Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Luggage or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Small Lighthouse Duffel Bag

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lands' End.

Small Lighthouse Duffel Bag

A U-shaped top zipper makes everything easy to see and reach. The front handles have a leather wrap, and the handle on end has a leather grip. And for even easier carrying, the pass-through section on the back lets the Duffel piggyback on the handle of rolling bags. Spot clean. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 boats
5
4 boats
3
3 boats
1
2 boats
1
1 boat
0
8 out of 10(80%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Small Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Review 1 for Small Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it, so I bought a second one!

DateDecember 23, 2013
by dogagilitytraveler
from San Jose CA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Last year, I bought my husband a duffle in blue for all the weekend traveling we do. We loved the bag so much, I just bought a second one in red. Normally, we can fit most things we need for both of us in one bag. However, when we're traveling for longer than a weekend, we each need a bag. The size is just right and not so big I cannot carry it easily. The quality is very good. No signs of wear after a year of use! The bag has a large opening making it easy to add things or take them out. I can easily get 4-5 pants and 4-5 shirts plus a pair of shoes in this bag, plus socks and underwear. I can't say enough good things about this bag. I'd buy more if I needed them! We have checked this bag once, but mostly use it for car trips.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Small Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Useful for short trips

DateDecember 7, 2013
by Corcaigh
from Ireland
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I bought this to replicate another lighthouse duffel that I have. As a busy household with 4 kids it's great to have several of this type of bag for short haul flights to European Cities from our base in Ireland.
This bag is much smaller than the old version, and does not have as many pockets.
Still it's a very useful bag for short haul travel.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Small Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Weekender

DateJune 22, 2013
by jkg
from Huntsville, AL
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
This sturdy, perfectly sized duffel is just what you need for weekend or short week travel. It is going to fit that overhead or under the seat while containing all you really want to haul around with you. Finally, an affordable bag for airline carryon.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Small Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall a very good overnight bag

DateMay 28, 2013
by GDog
from Massillon, Ohio
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Rather flimsy, but that is probably a tradeoff for the light weight. I like the U-shaped opening that makes packing the bag very easy!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Small Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great looking bag!

DateNovember 11, 2012
by ljjk
from Moorhead, MN
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I love the shape of this bag. Fits a lot of stuff but still looks compact. Great for overnight or weekend trip.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Small Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too bulky

DateOctober 27, 2012
by HeidiWalter
from Chicago, IL
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I was hoping this duffel would be smaller. I only use it for going back and forth to the health club and it is just too large. I guess I didn't look at the measurements too closely. Also, I would like it to sit closer to my shoulder but it appears that I cannot adjust the straps up any further, so it hits my hip all the time. Not comfortable, I'm afraid.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Small Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ok - but not LE quality

DateAugust 20, 2011
by warminoz
from Sydney, Australia
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I recv'd this and it was kinda' cheap feeling. It didn't have a "floor" on the bottom of the bag. Too flimsy for me.
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Small Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect "several days" travel bag!

DateAugust 14, 2011
by FayeB
from IndianaPA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Hubby & I spent 3 weeks on the road in our minivan. Small Lighthouse Duffel Bag was PERFECT size for 3-4 days of summer clothes, plus extra sandals, plus large toiletry bag. Used this bag for the travel days, when we were in a different hotel each night -- about 3-4 nights going west & another 3-4 nights east on the return trip. Now Hubby wants one of these duffels for his gear, as he had to haul a large suitcase in & out of the care every night. Lighthouse Duffels are very sturdy & exceptionally well-made. I do agree that the zipper-pulls should be large enough to accommodate TSA locks; that should be an easy-fix for Lands End. Also, I'd LOVE to see more color choices -- such as Collegiate Orange, Beet Root, Grape -- please! (Your red, navy, black color scheme is a bit stodgy & outdated for many of us. Okay to keep those colors, but just add some others -- please. Plus, everyone in the family wants a different color, so we don't mix-up our suitcases.)
+44points
44of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Small Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for carry-on or weekend travel

DateJuly 9, 2011
by Pat520
from Bolivia, N.C.
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I Love this duffle. It's the perfect size with lots of pockets. Much easier to travel with than my other carry-on bag. Will be giving it a workout on a trip to France. LE duffles are the best.
+10points
15of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Small Lighthouse Duffel Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great long weekend bag with one minor flaw - you can't lock the bag!

DateMarch 4, 2011
by rockgeek
from Long Island, NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I bought this bag as it is the perfect carryone size (fits under the seat in front of you) so you can save on fees for checked baggage or overhead baggage.
I went away for a four-day weekend and was able to pack jeans, shorts, tees, bathing suit, toiletries easily in this bag. Even a little room for souvenirs.
The minor flaw I mention in the review title is that there is no way to lock the bag if you wanted to check it. The holes on the zipper pulls are too narrow for a TSA-approved lock. I'm surprised that someone from Lands' End didn't think about this.
I also have a medium size duffel bag in this style (which has to be checked). Again, you are not able to lock the bag. Fortunately I have other bags that I can use when I fly. These bags are relegated to carry-on or driving vacations.
+105points
106of 107voted this as helpful.