Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Miscellaneous or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Kids' Pixel FeatherLight™ Medium Backpack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lands' End.

Kids' Pixel FeatherLight™ Medium Backpack

FeatherLight™ Medium Backpack is designed & tested to carry everything your kid needs for class, while lightening their school load. Additional features not listed above include: no-tip design; water-repellent finish; plus an ergonomic design for comfort. Spot clean. Imported. 18″Hx12″Wx7 1/2″D. 1500 cu. in.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 boats
10
4 boats
4
3 boats
1
2 boats
0
1 boat
1
14 out of 16(88%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Kids' Pixel FeatherLight™ Medium Backpack
Review 1 for Kids' Pixel FeatherLight™ Medium Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great backpack for young children

DateMay 30, 2013
by toobusymom
from Boston
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
This was a great price and size. My 4 year old son is going to day camp this summer and I needed a bag that would hold up. This certainly looks like it will withstand the throwing around it will get. His camp is on a lake and it is very rustic so I wanted something that I could attempt to keep clean. I can certainly spot clean this with a towel. I also needed something that could hold a few changes of clothes, water shoes, sneakers, towel, and a sweatshirt / rain jacket if needed. This appears to be a great size not too big for him to carry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kids' Pixel FeatherLight™ Medium Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great backpack!

DateMay 11, 2013
by PickyMomof2
The quality appears good. I am hopeful it will hold up. Love the different pockets and the padding in the center for my son's IPad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kids' Pixel FeatherLight™ Medium Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

looks good, bought as extra on sale

DateApril 29, 2013
by Esskay
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Haven't tried this backpack out, but looks good and has nice features. Bought it on sale to have an extra.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kids' Pixel FeatherLight™ Medium Backpack
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed!!

DateMarch 12, 2013
by aes2832
from connecticut
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
After purchasing LE backpacks for years, this one was a complete disappointment. Previous years' bags are still holding up for vacations, day trips, etc. This one did not even make it through the school year. Zipper fobs broke within the first month and I overlooked it. Then elastic straps went next. Now the plastic buckles cracked and broke making it completely unuseable. My son is in 2nd grade and is driven to/from school. This backpack does NOT take a lot of punishment. The quality in design and materials is simply not there. LE please bring back your quality control.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kids' Pixel FeatherLight™ Medium Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

DateFebruary 21, 2013
by Smima
from Burlington, MA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
I bought this backpack for my son who is in first grade. Bag has tons of great details that make this perfect. Padding inside to protect his back from books, two zipper hooks for ease of use, padded straps, and tons of pockets. The colors are better than pictured, they are bright and the bag looks great. I had his bag monogrammed because I got such a great deal and the celadon green looks fantastic. So happy I bought this! Cannot beat this for the price.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kids' Pixel FeatherLight™ Medium Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We love it

DateNovember 14, 2012
by Euromom
from Boston MA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I got this backpack for my first grader and he loves it. The color is exactly the same as on the website. It's big, very well made and the padding on the back makes it comfortable to carry it around. I've seen so many flimsily made brand name backpack but we always come back to Lands End. Great quality!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kids' Pixel FeatherLight™ Medium Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it, great bag!

DateOctober 28, 2012
by MissMJD
from Australia
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I purchased this for my 10 year old son and he loves it. The quality is fantastic, and the colors are just as shown. It truly is 'FeatherLight' and the adjustable chest strap (which is removable) is great as he can be 'hands free' and not worry about the bag falling off his shoulders. He took the bag to a 3 day overnight school camp. He used it every day to carry his things on long walks up and down the beach and into town. He exposed it to wind, rain, sand, dirt, and who knows what else. It came home a bit wet but dried quickly. Still looks new! There is plenty of room in the compartments for everything, plus the 2 drink bottle holders, the external elastic cord, and the handle on top are great features. Well done LE for making this great bag!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kids' Pixel FeatherLight™ Medium Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best back pack ever

