Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Swim Trunks or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boys' Solid Board Shorts

Boys' Solid Board Shorts

Built with lightweight, soft fabrics for all-day comfort, these trunks can take on a year of swim practice or beach trips and then come back for more. Plus, they pack UPF 50 sun protection and dry in a flash. Machine wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 boats
6
4 boats
3
3 boats
0
2 boats
1
1 boat
0
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boys' Solid Board Shorts
Review 1 for Boys' Solid Board Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

He looks good!

DateAugust 10, 2014
by MomfromCS
He needed new swim trucks and these are a tiny bit big so that he can grow into them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Boys' Solid Board Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fit perfect

DateAugust 7, 2014
by RoxWay
from Billerica,MA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My son loves them. They feel nice and dry fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Boys' Solid Board Shorts
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fits Big

DateJuly 27, 2014
by canadamomof4
from St-Jérôme, QC
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My son loves these shorts, but I have to give them 4 boats for the fit. Last year's size 12 (he's 12) in the regular swim shorts are too small, and sold out fast this year, so I took a chance on these, going up one size, and discovered what other reviewers found - they are cut big. My son cinches up the drawstring at the waist, and he's not particularly skinny; he's got a very athletic, muscular build for a kid. For slim boys, these will be falling down, or gaping at the waist due to the drawstring. Otherwise, they're very well-made, and in spite of the size issue, my son loves them, and won't wear anything else.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Boys' Solid Board Shorts
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

sizing poor

DateApril 28, 2014
by PRKLE
from MN
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
It is very disappointing that the shorts are so long. They look totally ridiculous on average to shorter boys. Also, the difference between size 8 and the next size up, which is 10-12, is way to huge. Why isn't there a size just for 10?
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Boys' Solid Board Shorts
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Birthday pool parties, here we come!

DateJuly 2, 2013
by KeyTyper
from Ltown, MD
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My son had a rather expensive hand-me-down black and white rash shirt from a cousin who never wore it. It had a crazy design, some black on a white background. It was too busy to go with most board shorts or patterned trunks out there. Enter Land's End. Finally, somebody gets it that some younger kids wanna look cool, "like the older kids" too. (Not covered in cartoon characters!) Not only do these go with the rash shirt we had, they go with many of his other shirts too. They are comfy enough for my six year old to fall asleep in after a day of back to back pool parties. They really do dry quickly. I had brought change of clothes for after the parties, but realized walking to the car I didn't even need to change him to sit in his booster b/c he was bone dry and had only been out of the water about 40 mins. Yahoo. By the time we were home, he was asleep in his swim clothes. That has never happened before as he always complained he was not comfy enough in trunks.
The fit on these is less loose than some trunks, but very nice with a flatter front. The little pockets are functional and very cute. Overall very sturdy and well made. Good purchase!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Boys' Solid Board Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great swim trunks

DateJuly 2, 2013
by MemphisTracy
from Memphis
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I bought 2 pairs of these, one in green and one in navy blue. They looked great on my sons and fit well. They really did dry fast.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Boys' Solid Board Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good basic swim short

DateJune 22, 2013
by FLMom2
from Tallahassee, FL
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I was looking for something durable for my teenaged son and they fit the bill - they also dry very quickly, which is definitely an advantage in humid Florida!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Boys' Solid Board Shorts
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality, nice fit

DateMay 28, 2013
by MomKC
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Fits true to size. My son is avg. sized 11 yr old and I got him a medium. He thought liner was too tight so he cut it with scissors and now loves the shorts.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Boys' Solid Board Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super cute and cool

DateApril 13, 2013
by decker1172
from atlanta, ga
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I purchased these for my 7 and 11 year old boys for spring break. They look great and dry super fast! They are the perfect length and look really cool. The boys love them and so do I!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Boys' Solid Board Shorts
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why no slim this year?

DateApril 10, 2013
by catskillsskier
from upstate ny
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
These are hands-down the best camp trunks--they are sleek, super-lightweight, and hold up to heavy chlorine and daily washing (they don't pill like the heavier fabric trunks). Best of all, they really do "dry in a flash" as the description says. Lands End is definitely cut for heavier kids in general, and we've always needed the slim sizes for our wiry, athletic son. So... Why no slim this year??? I am so glad the ones we've got still kind of fit. Bring back the slim fit, please!!!
+38points
39of 40voted this as helpful.