Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Casual Pants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants

Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants

These pull-on pants are the go-to pants for active boys — built to handle all the abuse your guy throws at them. With an updated look, they still pack legendary durability and more thanks to Iron Knees®. Cargo pockets are plenty big for hauling toy cars, sticks & whatnot. Machine wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.925 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 94 reviews
5 boats
48
4 boats
19
3 boats
8
2 boats
10
1 boat
9
73 out of 93(78%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Review 1 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

DateNovember 21, 2014
by KelliInstructor
from Oregon
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
These pants are great. So nice to have a current style that my husky son with intellectual disability can wear and easily pull up himself. The only minor downside is that the side pockets get a little bulgy after washing and you can often see the white lining. Otherwise, great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent fit and quality

DateOctober 11, 2014
by GrandmaM2
from Virginia
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought a pair of pants like these from Lands' End for my 7-year-old grandson in the spring. He liked them so much, I bought another pair. He told me that, in contrast to his Lands' End pants, another pair in his closet had worn out in just a couple of months. He also said that his Land's End pants are very comfortable. We will keep buying pants from Lands' End as long as they keep making such durable, attractive and comfortable garments.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Every year, a must-have

DateOctober 4, 2014
by smallworld
from Virginia
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Each year as the cold weather looms and it's time to figure out what clothes my son has outgrown, I always know that I'll be looking at the Lands' End site for these pants. Along with basic sweats, these are the only pants my son will wear. He likes not having to fiddle with zippers and buttons and always wants a pull-on-and-go style. Thank you Lands' End for continuing to offer these outstanding pants -- if you ever stop offering them, I'm frankly not really sure what we would do!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Doesn't fit the same as other pants

DateSeptember 4, 2014
by Luhmster
from Michigan
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Very Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
These pants are nice, but they do not have the same fit as the other Land's End pants I have purchased. My son cannot physically work buttons and zippers, so the pull on elastic band waist pants are essential. He has several pairs of Climber pants and other styles in a size 10 Husky. All fit exactly the same. These pants in 10 husky, however, are HUGE in comparison. Even with the waist made as small as it can be, they don't fit. Because they are plenty long, he will grow into them eventually. But he needed new school pants, so I decided to order these again but in an 8 husky. Well, those fit in the waist the way the 10 husky climber pants do. But they were much shorter in length. It's not worth paying to send them back, so I will just have him wear them as much as possible until they are too short. The material and quality is great in these, I just wish they were made the same size as other Land's End pants.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My son love these!

DateSeptember 1, 2014
by SVsMom
from Andover, KS
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Great quality! Have purchased the iron knee pants before and keep coming back. Hold up to a 9 year old boy well! My son is 110 pounds and the 12H fit him well, the elastic waist is very forgiving. We have not been so lucky with other pant brands. Have had to go up a size or two and then hem the pants. Nice to buy well-made pants that fit.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

These pants are comfortable!

DateAugust 17, 2014
by RebeccaV03
from Indiana
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son has to wear uniforms every day to school and loves the comfort and durability of these pants. He also likes the cargo pockets which make them look "cooler" than regular uniform pants. Our only complaint is the lack of belt loops on the sides which causes his belt to slide up. Please add more belt loops and these pants would be perfect. Just because they have elastic doesn't mean they don't need belt loops.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Slim pants that fit!

DateJuly 27, 2014
by Janet39
from San Francisco
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
My guy is very slender and super active. These pants in slim sizing are the best fitting we have found and he LIKES them. I like the easy care and tough knees. We liked the Boat pants, too but not as much since you changed them. Bring back the original style, please.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

way to thick for our spring/summer

DateApril 13, 2014
by deed1962
from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I am very disappointed with the quality and material from these pants. We are warm and hot here is spring/summer. I would not recommend these at all.
-6points
5of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Any Chance of the Olive Green Returning?

DateMarch 7, 2014
by sigle
from Green Valley, CA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
This is my fourth (maybe 5th?) time ordering these pants. It's all my 16 year old wears. Great fit with adjustable waistband and durable through wash after wash. Ordering more now and notice the color selection has changed. His olive green are his favorite. Any chance the olive or other dark colors are returning?
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Only acid could destroy them!

