Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Jackets, Parkas & Coats or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Women's Petite Luxe Down Parka

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lands' End.

Women's Petite Luxe Down Parka

Bring on the snowstorms! Our Luxe Down Parka provides superior warmth as you brave winter's worst. It's packed with 600 fill power down (and more of it!) for greater insulation. But this parka is also carefully designed to flatter without being bulky or boxy. Princess seams, plus vertical channel quilting down the sides have a slimming effect. A tie belt accents the waist nicely. (Or go sans belt if you prefer.) Cold-stopping details include an interior storm flap, adjustable cuff tab, hidden fleece cuffs and fleece-lined pockets. (Outside pockets also have a compartment to hold a handwarmer packet.) Zip MP3 pocket inside with cord port. Shell is 87% polyester/13% nylon. Machine wash. (Remove faux fur trim and dry clean separately.) Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 boats
8
4 boats
1
3 boats
3
2 boats
0
1 boat
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Women's Petite Luxe Down Parka
Review 1 for Women's Petite Luxe Down Parka
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Recommend with reservations

DateFebruary 2, 2013
by goodworks1
from North Central Illinois
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Very Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
I love the teal color of this jacket (the regular, not the petite) but this coat runs extremely small. I generally wear a medium or 10 at Lands End and this coat only fits over a turtleneck. With a winter sweater I can barely move my arms.
I also did not find it nearly as warm as it is rated. And the front neckline seems too tight; I can't get it completely zipped up without feeling as though I'm strangling.
I also have been having trouble getting the zipper started, but maybe that's just me.
I do like that the down is staying inside so far! And I'd trade it in for another larger one if I could. So, yes, I recommend it, but size up!
I've also ditched the fur zip-off hood decor after nearly being attacked by the neighbor's dog who did not recognize me behind the fur! lol
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Petite Luxe Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful parka....love, love, love it!!!

DateDecember 5, 2012
by Love2travel
from Ohio
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I purchased this parka in the washed teal color and absolutely love it!!! I bought a few other parkas (and one coat) from LE online along with this one. I couldn't make up my mind and wasn't sure what I'd like (Cire, etc). Well, the others went back and I kept this one. I wound up with a bargain as the parka was on sale/clearance and I used a promo discount code.
So far I've received a lot of compliments on the parka, which I find odd b/c I don't remember anyone really commenting on my outerwear before. :) Maybe it's because I've always gone with brown, black or grey in the past! The washed teal is a beautiful combo of blue and green, depending on the lighting it looks brighter (similar to what you see on the "more info" tab on the upper left part of the main photo) and other times it looks a bit darker. The finish is a little shiny but nothing like the Cire parka/coat that LE currently has out. The shine actually adds to it and enhances the color.
I'm a size 4 (5'65" - 130 lbs) and this runs just ever so slightly big (I marked true to size b/c it's not that much) compared to the Cire parka but I like that for layering underneath and giving me more room in the car, etc. I wear this without the belt and wish that LE's photo would have shown the jacket on the model without it as I probably would have just ordered this one instead of multiple parkas! I ordered it based on the "more info" tab on the photo b/c it allowed me to better visualize what it might look like without the belt.
The parka is not as puffy as the photo shows (I thought for sure it would be before it arrived), in fact I find it to be pretty light weight and comfortable. It's definitely not a fitted parka, which is perfectly fine with me. I brushed out the faux fur and it looks really nice, love that it zips off! I also love the soft hidden interior fleece cuffs. It seems to be a well made parka. I washed it prior to wearing it and had a few feathers on me afterwards, the issue has since gone away so I'm guessing it was just from washing it. I have not noticed any feathers poking through at all and I've been wearing it a few weeks now.
It seems to be a nice warm parka. So far it's kept me warm in the low 30's, we haven't had colder temps than that yet. On days when I've forgotten my gloves, my hands have even stayed warm in 32 degree weather in the soft fleece pockets, nice feature!
If I could change two things it would be an interior drawstring at the waist, to cinch it if I wanted to, and I would add the SnowGuard wrist cuffs with the thumbhole, like my son/daughters LE parkas. :) If you're on the fence just try it out...Sears is great for returns if you don't like it (love that policy too).
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Petite Luxe Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good Parka

DateNovember 23, 2012
by zxcvbnm
from Chcago
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This coat is absolutely amazing! So warm that I don't even have to wear a sweater! And I really like the length. It's slightly over the hip so it won't stop me from moving a lot. I live in Chicago and I think this is a perfect coat for the cold winter here.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Petite Luxe Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gorgeous parka - great buy!!!

