Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Luggage or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Lighthouse 22" Hybrid Upright Bag

Lighthouse 22" Hybrid Upright Bag

These are backed with tough yet surprisingly lightweight polycarbonate. Adding that shell lets us minimize internal framing and weight — which helps you stay under airline weight limits that trigger extra charges. The bags have four wheels that spin 360° for perfect maneuverability. In fact, while waiting in lines, you'll be able to move the bags ahead with one finger. 21"H x14"Wx9"D. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
2.823 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 boats
6
4 boats
1
3 boats
2
2 boats
0
1 boat
8
7 out of 17(41%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Lighthouse 22" Hybrid Upright Bag
Review 1 for Lighthouse 22" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Older version much better

DateJuly 26, 2014
by RYANSMITH
Age: 35-44
Please bring back the previous design and style of suitcase! We bought three of the older style and we loved them. These are not nearly as well made and the four wheels are not preferred.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lighthouse 22" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

strong fabric,zipper already faulty

DateJuly 20, 2014
by saratolwin
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
i just received this carry on, and was disappointed.
the fabric is strong, and the size is great,but the zipper already gets struck, so it's hard to open.
considering the good fabric,and strong shell, it was a major mistake to save on the zippers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lighthouse 22" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lands End folks...listen up!

DateJune 20, 2014
by DisappointedFlier
from Indianapolis, IN
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
Please, please listen to your customers. I realize all companies are looking for ways to cut cost from products to remain competitive but this "improved" version is anything but. I've read other reviews and heard how folks like their 5 year old version. Well...I love my 18 year old, 2 million mile travelled, 22" LE luggage. My wife has bought me other luggage and I NEVER use it! I now have to replace my beloved travel partner (luggage..not wife!) as the wheel bearings are shot and not a single zipper tab exists and my paper clip solution is a bit tacky. Corners are worn through and the new versions wheels will create huge issues fitting my bag into overhead compartments. LE...pull your designs from 18 years ago and call it "the classic" and I will buy it again!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lighthouse 22" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

please bring back old version

DateJune 3, 2014
by missingtheoldlighthouse
love my old lighthouse (2 wheels) soft side but had a small warranty issue; LE sent one of these and I took it back -- decided that my old lighthouse with the small issue was better than a brand new "hybrid"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lighthouse 22" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bring Back the OLD LIGHTHOUSE DESIGN

DateFebruary 1, 2014
by gladtohelp
from IL
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
If you say you like this LE Lighthouse Luggage, you would have LOVED the old style. LE, listen to your longtime customers and bring back the 2 wheeled , Bright Colored, great sizes, easy to pack, OLD LIGHTHOUSE. I don't know why you think you need to change the design. My older Lighthouse has been through the paces of travel. The Bright Pink color can be easily identified on airport carousels. Lands' End usually doesn't disappoint but in this case, you made a big error. I wanted to purchase new luggage for my husband, but he said he'll stick with the Bright Pink old version when he travels. Customers who have the old luggage contact LE asking them to bring back the old.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lighthouse 22" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Please bring back the old Lighthouse

DateJune 30, 2013
by PC4
from Tennessee
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I love my lighthouse luggage. Please bring back the soft sides 2 wheel versions of old.
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lighthouse 22" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Prefer previous design

DateApril 11, 2013
by SBernhardt
from San Luis Obispo, CA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
I was encouraged to post a review after talking with a customer service representative. I went online today intending to purchase a new Lighthouse 22" wheeled bag. I've been very pleased with the red 22" wheeled LE bag I've had for the past several years and had already replaced it once early on; other than a zipper tab breaking, it's been problem-free. What I especially like about the bag I have is that it is the lightest--at slightly over 6 #--of all my luggage, and I have several sets from various manufacturers, some much "higher end" than LE. What I'd hoped to find today was an equally light bag, ideally with expansion capability--the only thing missing from the one I have.
I was dismayed to see the current Lighthouse bag weighs in at 9# (according to the information)--which would make it the heaviest of all my lugggage, even heavier than my largest bag--and has been changed to a clamshell design, which I do not like. I'd considered changing to a 4-wheel design for ease of maneuvering in airplane aisles (though I may rethink that now, based on comments of another reviewer here), so that change wasn't a major issue for me. So now I have to begin searching all over again, and whatever I buy won't match what I have. This is a major disappointment. While it may not be an issue for a short trip or a car trip, I wouldn't even consider a 9-lb. bag for extended travel or international travel.
+41points
42of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lighthouse 22" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ugh.

DateAugust 11, 2012
by ChicagoKris
from Midwest
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Very Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
I know that times change, tastes change, and I usually discount the reviews that say things "used to be better:" - I usually prefer the newer, updated products. Not this time. I hate the 4 small wheels They stick out, which means the suitcase body has to be smaller to still fit the size requirements for carry on...and while that requirement tends to be lax in the US, it is usually stringent in Europe where I've seen people have to pay to check bags because the wheels kept the bag from fitting. When the wheels stick out, I've also had them get caught on conveyor belts and rub so that one or two wheels become misshapen and the suitcase can no longer be pulled along. Running to make a connection? Tipping the suitcase on the 2 big wheels gave enough stability that I could really hurry to the next gate..keeping it upright on 4 wheels is fine for moving slowly, but not when you are hurrying. Not to mention how much easier it is to pull across a rough parking lot and up and down curbs with 2 big wheels. I paid a premium for Lands End luggage relative to what I could get elsewhere cause I loved the wheels. Glad I got a suitcase last year; sorry I can't complete the set.. Well, I have a saved search on eBay, so I may eventually find the piece I want.
I also don't like the clamshell. Don't like having to fully open suitcase to get things, and how small things tend to fall out when closing a clam shell, especially when I am only in a given place for a single day...On a recent trip, I was in a different hotel each night for a week.,
Couldn't you have some of each style? A set with 4 wheels; a sest with 2 wheels?
For now, no more Lands end luggage for me.
+85points
86of 87voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lighthouse 22" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm buying more. Such a useful suitcase.