DateOctober 27, 2012
by MaryBToronto
from Toronto
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
This really is worth the money. We have never had a backpack of such good quality, the design is excellent and well thought out. Lots of strong and spacious pockets, nice wide comfy straps, and my fave is the covered foam separator stiched inside the main compartment (surprise!!) that means you can slip a lunch bag (or shoes or whatever) in and out without mushing the books or papers in the back section. I hope it's as durable as it is well-designed.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kids' Pixel FeatherLight™ Medium Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice back pack

DateSeptember 23, 2012
by Jennymac
from Nova Scotia, CAN
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Expensive to ship to Canada, but great school bag. Keeps school notebooks flat and not dog eared like our last draw string type back pack. Big enough too for my 7 yr old's lunch box. My only disappointment was that one of the zipper toggles broke off on day 1 of use. Too inconvenient to ship back, so ended up tying it back on. Best feature is the sternum strap--these are infrequently found on school bags in my experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kids' Pixel FeatherLight™ Medium Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love the colors!

DateSeptember 18, 2012
by MerryCustomer
from Clinton Twp. MI
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
The backpack fits my 10 year old perfectly. He is able to put his books and lunch inside with room to spare. He absolutely loves the design of the bag.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kids' Pixel FeatherLight™ Medium Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really nice product

DateSeptember 3, 2012
by Another3rdGradeMom
from Rockville, MD
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
We bought this backpack for our 3rd grader because his first Lands End backpack (purchased in K and used through 2nd grade) was really too small for his body. We also knew this year he would be having to take more stuff than just a folder, lunch box, and couple of library books to and from school.
I like a lot of things about this backpack - the padded straps, the water bottle holders on the sides, and the smaller zipper compartment on the outside. My husband likes the adjustable straps on the side and the bungee strap on the back.
The laptop sleeve isn't necessary for us (since he's only in 3rd grade, after all) and takes up a bit of space that 1.5" binder (2.25" spine) could better use. However, he's been able to put items (library books, etc.) in the laptop sleeve and still make use of the space. We can usually get his Lands End lunch box inside the backpack, but if not, it clips onto the outside handle. We easily fit his pencil box in the very outside (nonzipped) pocket on the first day of school.
My son loves the colors & pixelated design. I am happy if he is happy!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kids' Pixel FeatherLight™ Medium Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!

DateSeptember 1, 2012
by DebbiH
from Ithaca, NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
What a great product! All the features that we wished for the year before are there in this year's pack. Now the older brother is jealous because he has the outdated backpack. The elastic on the outside is improved and will hold snow pants, and there is a new pocket in the large compartment so that the "take-home" folder does not get bent, etc. Well done, Lands' End!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kids' Pixel FeatherLight™ Medium Backpack
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great backpack but awful color!

DateAugust 22, 2012
by Momof3inTN
This backpack was great styling but the colors are just awful!!! The garnet pixel explosion looks like Santa should be carrying it-It looks much better online than in person-we are returning!!!
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kids' Pixel FeatherLight™ Medium Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great backpack

DateAugust 19, 2012
by Anonymous
from Madison,AL
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Glad side pockets were redesigned this year so it's not all mesh (pencils won't be able to make holes in the bottom of those pockets) My daughter loves it. The divider on the large section of the pack helps keep her things organized. We just got it two weeks ago, so only time will tell how it holds up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kids' Pixel FeatherLight™ Medium Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Backpack!

DateAugust 19, 2012
by funmomof3
from Ohio
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Good looking backpack! My son loves the pixel color design and I love knowing that it will last. This bag replaces our last LE backpack which lasted four school years (we still use it for camping and sleepovers). Lots of pockets and great features and the monogram looks awesome. Love it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kids' Pixel FeatherLight™ Medium Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous!

DateAugust 18, 2012
by khb
from seattle, wa
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Love this lightweight backpack! Has plenty of pockets, easy zipper pulls, loop for lunch bag, bungee for jacket, water bottle holder, etc. AND, it really doesn't tip over!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.