DateFebruary 18, 2014
by CoreyinCandlerPark
from Atlanta
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My 13 year old future chemist loves these pants. He has 2 pairs, the other in orange. The lining is very comfortable he says. They held up through 2 snow storms and the requisite sledding. Only a botched chemistry experiment in which he splattered sulfuric acid on his clothes could beat these pants. They now have a dozen tiny holes in them, but he says he's not giving them up.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

"rip-stop" is all cotton and tears in knees in one day

DateFebruary 17, 2014
by MaryEDM
from Alameda, ca
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
The fabric is light and soft cotton. The raised squares that make the appearance of a "rip-stop nylon" fabric which would be durable are misleading. My 8 year old abrades the fabric at the knee. The raised threads abrade first and the holes on these appeared in record time. My son wear holes in all the LE pants but these were the fastest. I just finished mending all the holey knees. Patches are always needed. This particular pant has a layer of thin iron-on interfacing inside the knee which is lined but the fabrics are flimsy. Made in Sri Lanka.
Son likes LE pants for the no-button waist. Wears the slim sizes.
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

3 Pairs ripped in same place

DateFebruary 5, 2014
by tbs115
from Pittsburgh
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I always buy Lands End pants for my son. He is very rough on clothes. Usually they outlast him! I purchased three pairs on sale - all three have ripped in the same place - below the zipper/near crotch. Not on the seams. After looking over other reviews, I see another person had the same issue. I am returning. I will continue to buy from Lands End because of their liberal return policy and commitment to customers. My son also has two pairs of the canvas pull on pants - that are still perfect. I bought them at the same time.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant!

DateJanuary 13, 2014
by JoandCo
from Terceira, Azores
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
These trousers are built like a machine. My son is 12 and very mechanical. He has been begging for some more iron-knees. When they arrived he spent some time finding all the extra details - like the single tab on the leg pockets, pockets that actually slope upwards (to stop things falling out, mum!) and the extra fabric on the heel to stop the hems being shredded if they are a touch long. We loved the adjustable waist and the zip fly. Only thing that could improve them is two more belt loops on the sides. There is one at the back and two at the front - which makes ones belt pop over the waistband on the sides - weird looking and uncomfortable. However, I think it is an easy fix.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable and Durable pants!

DateJanuary 6, 2014
by Momdad1016
from Raleigh, NC
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
This is the fifth pair of these pants my 12 year old son has. He loves wearing these pants because they're easy to wear and move and play in. I love them because they wear and launder nicely and look neat for school. Of coarse, I always buy on sale or clearance!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love them

DateJanuary 6, 2014
by tph
from AL
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My son has had pants issues. These have worked very well. Well made and fit well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

iron knee ripstop nylon pants

DateDecember 18, 2013
by mominwheelchair
from washington
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I have bought multiple pairs of the canvas climber pants. They wore so well, I gave multiple pairs as hand me downs and they were still liked new. Unfortunatly, now you just carry iron knee pants. I have complain about rips before with no concern shown. Their grandmother bought 4 more, they now have a 50% faillure rate, the cloth ripping right below they fly. For the price, they ought to bed PERFECT. I will no longer be purchasing anything from this site for my twins boys. I am exttremly dissatisfied.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Kinda nice, but sloppy

DateDecember 16, 2013
by Snapples
from Charlotte, NC
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Both my boys like the style of these pants and they get a lot of wear with two who are in constant physical activity. We can no longer wear these pants to church or any "casual occasion" as the fabric is worn and showing fading to white; the material puckers all over the place and though there are no indented wrinkles they don't lay flat when worn. The knees are starting to fray...no holes yet. I personally have a strong dislike for the flaps always sticking up and the inside white pocket material always popping up and out in all kinds of mess (my boys are skinny and constantly moving though...still heavier fabric or stitch down would eliminate that). I do not recall if we purchased them a year ago Christmas or 8 months ago spring. I'd say medium wear strength....they have lasted longer then some LE iron knee pants, but not longer than cargo climbers. Somewhat disappointing.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

No elastic/button inside pants to adjust fit on 3T...why...will have to return.

