Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Backpacks & Book Bags or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lands' End.

Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack

ClassMate® SmallHaul is designed & tested to carry everything a younger grade-schooler needs for class and more. Features like multiple pockets, a removable organizer pouch and side mesh water bottle pockets keep everything in their place. Plus, it has a durable 600-denier polyester body with 1200-denier base that will hold up to all the rigors of a long school year. Spot clean. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.542 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 boats
15
4 boats
8
3 boats
0
2 boats
1
1 boat
0
23 out of 24(96%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Review 1 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the 2 that I bought!

DateNovember 26, 2011
by SingingMama
from Wisconsin
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
My boys who are in Kindergarten and first grade each got a backpack. They are well made and sturdy - I would buy them again! I did have my children's names embroidered on the bags and unfortunately the name didn't show up very well on the green bag. A tan thread was used and most of his name ended up on a tan bear...The name on the blue bag was great though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cute but on the small side

DateOctober 29, 2011
by bsilverb
from Queens, NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I ordered this backpack for my 5-year old son because I liked the design, and I didn't want him to be burdened with an adult-sized backpack. This backpack is just big enough to fit his folder, notebook, lunch box, etc. He is very happy with the color and design. You can also purchase a matching lunch bag that snaps on, but I felt that the matching lunch bag was too small and the placement of the zipper made the lunch bag difficult to clean.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Cute Backpack

DateOctober 16, 2011
by Lani
from Virginia Beach
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
With five children and seven nieces and nephews. I can't remember how many LE backpacks we've purchased over the years. I trust LE because their backpacaks are made well and last years. I have never had to throw out a LE backpack. Our recent purchase was for two of our nephews (4 & 5 yrs old) for Christmas this year. We plan on stuffing these adorable backpacks with books as gifts. We ordered these in two different colors (blue & red) with their initials monogrammed on them. I think these backpacks will fit them nicely plus also grow with them.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little backpack.

DateOctober 14, 2011
by Schoonet
from Illinois
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
This is my son's first year of school and I wanted him to have an easy backpack for him to carry and open. This is it! I decided to get this one and have his initals on it. There is so much room but not over powering on his back. I got the lunch box also but he doesn't like to clip it on so he just has it inside. He is afraid he will not be able to get it off, he can but he just worries. I will always use Lands End to purchase my kids school bags.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adorable, Perfect Size for Toddlers, and easily holds 9 x 11.5 Preschool Folders

DateOctober 4, 2011
by ReneeK
from Cleveland, OH
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Perfect size for my 3 1/2 year old AND fits his 9 x 11.5 preschool folders & school projects. Multiple pockets make it nice too. And so ADORABLE! Camo bears? How cute is that?? We loved the orange one! I searched everywhere for a backpack that would accommodate school folders/projects but not be entirely too big for him. This one was perfect in every way!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The backpack is exactly what my son wanted.

DateOctober 3, 2011
by CSimmons
from Wilton, CA
Gender: Female
I puchased this backpack for my 6 year old son. He loves the camo bears. I like the reflection parts, the different pockets and it seems to be very durable. It is a little small, I was hoping it would be a little larger so he can use it next year. First graders usually don't wear out their backpacks. But it was a good buy...and no shipping charge!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great pattern and colors

DateOctober 2, 2011
by Erica22
from ohio
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
love this backpack got for a birthday gift. a great present! Colors and patterns great and awsome print
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect first backpack for my 5 year old

DateSeptember 22, 2011
by IK
from Greece
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I loved the camouflage bear print, which is why I ordered this backpack. It is a very cute design and a perfect size. Nice quality and the pockets and compartments are just righ. My 5 year old loved it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Backpack!

DateSeptember 14, 2011
by Bodine
from Alabama
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Great quality and the monogram looked fabulous on this backpack. I purchased this one for my 5 yr old that started kindergarden this year and it is the perfect size for this age group.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for kindergarten

DateSeptember 13, 2011
by LunaGS
from NJ
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Overall, this back pack is perfect for my 5 year old. It's the right size, he loves the print and matching lunch bag, and it has many great features. No problems with the zippers or anything so far.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pack.

DateSeptember 8, 2011
by BMXDAD
from Ontario, Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: Male
Just the right size for a preschooler.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect size for preschooler

DateSeptember 6, 2011
by CaryAnn
from Cohoes, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Perfect size for my 4 1/2 year old son. Seems to be well constructed, he hasn't used it yet but went through he last no-name bookbag in less then a year. This one will definately hold up better and being a smaller size, he won't be dragging it all over the place because it actually fits on his back.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little bag for my little Guy

DateSeptember 3, 2011
by myboysandme
from Los Angeles
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My son is small for a 5 1/2 year old (41 inches). This backpack is the perfect size for him for kindergartening and beyond! I was able to fit a standard size folder (without bending it, which seem to be the biggest complaint on the reviews) and his lunch bag (not the matching set) inside. He loves his bag and so do I since he's a small guy and didn't want to go up a size and have him be over powered by the bag. I personalized it and I only wish they allow other colors other than silver. My only regret is that I didn't order the lunch bag, cause now that he knows it clips on he wants it. I'm glad I went with my gut!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice backpack

DateSeptember 3, 2011
by Daga
from New Jersey
Very well made, with a little pencil case attached inside. Zippers work well. Folders fit perfectly without bending corners. Very satisfied with the purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good backpack for young kids

DateSeptember 3, 2011
by AlliK
from Austin,TX
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
The backpack is appropriately sized for my 6 year old. It will be able to hold all his school stuff once we are in full swing this year. So far he's not coming home with much at the beginning of 1st grade, but it will slowly increase. I will be interested in seeing how well it holds up over the full school year, and if it develops any worn spots, holes, tears, etc. Seems sturdy so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

perfect size & looks rugged...