DateNovember 22, 2012
by NicoleD
from Toronto, Ontario
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought this parka on sale because I needed a warm winter jacket but didn't want to spend a fortune. I wasn't sure what to expect, but it arrived today (2 days after ordering) and it is beautiful!!! I'm 5'2 and 120lb and the petite small fits just like it was made for me! It's perfect - only the hood seems a touch small (but I'll likely wear my hat with it more often anyway) and I really like the faux fur detail - brushed out, it looks great! The parka actually looks nicer (and less puffy) in person than in the picture. Sure glad I bought this when I did!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Petite Luxe Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Attractive Down Coat

DateOctober 17, 2012
by Ruby07
from NYC area
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought the washed teal coat in a size small. I am a size 8 and it fits perfectly with room enough for a sweater. I do not find the zipper is a problem as some reviewers have commented. I think it is a good metal zipper and sure beats the plastic zippers that have a foot break off so you have to either throw the coat away or pay to have someone replace it Having a metal zipper was very important to me having had coats with plastic zippers that broke off. I LOVE the TEAL color!! It is a very lovely color that has some life to it. It is not a common color. I have not seen this color in the stores. Many coats in the stores are either black, gray, silver or red. I LOVE that Lands' End offers interesting colors in their coats. I got the matching teal boot and it makes a great outfit! Way to go Lands' End for offering a matching boot!! And the boot is great too. I love that the coat has a belt and it gives you a figure.The directional stitching on the side panels is attractive. I did not think the beige/black coyote type fake fur was very attractive on the teal. White or cream would have been a better contrast so I removed the cream ruff from an old ski coat and sewed it on this hood. It really makes a difference in the look as it picks up the cream decoration on the teal boot and seems to work better. I love that the the zipper is also directional and you can unzip it from the bottom. I think the storm cuffs could have an option to be tighter with an extra snap. It is a really well made coat. It is too warm to say how warm it will be in cold weather but I worked up a sweat in a a few minutes indoors and had to quickly take it off. The fleece trim by the hood and cuffs is very soft. The coat does not make you look like a Mammoth. I did not find a coat in the stores that came close to this coat in terms of quality, warmth, style, and color. This is a real beauty and am glad I was able to get it on sale in the nick of time. Very very nice coat. I am very pleased. I hope Lands' End will continue to over great choice in colors as it made me buy the coat. Other catalogues offer the same basic colors and they have no style to them. BRavo Lands' End!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Petite Luxe Down Parka
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Some Reservations

DateOctober 6, 2012
by Meriel
from Minnesota
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My sweetie gave me this for Christmas, as I spend a lot of time outdoors for my job as a teacher (playground duty). He had originally gotten me the Diamond Down coat, but that shed down/feathers all over the place so we exchanged it for this product. The exterior fabric was much better at keeping the down inside; it also feels much thicker and more durable than the other coat we returned. I got the Rose color which is a rich color--almost a true blue-based red. So my problems? Well, I do think the fit is on the small size. I live in Minnesota and it can get very very cold. I like being able to layer a bit. I ordered a large in this coat and felt I could only put a light layer below. I wear size Medium in almost all my other Lands' End purchases. I could have sized up, but I didn't want to look sloppy. I think the belt is just sort of silly. I would prefer an interior drawstring to snug up the waist for some shaping. I also think the sleeves are just too narrow to fit over any layers easily. My biggest problem with the coat resides again in the sleeves: the down just is not distributed evenly in the sleeves of the coat and create cold spots. I have tried to shake the down, well, down into the sleeves. I put the coat into the dryer with some tennis balls to try to get the down to shift. But nothing has worked. I didn't want to return yet another coat--that was a gift!--so I am keeping it, but it is absolutely not as warm as it could have been. For the really cold days, I'm going back to my Old-Timer Insulated Squall. It is black and boring and kind of bulky and cumbersome but 1) I can layer easily under it; 2) I can adjust the waist; and 3) there are no cold spots. Nice try, Lands' End, but sometimes you just miss the mark a bit.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Petite Luxe Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it!