DateDecember 12, 2013
by EileenMargaret
from Pennsylvanie
Gender: Female
Ordered for my 2 grandsons...(1) for a 10 year old with elastic/button waist...(1) 3T for the younger. It does not have elastic waist and falls down. Why would you not put elastic in a toddler pants? All little ones pants come with elastic these days. Will have to return. Wanted them to be the same as Christmas gift. May have to return both.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice pants

DateDecember 11, 2013
by Belle1414
from Madison, WI
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Material is lighter than the canvas pants, but just as strong.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just the right thickness!

DateDecember 7, 2013
by chrishpl
from State College, PA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My very active, always hot 8yo boy put off wearing pants, even into winter, because most pants are too thick and hot for him (he wears shorts, instead). But these pants are the only ones to change his mind!--he LOVES that they are thinner and not as heavy in weight as others. He also likes the elastic waist. The only reason I"m giving them a 4/5 right now is that I want to see how well they wear -- if the knees last longer than my son's pants usually do, I"ll change it to a "5"!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Iron Knees Disappointing

DateNovember 23, 2013
by LFPMom
from Seattle
We've bought many boys pants from Lands End with success, but the knees on these pants started to wear and fade within two weeks of purchase. The dark blue color was especially affected. Thinking about returning them.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These pants are great. Durable, washable, fabulous!

DateNovember 11, 2013
by BenandRylee
from Georgetown, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My son is a husky guy and is at the mercy of elastic waist pants. These pants give him lots of room to move around and function like a 12 year old.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Misleading description: Pull-on, but still have a zipper!

DateNovember 9, 2013
by Dogwalker123
from Virginia
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
These are in fact very nice pants, but the description was (to me, at least) misleading. When I read "pull on" pants, I think of elastic waist with no zipper, but these do in fact have a zipper. Given that my entire reason for buying them was to have pull-on rather than zippered pants, I have a good deal of buyer's remorse. (I kept them because I got them on sale, and it wasn't worth paying the return shipping.)
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Pants

DateNovember 5, 2013
by IHeartLE32
from Nicholasville, KY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
These pants are perfect for my husky size boy! I don't have to hem them because they look great rolled up and the adjustable waist is wonderful. Finally my son can wear something other than sweatpants!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Knees are fine, seat is not

DateNovember 5, 2013
by Stephca
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
The knees on these pants hold up quite well for my five year old. What isn't holding up is the pockets. The pants are fraying on the seat near the pocket seams. Let's face it, you spend more time on your butt then you do on your knees. Seems like a flaw conceptually. I bought one test pair to see if it was worth it. I won't be purchasing more.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect! Especially for special needs

DateOctober 29, 2013
by JenniferGray
from Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
We have been buying these pants for years. The fit is excellent and we love the quality. My son is usually very hard on the knees of pants and these just do not wear out.
My son is currently in the 20 Husky - the largest size available. I don't know what we are going to do next year, as my son has special needs and can't do buttons and zippers. Lands End - please consider offering this same style in men's sizes. I often recommend your products to the special needs community. It is very difficult to find elastic waist pants that are casual and not sports pants. These are perfect, we just need additional sizes!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

DateOctober 28, 2013
by ElizabethGG
from Grimes, IA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My son always needs a slim since he's so tall, and these are the perfect fit! Just the right size in the waist and length, plus he can't wear out knees which is a super bonus!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heavy weight fabric, Runs big, good quality

DateOctober 27, 2013
by Cjsm
from VA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
These pants are made from a heavier weight fabric-not what I expected from ripstop, so I was surprised and pleased when I received them. The quality is good, but the sizing of the iron knee line seems to run big. These pants are about four inches too long and the fit in the legs are pretty wide. We tried a size ten, but they were too short and fit more snugly in the waist than what my son likes. Wish there was an in between size, or not such a huge difference between the sizes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My son likes them!

