Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Pants & Bibs or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants

Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants

From ski slopes to sledding hills, we think our snow bibs & pants are the best fully-featured value out there. Waterproof & windproof they also have a double-layer of nylon on the knees and seat (where snow pants need extra protection). They're also built with Grow-a-long™ legs that extend up to two inches for a long-lasting fit that lasts many kids more than one season. Easy ankle zips give them room enough to slide right over snow boots.
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
5 boats
29
4 boats
4
3 boats
3
2 boats
1
1 boat
2
34 out of 38(89%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Review 1 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants

DateApril 5, 2014
by Alycia79
from Wisconsin
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
These pants are great! I have a very active 7 year old and these are holding up extremely well to his crazy antics. The fabric is very durable and thick, and they are definitely waterproof. He has been wearing them in the melting snow/puddles, and he still comes home dry everyday. They are easy to keep clean as well, just toss them in the washer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good fit and value for money

DateFebruary 24, 2014
by Kinniekk
from Hong Kong
Just love this! for its texture and the very wise design of allowing the pants to grow with your kid. Just love Lands' End products for the very considerate design for families with fast-growing kids!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very durable!

DateFebruary 22, 2014
by Chellee
from Michigan
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My son loves his Lands' End snow pants! They hold up really well.
Great color and great fit!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent snow pants!

DateFebruary 18, 2014
by LisaMMM
from Pennsylvania
Gender: Female
Excellent quality. Material seems very sturdy and is reinforced on the knees and back side. Love the leg option that allows them to be lengthened. My son is thrilled with them. My only suggestion would be to add an adjustable waist option.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I am so disappointed in the fit. There is no way to cinch the waist.

DateFebruary 13, 2014
by Kismet2269
from Athens, GA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Except for the way they fit (or don't fit) around the waist, the pants seem great. An adjustable waist, or just belt loops would make these wearable. I didn't size up. I bought size 8 for my son who wears size 8 in all other pants. The length is fine but the waist is so huge the pants slip right down to his knees. Completely unwearable! There are no belt loops. I tried to keep them up with a belt but the pants just slipped through as he moved around. I really wanted these to work, they seem nice otherwise.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm, comfortable, durable

DateFebruary 12, 2014
by Beezel44
from Kyiv, Ukraine
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
We just bought a larger size after my son (8) grew out of the last pair. The fact that he grew out of them rather than wearing holes in the knees is significant! These are tough. He wears them to and from school and out for recess every day during the winter and they are still going strong. He says they are also comfortable to play in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough Pants

DateFebruary 4, 2014
by JenB555
from Spooner, WI
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
These pants are made extremely well! Seem to hold up great on the playground, are easy to put on, has a tough durable material, looks great!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs Adjustable Waist...

DateFebruary 2, 2014
by canadamomof4
from St-Jérôme, QC
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
If these pants fit properly, with an adjustable waist, they would be unbeatable. They are WATERPROOF! My son was so happy to tell me that his pants "just won't get wet!" However, the charm has worn off, and now he has to wear them with a diaper pin in the back because the waist seems to have stretched a bit in the week he's been wearing them (everyday) and now they fall off. I checked very carefully, and have since re-checked the size chart, and for a sz 8, it says a regular waist measurement is 23 3/4". My son's waist measures 23-231/2", and the slim is about 2" smaller, so I ordered the regular based on the size chart. Error. PLEASE, Lands End, make these pants with an adjustable elastic waist, and they will be perfect. My children are all quite slim, and with adjustable waists on their pants, there is no need for special slim sizing. Not to mention, they wear them over their jeans to go to school, and then put them over thermals for skiing, so the waist then needs to be tightened a bit. Keep the waterproofing - it can't be beat - and fix the waist. We'll order them in every size and colour then!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for moms too!

DateFebruary 2, 2014
by gjones
I bought a pair for my son for an upcoming ski trip. I happened to try his pair on and they just about fit me! I'm 5'5" 125 lbs. So I ordered myself a pair in boys husky. They were slightly big in the waist but I just did a quick stitch and they are perfect. Can't beat it for the price! Good quality, good style & comfort.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect fit

DateFebruary 2, 2014
by hockeydad
from Alexandria, VA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
My son loves them even better than the bib.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No adjustable waist

DateFebruary 1, 2014
by Chatpan
from Toronto, on
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
The quality was outstanding!! However the fit was not...well...fitting. My child is average built and the waistband was severely too loose. Usually I buy the bibbed squall snow pants, decided to try these ones since my son is older. No go, going back!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Snow Pants!

DateFebruary 1, 2014
by AliciaDug
from Florence, KY
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
These have kept my boys warm and dry on the coldest days of sledding. Tough enough to withstand snowboarding and even scraped the pavement without any damage. The only problem is that they are not adjustable at the waist at all and slide down a little. I would recommend the slim pants, even if your child is average sized. The fit is good overall and the grow-a-long length will extend them for at least another winter!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PLEASE make the waist ADJUSTABLE in the future!!!

