Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Jackets Parkas & Coats or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lands' End.

Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka

It’s a blizzard of winter coats for kids out there, but it all boils down to two key words when it comes to the best protection against the elements: warm and dry. We build our outerwear just like we do for adults — with premium insulation and weather-proofing, but we also add tons of kid-friendly features like Grow-a-Long™ sleeves, 360° reflectivity, and EZ-Zip tabs. Then, we put on our white coats and protective eye gear and head to our special weather lab to test just how much cold all our coats can take. The results make choosing the right coat as easy as the snow days they were made for. Guaranteed. Period.®
Average Customer Rating:
4.557 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 97 reviews
5 boats
74
4 boats
11
3 boats
6
2 boats
4
1 boat
2
86 out of 95(91%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Review 1 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My 5th reorder!

DateFebruary 26, 2014
by MDPhotoMom
from Accokeek, MD
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Photos for this Review
User submitted photo
This is a wonderful coat! I have bought one for my daughter every year (or every other year, if she didn't outgrow it) since she was 2. I love that it is waterproof and machine wash and dry! We live in Maryland and get some snow, but not always a lot. But every winter we do get sleet and freezing rain so, too cold for a rain coat, too wet for a fleece coat. This coat it perfect! It keeps her warm and dry! If it gets really wet, I can toss it in the dryer and it's ready to go back out for fun in an hour. I send my cousin my daughter's coats after she outgrows them and both of her daughters use them! They have held up wonderfully to years of use by 3 different girls!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice color and warm without being bulky

DateMarch 15, 2014
by pk77
from boston,ma
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My 3 yr old daughter is petite . I had to replace her coat at the end of the season so I bought a 4T. I was worried that it would be too big but it doesn't look huge on her. It might actually work for a couple of years. It looks very well made and keeps her warm without all the bulk.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice, warm jacket

DateMarch 1, 2014
by vprso
from Prairie du Sac, WI
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
This is a nice jacket. It fits good and is comfortable.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome parka for coldest Michigan winter yet

DateFebruary 19, 2014
by KC73
from Farmington Hills, MI
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
This jacket was an absolute game changer for our 4 year old - she would only stay outside for 30 minutes or so in the snow - now we can't get her indoors. She is a size 4t in target circo clothes - we got the 5 - it is big, but you can cinch it at the waist and the handwarmers keep cold air from coming in. The length is also Great....great great coat!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it!

DateFebruary 18, 2014
by tjp3
from Howell, Mi
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My 5 year old loves thus coat. So good for school. Nice weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent slim fit, gorgeous purple colour.

DateFebruary 18, 2014
by Heather2125
from Toronto, Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Great fit on my daughter (54 inches, 62 pounds). Fit is slim, but long sleeves & arms. Love how the hood sits up high and keeps the back of her neck warm. Colour is lovely.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These colorful LE parkas function perfectly!

DateFebruary 18, 2014
by SmokyMtnGMom
from Western North Carolina
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I will continue to purchase these parkas each year for a young grandaughter. They keep her warm and dry. We live in the Smokies and the weight (& cute color) works well but also worked pefectly on a trip to Utah this month where she skied and played in the snow for a week. They are passed onto a young sister who gets to enjoy the also. They look new still!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing jacket

DateFebruary 17, 2014
by harriet124
from British Columbia
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I was really excited to see that this jacket was such high quality. We ordered the purple and my 2.5 year old just loved it. We ordered size 3 and it will fit for a few years. So happy with this purchase!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Parka for the Northeast!

DateFebruary 11, 2014
by CatherinePeebs
from Portsmouth, N.H.
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female
I got a size 10-12 and it is a bit big, but that is okay, because the bigger the coat (as long as it is not too big), the less snow gets to your skin and makes you cold. It is good quality and very soft on the inside, and the built-in hand warmers work well and can fit glove thumbs as well. I was plenty warm playing outside at 15 degrees F. Overall this is a great coat,and I highly recommend it. (Written by 10 year old recipient.)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this jacket!

