Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Luggage or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Lighthouse 27" Hybrid Upright Bag

Lighthouse 27" Hybrid Upright Bag

These are backed with tough yet surprisingly lightweight polycarbonate. Adding that shell lets us minimize internal framing and weight — which helps you stay under airline weight limits that trigger extra charges. The bags have four wheels that spin 360° for perfect maneuverability. In fact, while waiting in lines, you'll be able to move the bags ahead with one finger. 27"H x20"Wx12"D. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
2.909 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 boats
3
4 boats
2
3 boats
0
2 boats
3
1 boat
3
5 out of 11(45%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Lighthouse 27" Hybrid Upright Bag
Review 1 for Lighthouse 27" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Unfortunately, poor design keeps this from being a great suitcase!

DateDecember 15, 2014
by yonkersbaby
from NJ
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
There are great features about this suitcase, which is why I rated it 2/5. It is VERY roomy, even without using the zipper to expand the capacity. There is a hard side, to protect breakables, which is wonderful. The DEAL BREAKER with this suitcase is that it opens dead-smack in the middle. No matter which way you open it, everything from the top side falls out onto the bottom. EVERY TIME you open or close it. Even with the straps fastened as tightly as possible and the suitcase packed to capacity, there is no way to prevent this. I kept thinking I was doing something wrong! I ended up putting my hand inside the bag & opening it reallyreallyfast... still a mess. It would have been comical, but when you're tired, traveling, it's frustrating. I wish that I had read the reviews prior to purchasing this luggage, (which is quite expensive, even at the sale price). I've used this luggage on quite a few trips, so I am not going to return it, I'll continue to try to figure out a way to NOT make a scene like an episode of "I Love Lucy". PLEASE LAND'S END, back to the drawing board!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lighthouse 27" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great space inside!

DateAugust 25, 2014
by CherylMarie
from Chicago, Illinois
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
This bag has a great amount of space inside. We loaded it full, and came under the weight limitations for the airlines. It is a two-part suitcase, but I prefer that to digging deep down through a suitcase with a top that zippers off. Extra strap held my duffel on top as I wheeled everywhere in airports and London. No damage suffered on my first trip with it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lighthouse 27" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't but this bag

DateAugust 3, 2014
by Slpmoe
from Tarpon Springs, Fl
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
The design is terrible on these new bags. We had the old lands end rolling duffel bags for about ten years and loved them! However, when we updated rolling duffel bags were not available and we trusted lands end to have a good replacement. This bag is simply designed wrong it opens in the middle so when you go to close or open it everything falls out!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lighthouse 27" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Design

DateJuly 20, 2014
by janiethelaundryqueen
from duluth, ga
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
We've been purchasing LE luggage for years and have really appreciated all the changes you've made over the years...... until now. This design is horrible. The luggage has two separate sides for whatever you're packing which means that when you try to open the luggage once it's packed, the contents fall out. Maybe if you had added a few more straps, this design could have worked well, but without the extra straps to keep things in place, it's a frustrating experience. Sadly, we will be returning the luggage.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lighthouse 27" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it, love it, love it!

DateJune 20, 2014
by Robinotl
from Seattle, WA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I own this same bag in the smaller carry on size and I just love it, but I always wanted a bigger one to go with it for those bigger trips where you need 2 bags. It finally went on sale and I also got 20% off, so too good a deal to pass up. I finally have the larger one. It's actually bigger than I expected, but the same great construction as the smaller version. Lots of room - you'll be surprised how much you can get into it.I love that one side is hard (to protect breakables) and the other side is soft-sided. I love the 4 wheel design - it is so easy to move this luggage around. I got it in red with a white monogram. It looks great! Now I have a matching set of excellent luggage. Thank you Lands' End - I couldn't be happier with my purchase!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lighthouse 27" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

good materials but poor design

DateApril 17, 2014
by languagematters
from Washington DC area
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
This suitcase is an example of good materials but poor design. The zipper is placed so that half the suitcase is above it and half below it - unlike most suitcases where the zipper opens up the top like a lid. That means with this one you need twice as much surface area to both pack and use the suitcase. Imagine being in hotel room and setting it on one of those foldable luggage holders placed against a wall. It won't work because half the items in the suitcase will fall onto the other half. I am quite disappointed and will be returning the one we bought.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lighthouse 27" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Please bring back the old Lighthouse Style

DateMay 23, 2013
by PPMMRM
from Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Very Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
I ranked this as fitting small because I think the design results in less available space to pack in.
I have 2 Lighthouse suitcases from Lands End--this one and the style from the prior year. The prior year's style does not split in half at the zipper. Instead it splits at the 90% mark which results in clothes that don't shift and move around when in the suitcase. Opening it at the half way point results in things shifting and a much messier packing experience. I need another suitcase, but hoping that Lands End will PLEASE bring back the old design!!!
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lighthouse 27" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not the same quality as my old Land's End luggage

DateJune 28, 2012
by DaisyinVirginia
from Virginia
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I had 2 pieces of Land's End luggage that I loved for many, many years. I'd still have them, except we had a sewage back-up in our basement and everything had to be thrown away. I purchased this suitcase as a replacement. Today I dropped my husband off at the airport (the 2nd time this luggage is getting used) and the strap that can hold another bag snapped right off from the base as we were trying to adjust it and before we had even placed the bag on it. This would never have happened with our old Land's End luggage which had VERY sturdy straps. As soon as my husband returns from his trip the suitcase will be returned.
+31points
31of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lighthouse 27" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great suitcase

DateMay 13, 2012
by KKing
from Cleveland, OH
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I ordered this suitcase for a 10-day vacation - and it worked perfectly! The suitcase is spacious and I had no issues fitting everything I needed, and I'm a horrible over packer. I would recommend this suitcase to anyone who wants a sturdy suitcase that is easy to maneuver.
+31points
32of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lighthouse 27" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You can not beat Lands' End guarantee on luggage... period!

DateJanuary 7, 2012
by Steve888
from Richland, WA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
With the way airports, taxi drivers and other transportation handle luggage with a mostly non-caring, just get it done now attitude... it really pays to buy luggage from a company that guarantees it for life, even against handler damage (excluding cosmetic). We originally bought nice Samsonite check-in luggage 17 years ago, but it has been on less than 1/2 dozen airline trips. The airlines have broke zippers, gouged holes in the fabric, a 3" tear along the bottom, etc. and filing a claim may or may not get you anywhere.
Now for the luggage... this large suitcase isn't the most stylish, but is does hold a great deal with its shape. Our large snorkeling gear fit perfectly with room to spare, unlike the Samsonite we had. The outer pockets could have been designed with more things in mind, but once you check your luggage, you don’t have access to it anyway… that’s what your carry-on is for. Interior pockets are nice, not too big and a garment bag. Zippers look sturdy, handle is heavy duty and it rolls great. The price is a little on the high side, but with the Lands’ End warranty (one of the best in the business), you can’t go wrong if you’re a traveler.
+60points
60of 60voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lighthouse 27" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Luggage-Need Brighter Colors-Cut the Weight

DateJune 16, 2011
by gladtohelp
from IL
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Love my Lighthouse Luggage. I have it in Bright Pink which can be easily spotted at the airport.
Please return with the Bright Colors. I want to purchase pieces for the family but are waiting for better colors.It can be a little heavy which, when you pack, can increase weight.
+57points
76of 95voted this as helpful.