Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Backpacks & Book Bags or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for DoubleDuty Backpack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lands' End.

DoubleDuty Backpack

DoubleDuty is made for kids who are tough on packs. Built with 1000-denier nylon, it resists tears and abrasions better than other standard pack cloth. Plus, it has a simple old-school vibe we think your kids will love. Spot clean. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.591 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
5 boats
31
4 boats
9
3 boats
3
2 boats
1
1 boat
0
41 out of 44(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DoubleDuty Backpack
Review 1 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good backpack

DateFebruary 4, 2012
by MontanaAn
from Montana
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Bought this on sale (too good to pass up) for my granddaughter and she prefers this to her other Land's End backpack. I did wash on gentle cycle and hung it up to dry and it looks brand new.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bag for the Elementary/Lower Middle School Years

DateJanuary 29, 2012
by Rhonda1984
from Nashville, TN
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
We own 4 of these, and they are large enough to hold a binder, a couple of textbooks, a pair of shoes, and a small jacket - everything my 10-year-old twins need to make it through their day. One goes to school, and 1 holds their game consoles, MP3 players, sketch books, etc. I use a small carabiner clip to attach a StudyHaul lunchbox (we own 8 of those - I use one for MY lunch), and stash a water bottle in the side pocket. Great pack - well-constructed, and love the little school supply pouch that attaches by a clip. Love these packs!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So durable!!!

DateJanuary 22, 2012
by Enalyn
from Newark,NJ
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I love how durable it is and the color as well!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lots of extra pockets

DateJanuary 21, 2012
by jesse1371
from philly
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I thought this was a small bag & bought it for my 6 yr old because her old bag was falling apart. (it was a hand me down and beat up already) . It was on sale and loved the price too. She likes it alot but seems to be a little big for her. She will grow into it. Nice quality and color. Her 8 yr old sister really liked it alot that I went and ordered her one too. It's a prefect fit for her who is in 3rd grade. They love all the extra pockets. My girls are on the smaller side and don't need to carry a lot of text books ,so i don't think it would be a good choice for a bigger child who has to carry a heavy load.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy! Perfect for my teenage daughter.

DateJanuary 21, 2012
by Nafajo
from Chesterfield, MI
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I bought this for my daughter in high school. It fits all her things nicely. It's super durable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The color is very nice and most importantly my daughter LOVES it! The quality is excellent, I know she will have it forever.

DateJanuary 21, 2012
by QueenJK99
from Belleville, MI
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My Daughter LOVES this book bag!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it--for me!

DateJanuary 21, 2012
by HeatherHet
from Northern Indiana
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I couldn't pass up the sale price on this one, and bought it for my kids, but no one needed one. However, after carrying a tote bag on my short walk to work too many times, my shoulders started protesting. One morning I pulled this out, loaded in my supplies, and headed out. it's perfect! It holds more than I think, and it fits me well. I had my kids try it on to make sure it wasn't too big for them, and it fit the 8 year old and 10 year old just fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Quality, good looking!

DateJanuary 15, 2012
by HopeDR
from Dominican Republic
Gender: Female
We bought this backpack in navy color for my 14 year old son. He didn't want his backpack with wheels anymore. This backpack is not huge, but will carry all that he needs for every day. He prepares his backpack every night with what he will need the next day, and he even have space to put a smaill lunch pack for when he is in a hurry.
I read the reviews before buying this product, and some said that it was smaller than desired. Well, what I like most about this backpack is precisely the size. I was very worried with my son's other backpack, which was huge, and gave him the excuse to carry around more books and notebooks than what was healthy for his back (the other backpack had to be carried up and down lots of stairs, or where the wheels were difficult to use). Now he selects what he needs for the next day, and even with that, he has not complained at all, and I am sure it is because he feels lighter with his new backpack.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big enough

DateJanuary 8, 2012
by 23blonde
from HB, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
i`ve read some rewiews that backpack is too small, well, it`s perfect size forr 1st grader. Homework envelop fits perfectly
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

DateJanuary 8, 2012
by jahre
from des moines, iowa
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
excellent fit and of the highest quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

DateJanuary 8, 2012
by Rohan
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male
Good
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for school

DateJanuary 8, 2012
by Hillock
from Collingwood, Ontario
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My 10 year old loves this back pack. It is a good size to carry his homework and lunch.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very nice quality

DateJanuary 7, 2012
by rockiesfan120
from Colorado
for future use. like the style
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for kids.

DateJanuary 7, 2012
by Cavelady
from Sheffield Lake
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
This roomy backpack is great for grades school kids. Zippered attached pouch inside for lunch money.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this pack- light weight and durable, just what I was looking for!