DateFebruary 6, 2014
by 3LittleLoves
from Maine
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
This is a great jacket for kids to wear every day in the winter, and also for snow days, when they can play in the snow. The fit is perfect, and the jacket is really warm without being bulky. I love that my girls can wear it for two years without growing out of it (and this is without even using the "Grow-a-Long" feature.) The quality is great too. My younger daughter is using a jacket for the second year in a row after her older sister wore it for 2 years too. That's 4 years and I will get even more use with the Grow-a-Long feature. It's still in great shape and it's been used hard. The jacket is a great value and even better because Lands' End is great about putting it on sale too. With the matching bibs this is the perfect winter outfit. You won't be disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Jacket!!

DateFebruary 3, 2014
by KLDIV
from MA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Bought this for my 9 year old daughter in a size 10-12 or medium I think, and it is an absolutely excellent jacket. Fits her perfectly as the 9 year old clothing size can be a tough one since she's too big for the size 8-10 and usually too small for the 10-12, but you wouldn't know it in this jacket. She uses it daily during Massachusetts winters and has been toasty warm in a month of 9 degree temperatures. It's also a great skiing jacket for her as it provides warmth (without a lot of layers underneath), plenty of flexibility/movement and falls just below the hips. She LOVES the thumbhole sleeves too. I love that it seems to be a really warm jacket without having to attach an inner layer to an outer jacket; that just gets old. Great colors that match the snow pants perfectly - would love to see it in some prints too. Definitely recommend!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice coat

DateFebruary 3, 2014
by 1teach
from alabama
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I think this coat is adorable. My daughter liked the pockets; there are a lot of them. However, she is a "creature of habit" and really likes her old coat, the squall jacket, so I had to order that one for her. I don't think there is a difference in the thickness between the two though. I would be happy with either. She's gotten two years of wear out of her old Lands End jackets and we only have to buy new ones because she grows. They all look like new, even after 2 years of wear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A nice parka

DateFebruary 2, 2014
by clareysgirl
from Kittery, ME
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I love this parka. It is thin, but seems to keep my granddaughter plenty warm, and the long length keeps the cold and snow from going up her back. You can tighten the waist to keep the warmth in as well. She loves the inner cuff with the thumb hole to keep the snow and cold from getting up her sleeves. The color is much prettier than it looked on my computer and the parka is made well. Like others have said, however, the sleeves seem too long though the rest is true to size. The last jacket I got lasted her nearly three years and I expect this one to last as well. They wash up to look like new and wear like iron. I am very happy with this purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

can't beat the squall parka

DateFebruary 2, 2014
by davies206
from Colorado
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
I've bought these coats for my kids for years - I usually buy them in the slightly larger size so they can wear them for two years, and THEN the coats are given to the cousins, who wear them for years! What a quality product. I love the lightweight warmth of these coats, and my kids like the built-in half-gloves at the end of the sleeves. These are great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

plenty warm at 14 degrees

DateFebruary 1, 2014
by surfgirl
from Virginia
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
So far this jacket has held up well on a ski week, kept my daughter dry and warm, and the latest cold blast of 10-14 degree temps didn't keep her from playing outside either. She loves the fingerless gloves in the arms and I love the grow a length sleeves. Overall well- pleased with the jacket. Our last one lasted her 3 yrs before she outgrew it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Parka!

DateFebruary 1, 2014
by BethCain
from Beaufort, SC
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
This is our second Parka for our daughter. They first one fit her for 2 winters, playing in the snow, skiing, sledding, etc. It is well made and washes well. I love that it will grow with her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great jacket

DateFebruary 1, 2014
by Carlie
from Boston ma
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My daughter loves this jacket and says she is warm in it. I was worried that it wouldn't be warm enough but she has never complained of being cold.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great warmth without the bulk.

DateFebruary 1, 2014
by IAMMONA
from Long Island, NY
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Have these for 3 girls ages 7,5,3- they are great for wearing alone or in layers. Love the extendable sleeves/ cuffs & the girls love the thumb-hole hand warmer- keeps their gloves in place too. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice, but sized too big

DateJanuary 29, 2014
by Lapin
from Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I agree with the other reviewer who said Lands End needs to get their act together in terms of sizing. I have ordered many items from Lands End and it's often a guessing game. In one item my kids will need one size, in another item, a size or two higher (or lower). These coats are the same sizes I had ordered for my girls in a spring pea-coat 8 months ago, but these are miles too big. 4-5 inches too long in the sleeves, before the 1.5 inch grow-a-long as well as quite wide. I'm having to send them back and get the smaller sizes. It's extremely frustrating.
The girls love the pockets and the colors and the sleeve wrist protectors. I love that Lands End coats hold up well - the last ones we had lasted 3 years for all 3 of my kids. And they guarantee their zippers, or replace the coat.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket for my daughter!

