Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Luggage or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Lighthouse Trip Bag

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lands' End.

Lighthouse Trip Bag

The Trip Bag has a pocket for everything. Two zip pockets on the front and a rip-grip-closure folder file on the back, plus an open pocket at each end. With a zip top and shoulder strap. Spot clean. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.148 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 boats
16
4 boats
4
3 boats
3
2 boats
3
1 boat
1
23 out of 26(88%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Review 1 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BRING IT BACK!

DateAugust 18, 2014
by efbenzal
from efbenzal
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
This is a great bag for carryon or for the beach. I was very disappointed to see that it is no longer available as it matches my other luggage (Lighthouse) perfectly and we wanted to order a couple more......
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not what I expected, but I love it!

DateJuly 27, 2014
by LEfir1end
from NJ
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
This bag holds much more than I expected. I thought ,considering the great sale price, it would be much smaller. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that it holds so much. It is the go to bag for everyone in my family. It works great for overnight trips or trips to the pool or gym. It's subtle size also conceals how overpacked it can get. My teenagers love it as well. It holds everything and doesn't look like a piece of luggage. I regret not having mine monogrammed so when I ordered one for my brother as a gift I added his initial. I noticed a few complaints about the length of the strap. I didn't notice that to be an issue. We are a tall family and actually don't even use the strap that often. I tried to order a couple more for myself as well as gifts, but they are no longer available. I will keep checking in the hopes I can grab more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So many uses.......

DateJune 9, 2014
by Ronsgirl
from North Carolina
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I initially purchased two of these bags for my husband and I for travel. We were able to carry clothes for a three day weekend with no problem at all.
We then decided to get a two for our son and daughter-in-law as birthday gifts for their upcoming trip. The bags arrived to their home on a day that our family went swimming. My son grabbed his bag and stuffed it with beach towels, change of clothes for the family and two inflatable swim devices for his 3 and 5 year old.
Lastly, while at the pool two of my other adult children saw the trip bag and wanted one for themselves. I purchased three more bags. We have a total of seven trip bags. I am even thinking about ordering a couple as Christmas gifts.
Now everyone in my immediate family has a bag. They are being used for weekend travel, pool bag, running clothes and diaper bag for my infant grandson. The was a great buy for my family!!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Liked it so well I bought a second one

DateMay 22, 2014
by Whiskers
from Clowderville, AL
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
This oversized bag has lots of useful pockets of different sizes on the outside. Two of the outside pockets close with zippers, one closes with Velcro, and the others do not have closure mechanisms. The bag itself closes completely with a zipper - a feature that is important to me. The bag is roomy inside and holds much more than I anticipated. A few days after this LE bag arrived, I unexpectedly had to travel to a university veterinary clinic almost four hours away, because of a medical emergency with my cat. I grabbed this bag and literally stuffed it full with everything that I needed for my cat for our trip (except the carrier) -- lots of towels for bedding, wet food, dry food, plates, serving utensils, and bowls (enough to last for five days), medications, medical paperwork and test results from our regular vet, etc. It was too heavy, really, given everything I put in the bag, but the shoulder strap made it possible for me to carry my cat in his carrier on one side and all of his supplies in the LE bag on the other side. The LE bag was the perfect solution for our traveling needs. I liked it so well that I purchased a second one when we returned home. The only criticism I have is that the shoulder strap is apparently intended only to be worn across the body (rather letting the bag hang straight down). I prefer to let the bag hang straight down, but the shoulder strap constantly kept sliding off my shoulder. Plus, the shoulder strap can only be shortened so much, so when I let the bag hang straight down, it fell a bit lower against my leg than I would have preferred. (I'm 5' 4"). I mention that as a heads-up if you are considering buying this bag. As I said, though, overall I liked this bag so much I purchased a second one after having the opportunity to put the first one to good use.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

almost perfect

DateMarch 28, 2014
by ewinny
from Canada
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Have now used my bag twice. Spacious, great pockets and it can be squashed into the always overcrowded overhead bins on flights. As other have said shoulder strap is a bit long, but not a major inconvenience. My major complain is the snaps on the handles. I Iike to secure my coat or sweater on top of my bag for flights, but the snaps just don't hold.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too big for a daily briefcase/messenger bag