DateOctober 26, 2013
by Audrey18
from Allentown, PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My son finds these more comfortable than the canvas equivalent. I was worried about the waist size since the measurement made it seem that it would only fit with the elastic stretched, but the fit is working fine and my son really likes these. Grateful for a full-elastic option for my picky son!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For thinner kids these pants are fantastic!

DateOctober 21, 2013
by advmommy
from Reston, VA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My son is on the thinner side and the slims fit wonderfully. I was nervous since it does not have adjustable waist. But these fit great. We bought another 4 pairs!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Bottom hem stitching- irritates the skin

DateOctober 18, 2013
by SVmom
from CA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Pros - good material and sizing. Returned without hassles.
Cons - Had to return it coz the back part of the bottom fold is stitched badly. There is like 4-5 stitches horizontally on the fold (only backside) with rough threads. Without socks my son could not even wear them. Hope they fix this.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants

DateOctober 1, 2013
by PeanutButters
from CNY
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My son is a little husky and these pants are perfect - nice looking but with a comfy waistband. The ripstop material is a little more lightweight and flexible than the canvas, which we also have. These are pretty much his go-to pants, wears them all them time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

weird fit

DateOctober 1, 2013
by cabooky
from ithaca, ny
We tried these pants in two different sizes and, hoping they had recognized and fixed the design flaw, a year apart. Alas, the pants are just weird; they pull up and back around the crotch. They looked as uncomfortable as my son claimed they felt... Even when we went big on the sizing, the issue remained the same. The other cargo style pants fit perfectly.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Run Big

DateSeptember 30, 2013
by Caerleon
from Spokane, WA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My son is 9 and I got the size 10 thinking these might be a wee bit big - but not too bad and he could grow into them. They are super-big on him, so I'm returning them to get a size smaller. He was excited about them and did like the look of them. So, I believe once the sizing is figured out, they'll be a winner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants!

DateSeptember 14, 2013
by shopforvalue
from Selinsgrove,PA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I bought these for my grandson in navy in a regular size 10 which he normally wears, in nylon pull on pants.I had to return them ,because they were rather snug on him.He is very fussy about his clothes,mostly the fit.I returned them for a 10 in the husky and they worked.He is not a chubby kid, but definitely not stick thin.He ended up liking them so much that he wanted them in 3 other colors.Needless to say, his mom and I were so happy we found something he liked and would wear, that we had to order them for his birthday!These are a great choice for the boy's that aren't jeans lovers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pair of pants!

DateSeptember 14, 2013
by JerryMS
from Endwell, NY
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
When our son needed new clothes we tried these out. He loved them from the start (fitted great and looked good too). After a couple of weeks, still hold their shape and appearance (which is amazing with our son). Would recommend these to all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Look great - bought the blue one too!

DateSeptember 14, 2013
by MomsTheWinnerHere
from Wyckoff, NJ
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Purchased for 12 year old son who is 62" and 140 lbs. He hates jeans and wanted something that was comfortable and I wanted it to look good. They fit him great and have a nice clean look to them. We have not washed them yet so I have no opinion on that. He loved them and I am glad we bought the blue ones too. Thank you Land's End. He hates to shop
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fit in the waist and length is perfect

DateSeptember 2, 2013
by JMDillon
from Central NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
first time ordering this style and color and it fits perfectly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Indispensible.

DateAugust 3, 2013
by Galtonian
from Ontario, Canada
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
These pants are a major boon to my poor daughter. Her son has reduced many an apparently sturdy knees to mere threads. These trousers, however, are an exception. They also wash well and are very presentable for a variety of occasions beyond scrambling through rocks or climbing trees..
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love this pants very much

DateJuly 27, 2013
by Mariami
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I ordered these pants and my nephew did not expect such good quality. Color and style are very cool. I am very satisfied
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great pants

DateJuly 21, 2013
by maio5
from Quebec
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
the fabric is of good quality, very comfortable, my son loves them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Rise is too short; don't like pocket lining