DateOctober 24, 2011
by Ninip
from New York, NY
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I have a lovely set of expensive matched luggage that is nowhere near as useful as this. I'm buying more in different colors because my kids keep taking it to use themselves. It's lightweight so even when it's filled I can lift it overhead in a plane. I had it monogrammed with our family name so I can always spot it - that monogramming feature is useful. I love those rolling wheels (took me a little while to learn not to send it spinning off...) so that you don't have to tip the suitcase to move it. What I've found recently on several trips is that this is all I need because it holds so much, which has not been true of other 22 inch suitcases I own. I've had it for six months and used it many times.
I'm not sure why I need to give a "fit" - this isn't clothing. But a lot of clothing fits in it!
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lighthouse 22" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Small, Placement of Zipper is Awkward

DateJune 16, 2011
by MamaBelles
from Minneapolis, MN
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Very Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
I have the lighthouse bags that preceded this set, and loved them. Had problems with the zippers breaking, but the bag design was FABULOUS. This one I returned immediately for two main reasons:
1) the zipper is in the middle of the suitcase so that it opens half and half on each side. I use this suitcase as a carry on to pack all the kids' things on plane rides - little toys, games, snacks - and having half the suitcase open everytime I want to get to something on the plane only seems like it would cause things to fall out, not to mention it would be harder to get into.
2) As other reviewers have said, the bag itself is smaller than my older ones because the wheels take up some of the length. What happened to the old durable big wheels on the older design that could be dragged on dirt roads if you had to!?!
If you are just packing clothes and constant accessibility is not your goal, I could see how this suitcase might work. But for me, since this was meant for smaller items, I had to send it back.
+50points
53of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lighthouse 22" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I was disappointed with this. It really seemed small. I will be sending it back.

DateJune 13, 2011
by Lorski
from Chicago, Illinois
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Very Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
The quality was very good, but the bag was too small for my use.
+18points
23of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lighthouse 22" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

8 countries later and I'm sold!

DateMay 31, 2011
by Pegleg
from Maryville, TN
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I took this bag on a European tour. It was perfect. I was able to carry it on all flights, and pack everything I needed. It is expandable, so that helped. It held up wonderfully. The biggest asset was the four wheels, size, and weight. It was easy to maneuver- even could push down the ailse on the plane by turning it and using the handle to direct. I was able to push it through international airports with one hand over bumps, escalators, etc. The handle has a little "move" in it, but if it breaks, I'm sure Lands End will replace. The carryon duffel is the perfect companion. You can carryon the wheeled suitcase and one other bag. So the duffel can hold purse, camera, snacks, umbrella, rainjacket, medicines, etc.
+44points
46of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lighthouse 22" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love This Bag!

DateMay 28, 2011
by Robinotl
from Seattle, WA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I received this as a gift and I fell in love with it as soon as I took it out of the box! It's perfect! Love the color (got it in red and black), love how lightweight it is, the handle moves up and down easily, and it rolls like a gem. My first piece of rolling luggage ever and I can't rave about it enough. It's roomy and comes with a hanging bag for shirts or dresses. This bag can't be more perfect! Absolutely love everything about it!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lighthouse 22" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stylish and Lightweight

DateApril 3, 2011
by LEShopperCanada
from Toronto
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
The Lighthouse 22" Hybrid is lighter than my older 20" Lighthouse Wheeled Carry-On. I especially like the strap and plastic hook on the bag which is perfect for my computer bag.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lighthouse 22" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great small suitcase for carryon

DateApril 3, 2011
by mindful
from Worcester MA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This compact case is deceptive regarding how much it can hold- with a deep space on each side. The swivel action of the wheels makes it actually fun to manuver and it can turn on a dime. My only disappointment is that it came without a luggage tag built right into the body of the case.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lighthouse 22" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My only complaint is that it is slightly smaller that full sized rollones (under seat size) because the 4 wheels use up some of the 22" bag length.

DateApril 2, 2011
by RTA11
from California
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I like the double clam shell design because it means I don't have to dig through top layers to get to lower layers. The double clam shell, is spit in the middle so each half is displayed and available. I also like the expansion gusset so we can use the bag in either its smaller configuration or its full size.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lighthouse 22" Hybrid Upright Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fashionable and functional

DateFebruary 23, 2011
by rosebud31
from Silver Spring, MD
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Love the look of this piece of luggage. It has so many features not listed on the website. You would probably sell more if you said that it had:
*hanging bag included
*hook for hanging suitcase in a hotel closet (so you don't have to leave it on the floor where any bugs can get into it) Blech! I think this is what the hook is for.
*zipper that expands the outside
*Two zippered compartments on the inside
*Two outside zippered pockets for tickets, etc.
I love it, although if a man ordered it, he probably would not be too thrilled with the grosgrain ribbon look on both of the handles. Looks kind of girly. Can't wait to travel!
+65points
65of 65voted this as helpful.