DateMarch 6, 2012
by joan582
from Elizabethtown, PA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I don't usually take the time to write reviews but this coat deserves it. This is a beautiful coat, well made, extremely warm, and not bulky. I have a long walk from the parking lot, up a hill, out in the open to get to work and I have never felt the wind through this coat and it's kept me so warm! I also like that it has a dual zipper so I can unzip from the bottom when I get in my car. I always disliked wearing a coat to drive but that solves the problem of a coat bunching up and feeling bulky when sitting down. I love that it's slightly shimmer without being too shiny. The only thing I didn't like was the faux fur, but it's detachable.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Petite Luxe Down Parka
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice but runs small.

DateFebruary 20, 2012
by Janie8
from St. Louis, MO
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
I'm enjoying the light weight and fabric of this coat but I've wondered if I have a petitie instead of a misses size. It runs small in the body and the sleeve length. I have short arms so the sleeve length works for me. I can't wear a very thick sweater underneath. I wear a size 14 and I've got an XL in the coat. Ditto on the zipper issue.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Petite Luxe Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and Cozy

DateJanuary 17, 2012
by OregonianMom
from Oregon
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I've had this coat about one month. I love it. Cozy is the best word to describe it. It is very comfortable and warm. The lining around the neck and in the pockets is amazingly soft. The length is great. It is long enough to provide extra warmth, but short enough to still allow one to be active in it. I wear it every night while walking the dogs in temperatures down to 25 F. I've been plenty warm. The only drawback is the little feathers that keep popping out.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Petite Luxe Down Parka
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice parka, with reservations

DateJanuary 17, 2012
by CVOY
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
First the pros: I got it in Dark Sapphire which is beautiful color, I love the very soft fleece on the collar, the cuffs and in the pocket linings. The shell fabric is also nice to the touch and not too stiff.
Now the cons: Hooking up the zipper is really difficult, each time it takes me several tries, so it's not something I can do if I need to close it in a hurry. The cut and sizing are slightly off. I am a size 10, or a Medium in Land's End outerwear, and I am certainly not very muscular in the shoulders and arm area. Although the fit of the shoulders and of the body are right for me, the armholes are slightly too tight and become uncomfortable if I want to wear a sweater underneath it. The cut is slightly flared, which doesn't make much sense for a cold weather parka that should keep the air out. I thought about sizing up but then it would be more flared. I am keeping it, but its use will be limited by the tight armholes.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Petite Luxe Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm

DateJanuary 6, 2012
by MissLiz
from Staten Island, New York
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I have last years version of this coat, which does not have a hood. This coat is SO warm, ans stylish to boot. You don't look like a buoy in it. I can wear it to a restaurant without looking too casual. It's also lightweight. If you are on the fence about this onne...go for it!!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Petite Luxe Down Parka
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Teal is gorgeous and the fit is perfect!

DateJanuary 4, 2012
by redcardinal
from Sault Ste Marie, ON.Canada
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I just wanted anyone considering buying this coat DO NOT HESITATE! I just love it. The fit is perfect for me, I ordered the large, the arms are long enough (usually a problem for me) and the fact I can wear it with/without the belt is great to change up the look. The side pockets with warm lining are nice and deep plus pockets in the front that have a snap closure. The hood will be great for the very cold winds of winter, totally protect your face as it comes out a few inches from your face. I am so glad I didn't hesitate on ordering this coat. I will be wearing this for a longtime to come
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.