DateJanuary 20, 2014
by MarlaC
from Carlisle, PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
This jacket is great for my daughter. It fits snugly and is warm and comfortable. She really likes the thumb holes at the end of the sleeves. I also like the fact that it was waterproof and the price was excellent for the quality. Land's End is just an excellent company that I love to support!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

DateJanuary 19, 2014
by Milisa
from New York City
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Great material for my daughter, bought it for next winter and I am so happy I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great Jacket - Absolutely Horrible Sizing

DateJanuary 13, 2014
by DisappointedInWashington
from Seattle, WA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My daughter has a Land's End winter jacket (3 in 1, but different design) in size 4. The jacket is way too small. I checked the size chart and she is at the upper end of size 6 by height, weight and waist measurements (age 6). I ordered a Medium (5/6). The parka arrived and it is 5 inches too long in the body (half way down the thigh), 4-5" too long in the sleeves before adding the 1.5" for Grow Along. The rest of the coat is a little big, but reasonably sized to grow into it. Lands End really needs to get their act together on properly labeling the size. Otherwise, the jacket is of solid construction and the previous jacket worked well in the winter.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

DateJanuary 12, 2014
by Miasmom
from Pittsburgh
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Bought this in purple for my 7 yo who had grown out of her LE coat purchased two years ago. I like to buy in Dec/Jan a little big so the coats will last and I expect this one to do the same. It has plenty of room to grow, love the grow with me sleeves, reflectors, and cozy hood. She loves the vibrant color and fleece extensions on the sleeves.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Quality - Sizing is Bigger than Previous Parka

DateJanuary 8, 2014
by WisconsinBabyBump
from Sussex, WI
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
I have been solely purchasing Lands' End outerwear for my daughters since they turned 3. Their first parkas fit perfectly, as did the snow bibs. Last year, I bought them their next sizes (7-8 and 5-6) in this updated parka and they were swimming in them. I couldn't return them because they were gifts from the jolly guy in the red suit. I thought they would be able to fit in them this year, but they are still huge and waiting in the closet to be worn. My middle daughter, now almost 5 years old, is still wearing her 3T from 2 years ago, but as of last week she just couldn't make it fit comfortably anymore so I bought her the next size (S 4-5). It arrived today and is huge on her, but there is not a size in between. She was even wearing a bulky sweatshirt, but there was still a lot of room in the body. Also, the sleeves with thumb holes attached are way too long on her. She loved them on her old coat, but now they are flopping passed her fingertips even with the Velcro cinched.
I like that Lands' End outerwear lasts more than one season, but I'm disappointed that their sizing has become so tricky to figure out. I used to wear a 6-8 in outerwear and am now fitting into XS 2-4, so I think Lands' End must have changed their sizing all around.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Warm Coat

DateJanuary 7, 2014
by Penina123
from Lakewood, NJ
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
This coat is ideal for waiting for the bus on frigid mornings! I only buy Lands End coats for my kids because I know they are the warmest you can find! I bought an earlier version of this coat 3 years ago, and now that my daughter outgrew it, I again turned to Lands End for a classic warm winter coat. I like the drawstring inside the coat so that you can tighten the waist to give it a little feminine shaping. The hoods stay in place really well, due to the zipper coming up high above a regular neckline. The only thing we don't like about this coat is the thumb-hole thingy extending out of the sleeves. I actually cut them off of both my kids' coats.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent jacket!