DateJanuary 7, 2012
by pibby
from rhode island
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I am a coach and needed a gear bag I could bring to the field, on trips and games. It has been perfect
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Backpack

DateJanuary 7, 2012
by MBowser
from San Tan Valley, AZ
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
This backpack was a great deal! In fact I passed the deal along on my facebook page and two other people placed orders!!! I just needed a backpack for a carry on bag and whatever else comes up. Great deal! I love it! And it's my favorite color. . . purple!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wow

DateJanuary 7, 2012
by karen4kids
from indiana
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Even comes with an extra little bonus pouch my daughter discovered...she is soooo excited!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice backpack, but too small for a middle schooler

DateJanuary 7, 2012
by Kimie
from New York
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
As usual, Lands End makes quality products. I love the backpack, but it is not useful for what I intended to use it for which is my middle school child. The backpack is extremely small, way to small for a middle schooler to use with accordion folders. If you made it much bigger, I would purchase it again for my tough on backpacks son. These kids carry a lot around these days. I would say the size of this is only suitable for a toddler !
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great backpack, but strange monogram

DateJanuary 7, 2012
by Jessige
from Duluth, MN
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
I gave this backpack to my 3 year old daughter for Christmas as her first "big girl" backpack. She loves it. The quality is what I've come to expect from Lands End and I'm pleased with the purchase.
However, I ordered it with a monogram. I was given several font choices and I assumed it would be an embroidered initial monogrammed on the bag itself. Instead, the monogram is a non-stylized stamp on the small (1") leather patch on the front pocket. A minor issue, but had I known that was what I was paying extra for, I wouldn't have had it monogrammed.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love the color!

DateJanuary 7, 2012
by YJCZ
from NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
my son loves it, he can carry everything with this bag.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Backpack

DateDecember 14, 2011
by Erin4
from Wisconsin
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I have one for both my son and daughter. They both love them. Very durable!!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality. Could match colors to gender.

DateNovember 30, 2011
by COBeth
from Estes Park, CO
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
These were part of a Bright Christmas package. Hope the two little ones they're for will enjoy them.
-8points
2of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

seems sturdy

DateNovember 26, 2011
by mommato2ko
from WI
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
My kids have not yet had a chance to use these backpacks as they are gifts for Christmas. They seem very sturdy however. My oldest daughter already has a lands' end backpack but I washed it and it got stuck between the washer basin and the outer edge and the graphic wore off. Surprisingly, the backpack itself had no damage other than the wearing of the screenprinted graphic.
-9points
2of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This bookbag surpasses all the others for quality, ease of use

DateNovember 26, 2011
by Casablancasgal40
from Jacksonville, Florida
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
I have purchased many bookbags over the years and am now purchasing them for my grandsons who are 10 & 8. This bookbag is the strongest, most well made and durable one I have ever found. They will get another couple of years out of it. Money well spent. I have purchased many items from you over the years, the quality is always there whether it is clothing, or items for the home. Thank you Landsend for great products that last, and last! We count on you for the very best!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

WAY too small!

DateNovember 19, 2011
by MNmother
from MN
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I thought this would be a perfect size back pack. When they said smaller pockets, I was assuming they ment smaller pockets for notebooks or mittens/hats...not small like for pencils/pens/erasers. This back pack is not big enough to hold all the books/snowpants/shoes/etc.
Which is a huge bummer!!!!---because this looks like it will be a great "tough" backpack. Bummed I have to send it back!!
+18points
21of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

DateNovember 17, 2011
by DMcC
Sturdy construction. Nice in-between size.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good quality but small

DateNovember 14, 2011
by Laura888
from upstate NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I bought these for my middle-school kids but they are WAY too small to hold binders and textbooks! Too bad because they did seem durable. When will Lands End wise up and realize how incredibly burdened our kids are by excessive homework these days??? All of their packs run small for the age ranges they're intended for--are the LE designers still stuck in the 1970s when we had much less schoolwork going back and forth each day?
+25points
29of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

back pack made of heavy duty structure

DateNovember 12, 2011
by rinie
from allentown pa
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
i purchased 4 back packs 1 duffle bag as christmas gifts for grandsons,niece and nephew from size,weight and sewing it is GREATTTT! 2-5 grader one thing use black,brown and navy threads on soft light colors WHITE do not show up well.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice but don't bother with the monogram

DateOctober 30, 2011
by Mellymum
from Brisbane, Australia
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Nice sturdy backpack in bright colours, and pretty cheap. However, we splurged and got 2 backpacks, monogrammed for both our boys. It's stamped onto the leather rectangle in a tiny font, and can't be read unless you're within about 10cm. There's plenty of space to make the letters larger, so the boys were a bit disappointed with that.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy backpack

