Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Belts or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Men's Braid Dress Belt

Men's Braid Dress Belt

A beautifully made, eye-catching belt you can count on for years of sturdy wear. Full-grain leather is hand-tubular braided to create a substantial 1 1/8″ -wide strap that has a rich look and feel. Works equally well with casual and dress pants. With full-grain leather keeper. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.235 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 boats
12
4 boats
5
3 boats
6
2 boats
1
1 boat
10
20 out of 34(59%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Review 1 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality braid belt

DateMarch 15, 2014
by GaryNe
from Catonsville, MD
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
I found this black braid belt to be very nice. It was finished nicely on the front and the back. The length was as advertised (and it will probably lengthen a bit as it is worn). I had no problem with finding the holes in the belt (a complaint I had read in some reviews). For my taste, this belt looks great and fits great, and I expect to have it for a long time.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The only problem with the belts is that they have a very strong leather odor.

DateMarch 15, 2014
by ACHD
from Deerfield, Il.
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
I purchased both a brown and black leather braided belt. They fit and look fine. The only problem with the belts is that they have a very strong leather smell that does not seem to be going away as fast as I would like.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

looks great, poor quality

DateFebruary 24, 2014
by JackD
from Oconomowoc, WI
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Braid is very tight and material is not flexible. I travel and many times will pack slacks with belt installed. Unfortunately the bend radius can not be sharp and if it is, the leather (?) is so brittle it causes the braids to crack. You can not tightly fold this belt. Second cause of failure as noted by other customers, if you nick the material while forcing the clasp through the tightly braided material the material will quickly break. I strongly caution others interested in buying this to not do so.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible quality

DateDecember 20, 2013
by Jeop86
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Photos for this Review
User submitted photo
Within one month the leather split down the middle, making the belt unusable.
Response from Lands' End:By Customer Care January 17, 2014
Every product we sell is Guaranteed. Period®; if you are not completely satisfied, we encourage you to return the shirt for a refund or replacement.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

stylish dressy casual belt

DateDecember 7, 2013
by erogden
from San Francisco
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I bought this for my husband who was in need of just this kind of belt and he was very happy with the style and the easy fit. The quality of the leather was also better than expected for the price.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

As a woman wearing this belt, I found it too thick.

DateNovember 15, 2013
by MaraP
from Albuquerque, NM
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Very nice belt but I bought it for me, a woman, and found it was too thick for me. Nice for a man.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheapo Product, Feels Fake

DateNovember 9, 2013
by JRot
from New York
Age: 35-44
Gender: Male
I should have listend to the other reviewers. I had an old belt like this, which is great, but this one is junky. feels like plastic. Old belt had good leather feel and durability, this is this leather wrapped around some sort of frame. Do yourself a favor, read the reviews first.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mixed Results

DateOctober 31, 2013
by Akitadad
from Tampa, FL
Age: 35-44
Gender: Male
Look and feel of the belt is great; however, the pictured advertisement shows a belt with holes for the clasp to slide through. The belt that arrived does not have holes for the clasp to slide through. Once you make holes the belt is fine, but I did not order a do it yourself belt. Not like Lands End to have misleading advertisements, but that is the case here in my opinion.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Belt quickly tore at middle seam

DateOctober 5, 2013
by LandsEndFanInLA
from LA, CA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
I have a brown version of this belt that I have been wearing 80+% of the time over the last 2.5 years. It's held up well and I liked it enough to order a black one about a year ago. But the second belt was clearly made of slightly lower quality materials, and most importantly, its construction was defective as many other reviewers have noted.
The middle seam is woven extremely tightly, making it very hard to push the prong into the seam spacing. Forcing the prong through has caused the middle seam to tear at each hole after just a few times of using that hole. Looking closely, it looks like the material holding the middle seam is also flimsier.
Regardless of the exact cause, I now have a belt that can't be worn anymore after minimal use.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very pleased

DateSeptember 14, 2013
by rickneph
from chicago
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
the belt fits well, is constructed well and looks nice
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

belt does not have pre-punched holes for the buckle.