DateJuly 11, 2013
by kel51
from Seattle
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My boys usually wore the open-bottom double-knee pants, which were very hard to come by last year after the introduction on this style. The rise is so short that their underwear shows in the back. Also, the pocket lining is always sticking out of the front and the cargo pockets. The open-bottoms average 5 stars on the satisfaction scale. These average 4 stars which is too high in my opinion.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

These are the ONLY elastic waist pants that will fit my skinny tall son

DateJuly 10, 2013
by Jessica04
from Hebron, CT
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
These pants are a true slim. They do not have the adjustable waist and yet fit my slender 3 year old perfectly. The legs seem extra long which works out for me because my son is tall for his age(I bought a 4 Slim) but if your son is a regular height they might be a little too long. I can only give them 4 boats for now because I bought them for fall/winter and I have never tried this "iron knee".
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

my hopes were dashed

DateJune 8, 2013
by ReviewerA
from Virginia
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Very Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I had high hopes for these pants. They look really nice on my Little Boy but the "slim" size on my Big Boy are HUGE! Maybe LE mislabeled a pair of husky pants as slim? But the worst part is that in a few months both boys got holes in them. They should rename them rip knee pants. Maybe that is what the word ripstop in the title implies, you cannot stop them from ripping.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent pants

DateJune 8, 2013
by Auntshadow
from Orlando
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My slim guy needs elastic waits pants and these are great. Lightweight, good fit, versatile style that he can wear for everyday or dress up with a decent shirt for occasions that require a collar shirt. It's hard to find pants you can pull on without a button, but for these he doesn't need to undo the button.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great knees but better without pockets

DateMay 28, 2013
by DeborahZ
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Lands End is the only company I have found that addresses the problem of the knees of boys' pants ripping or wearing out after literally a month of wear! I bought these for my 8 year old and the knees held up well. My only complaint is that the pockets, which are cargo-style and sit on the thighs, drag down on one side a lot because there is only one side tab to hold them up. the other side (with no tab) causes the pocket to sag, they don't hold tight even when there is nothing in them. I would prefer these pants without cargo pockets, or with two tabs to hold them closed properly..
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slim sizes are excellent pants for tall, thin boys

DateApril 28, 2013
by AMD123
from Waunakee, WI
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Most slim pants are still not slim enough for our 9 year old son. These pants are slim and have the adjustable waist, so they actually fit him! I was so excited to find them, I bought 3 pairs. The reinforced knees look like they'll last a while, too. It would be a nice change of pace if he actually outgrows his pants before he rips out the knees.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable, comfortable pants for active boys

DateApril 27, 2013
by BrookeF
from Illinois
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
We now have these pants in 3 colors because my 10 year old son wants to wear them constantly! The weight of the pants is a little bit lighter than the canvas ones (which we also have and like) so he will wear them well into the spring. Even though they are lightweight, they are holding up beautifully, which is important because he regularly gets holes in the knees of his other pants after only 1 or 2 wearings. I think these might actually last long enough that we could pass them on to his brother! I also really appreciate the husky sizing. I would love to see them in even more colors, like black, gray, and a true navy.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Rip stop pants ripped!

DateApril 27, 2013
by Puggle24
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Bought two pairs of these for my son to wear to camp. One day one pair ripped from the crotch down to his knee. Same thing happened with the second pair next day.. same place!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Boys' Iron Knee® Pull-on Ripstop Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent pair of pants!

DateApril 27, 2013
by Momof2wi
from Wisconsin
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son has worn Climber pants for years and just loves them so I really hesitated before buying the new style pants. It turns out that these fit perfectly and look really good on him. They are different from the old Climber pants - my son considers them less dressed up because they don't have the belt - but they are just as good. The iron knees are very strong. My son decided to test them by sliding around the ground on the playground, then looking at his knees and saying "look, mommy, my iron knees are still good". The only thing that worries me is that he is wearing a size 7 and I know that once he'll need size 8 they'll have buttons and zipper instead of being true pull-up pants. So, we love them but I don't know whether my son will accept the button and zipper once he moves to big boy sizes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>