DateFebruary 1, 2014
by HiDee
from ON, Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
I bought the Husky size 20 pants for my husband because Land's End didn't have his size in men's snow pants. The size chart said the waist was 32 and the weight range was right as was the height range for my husband. When he tried them on, they were AT LEAST a 34 waist maybe more and the legs were HUGE, definitely for someone with really, really fat legs, it didn't match the size chart at all. The only thing that was right was how tall he is matched the length of the pants. He probably would have needed a 20 regular but since that is no longer available he would have kept them if the waist was adjustable. Please make the waist adjustable in the future Land's End! Now we have to return them and spend 4 times this amount on snow pants at the sporting goods store.......
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Snow Pants!

DateFebruary 1, 2014
by themamalisa
from minneapolis, MN
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Bought these for our 9 year old son; he loves them! I love that the legs can be made longer as he has shorter legs and a longer torso. Next year he'll be able to wear them again when we let out the hem on the legs. They have reinforced knees and are water repellent if not waterproof. He wore these for a sledding party today and I'm pleased that they kept him warm and are high-quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm!

DateFebruary 1, 2014
by Marnia
from Connecticut
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
These pants are the best snow pants I've ever purchased. My son has enjoyed every moment of this season's "polar vortex" without complaint. They fit well (he's tall and thin) and with the two-inch hem he'll be able to wear them for a few years. I highly recommend them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The snow pants look very nice with the new squall jacket that I bought my grandson. He likes how easily he can pull them on and off at recess time.

DateFebruary 1, 2014
by Bevo
from Lake Orion, MI
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
The snow pants fit my grandson perfectly. He weasr them at recess time and when he has to walk home from the bus stop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to put on

DateFebruary 1, 2014
by Merte
from Georgia
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
I bought these for my 4 year old grandson in Ottawa , ONtario and his mother says they are wonderful. He has trouble putting on his clothes and these were much easier for him to manage. The quality was excellent as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice quality

DateFebruary 1, 2014
by funtoshop
from small town in Northern IOWA
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
I had to return, as grandson's mom said he didn't need. I loved them, though!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome snow pants

DateFebruary 1, 2014
by IreneWS
from Quebec City, Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I really like the husky size. The size 10 husky fits my 9 year old son perfectly. Nicely reinforced in the knee and behind exactly where you need it. Warm enough for our very cold weather. No shoulder straps, suits the sensitive child.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't beat LE Snow Pants

DateFebruary 1, 2014
by Christmasshopper
from Prince Edward Island
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I just love these snow pants. My son was able to get three seasons out of his first pair, by letting down the extra two inches in the leg. They are durable, keep him dry and look great! He wore them playing in the snow, now they are for skiing. I would say they run a bit big. He has a size 10, and he just turned 13 (he only weighs 93 lbs.) and they still just fit. Like I said, this is his third winter in them. I just bought a new pair and skipped right to the size 14, thinking they would be good for the end of the ski season and next year. The blue is a nice color. I like to be able to see him on the slopes. His last pair was lime green and they washed nicely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wish the waist was adjustable

DateJanuary 21, 2014
by CrystalV
from west Texas
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
These pants look great, and are very warm, but they were too large for my very slim son. After fighting to keep them pulled up for a few hours (no belt loops), we had to go buy some different pants. Luckily, this pair is long enough we can keep them for next year and hope his waist grows.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

DateJanuary 20, 2014
by momoell
from New Hampshire
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
These are exactly as described in the Lands End promo, and more. We are used to the quality of Lands End boys outdoor clothing, but the warmth and ease of use of these pants exceeded our expectations. Our grandson wanted to leave his bib ski pants behind and get into something more grown-up. These made him happy, and the quality made us happy. They did seem to run a little bigger than we expected but we are good with that. He'll get more years of use out of them that way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very durable

DateJanuary 19, 2014
by Micker88
from Berlin ct
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
These pants are a bit heavy but very durable. Run a little big and the waist is not adjustable. Would be nice if they added Velcro to the waustband
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Way too big but nice quality

DateDecember 19, 2013
by Hillmom
from Traverse City, MI
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Only 2 stars because: My son is 5 yrs old and is 44" height and 45 lbs. I first ordered the size 6 because of his weight and thinking they would last him longer. These pants were huge on him. I showed them to my husband and he said I should go down 2 sizes! However, I looked at the chart again and ordered a sz 5. Still way too big. Very big around the waist and much too long before letting out the "growth" seam. I'm very disappointed since my kids spend hours outdoors in Northern Michigan where the temps have recently been 10-20 degrees and I need these snow pants now. I will be on my third attempt if I take a chance and order the sz 4. Plus I have to wait another week to get them. I will say that the quality seemed great which is why I just might try the sz 4 and wait another week. They had a very thick material on the knees and behind so I think they would keep my son dry and warm!
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Available in HUSKY!!! :-)