DateJanuary 6, 2014
by Jademom
from Buffalo, MN
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
I live in Minnesota and we are currently experiencing temps 20 below zero. I am glad my girls have the Squall parkas when we are outside, I feel confident that they are staying warm. The parka is waterproof and windproof and feels very heavy duty. A good jacket is a must in a cold climate like I live in.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sizing very different than in years past

DateDecember 17, 2013
by VTgrl
from VT
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My 8 year old daughter has been wearing the girls size small in this coat for 2 years and we've both loved it for its warmth, style and fit. When it started getting a little tight it seemed only natural to order the same coat in the next size up. I double checked her measurements against the online measurements and could see she was right at the top end of what's recommended for the small size so I went ahead and ordered the medium. I was disappointed when the coat arrived and was dripping off of her. The sleeves extend well beyond the end of her hand and I think she could wear multiple bulky sweaters underneath without it being too tight. Either the sizing has been changed or an intermediate size (i.e. size 9) should be offered. It seems such stretch to go from a small - which could be appropriate for a 7 y/o - to a medium which could fit a 12 y/o. Unfortunately I can't seem to find anything else that measures up to the LE quality for the price. Really wish we could have made this work. Feeling stuck now.
+28points
28of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for Minnesota winters

DateDecember 10, 2013
by Swedishmom2
from Minneapolis, MN
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My daughter is on her second squall parka and we love it. It's not the warmest rating but we prefer to have just one layer (not the 3-in-1) and although it can certainly get even colder in Minnesota the rating of -5 seems fine for the kids, if it's colder we stay inside. I love the slightly longer length, perfect for winter sports activities (my daughter skates), and I love that it isn't bulky. My daughter doesn't like the thumb holes but we just ignore those and it works fine. They wash up great and the quality is great so I can hand it down to friends after she is done. For the price it's also a great value. I looked around for quite a while and didn't want to spend $120 or more, for the price I paid this is an excellent jacket and compares well to the more expensive brands out there.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Coat BUT...

DateDecember 8, 2013
by MDMom2Two
from Hanover, MD
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
The coat itself is great but I absolutely HATE the fleece inner sleeve with the thumb holes. I understand that the idea behind it is probably to keep a child's hands warm and prevent the inner sleeves from riding up and to keep snow out, but trying to wrangle a young toddler (22 months to be exact) into this jacket is difficult and frustrating. Lands' End, GET RID OF THIS POOR DESIGN!!! I love the old Squall sleeves that didn't have this. I also have a 6 year old that uses a Squall parka as well which has the same poor thumb-holed sleeves. This part of the sleeve gets extremely dirty quickly with his jacket and forget about trying to wear gloves. Gloves just don't fit well with this poor sleeve concept.
-27points
10of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect winter coat

DateDecember 8, 2013
by StaceyI
from NY
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Finally. The perfect coat! The teachers at my daughter's preschool continue to rave about it. The hand-covers are amazing...my four-year-old has no trouble getting her fingers positioned in them, and they keep her wrists warm and dry in all weather. It's all of the little details like this that make this coat completely perfect. The length is great (the sleeves are a bit long, but we cuffed them with no problem), and I like the interior cinching belt to keep it snug around her waist. I will not be buying another brand for my daughter for here onward.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great quality, narrow shoulders and arms

DateDecember 2, 2013
by Annapr
from Northern Illinois
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I ordered this coat in blue, size 16 for my thin 12 year old daughter who is average height. We have had many of these coats in the past and the fit has changed. My kids used to do 3 years with them(they are that good) but not anymore. They are narrower in the shoulders and arms and fit tight with layers even if the length of arms and body of the coat is still fine. This one will fit her 2 years and she loves everything about it. Plenty of pockets for mittens and the quality of the fabric is great. I recommend this coat.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best There Is

DateNovember 25, 2013
by YorkZoo
from Indiana
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Last Christmas I bought each of my girls one of these coats and the matching overalls. They are definitely worth the money. They are made very well. My girls are pretty active and put these coats to the test. They wash well, also. One day without my knowing they got into some old wood and had made quite a mess and I thought for sure they had stained them permanently. After a little scrubbing they came out of the wash looking brand new. This coat will keep your kids warm. All three girls just got in from playing outside (low 20's) and said they were actually hot. The coats and overall snowpants are going strong into their 2nd winter and I am completely happy with my purchase! Lands' End you hit this one out of the park!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat

DateNovember 24, 2013
by Emily115
from Wichita, KS
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
This coat keeps my daughter warm and looks cute. Fit is true to size.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

comfy and cozy

DateNovember 17, 2013
by MAK12
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My daughter loves this coat. The purple is very cute and is as it appears on screen. She loves all the pockets and not tight in the arms when wearing heavier sweaters as some jackets are.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best winter coat ever!

