Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Storage & Organization or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin

Grand Portage Seagrass Bin

This bin is woven seagrass shaped around a strong metal frame. Seagrass is an ocean plant that grows in light-rich shallows. When harvested, plaited and woven, it dries as a lightweight, rigid — and easily renewable — wood substitute. It's so strong, we even use it for furniture. Wipe clean with damp cloth. Imported. The seagrass is a natural material and there may be slight color variations within a piece. We regret that this item cannot be gift boxed. Large: 23 1/2"H; 26 1/2" w/handle; 15" square Medium: 17 3/4"H; 20 3/4" w/handle; 13" square
Average Customer Rating:
4.952 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 boats
20
4 boats
1
3 boats
0
2 boats
0
1 boat
0
20 out of 20(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Review 1 for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

handsome, sturdy, snags laundry

DateMarch 27, 2014
by CarolEm
from Brea, CA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Well-made, handsome, properly square and sturdy. Can use as a laundry bin, but unless a liner is used (in my case, a pop-up mesh hamper inside this bin!) the rough seagrass will snag any knit item of clothing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality

DateJanuary 7, 2014
by semmla
from New York
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
Very solidly built. Plenty of space.
Will last a long time. Bought it at
a great discount. Excellent.
I bought two.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great clothes hamper

DateMay 31, 2013
by Dawn16
from Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
This is a great size and its very attractive. Seems to be well made and is holding up well thus far.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sturdy and lovely

DateMay 11, 2013
by ourmoro
from Bayside, NY
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
This is well made and truly beautiful. I am truly impressed by the quality and hope to collect the other sizes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Quality and Gorgeous

DateDecember 20, 2012
by Lotsofdresses
from Brooklyn
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I love this basket. It is sturdy and well made. Perfect size for a laundry hamper in my small studio apartment. Not sore on the eyes.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect size & very sturdy!!

DateNovember 10, 2012
by AngieL1
from Sandy Hook, Ct.
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
A very good looking bin!! We needed it mainly for storage of paper goods since we gave up our linen closet for a bit larger bathroom. Some say they can't always find the largest size in these bins but we were lucky enough to order the largest, & we are very pleased!! It is a nice attractive piece in my spare bedroom.Also an excellent buy on sale!!!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Store Everything

DateSeptember 12, 2012
by CalifGirl
from Boone, North Carolina
Gender: Female
I previously purchased 3 of the Grand Portage Seagrass (medium) Bins which I use for organizing office/school items. Just added the Grand Portage Bin to store my yoga mat and assorted exercise items. Very attractive, well constructed, & goes easily with my decor. Plus it's Lands End Guaranteed!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this basket!

DateAugust 27, 2012
by MsParis
from Ewing, NJ
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I ordered this basket to hold my son's large nerf guns. Some of them are a couple feet long and too cumbersome for the toybox. So, I decided to give this a try and it is perfect. Fits nicely in the corner of the room and holds many of his toy guns.This basket is very sturdy and well made. In fact I love it so much I am ordering a second one. It has a multitude of different uses it could be used for. I highly recommend this.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A basket with many uses

DateJune 28, 2012
by brooklinema
from Boston area
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
This is the best basket container I've ever bought: it's strong and stable and the carry handles are just right for me. I've bought two large and two medium. So far I've used them for: laundry, magazines, newspapers to be recycled, and clothing destined for donation. Of course, they are best for temporary storage, when you don't need covered airtight containers, but I don't have to hide them as I do with big plastic bins. That's a plus when your living space is rather small.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We absolutely love this basket!

DateMay 13, 2012
by clothesworthy
from Ohio
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
This basket fits our needs perfectly. We are using it as a hamper in our master bedroom. Since it doesn't have a lid, my husband can just throw his dirty clothes in it instead of putting them on top of the lid. It is nice and tall (taller than most hampers). The wooden handles are very strong and I can carry it to the laundry room if needed. It will hold up even with a full load of clothes in it. The weaving is tight and strong. It is definitely made to be rugged. I may buy another one for wet towels used in our pond. Absolutely love it!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made and looks good

DateMay 13, 2012
by TorontoSusan
from Toronto Canada
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I was looking for a well made, good looking and cheap basket that would fit into a niche under my staircase to store plastic bags. This is it! It not only looks good, it's sturdy (I can easily see why many reviewers would use it as a laundry basket); the handles are secure and are capable of carrying heavier loads.
I've been looking for an all purpose basket on and off for a year now. The other ones I've seen (sorry, Pier 1) I've seen are either poor quality (uneven,sloping, lid doesn't fit) or too expensive for what I wanted it for.
This is perfect..
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I bought three of these for my laundry room and I love them!

DateMay 12, 2012
by Batiks
from Enfield CT
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
You enter our home through the laundry room and I wanted something to hide the unwashed clothes, these are perfect and all of the laundry is sorted for me. They look great. You could use them for other things as well. Thanks Lands' End.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buying a second one

DateFebruary 26, 2012
by KB99
from Hampton Roads, VA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
This is a great laundry hamper! I got one for our son's room and am now buying one for our daughter. Very sturdy, takes up little floor space, holds a ton, has robust handles. Love it and will probably buy more pieces in this line.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for storage

DateOctober 1, 2011
by Oldhouse
from Wisconsin
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I bought two of these to store bulk foods in my pantry. They looks great, and are very strong. I made a vinyl liner for each, with drawstring top and they are perfect. Want to order the largest size when it comes off of back order.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I was looking for.

DateSeptember 20, 2011
by Fumi
from Hockessin, DE
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
This is the perfect size for a hamper in a child's room. Well made and attractive.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ordered the wrong size

DateAugust 12, 2011
by Megan12
from Prairie Village, KS
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Where is the 'Large' Grand Portage Bin? It doesn't seem to be available. I apparently didn't look closely enough and thought I was ordering 2 of the large to use as laundry hampers. This is the MEDIUM, which I don't think is quite big enough for a laundry hamper for me. However, they are cute and sturdy and I will try to find another use for them around my house before returning them. I do really like them.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bin!

DateJuly 25, 2011
by RunForFun
from Hingham, MA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Solid bin - great construction. A nice depot zone for dirty laundry in our upstairs.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Satisfied with product

DateMay 29, 2011
by meljrich
from KY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Used for a clothes hamper in my bedroom. Construction seems good. It is not misshapen or off square. I can pick it up, due to the handles, and carry it to the laundry room. Although, I don't how long the handles would stay tight IF a lot of heavy loads were toted in it. I like the fact that there is no lid, as I can toss things in it from across the room! It looks nice and I am happy. It could also be used to store many other items, too.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really made nice!!

DateApril 8, 2011
by Lmitchell
from Fayetteville,Texas
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I was so please with the quality of this basket ....The size is great...do hope to see more of these type of products ..Thanks
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Elegant and practical!

DateApril 4, 2011
by MaggieB
from Los Angeles, Ca
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
This is gorgeous, sturdy, elegant and so practical! I use it as a laundry hamper and I love that I can just pick it up by the handles and haul it to the laundry room. The corner of my bedroom looks so much more "finished" now that I use this to collect my clothes rather than a tall sack style hamper. My only wish is that it were a little bit taller to collect more clothes-- considering ordering another to sit right next to it-- theoretically i could pre-sort lights and darks.... Highly recommended!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Grand Portage Seagrass Bin
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

DateMarch 8, 2011
by mmzz
from Ohio
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I can't say enough how much I love these bins! They out did my expectations. They are the perfect size for laundry baskets, but you could use them for anything. They are well built; the metal frame and handles are sturdy, and the sea grass is soft, strong, and perfectly woven!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.