DateSeptember 27, 2013
by NorthMom
from Sudbury ON
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My 9 year old son is BIG (55" and 96lbs). If it werent for their "husky" sizes (he wears a 10H), I would have to make his snow pants myself (b/c it would be as just as complicated as cutting down a pair of size 14 snow pants).
I have been a loyal lands end customer for 13 years, and although their footwear and backpacks have been less than stellar in recent years, their outerwear has NEVER disappointed me.
LOVE the squall line of products
+29points
30of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slim Size is Perfect

DateAugust 1, 2013
by Elizardbreath
from Northern Michigan
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My son is skinny. He's almost nine but is still wearing some of his old 5T shorts - he's that thin. LE slim sizes are a lifesaver for us. My son has always had to wear the overall style snow pants due to his size - it was the only way to keep them up. This year I bit the bullet and shelled out the money to get the LE slim snow pants and my little guy is on cloud nine. He tried them on last night over jean shorts and they fit beautifully. They are very slim! Tight enough to stay up on him, but not so tight that they are uncomfortable. He couldn't be happier!
+25points
26of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pant, husky boy

DateFebruary 25, 2013
by LibbyG
from Dallas
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought both regular 14 and husky 14 and found the 14 way too small but the husky a bit big.
I'm fine with it as I anticipate having to have him put on some thermal unders to keep warm.
+6points
11of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good on the slopes

DateJanuary 9, 2013
by Jogr
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Wore them skiing. Got lots of compliments. Stayed warm and dry. They did their job.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Consider these instead of girls/smaller women's sizes for you or your daughter

DateJanuary 9, 2013
by PetiteMomma
from Minneapolis, MN
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought these in a 16R for myself after having fit problems with the women's version of the same snowpants. I am 5'4" and a narrow body type. I found the sizing guide to be right on the money, a good thing because unlike the women's pants they do not have a velcro tab to adjust the waist. And importantly, these are not cut with the same exaggerated curves people are complaining about for the women's and girls' pants - they're a straight cut through the hip. They're still fairly roomy in the leg, but the waist and length are perfect. Plus it's fun to have a bright lime pant to go with my teal LE squall jacket, rather than the usual black. Glad I thought a little out of the box, because these are going to be a perfect pant for me.
+32points
33of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great snowpants, but I find they run a bit big

DateJanuary 7, 2013
by happybusymom
from Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
My 7 year old boys have the LE Expedition Bibs from last winter in a size 7. We love these pants, but since I had already let the grow-a-long hem down and the waist is starting to get a big snug (especially when they're wearing jeans or something similar under) and I was afraid we wouldn't get the whole winter out of them, I ordered these snow pants to replace them with. I'm not sure if it's a difference in style, or if it's the jump from little boys sizes to big boys sizes, but these pants in a size 8 are too big for them to wear at the moment (a bit long, which I expected, but the waist is much too big for them, making them hang too low). We did try them out on a very mild day (read very wet snow) and they kept them completely dry over the 3 hours that they were out in them, so I'm very impressed with the waterproofing in these pants. If the waist was adjustable they'd be perfect, but it looks like these pants will have to wait for next winter for my guys. For reference, my boys are ~52" and 53" and ~55lbs and 58lbs.
+30points
31of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Long for Husky Pants. But they fit where he needed it to.

DateJanuary 2, 2013
by John1982
from Corpus Christi
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Pants, for my son, were a little long for Husky Pants. But they fit where he needed them to.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit!

DateJanuary 2, 2013
by cwfgirl
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son wore these the past couple of days playing in the snow and he said they don't get wet on the inside. He also likes the pockets. The fit is great. He's a size 12 and difficult to fit in pants, but these were great. He had the size 10 last year and little sister wore them with the same great results.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits true to size for husky

DateNovember 23, 2012
by Ash3
from Florida
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
These husky snow pants are a perfect fit for my son. Very happy with quality and fit for our ski vacation. I ordered a size 8H for my 90lb 4'7" son.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality at great price.

DateNovember 10, 2012
by GKeenan
from Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My boys go through snow pants before they grow out of them typically due to tears in the knees of the pants. These are a big hit for that reason, reinforced knees that will withstand the active play of 11 and 9 year old boys. I bought a slim 10 and regular 12 and am pretty confident the boys will be able to wear them for two winters. Thanks Lands End!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Slim size way too big.

DateNovember 7, 2012
by Canuckmother
from Toronto, ON
Fit
Fits Very Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
Ordered slim size based on measurements and the pants are way too wide in the leg at the waist, wider than regular snow pants we have bought in the past from other stores. Very disappointed, especially as I have to pay shipping for the return.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit

DateOctober 27, 2012
by Nibbles
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
It fits my son great - he'll be all ready for winter!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We love these pants!

DateOctober 27, 2012
by LDicker
from Nain,NL
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
These pants are a great fit! They're very durable and warm. They wash nice too.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great quality just one complaint

DateOctober 5, 2012
by Minnesotamomof3
from Minnesota
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
My 7 year old wanted snow pants rather then the snow bibs. They are warm and great quality. My only complaint is there is no adjustable waist. I found the waist was a little large for my 7 year old.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Boys' Waterproof Squall® Snow Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits true to size. Good.

DateSeptember 4, 2012
by OneBusyMom
from Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
They worked!
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.