DateMarch 25, 2014
by K88888
from NYC
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I got this for my husband, who is constantly carrying around a ton of stuff in NYC like tile samples, carpet squares, huge project binders, and more. We'd bought him a nice Cole Haan a year or two ago that he's kind of shredded to pieces, so we needed something super sturdy, lightweight, and bigger than your typical briefcase. This one was TOO big, though -- we both thought it looked a bit like a man's version of a tote bag. (My husband commented that he felt like he was going on a picnic.) The search continues. Nice lightweight bag, nice construction, wish it had worked for us.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I wanted

DateFebruary 18, 2014
by Happytoo
from BC, Canada
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Top quality. Should have in side pockets. Use it as personal carry on bag when we fly.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect size for carry-on under-the-seat use

DateAugust 8, 2013
by AVtheShopper
from California
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I needed an extra bag during a trip and for my flight home; I had done lots of shopping. This bag suited the bill just fine. It was shipped promptly to arrive when I needed it. It was strong, durable and accommodated all sorts of odd shaped gifts and packages I needed to carry. I also used the large flat zippered pockets for i-Pad, magazines and papers. I shoved it under the seat in front of me and propped my socks-clad feet on it.
While carrying it, it stayed on my shoulder quite well; I adjusted the straps so I could wear it cross-body style. I intend to use it again next week for another coast-to-coast trip. Good job Land's End!
+32points
32of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Straps waaaaay too long

DateJuly 21, 2013
by CatCrazy
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Love the material-hate the straps. I will keep the bag as I can use it for other things but unfortunately, I won't be able to use it for the intended purpose (hauling stuff to and from the office). The bag hangs down too low and interferes with walking.
+3points
10of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great bag for traveling.

DateJune 23, 2013
by Cortina
from Iowa
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
The perfect bag for a personal item carry on. It is very sturdy and has many zipper pockets. The only negative is that the shoulder strap is too long. Since so many reviewers have stated the same problem, I am surprised that Lands' End has not corrected this. Fix this and it would be the perfect bag.
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trip Bag

DateJanuary 5, 2013
by hlthwiz
from Massachusetts
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought it as a present for my husband and he is very happy with it. Plenty of pockets for him and his stuff.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The is an indispensable bag for airline travel.

DateOctober 27, 2012
by Jen48
from St. Paul, Minnesota
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
The great quality of construction, helpful outside pockets and good handles/shoulder strap make this bag a wonderful choice for travel. I particularly like to use it in lieu of a purse on the plane. It easily holds my electronic devices, noise canceling headphones, books, paperwork, a water bottle and more. The heavy duty side strap is designed to fit over the roller board handle of suitcases. This is my second purchase of this wonderful carry-on. Had given my previous bag to a friend in desperate need when her suitcase was too full. I missed it so much that I had to replace it. Makes a terrific gift for any traveler. This bag holds more than most briefcases.
+33points
33of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

love it/loathe it

DateAugust 9, 2012
by reviewer92
from TN
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Like another reviewer, I travel by air and was looking for a bag - one single bag - that I could take on the plane with me. The bag I was looking for would have to fit my 17-inch laptop (which would sit inside a laptop sleeve), toiletries, two days worth of clothes, a pair of shoes, papers and a couple of books and be able to fit underneath the seat in front of me or in the overhead compartment of a commuter jet. Yes, a commuter jet. This bag certainly gave me all of that! It has ample room in the middle section, a couple of outside pockets on one side and two deep end pockets for other items such as water bottles. I love it!
But, I loathe it. I used it on a recent trip and noticed that when packed, it fell to just above my knee when I wanted it to fall just at my hip. The strap, even adjusted for the shortest length - is just too long for my 5'5", short-torsoed frame. Yes, other reviewers pointed that out; I should have been a bit more cautious. I tried various tricks to shorten the shoulder strap even more - like wrapping it around the handle - but it just became too cumbersome and awkward to walk with. I also tried using the nifty handles, but those were too short to loop my arm through to nicely sit on my shoulder. Of course, those handles are not designed to sit on a shoulder, so they weren't all that comfortable either.
The bag is currently hanging on the door handle to my closet. I keep looking at it with desire and disdain. I want to keep it because it is so useful, but I've decided that it has to go back from where it came. I sure will miss it.
+71points
76of 81voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Smaller than it looks and flimsy material.