DateNovember 12, 2013
by Jeaniemom
from Laurel, MD
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I have purchased this coat for my girls two years in a row, and I will continue to do so as long as Land's End keeps making it. The fit is great, and it has just enough style to keep my girls happy. The coat keeps them warm, and it's functional (plenty of pockets for the gloves and accessories they never want to wear). I know this coat goes through a lot (I've seen them on the playground during recess), but it continues to look great. When it gets dirty, simply put it in the wash and it will come out looking like new. If you buy it, be sure you put your child's name on the label. It's so popular, your child might come home with the wrong coat one day!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat, excellent quality

DateOctober 23, 2013
by ActiveMidwestMom
from Eau Claire, WI
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
We live in north-western WI and I bought this coat for my 7-yr-old daughter as a fall/spring cold/wet weather jacket -- right now (late Oct) it is in the upper 20s / low 30s as she waits for the bus, then warms up to the upper 30s / low 40s by afternoon, and this jacket has been keeping her snug and warm (and dry for the times it has rained). The playground at school can get very windy and cold, and this coat keeps the wind out. The temp rating is right on (in our area, she has to have an even warmer coat for winter for our frigid mornings). My daughter is 52 inches tall and slim (22 inch waist), and the Big Girl S size fits her beautifully. I love the longer length and grow-with-me sleeves -- she will be able to wear this coat for at least 2 or even 3 years since the body of the coat is roomy enough for growth in height and width, yet doesn't look too big on her right now -- so if you are hesitant to spend this much on a coat for a growing child, this coat is worth it! Fantastic quality that will last for several years. The first couple times my daughter wore the coat, she complained that the front neck was too stiff and rubbed her chin, so she wore it not-quite-zipped all the way and kept her neck warm with a gaiter. But within a couple days, the stiff neck softened up and now she zips it right to the top and it doesn't bother her at all. We bought the Clover Flower and love the color -- the color was true to what we saw online -- beautiful medium purple body with pinkish purple sleeves. My daughter loves it.
+43points
43of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This jacket is the perfect color and fit.

DateOctober 20, 2013
by Kaejack
from NC
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
The description of this jacket was exactly right. The longer length is perfect.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great coat

DateOctober 18, 2013
by emmylou3
from Washington
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
I ordered two of these coats for my daughters. I ordered a larger size for my step-daughter and it fits her very well. My daughter is very petite and I had to return her for a smaller size (she's 7 and I originally ordered a 7-8 but had to return it for the little girl size and probably could have gone even smaller). Overall, they both love the colors but we haven't used them for really cold weather yet.
-3points
5of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality is excellent!

DateOctober 4, 2013
by Raz1
from Mt Holly Springs, PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My daughter tried on this coat and it is great. However, I am returning it for a different color. I ordered the Purple (clover) color and when I received it looks nothing like on my computer screen. Could be my monitor only, but it looks very dark purple on-line with another darker color on the sleeves - my coat is a lighter shade of purple with almost rose colored sleeves. I just didn't care for it - I would keep it if other colors were not available, but I'm going to try for the magenta and hopefully we like it better. I'm also going to re-order in the plus size to make sure it lasts for two years. I ordered the 7/8 - my daugthter is 7 and weighs 55 lbs - not overly heavy and the coat fits, but I can't see it lasting for two years in the regular. It is a very well made coat and a good deal with 30% off....
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Winter Jacket

DateSeptember 16, 2013
by MeganN5
from Colorado
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My daughter loves the hot pink with a hood. We live in Colorado and will wear the jacket for skiing, sledding and shoveling snow. It is very warm and well-made.
+22points
23of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My 1st grader loves this coat!

