Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Long Underwear or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Toddler Boys' Thermaskin™ Heat Midweight Pants

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lands' End.

Toddler Boys' Thermaskin™ Heat Midweight Pants

Those old cotton long johns are way gone — new Thermaskins™ keep kids warmer and drier all winter long. Made in a special moisture-wicking fabric that lets skin stay dry, plus our antimicrobial finish for a fresher feel (and smell). Lightweight with flatlock stitching for easy layering and no chafing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 boats
12
4 boats
1
3 boats
1
2 boats
1
1 boat
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Toddler Boys' Thermaskin™ Heat Midweight Pants
Review 1 for Toddler Boys' Thermaskin™ Heat Midweight Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous Base Layer!

DateFebruary 28, 2014
by HennMom
from Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I bought this for my three-year-old to keep him warm on the slopes. It is silky soft on his skin which is great because he has eczema. The fabric is nice and light but keeps heat in well. It is thin enough that your child has freedom of motion and doesn't complain about feeling too bulky. This is great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Toddler Boys' Thermaskin™ Heat Midweight Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good color but I felt they ran a little large.

DateJanuary 7, 2014
by Sportpuppy
from Illinois
Age: 45-54
The item was quite nice and nicer than I thought they would be. More silky than cottony. They were too big for my son so I returned them.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Toddler Boys' Thermaskin™ Heat Midweight Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits growing boys

DateJanuary 6, 2014
by warmnhappy
from Denver CO
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Bought these for my 7 year old grandson for his first skiing experience, and he was not happy wearing them until he actually went for his first ski session. He came home happy and warm, and then it was hard to get him to take them off! These fit snugly and boys don't always think they need these, but when he realized that he was happier keeping warm, my grandson no longer thought anyone might think these were "geekish".
Size boys large, equating 8-10 was perfect for this growing boy. They will be too small for him next winter and I'll have to look at the teen age sizes. Boys grow so quickly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Toddler Boys' Thermaskin™ Heat Midweight Pants
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good lightweight long underwear

DateJanuary 6, 2014
by Woodsmom
from Maine
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit well but I do wish boys clothing existed in the off sizes for tall skinny little boys. My 11 3/4 year old is 4'8" and 68lbs with long legs so he needs the length but not the width in pants. Size 10-12 pants (and shirts) are good for length but not width- he needs a tru size 11! These long johns are actually quite light weight to be labeled mid weight, they need another layer about 1mm thick to be mid weight . They work with another layer over them followed by snow pants.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Toddler Boys' Thermaskin™ Heat Midweight Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lightweight but warm!

DateJanuary 6, 2014
by Mackenna
from Dorr, MI
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I ordered these for my little boy who plays outdoors no matter what the weather....So, living in Michigan this time of the year means c-o-l-d! These are lightweight enough to easily be worn without feeling bulky, and he stays nice and warm too. Now I just need to get him a facemask and he'll be all set!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Toddler Boys' Thermaskin™ Heat Midweight Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for when the weather get's chilly

DateNovember 23, 2013
by TSAN
from West Bend, WI
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Bought the Thermacheck top and bottoms for my grandson. He loves them. Wears the top under his sweatshirts. I love the weight of the material, warm enough but not bulky.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Toddler Boys' Thermaskin™ Heat Midweight Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for layering

DateJanuary 5, 2013
by lisabkln
from brooklyn
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
These silk leggings are perfect for laying under pants for outdoor play.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Toddler Boys' Thermaskin™ Heat Midweight Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

DateJanuary 2, 2013
by CherV
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
As always, Lands End delivers with exceptional quality. These Thermaskin pants are a great base layer. My 3 1/2 year old son loves to wear them. He says they are very comfy and they fit under his pants very well. Must have garment for cold Iowa winters.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Toddler Boys' Thermaskin™ Heat Midweight Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for petite adult!

DateDecember 24, 2012
by deirj
from New Westminster, BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Very Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I am 5"2" and 95lbs, but I am an adult female mother of two. I purchased these pants and the matching top to wear as a base layer under my winter/rain cycling gear for my 42km round-trip bike commute to work and back - I commute by bike year round here on the west coast of Canada. These thermals are great! Easy to care for, don't retain body odor, and the Medium fit me perfectly (I didn't go by the Land's End size chart as it seems off - if I had purchased by the chart, they would have been too big and they don't shrink in the wash). As well, the thermals are a very thin material, which makes them great for layering!
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Toddler Boys' Thermaskin™ Heat Midweight Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and comfy

DateDecember 8, 2012
by Cooldad
from Park City, UT
Age: 35-44
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Our son loves these pants, he wears them under his Squall Snow Bibs and thats all he needs for a day skiing or making a new snowman. Good quality fit and finish at a great price. We will buy many more pairs for our children.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Toddler Boys' Thermaskin™ Heat Midweight Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Base Layer!

DateNovember 30, 2012
by MariaG
from Buffalo, NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
On our 6th ski season with thermaskins as our GO TO base layer! They provide a nice foundation for warmth without adding bulk. They wash and dry great. Buy two!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Toddler Boys' Thermaskin™ Heat Midweight Pants
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Smelly - No Air Flow

DateNovember 30, 2012
by Leapflower
from Mississauga, ON, CANADA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son wore these pants last week. The temperature was about 2 celsius (I am in Canada) with lots of of cold wind giving a windchil in the minuses.
My son said that he didn't feel an ounce of cold in his legs under his sweatpants when he was out for recess. He was thrilled to see how well they kept his feel worm - as was I!
However ...
he also came home a wee bit smelly. This is purly do to the lack of air flow. This has never happened to him before (when he is just wearing his sweatpants and underwear alone) so I think it is fair for me to attribute it to these insulating pants.
Moral of the story: I would recommend them, but with major reservations. They are true to their word - they do keep the body perfectly warm. However, it doesn't seem like they wick moisture from the skin or are air-perimable.
Will still keep them for thoes really cold days, but am still disappointed.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Toddler Boys' Thermaskin™ Heat Midweight Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

VERY comparable to the Patagonia brand long underwear!

DateNovember 24, 2012
by photoprof
from MI
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I worked in the outdoor industry for many years. I have learned a lot about layering clothing in cold weather, and high tech fabrics, throughout the years. These are a much less expensive choice, but still VERY high quality long underwear. They are not itchy, or too tight. I have passed EVERY pair down to other families, and have never had a snag or a rip appear. (as I did with the REAL silk kind!) If you can only afford a top, or a bottom- choose the bottoms. As, it's easier to layer up your child with a fleece or a sweater under their jacket. There are NOT a lot of options for the legs. I recommend that you NEVER use fabric softener when washing these, as it can coat the fibers and lessen the wicking ability!
+31points
32of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Toddler Boys' Thermaskin™ Heat Midweight Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice but odd color

DateOctober 27, 2012
by teafor2or3
from Michigan
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
These fit good and are not bulky. The color is odd-it looks purple. But no one will see them anyway.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Toddler Boys' Thermaskin™ Heat Midweight Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great style

DateOctober 27, 2012
by Siggy1
from Toronto
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son needed these for camping - they kept him warm and cozy. Easy to wash and comfortable to wear.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.