Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Luggage Bags or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Large Lighthouse Duffel Bag

Large Lighthouse Duffel Bag

A U-shaped top zipper makes everything easy to see and reach. The front handles have a leather wrap, and the handle on end has a leather grip. And for even easier carrying, the pass-through section on the back lets the Duffel piggyback on the handle of rolling bags. Spot clean. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.615 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 boats
5
4 boats
3
3 boats
1
2 boats
3
1 boat
1
8 out of 13(62%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Large Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Review 1 for Large Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rollers needed

DateMay 22, 2013
by Bluedragon
from Houston Texas
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I would really like to see rollers on this bag. As big as it is, when it's fully packed, I bet it will feel like "a ton" when you have to carry and lug it around. I would not mind paying a bit more for the rollers.
ARE YOU LISTENING LAND'S END???
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Large Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very large and boxy

DateJanuary 8, 2013
by Yelofj
from South Jersey
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
The quality of the duffel was great, but it was just a bit too large and boxy for what we needed, so we returned it for the medium.
I looks like it would hold a lot though, if that is what you need.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Large Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A bit too large and floppy

DateJanuary 7, 2013
by moqui928
from Denver, CO
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
Great bag! The quality of the fabric is good with lots of sturdy handles. My problem is that for packing with clothing and heavy items, the bag is too floppy. There is no internal structure (I was looking for a light weight bag without rollers) and this allows it to fold in half and is hard to carry. However, if you were using it for packing large, bulky items or items that are stiff in nature, this would be great. I am returning it for the next size down.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Large Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good quality materials but would prefer more structure to the bag.

DateOctober 16, 2012
by Chicov2
from Pleasant Hill, CA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought this bag as an experiment since I continue to prefer Lands' End for its product quality. I was mainly disappointed because the bag lacked some rigidity qualities I like in a piece of luggage like this. This bag had nothing to give it rigidity other than from it's contents and how fully the bag was packed. The material and construction quality appeared up to Lands' End standards, just not what I prefer.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Large Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for College

DateSeptember 18, 2012
by calitrad
from The Beach, California
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Bought this for my sons trip to college, wanted something as big as we could get within the airlines size restriction and light enough that our 50lb weight limit would be mostly clothes, not the weight of the bag! We also wanted a bag that could be stored in the dorm easily and this folds down small. Done, done and done.
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Large Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent camp trunks

DateJune 11, 2012
by CampersMom
from New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I ordered 2 of these duffles and can understand some of the other's complaints about this product. I do not think it is really appropriate for air travel but is fantastic for packing kids up for sleep away camp or college. It holds a ton and the fabric is perfect for this type of job. If it was heavier you would never be able to pick it up with all the items it can hold. I can not say enough about how thrilled we have been with this item for this particular purpose.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Large Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

just too big!

DateMay 21, 2012
by themick7
from kingston, pa
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
Fit
Fits Very Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
look, let me start by saying lands' end is my favorite company in the world! and this story has a good end. but ... this LARGE duffel bag is just too big to fill and lug over your shoulder. if you don't fill it, it collapses unto itself because it has no built-in structure. if you do fill it, it is far too large and bulky to throw over your shoulder from airport to destination. my wife is 5'5", 125 pounds and could not carry the bag when filled between it's size and weight and it has no wheels. we went to the MEDIUM bag and all is perfect! of course LE took the other bag back, even monogrammed, through our sears store. bottom line: less in better in this case!
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Large Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The bag is much less substantial than I expected - much less so than bags I've purchased from Lands End in the past.

DateJanuary 7, 2012
by DJ4
from New York
I have a few Lands End duffel bags from years ago and was expecting the same top quality, but this bag isn't that at all. Flimsy, poorly constructed ... don't think I'm going to keep it ... very disappointed.
+18points
21of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Large Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's lightweight and tough for the real world of travel...

DateDecember 7, 2011
by TravelCaddy
from NYC
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
People, Lighthouse luggage has been an LE standard for decades, and I have owned a couple of versions. Recall the cotton "duck" versions with the metal zippers. Durable, sure, but heavy and loath to give up moisture or stains they got in cargo holds. That's why they made it better. Allow me to defend the present 1080 nylon with nylon zippers. COLORFAST and LIGHTWEIGHT, the material allows for minimal framing in the interior, which leaves more room for STUFF. I put a coat or jacket inside if I ever find extra room allows the bag to sag. (This is key when traveling with women and children). Light enough to sling over your shoulder with the enclosed strap on the US Customs or TSA line. I mean, how many wheelie suitcases can you steer with two hands?
Best of all, the Lighthouse material sheds snow, water and stains, so it's cake to keep what's inside CLEAN and DRY on ski trips, ferry rides, fishing jaunts, golf outings, trains, planes and...you know. BTW, have you seen the airlines handle bags when you fly? Pitiful. Look, when Lighthouse sits on a wet sidewalk or tarmac, no worries. As a duffel, it becomes a pillow/footrest on airport layovers, it stores easily, or roll it up and pack an extra bag with you for the return trip with souvenirs. We've travel-tested these bags and they are keepers.
+40points
43of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Large Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large duffle perfect for packing clothes for college.

DateAugust 21, 2011
by LMPM
from Bozeman
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My son received this duffle as a birthday gift from my parents. He packed his long pants, shorts, dress shirts, shoes and a couple of coats in it when he was packing for college. It is a great duffle!
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Large Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap Materials

DateJuly 24, 2011
by Backbeat
from United States
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
This pack has a shoddy, flimsy feel to it. It was steeply discounted when I purchased it so it works OK, but there is a noticable downgrade in quality compared to those I purchased 15 years ago that these are replacing. As such, I would consider it a poor value.
+17points
21of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Large Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a good bag...

DateJuly 13, 2011
by CIT
from Atlanta, GA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
I bought 8 of these bags for my fiance to give as groomsmen presents for our wedding. When we received the bags, we were both very disappointed in the quality and structure of the bags. The bags had absolutely no structure to them, so when you put clothes, etc. in the bag and picked it up, the whole bag caved in and everything rolled to the middle. Land's End should definitely look into putting some cardboard/plastic at the bottom of the bag so it can keep its shape. The material was also very thin and felt cheap. We ordered 4 black and 4 blue bags and when you put them on the floor, they all collapsed and literally looked like trash bags. The smaller bags might be OK for a gym bag, but I would definitely not recommend the large bags. The bag pictured looks like it's standing up on its own, but unless you stuff the entire bag with clothes, expect it to cave in and look deflated.
I ordered my bridesmaids 8 of the monogrammed totes and they turned out great, so I was very surprised and disappointed with the quality of these bags.
+8points
15of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Large Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light,roomy

DateJune 13, 2011
by SandySea
from St. Charles,MO
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I had ordered the small one and used it to travel and loved it. Had to have the med for my husband.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.