DateApril 29, 2013
by mrsku
from Kansas
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought this coat for my daughter at the beginning of winter. I bought it in the magenta because it matches the backpack we also bought from landsend. She usually is not a "pink" kind of girl, but she says this is hot pink and matches so it is good. She has worn this coat every day this winter and I have had to talk her out of taking it in her bag on warmer days. She says it is her rain coat AND her warm coat. She loves all the pockets. She loves the thumb holes that keep the snow out. She loves the hood. I bought this coat a little big so she could grow into it. I'm happy to see that it has worn very well, washed very well, and will be ready to get her through next winter as well!
+36points
36of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Zipper teeth broken after 3 months.

DateApril 16, 2013
by Eng5
Age: 35-44
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This is a great warm, waterproof coat, but after a few months use, the zipper teeth are already not lining up, so my daughter has to step in and out of the coat, as she can't get it undone reliably. Very disappointing.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat!

DateJanuary 24, 2013
by Charfish
from Massachusetts
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My daughter loves this coat. She likes that it's warm and not bulky, and It covers her bottom when she's running to dance class. She likes that it has the longer sleeves with the thumb hole so snow doesn't get her wrists cold. I like that it washes and wears well.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for active kids

DateJanuary 15, 2013
by Laurentiangirl
from Halifax
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
Just received this size M coat for my small 10 year old. It looks like it will be the right fit for her until she's about 12. The sleeves are quite long and it is surprisingly lightweight but I'm going on my fellow Canadian's review. If it can keep an Albertan kid warm, it'll keep anyone warm. The quality is fantastic. The reflective tape is great reassurance as my daughter walks home from school and on those dark evenings, Mum worries about crossing the streets. I love the extended half mitts although my daughter is dubious... Great pockets, good length at just below the bum. Love the matching squall mitts too. GREAT price.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too Tight in Chest Area

DateJanuary 13, 2013
by 2GirlMom
from MN
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
We had this parka last year and loved it, but this year the model is a little different styling.
I have a tall athletic daughter.
Ordered the next size up, even in plus but with the upper chest pockets positioned the way they are she couldn't tolerate putting this jacket on for more than a few seconds when wearing anything more than a light T-shirt.
Luckily, Land's End allowed us to exchange it for the Squall Jacket. That one fit perfectly - instant big smile (thank goodness because I had already gotten the pants, boots, and accessories to coordinate)
Great colors. Our kids are active and need to be able to move their arms when wearing their jackets. More generous fit in the upper chest in next year's model please!!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!

DateJanuary 11, 2013
by Micurt
from Alberta, Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
It is amazing how thin the jacket is but how warm it is!! Today, with the wind it's -32 CELCIUS (-24 without the wind) and my daughter is not cold at all. The windproofing is a great feature, as well as being waterproof. Great colors, great fit - will be our go-to winter coat!!! Also have the snowpants with bib, love them too!
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Winter school coat

DateJanuary 7, 2013
by csmomof2
from MI
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My 7 year old daughter has never commented on the winter coats that I have purchased for her in the past--neither good nor bad. Ever since I got this coat for her, and every time she puts it on, she says, "This is my favorite coat ever". She loves that it's warm, soft and cozy, and the cool "thumb wrapper" as she calls it. I think that we may have to forever get her coats from Land's End from now on!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Really nice, but sleeves too tight.

DateJanuary 6, 2013
by Maryinoakland
from oakland, CA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I wanted this parka to work so badly I made my granddaughter try it on three times. She's 7.5 years old and very slim. It would be perfect for her if the sleeves weren't tight. It doesn't work for her with a sweater underneath - and not a bulky sweater, just a Lands End lightweight fleece. We have to layer in No California, and there's no way she can layer with this. If you don't need to layer, it will probably work for you. It's beautiful, well-made, and warm. I encourage Lands End to make the sleeves a little bigger next year.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic coat!

DateJanuary 6, 2013
by GKeenan
from Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought this for my five year-old daughter and we are both very happy with it! We need warm winter wear here in Ottawa and this is a perfect solution. I went with a size seven even though she is not yet six in order for her to get a couple of winters out of it. I am confident it will wear very well. She loves the cuff for her thumb to fit into. The detailing on the coat is great too, the pockets and the well-made hood for example. Way to go Lands End!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Girls' Waterproof Squall® Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My girl loves this jacket!

DateDecember 24, 2012
by Hwee
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Fits my tall and slim 7 year old daughter well and she said it was very comfy!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>