Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Luggage or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Medium Lighthouse Duffel Bag

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lands' End.

Medium Lighthouse Duffel Bag

A U-shaped top zipper makes everything easy to see and reach. The front handles have a leather wrap, and the handle on end has a leather grip. And for even easier carrying, the pass-through section on the back lets the Duffel piggyback on the handle of rolling bags. Spot clean. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.588 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 boats
4
4 boats
7
3 boats
3
2 boats
1
1 boat
2
12 out of 16(75%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Medium Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Review 1 for Medium Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

New Lighthouse Luggage very inferior to previous Lighthouse Luggage

DateDecember 6, 2013
by Worked4it
from CO
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Lands End has been on of our favorite brands for years. Could always count on good quality and the nicest, most efficient customer service in retail. My husband and I take very good care of our older Lighthouse carry-ons, suit bags, luggage, ski bags, etc. because the zippers were heavy and easy to use, and the bags best quality…fit the overhead bins easily and tough fabric and straps.( We are now afraid we will not see LE quality like this again). Soooo last Christmas,(2012) we bought each of our college students a " lighthouse" carry-on for routine travel. THE STRAPS ARE ALREADY COMING LOOSE FROM THE FABRIC OF THE BAG. This didn't happen to the previous Lighthouse luggage in 20 YEARS. Don't look as sharp anymore, also. Did someone in charge of luggage quality retire? I miss Lands End!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Medium Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great carry on or check bag

DateNovember 17, 2013
by Natalienna
from Alaska
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Even though this bag seems very thin it appears to wear and travel well as either a carry on (it can be smooshed to fit overhead) or as a checked bag. Valcro on the hand handle instead of snaps would be nice as the snaps are very tight to snap together. After a year the clasp on the snap-on shoulder strap broke but I have requested a replacement.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Medium Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Needs wheels

DateSeptember 30, 2013
by Vroom
from Cary, NC
This bag is well made, easy to pack, and just the right size for a carryon. However, fully packed, it is way too heavy for me to carry very far on my shoulder. I also agree that the strap is way too long, even when shortened as much as possible. Please give it some wheels, a better adjustable strap, and a Velcro closure handle instead of snaps.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Medium Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just the thing for long distance travel

DateSeptember 14, 2013
by Sealwrangler
from San Francisco
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
I use this bag all of the time in places where I would prefer not to go, as well as just for the weekend locally. Well made, rugged, puts up with baggage handlers and easy to use.
I own three.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Medium Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Shoulder strap too long and not short enough adjustable

DateAugust 3, 2013
by Brian911
from Guam, USA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
Photos for this Review
User submitted photo
Quality is good but strap is too long for short people. Thus, must order small version as too large for daily workouts.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Medium Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

looks good

DateMay 12, 2013
by DeeDeeWillie
from Grapevine, TX
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
The product looked good and sturdy, bigger than we expected. The monogram did not appear to be the same type we selected.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Medium Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs a hard bottom and protection (feet) on exterior bottom.

DateMay 11, 2013
by Pads
from South Carolina
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
Without reinforcement on the bottom the bag contents cause it to fold toward the middle.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Medium Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect size for getaway - husband is very picky and he loved it.

DateJune 25, 2012
by NICURN
from Washington DC
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Perfect size for getaway - husband is very picky and he loved it.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Medium Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product with some caveats

DateApril 28, 2012
by MJCSAM
from Islip, NY
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
change the two snap buttons to a continuos velcro for closure
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Medium Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect for weekends

DateMarch 19, 2012
by Gonzalo
from Naples
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I am happy to see this size and shape available again. I miss the old version with the thougher fabric and many color options.
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Medium Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Shoulder strap is very long & bottom is limp

DateDecember 27, 2011
by AngiM
from Cary, NC
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I bought this bag for the gym. The shoulder strap is very long; on the smallest setting the bag hangs down nearly to my knee (I would rather it hit my hip). Most other duffels I have had, have a stiff bottom or an insert to keep the bottom flat. This bag is just as soft on the bottom as it is on the top.
The clasps are very strong and sturdy, not plastic.
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Medium Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent value for the price

DateDecember 13, 2011
by trottier
from Pennyslvania
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I purchased this duffle bag as a gift, and it is exactly what my 14 year old nephew needed. I couldn't be more pleased with the design, construction or quality for the price. I purchased the medium sized bag for my him to use to pack his clothing for a typical week long overnight trip. The size is just right - large enough to hold clothes for 5-7 days, along with extra shoes and jackets - even a beach towel; and the pockets are helpful in keeping smaller items organized. I read one review commenting on the "flimsy" quality of the bag. I couldn't disagree more. The fabric is thin, hence the lightweight feature of the bag, which for me is desirable. However, I do not consider it flimsy in the least. It is a duffle bag which by definition is unstructured. The weave of the fabric is very tight and the fabric appears to be quite strong and durable. The construction is excellent - finished inside seams, the stitching is straight, the zippers are good quality, the straps and handles are well attached. For the price point, I don't think I could find a better quality. I know my nephew (and my sister-in-law) will be happy to receive it. BTW, the monogram looks great too. Letter size is nice proportion to size of bag. Looks tasteful. I only wish it were available in a greater variety of colors, and in particular, colors that might appeal more to females (I would be thrilled to see a pattern of some sort too!). At the very least a more gender neutral color such as tan or green would be helpful. The current offerings seem very manly. If it were available in more feminine colors I would definitely purchase one for myself and my daughters.
+45points
45of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Medium Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love it, best duffle I've ever had

DateJuly 24, 2011
by RetiredNomad
from Western Hemisphere
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
this is the perfect size for me to travel. I used to carry a large duffle but find it too awkward now. I would need wheels. This medium can be easily carried on my shoulder and holds a ton of stuff. It measures slightly larger than a carry on but because of it's flexibility, it can be squished down slightly to fit.
I travel back and forth between 2 homes in Canada and Belize and this bag holds everything I need for a week or more enroute.
It's also great for the sailboat. No hard edges to scratch and mark up the fiberglass and brightwork.
The shoulder strap is sturdy and comfortable, the wet side pocket large enough for a bathing suit and small towel.
+23points
27of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Medium Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality

DateJuly 24, 2011
by Backbeat
from United States
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
This pack has a shoddy, flimsy feel to it. It was steeply discounted when I purchased it so it works OK, but there is a noticable downgrade in quality compared to those I purchased 15 years ago that these are replacing. As such, I would consider it a poor value.
+3points
10of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Medium Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is exactly what I wanted as a gift for a young man going off to college.

DateJune 25, 2011
by Margaret301
from Brooklyn, NY
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
The quality and workmanship is why I always shop Lands' End
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Medium Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Description is correct

DateApril 17, 2011
by tzette
Haven't taken it on a trip yet. But appears well made and roomy.
-4points
4of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Medium Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bag

DateApril 3, 2011
by MMiller
from Virginia
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Bought for my husband to use as a gym bag. Wanted something nicer than the traditional duffel. Great size, great LE quality. I know this will last for years.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.