DateAugust 31, 2013
by harold1
from ny city
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
the belt is hard to fasten since there are no spaces provided for the buckle prong to go into easily
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Two sails

DateMay 13, 2013
by Fraioli
from new york
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Good looking belt BUT you can't put the buckle in a hole. I will return it.
Response from Lands' End:By Customer Care June 11, 2013
We do not want our customers to keep anything they are not delighted with, that is why everything we sell is Guaranteed. Period. If you are not completely satisfied please return for a full refund or exchange. We would also like to point out that with the braided belt the hole is anywhere you would like it to be.
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality

DateMay 11, 2013
by TomasAndy
from Michigan
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This not "beautifully made" belt weave is bulged on the top and bottom edges in several places. One of the strips on the outside (show side) was broken, and the strip end was a light tan, very visable flaw. I will return the belt for a refund. (Of course, I get to pay for the time and gas to Sears or the return postage).
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Are you kidding? Calling this a belt I mean.

DateApril 27, 2013
by MikeMcDermott
from Cincinnati
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This was undoubtedly the cheapest and least functional belt I have ever purchased (unable to be worn and returned immediately). The buckle does not function as it is too flimsy and the buckle post was not long enough too reach the buckle metal frame. This belt cannot be worn as the post is too flimsy to pierce an almost impenatrable belt braid. Terrible quality. These belts should be donated to recycling.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy and stylish

DateApril 13, 2013
by WMC
from Austin TX
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Long lasting belt at a good price.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Belt

DateDecember 22, 2012
by bob44
from bay area
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought the other loosely braded belt from Lands end and it was terrible. This one is great. Holds its shape and looks good. I threw prior one out.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Heads up -- this belt runs crazy small.

DateNovember 27, 2012
by Sara123
from Los Angeles
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Very Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
The belt is gorgeous but the fit is absurd. I ordered it for my son (on sale). He wears a size 29 pants, so I thought a 30 would be great. So wrong. It ran so small that it barely fit around his waist, w/out being buckled -- now I have to go to the expense and trouble of returning it. Lands End, this is so not like you!!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great quality but size issues

DateOctober 30, 2012
by Hallett
from Los Angeles, CA
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
My previous similar belt was a 32 and was a bit too long so I ordered a 30. It turned out to be 4 inches shorter so I had to return it for a 32. (I recommend when you order, measure a belt that fits well and then call Lands' End to find out how long the listed sizes really are.) The quality and finish are great and can easily go with dressy or casual. The buckle on my older version is shiny brass but the new belt has a really nice antique brass finish.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Had to send back.

DateOctober 29, 2012
by buggear
from Chicago, IL
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
Fit
Fits Very Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
Last braided belt I purchased from Lands' End has a much different braid pattern than this new product. It was a size 36 and fit fine. I think the new pattern will last longer. This new braid belt is marked the same size 36, but it is 2" shorter than the old version. I have to send back and order a larger size.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dark brown with a rich look and feel ...

DateOctober 14, 2012
by LouisXIV
from Sherbrooke (Quebec)
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
The belt looks great, is true to size, and the dark brown comes close to a burgundy with just the right amount of shine. Fits me perfectly. My only other braided belt dates back 10 years and is soft and supple. This one is much more rigid, even more so than an ordinary leather belt, so I have little to compare it too. Does it fit? Yes. Do I wear it often? Yes.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sadly disappointed.

DateOctober 8, 2012
by Kris7
from Katy, TX
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
The first braided belt I ordered for my husband lasted over 20 years and he loved it. This belt lasted one MONTH and every time he wore it he complained about the difficulty of finding a "hole". Within a month the prong has come off of the buckle and I'm now returning the belt. The difference in quality may be attributed to the belt being "Made in USA" 20 years ago and the one ordered last month was "Made in China".
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Full grain leather or not?