DateJune 23, 2012
by CindyA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Very Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
I was very disappointed as I wanted to use this as a carry-on bag. It is no larger than my laptop bag and was very overpriced. I returned it.
+19points
23of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This travel bag was great for my short term travel needs.

DateMarch 29, 2012
by Twannap
from DC
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This bas has plenty of room inside and out. The only problem I have is with the shoulder strap. It seems to curve too deeply and does not hang flat on my shoulder. The curve in the strap causes it to slip off repeatedly. I use the short handles most of the time.
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Big Bag

DateMarch 17, 2012
by HardWorkingDogMom
from Kansas City, MO
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Very Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
The bag is bigger than it looks. The shoulder strap is a little long for us shorter folks! The base of the bag is very light--would probably be better if it had more structure/strength if one is carrying firmer items. It looks very nice with the monogram.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lighthouse Trip Bag works great as a Briefcase

DateFebruary 19, 2012
by Totely
from Maryland
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought this bag in the Navy color to use as a briefcase/tote. We are in the construction business and my husband needed something to carry his clipboards, folders, measuring tape, camera, etc. from home to office, vehicle, clients and back every day. A true briefcase was to fussy. He really needed a grab and go piece where he could just reach in and get what he needed quickly, something that would hold up to the wear and something that could handle some dirt. After trying a few different bags from other companies, I looked on the Lands End website for something that might work. We have several Land's End totes already and use them for everything from my knitting bag to "suitcases" for weekend get-a-ways and I also give them as gifts. I even use one as my own briefcase in my decorating business.
This Lighthouse Trip Bag works perfectly as his "briefcase"! It stands upright on it's own, it has several useful pockets, the size and shape work wonderfully for his folders and clipboards. The fabric stays like new and is easy to keep clean since it's not quite the same fabric as the regular canvas tote. He's very pleased with it and uses it daily.
(I'm thinking a red one might be just what I need for myself ! )
+40points
40of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This bag is just too big

DateFebruary 4, 2012
by ArleenA
from washington, dc
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Very Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought this bag with the intention that it be carry-on for the plane. It is entirey too big for my frame (I am 5'4, 110 lbs). The bag would hit me behind the knees. Plus I was not impressed with the quality of the material.
It was returned.
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The bag is great!!

DateJanuary 8, 2012
by LJFCA
from Southern California
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I ordered a similar bag from LL Bean, and they sent me men's sweat pants. I am so glad for their mistake, because I ordered this bag from Lands' End. It was in stock, delivery was on time, and it was exactly what I needed for a carry on bag. It is well made and just the right size for travel. Thank you Lands' End for your great products and service.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is a bag for my bag! -Business Traveler - Fits under airplane seat easily!

DateDecember 4, 2011
by Lawrence22
from Austin, TX
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I travel about 45 weeks a year and I am perpetually looking for the perfect combination of luggage. I carry a slim laptop bag for business, so I needed something I could slide the slim bag into and leave me room for other travel comforts like pillow, book, phones, snacks, etc. and it MUST go under the seat in front of me!
I have over stuffed the bag and had no problems getting it under the seat in front of me. It rides nicely on my carry on suitcase. I use a strap to hang it on my suitcase but it also sits nicely on top of it. I am short (5'2") but it does fine over my shoulder or carrying it by the shorter handles. The pockets are plentiful and easy to access. I have spent a lot more and received a lot less. I also am a bit vain. I need utility while also looking good. Finally, a bag that meets all my requirements!
+48points
49of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too big & long

