy, but substantial. The colors are nice. The "slim" sizing is great for slender little guys, and the elastic waist will allow him to grow into them in the waist as he grows to fit the length. For now, we roll the hem a little and it looks cute. He wears these to school almost every day. Loves that he can pull on his own pants and not bother with a zipper or snap.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and comfortable

DateNovember 10, 2012
by AOswald
from PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My 8 year old son loves the pull on feature of the waist, yet looks belted. They are lined with a soft fabric that keeps him warm during cold outdoor recesses at school. They are sure to hold up to the rough tumble play with the double knees. When I asked him what he would like to say about the pants and he said, "Heavy, but warm." He said he would definitely recommend them to other friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

DateOctober 27, 2012
by ScoutMom2
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I purchase slim pants. I purchased two pairs for my 12 year old son and one pair for my 8 year old son. Excellent pants. Last weekend the boys wore the pants camping...cold rain most of the weekend. Thank you Lands End!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality

DateOctober 26, 2012
by France2
from Ottawa, ON
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I received my order today. It was the first time I ordered from Land's End and was pleasantly surprised as to the speed of delivery in Canada (ordered Tuesday and it was delivered Friday). These pants are of obvious quality and will last. My only complaint is that I had expected an adjustable waistband for a size 7 (my son usually wears Slim). In re-reading the description (adjustable waistband in boys size) and reading the mail order magazine, I now realize that "boy size" means "big boy" size only and not "little boy". That was not clear when I ordered.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great to have the lining--soft. Adjustable waist is great.

DateOctober 15, 2012
by SBLeslie
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
These pants should last a long time. The lining is great for the cooler days of fall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

hate the changes

DateOctober 13, 2012
by abug
from CT
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Very Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
Last year I bought my son the lined rip-stop pants and loved them! The fit was great and they kept him warm in the cold months. I bought this new version for this winter and had him try them on. They are short and wide (even in slim). He hated the knees, saying they felt 'hard'. I am returning both pairs and have found pants similar to last year's version at another retailer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another great product.

DateSeptember 29, 2012
by jacqb
from canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought these as my son really loved the regular rip stop pants and I knew he'd need something warmer for the colder weather and was glad Land's End came out with these.
They've washed well and the lining didn't shrink. I'd love it if there was a fleece lining option as well.
These pants fit great and aren't bulky.
Another great product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE THEM!!!

DateSeptember 27, 2012
by TaosMom
from Taos NM
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I love these pants. Bought two pairs for my 5-yr old son and wish I could afford more. He's very muscular (not overweight) so a lot of pants his size are small around his waist. These are actually a little loose and he has room to grow. Also, they are very heavy-duty. I can see these pants lasting for a long time. I would have liked to see an adjustable waist but otherwise, excellent pants. A new favorite!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Boys' Iron Knee® Lined Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Quality and Perfect Fit

DateSeptember 24, 2012
by ClevelandSnowBelt
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My 5 1/2 year old son is thin with very small hips and waist. Lands End slim pant sizes for little boys is a perfect fit. No more synching and hiking up his pants!
We live in a cold weather climate with deep snow. These pants will be perfect once we drop temps into the winter. They are very rugged and the fleece lining is thick and soft and will provide a great base layer against my son's skin.
Like I mentioned, he is skinny so he will really benefit from the warm extra lining inside these pants.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.