DateSeptember 7, 2012
by mealso
from Illinois
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Just received the belt yesterday. I question the quality. The catalog description states the belt is "... Full-grain leather..." In my experience, belts are always marked as to the type of leather, full grain, top grain, etc. Usually stamped on the reverse below the buckle. There is no marking on this belt. The cloth tag simply says, "100% leather." Well, that can mean many things. Sure, the belt is made of leather, but which type? And it might also contain bonded leather. And the belt is made in China. The omission of the specific type of leather stamped on the belt and its being made in China does not give me confidence in the quality. Back it goes without even unwrapping it. BTW, since I did not unwrap the belt, I have not tried it on and so therefore really do not know anything about the fit! I had to select something to submit the review. That's really lame.
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect belt!

DateSeptember 1, 2012
by CookieK
from Shingle Springs, CA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My husband loves his new belt. He wears a 36 and I ordered a 38. He loves the quality and it fits perfectly!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Belt is lis ok

DateSeptember 1, 2012
by Tipp
from Fort Wayne, IN
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
bucl
Buckle is cheap and lightweight, bought same belt in past - it's much much better! Why?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nicely crafted belt

DateAugust 5, 2012
by CrowdControl
from Tampa, FL
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This belt is of the same quality that you find at "high end" stores for twice the price. It is well made, has supple leather and looks good. I have no problem recommending this item to family and friends.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is exactly want I wanted

DateMay 14, 2012
by MikeM33
from Richmond, Va
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This was a replacement for the first belt that was defective. On of the braided pieces of leather was broken. The belt is very stylish looking and I am perfectly satisfied with the replacement
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality - a little pricey

DateMay 12, 2012
by Robert20
from New York, NY
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Good quality - a liitle pricey
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice belt.

DateMay 7, 2012
by CPABill
from Baton Rouge, LA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I am very pleased with this belt. Fits and feels great. The buckle looks good and has a quality feel to it. I wanted a belt of this type to replace one I had that wore out and am very happy with the quality and value. When out shopping recently I looked at belts and did not see any that measure up to this one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well made difficult to buckle

DateApril 29, 2012
by SCE
from Southern California
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
This is a nice design and well made. I have always told to order a belt 2" larger than your waist size. This one needs to be ordered your exact size. I found the belt hard to buckle (locate a hole) until it is broken in.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great belt

DateApril 29, 2012
by Mubby
from Florida
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Solid construction, good material and nice value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Belt Highly recommended

DateApril 21, 2012
by Dailymale
from Australia
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This belt is extremely good quality and the sizing advice from Lands End spot on. (i.e.) buy a size 1inch (2.54cm) above the waist size of the trousers you are going to wear it with. Goes well with chinos and jeans. The brown is a dark brown and very versatile.
It is well finished and I shall be buying a second in the black.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Braided Belt

DateMarch 19, 2012
by degeurin
from Texas
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Best belt I have ever owned, now I have 2.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Quality has deteriorated

DateMarch 18, 2012
by JohnPA
from Reading, PA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I purchased a similar belt from Lands' End yeares ago. It has been a favorite. It was supple and always looked good. I liked that it didn't have pre-defined holes. When this old favorite started to finally wear out I decided to order another.
This belt was quite stiff and I couldn't get it hooked without really forcing it, which I didn't want to do.
Comparing the belts I realized that the old one was made in the US while the new one was made in China.
The belt I returned didn't look bad but it's quality was no where near that of the old belt.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Men's Braid Dress Belt
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this belt does the job

DateMarch 17, 2012
by Uding
from Libertyville, IL
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I wear dress clothes/suits every weekday and appreciate a good product. This belt has a good fit, leather has a very nice feel, finish is nice and simply looks great. Better than the Fossil brand black leather braided belt which it replaced.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.