DateOctober 13, 2011
by Jeege
from Ohio
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
The zipper across the top of this bag measured 19 inches making it bigger than I wanted. Also the shoulder strap is sewn to the padded peice from both sides. And while both sides are adjstable it can only be shortened so much. Even at the shortest, the bottom of the bag was just above my knees - I'm 5'3. I was disappointed that there are NO inside pockets. It is light weight but just doesn't fit the bill. I need a personal bag for plane travel that will easily fit under the seat & can't imagine if this bag is packed full that it would fit. It's bigger that my rolling carryon tote. It woud be good for a main carryon to put in the overhead if you don't mind lugging it around. I wish LE would make a hybrid from features of this bag (zippers, shoulder strap but shorter, lightweight fabric) and combine it with the size & inside pockets of the medium canvas tote. Now that would be a GREAT under seat travel tote. Are you listening LE?
+26points
31of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great bag!

DateSeptember 3, 2011
by Dasha
from New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Thought this was a littlepricey, but sooo worth it. It's light weight, has convenient pockets and very well made.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super for traveling light

DateJuly 24, 2011
by AnonWoodbury
from Woodbury, MN
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Great carry-on bag for traveling light (over a long weekend, or less than a week). Fits everything I need for clothes and shoes, with plenty of pockets to store things. Nice easy access to trip information on outside pocket is very handy!
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bag

DateJuly 9, 2011
by KC24
from Kansas City, MO
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought this bag to use as a more functional carry-on bag. It is super light weight, with great materials/construction. One note: it does not have a rigid, structured bottom in the bag, so it is soft-sided and will fold down into itself. I point this out only because the somewhat 'floppy' nature may not work for some people. I loved it, because it kept the overall weight of the bag down. Overall, it holds a TON of clothes, papers, etc. Great side pockets & zipppered outer pockets. I would recommend it.
+32points
32of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality bag

DateJune 11, 2011
by FMM
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I wasn't sure what to expect when I ordered, but I will say that this bag is very well constructed with very good quality material. It has many roomy pockets and the over shoulder strap is very comfortable. Great bag! So glad I ordered it!
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Holds an astonishing amount

DateMay 18, 2011
by embees
from Ohio
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought this bag hoping for a "long weekend away" bag (rather than a daily carryaround tote) and boy did I get it! The listed dimensions are accurate, but I am still astonished at how much this holds. I'd agree with the previous reviewer that it's a little large to be a "personal item" for a flight, but would work as your carryon luggage.
To test it out, I put in:
- a pair of loafers (women's size 8)
- 2 pair of pants (1 khaki, 1 jeans, women's size 14)
- 5 tshirts (women's large)
- 2 button-down shirts
- enough socks/underwear for a week
- a small toiletries bag, and a makeup bag [front "bottom" pocket]
- a magazine, a paperback book, camera, cell phone charger, etc. [front "upper" pocket]
I'm not an ultra-light packer (and don't exactly wear tiny clothes!), but I could comfortably live out of this bag for a week (assuming a reasonably mild climate). The navy is a dark color with just a hint of shimmer to it - discrete but still identifiable in a sea of black luggage.
A few features the description didn't mention: The "upper" pocket on the front is large enough to hold magazines, file folders, etc (as well as the velcro pocket on the back). The pockets on the end are generously sized to hold a water bottle, or even your 3-1-1 bag if going through airport security. The short handles on the top have a snap-wrap around them, which is nice to hold them together en route - I even found those long enough to go over a shoulder (although a bit snug; my husband couldn't do it). There's a strap on the back so you could sit this on top of a wheeled suitcase and run the handle through for the concourse sprint.
A minor complaint: the carry strap put the bag hanging well below my hip, even at the shortest length - and I'm 5'8". Petite people may want a different strap; an easy change since it just clips on.
+128points
128of 128voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Lighthouse Trip Bag
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great bag but too big

DateMarch 17, 2011
by Teacher2021
from Indianapolis, IN
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I purchased this bag to use as an additional carry on to my larger carry on bag when I fly. I need a bag that can hold important papers, umbrella, light jacket, small electronic devices, snacks, books, etc that I use during the flight. I picked this bag because of all the pockets. I was hoping it would fit under the seat but I think it is just too big for that. If I could cut it down about 6 inches it would be perfect.
+42points
51of 60voted this as helpful.