DateSeptember 3, 2011
by TLCSLP
from Boston, MA
Gender: Female
This backpack is the perfect size for my son, who is 48" tall. Other ones seemed to come too far down his back, but this is just right. It has several pockets and a pencil case, and he likes the print (green bear camo).
The only drawback is that the lunchbag clip is a plastic pinch clip, which doesn't go w/ his LE lunchbag from last year that had a carabiner. And I'm not buying new! :P Otherwise, I would have given it a 5.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for a Kindergarten student, but a little small

DateAugust 27, 2011
by womstersmomster
I am a high school teacher, and I have seen many kids with expensive bags that have fallen apart a month into school. I knew a Lands End bag would be tough enough for our son! Although the dimensions for the bag were provided in advance by Lands End, I was surprised by how small the back pack was when it arrived. Still, it fits my child who is tall for his age but quite slender. We got the blue bear camo and it is adorable: our son loves it. We also had it monogrammed with his initials: we didn't want his name on it so strangers would pretend to know him, but having his intials will help him and his teacher to know which bookbag is his. There is a place inside the bookbag where you can write your child's name and phone number, which is great. I also like all of different zippered pockets and the mesh side pockets, which will be very helpful with keeping our child organized. We chose this backpack over the featherlites because of those external pockets. It also comes with a sweet matching pencil case, although there should be a label to write your child's name on it. Unfortunately, I think this bag will be too small for him next year or the year after; however, it is so nice that I think it would be great as a ready-packed bag for sports gear or some such down the road when he needs a bigger bag for school. We didn't get the matching lunch bag because he needs a much bigger one for daycare and school.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sorry I purchased

DateAugust 26, 2011
by MichAche
from Texas
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I bought this for my son who was entering kindergarten that is just about to turn 6. I purchased what was tagged for a bigger kid so it would grow with him and I knew he wouldn't be carrying much in it for kindergarten. How the backpack fits him is great, but there is *no way* this backpack will go beyond this year. It does not even come close to holding what it says it will. One change of clothes that is required of kindergartners and his daily folder and this backpack is full. We can't even fit the matching lunch kit in this backpack (because the clip feature is too difficult to work).
While the color is nice (we got the orange), it is not the shade that was pictured online (and I have very few problems in that department). I'm horribly disappointed. I would return it, but I've found lately that Lands End customer service is beyond lacking and my son loves the bears. That, and they ran over a week LATE on delivery so it didn't come until 2 days before school was starting--no time to get another backpack, much less one with any quality.
I can't attest to its durability (yet), but the stitching is nice and it looks like it might hold up.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect backpack for my 6 year old

DateAugust 22, 2011
by gdmckenzie
from MS
My son LOVES the orange color! It fits his lunch box, a change of clothes, & his school folder they send home. It has room for a few more small books, too. My son loves that his water bottle fit in the pocket on the side.
The quality of the backpack is great, the monogramming isn't quite a quality as I've had done before, but this is the first monogramming from LE we've had done. We won't do it here again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for a pre-K child's first big kid book bag!

DateAugust 22, 2011
by Karen876
Small but perfect for my son's size. Great qualilty. Uses it everyday for pre-K!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good.

DateAugust 22, 2011
by CharlestonMom
from Daniel Island, SC
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My son has used it one week in the 1st grade. It is a great size for him and seems to hold a lot. It is nice and light weight and the pockets are perfect. Time will tell if it holds up. The color is great and the pattern is cute but not too cutesy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

sturdy & cool pattern

DateAugust 17, 2011
by TheBestMomma
from Laurel, MD
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
We just received this backpack yesterday and my son loves it! However, I think the matching lunch sack that I also ordered is way too small. In addition, the lunch sack only zips at the top (not all the way around) so it's going to be hard to get containers in and out, and will be difficult to clean. So I have to send the matching lunch sack back, and my 5 year old son is insisting that his lunch box and backpack match, so this really adorable backpack also has to be returned. He loves the camo pattern, so now he has to choose from the FeatherLight frog camo or the StudyHaul camo, and he picked the StudyHaul for the replacement.
This SmallHaul backpack is the perfect size for the littlest kids. I don't think he'll be bringing a lot of books home for kindergarten, but it's definitely sized for the younger elementary kids. I also ordered the FeatherLight frog camo backpack for my 4 year old and have to say that bag is bigger and probably a better size choice for elementary kids if you expect this purchase to last your kid for a few years.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect pre-school backpack

DateAugust 16, 2011
by Mommy2AJ
from PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I am so glad I went with the small haul instead a toddler or pre-school backpack for my three year old. It will actually hold a folder and papers in it without having to fold everything in half. He loves it. He has been packing it with his books and toys and taking it everywhere with him since we got it. I let him pick the color and he chose the orange camouflage and it looks great!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Boys' Camouflage ClassMate® SmallHaul Backpack
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the Color and Quality

DateAugust 5, 2011
by NJS
from Brookfield, WI
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Got the orange pack for my son who is about to start kindergarten. Beautiful color and design. The design of the zippers is great - no rain fly to get caught on, and zipping open at the top allows him to easily get his stuff in and out. The size is perfect for him (he is 5, but the average height of a 6 year old). It will be much easier for him to carry than the full size backpack he used last year (constantly fell off him). I do wish the pack was just a smidge deeper; I'm not sure how much stuff he'll be able to get in the back. I believe it will be adequate for school folders and workbooks, etc. but I'm not sure how many extras you can get in there. Either way, I'm extremely pleased with this purchase. Better quality, design, and style than any of the other packs at the big box stores.
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.