Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Luggage or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Lighthouse 24" Hybrid Upright Bag

Lighthouse 24" Hybrid Upright Bag

These are backed with tough yet surprisingly lightweight polycarbonate. Adding that shell lets us minimize internal framing and weight — which helps you stay under airline weight limits that trigger extra charges. The bags have four wheels that spin 360° for perfect maneuverability. In fact, while waiting in lines, you'll be able to move the bags ahead with one finger. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.222 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 boats
1
4 boats
5
3 boats
0
2 boats
1
1 boat
2
6 out of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Lighthouse 24" Hybrid Upright Bag
Review 1 for Lighthouse 24" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sturdy. Great for a short trip.

DateAugust 25, 2014
by CherylMarie
from Chicago, Illinois
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I bought this and the 27" bag of the same design. The 27" holds so much more! This wasn't large enough for my long trip to England, but it would be great for a one-week or less trip. Very sturdy. Love the hard shell on the back. The extra strap is convenient to hold another bag on top as you wheel around, but be aware of the width of the Lighthouse Hybrid. Anything much wider and or deeper than it falls off easily.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lighthouse 24" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Piece of Luggage

DateMay 22, 2014
by BOBO1234
from Florida
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Seems to hold up well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lighthouse 24" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

DateJune 9, 2013
by GoGators
from Tallahassee, FL
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
For longer trips, I needed something bigger than my carry on luggage. This looks great and I find it very functional. If you use the garment bag and the inside zippered compartments and straps, the split design will not cause your clothes to fall out when you open or close it. I would like to get another garment bag. It's just so easy to pull the bags out and hang them up in your hotel room closet. The caster wheels make it easy to move around airports and it is sturdy enough to withstand baggage handlers. Of course, if it fails there is that Lands' End warranty.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lighthouse 24" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

5 Star quality 1 star design

DateMay 24, 2013
by LAyK
from Fairbanks, AK
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
We have three of the older Lighthouse suitcases and LOVE them so purchased another for our growing family. The suitcase is well made, light and easy to maneuver. UNFORTUNATELY the clam shell design is awful! One side has a few straps that sort of hold your clothes in place, the second side only has two straps which hold nothing in place. When you arrive at your destination your clothes are a mess! My biggest fear with this suitcase was that the TSA would open to check and my contents would spill out and be left behind in the airport. I ended up laying pillowcases over my clothes before securing the straps hoping to keep the contents halfway like I packed them. Now that I have invested in this suitcase I am going to try to figure out how to fashion and attach a strap to keep my clothes in. In the past Lands End merchandise has always been so well made I am shocked about this suitcase. I would be thrilled if they brought back the previous model of Lighthouse Luggage.
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lighthouse 24" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

DateMarch 23, 2012
by KateMacA
from Isle of Islay, Scotland
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I agree with the other review from someone from Scotland, a lot of money to get it shipped to Scotland and very very disappointed there is nothing to hold clothes in place in each section , like the other reviewer i have seen cheaper cases that have this after packing trying to close the case is a nightmare, the wheels however are brilliant , last time I travelled I reverted to my old suitcae but much prefer the spinner wheels but certainly not all the clothes falling out after having packed it all neatly!
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lighthouse 24" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very nice but I prefer the canvas bags

DateMarch 17, 2012
by georgie262
from Mequon, Wi
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This is a very nice piece of luggage but I prefer the canvas. I am a short woman and and the hard frame is clumsy for me. But, please bear in mind, I love both my Hartman and Land`s End luggage!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lighthouse 24" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor quality compared with older models

DateMarch 13, 2012
by Ktsnowb1
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
We have 3 of the older (3 years ago) lighthouse suitcases. They are fabulous. This suitcase is a poor imitation of those and not functionable with the two-sided design. We are really disappointed. Keep looking!
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lighthouse 24" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

the lighthouse is perfect

DateOctober 1, 2011
by Ackallen
from Tuxedo NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
it is just the right size of my needs
-13points
7of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lighthouse 24" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lightweight, functional suitcase.

DateMarch 16, 2011
by DM2011
from Sao Paulo/SP BRAZIL
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
Comparing this new suitcase to the former model : it looks nicer, has less net weight and is easy to handle due to the four spinning wheels.
On the other hand the old model was easier to pack since it did not have two compartments.
When I open this new one, stuff from the upper part uses to drop and that is sure a disadvantage - but maybe I don't know to pack correctly?
Although the size 24" is alike, the old model seemed to be a bit roomier.
Bottomline: it is a good buy!
+53points
53of 53voted this as helpful.