DateOctober 30, 2011
by MiffyCat
from Seattle, WA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My daughter loves this backpack and the purple color! It seems to be very well made and holds all the stuff she hauls home from school - lunch, coat and books all fit fine with room to spare.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Gift for Neice

DateOctober 29, 2011
by Sally3
from Wayne, PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My 10 year old neice was very happy with it.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

solid construction

DateOctober 29, 2011
by snowbear
from northern New Brunswick
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
backpack good size for younger school age crowd -made well, looks like it could take some abuse.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You just can't beat a Lands End backpack!

DateOctober 4, 2011
by greenseaturtle
from The Great Lakes
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
You just can't beat a Lands End backpack! My daughter had her last Lands End pack for 6 years! We only replaced it because she got tired of the same color, still in great shape! This DoubleDuty Backpack is just the right size for a 6th grader. Fits all of her stuff, but isn't too bulky. The color is vibrant (wild rose). This is a fantastic price and I am sure this one will last her through high school!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Daughter loves it - lots of pockets and space

DateSeptember 19, 2011
by MommyGoes
from Guilderland, NY
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My 11 yr. old (and very petite) daughter started jr.high this year and I thought that finding a backpack that was large enough for the incredible amount of books/notebooks that they expect these kids to carry around, yet be appropriately sized for her body, was going to be a real chore. But this bag is perfect. And has lots of different compartments to make it easy for her to organize her bag. Great purchase!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My daughter, a 6th grader, loves this bag!

DateSeptember 18, 2011
by Amodica
from Hoboken, N.J.
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
The bag is very roomy and durable. It holds a huge binder, her 5 composition notebooks and a textbook. The color purple is beautiful and the personalization, which is engraved onto a leather tab, looks fantastic. I would highly recommend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not very roomy

DateSeptember 17, 2011
by Danirebar
Age: 35-44
This backpack did not end up being large enough for my kid's binder and lunch box. There are not a lot of extra pockets and barely fits a water bottle. Wish I would have ordered a larger one.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Back Pack

DateSeptember 17, 2011
by Sassysteph
from NH
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Nice, sturdy backpack.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Out there!

DateSeptember 9, 2011
by Kisia
from Michigan
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I love Landsend and this product represents the quality they offer. The colors are rich and the backpack is very durable. I instantly noticed the difference when I received It and took the other from another place back to the store. It comes with a detachable pencil case and is very strong. It has a hook on the side to attach the lunch sack. The bottom of the backpack is reinforced. Not to many compartments which was great. Holds the stainless steel water bottle and the insulated canister. I added some key chains to the back for a different look. My children love them.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

the fabric is extra durable

DateSeptember 4, 2011
by mother11
from ganesvoort ny
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I was disappointed in the size of the backpack. I bought it for a 12 yr old boy in middle school who is tough on backpacks.It fit materials for a preschooler.I had to return it and buy another one that was of less quality.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Buy!!

DateSeptember 3, 2011
by csel1
from Adrian, Michigan
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
This bag works great for my fifth grader..He loves this bag for all his things. Lands' End bags are also durable and last forever, so they can be used for several years.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sturdy and attractive for a teen

DateSeptember 3, 2011
by DCAP
from Kansas City, MO
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
This was the largest backpack in your catolog, we needed one for a teen. He says the straps could be longer, he has them extended all the way. Because he's in high school he has many large books; we need a heavier, more durable fabric. We both like the backpack, so far- I hope it will last us 2 years!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy, good size

DateAugust 29, 2011
by SuSchu
from Richardson, Texas
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
We ordered this for my son entering Kindergarten even though it's supposed to be for older kids, but it was the only one that comes in mostly solid yellow, which is his favorite color. It works well, not too big for him, holds his daily take-home binder plus his lunch box with plenty of room leftover ( we intend to keep it for multiple years if possible). The bottom and parts of the straps are black, which should hide dirt well. Plenty of pockets. Quality seems the usual expected high level from LE.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A lot of room to fit binders and books.

DateAugust 21, 2011
by MitsiP
from Louisville, KY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
I ordered one for each of my boys and they look terriffic. Very thick durable material. They are hanging in the hall awaiting the first day of school.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for DoubleDuty Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Backpack

DateAugust 21, 2011
by Tete
from Nova Scotia
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Great backpack! It is well made and a perfect size. ( I carry a lot of stuff for my 3 kids). I love how the side pockets are deep and not made of mesh material. I would highly recommend this backpack!
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.