Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Jackets Parkas & Coats or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boys' Squall® Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lands' End.

Boys' Squall® Jacket

For unbeatable value in kids' outerwear, nothing tops Squall®. And now the Squall Jacket is redesigned in a style just for him. But it's the features that make Squall Jacket a legendary performer. The windproof nylon shell with DriOff™ finish sheds the wet stuff and is insulated with PolarThin® for warmth without bulk. Plus new innovative features make it better than ever: Grow-A-Long™ sleeves easily extend for growing kids; SnowGuard wrist cuffs lock out the elements; an interior Stowaway Pocket is great for stashing mittens and a hat; the EZ-Zip Tab helps them zip-up themselves; and a hand warmer sheath in each front pocket secures a hand warmer (sold separately, except Tots and Little Boy Small). Other features include: an attached hood with visor, rip-grip adjustable cuffs to lock out the elements, and an MP3 pocket with cord port in Boy and Little Boy sizes. 100% nylon shell. 100% polyester fleece lining. Machine wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.672 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(277 Reviews) 277
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 277 reviews
5 boats
222
4 boats
32
3 boats
13
2 boats
7
1 boat
3
258 out of 274(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Review 1 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, saving for when my son grows into it.

DateJune 23, 2013
by fromthedesert
from Palmdale, CA
I bought this while it was on sale in a much bigger size so I could save it for later. We love everything about this jacket. My son loves the " rip-grip adjustable cuffs" and the "hand warmer sheath." I would have liked more reflective trim, though, especially for the little ones. Sizing seams to be ample. My son is going in to a 6/7, so I bought an 8 thinking he would wear it next winter, and he might, but it will be big on him. He will get at least two seasons out of it with the Grow-A-Long™ sleeves. Also, I'd like to comment on the hood; this is one of the best attached hoods we've had in our house. The shape of the hood is better than most and will help shield his head from the high winds without covering his eyes to do so. Please note that you will have to allow extra time for drying after washing (I wash everything before we wear it). The windproof nylon shell with DriOff™ finish is very difficult to dry (I line dried it) and I had to turn it inside out twice to ensure it was dry. We live in the high desert of SoCal and have very low humidity. So, if you live in a damper area, plan accordingly. That said, that same windproof nylon shell with DriOff™ finish will really help with out high winds.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Spring Jacket

DateApril 29, 2013
by MadisonMolly
from Madison, WI
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
The perfect jacket to fill in the gap between winter & summer...it is water proof for spring showers & lined for cold mornings waiting at the bus stop. I got it on sale, so the price was right. Very sturdy, well built jacket we expect to be wearing as long as it fits!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Didn't keep -- fabric too stiff and not very good looking

DateApril 1, 2013
by KristenHO
from Saint Paul
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I purchase this b/c of the sale price but even that didn't make us keep it. I'm sure it is a good coat, but it felt large, the fabric was stiff and it was long, and we didn't really like the look (it was a family group review). I think it was well enough made, but overly bulky and not very pliable.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long lasting, long wearing - a favorite!

DateMarch 27, 2013
by Lapin
from Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son is on his 3rd year of wearing this coat. It has been AWESOME and he loves it. Especially the snowguard cuffs. All three of my children have squall jackets (1 boy and 2 girls) and all of them love and use the snowguard cuffs daily. The coats have kept them warm and dry in all sorts of conditions, wet, cold, windy, playing in the snow, etc. They wash perfectly (except the cuffs don't come perfectly clean, but with a darker color its fine, I wouldn't order the white again for my girls!) and have worn perfectly. After 2-3 years for each jacket, they have no visible wear and the zippers function perfectly. No complaints at all. In fact, I'm looking at what's on sale in order to purchase the next sizes up for the future.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love the coat, but quality falling.

DateMarch 19, 2013
by MelodyT
from Columbus, WI
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I have been purchasing these coats for many years and I am a bit disappointed with this newer version. I have 3 boys and overall the coat is really great for them. But just after one season of wear the hook loop and seem of it is broken. For kids in school it is a really important thing to have. I have had nothing break after one season from items I purchased many years ago. The quality of these products seem to be decreasing. Now I will return the coat, again. Thankfully they have the return policy that they do!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Son likes it!

DateJanuary 24, 2013
by Charfish
from Massachusetts
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son likes this coat, however he first complained that it was too stiff. He has SPD, which causes him not to like too many pieces of clothing. He's started to use the special cuffs with his thumbs and he calls it his "warm coat.". I like that it washes and wears well.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cozy with great features

DateJanuary 15, 2013
by RGDenver
from Denver
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Grow-A-Long sleeves are fantastic! Keep hands cozy without gloves and keep wrists dry when romping in the snow. This coat wears really well and is easily passed on to the little brother. Love it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not as warm as expected

DateJanuary 12, 2013
by MominNE
from Omaha, NE
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought the coat large intentionally to have space to grow and had no problem with the fit. However, I bought it because Lands End said it was warm to -10. Last night when it arrived we thought it looked way too lightweight to be that warm. So I sent my son outside in it this morning when it was about 15, and he complained it was not warm enough, and he wanted his old coat back. This is the second time I have bought a coat from Lands End based on their temperature ratings and found it not nearly as warm as they promised. I will be returning it and not buying again.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome...Best coat purchased yet for my 6 year old

DateJanuary 8, 2013
by Brewskisbabe
from Sacramento, CA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This jacket is the best of both worlds. My son this year started to not like the thick heavy coats we have bought for him in the past, this coat is warm without the bulk of a heavy coat. We went to the snow and it was a cold 25* (California, cold for us) and he never complained about being cold. He even said after the day of play was done, how warm his new coat was. His 4 year old brother chimed in to say he wanted a new coat too because his coat (hand me down bulky coat from his brother) was not warm enough. Looks like we will be buying another one next year for the little guy. The coat was a perfect true to size fit, he usually wears a 6 in clothes and I ordered a Little Kids large and it fit perfect. He has a little bit of grow room and then the added 1.5" in the hidden grow cuffs will be perfect. We may even get two seasons out of it. His favorite parts as many have posted is the hand cuff that his thumb fits through. Great product!!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My son loves it!

DateJanuary 4, 2013
by Ditte
from Southern California
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This is a perfect jacket for southern California winter. My son loves it and especially loves the thumb holes. He wears it every day to school.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love how this jacket fits my children!

DateJanuary 1, 2013
by Eoskiddos
from Oh
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This is an excellent jacket! It is perfect for both school and play! Very warm but not too heavy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good, happy kid, happy mom

DateDecember 27, 2012
by Beth4013
from Indiana
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
seems well made; the reflective trim at the bottom is very visible in low light conditions!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket!

DateDecember 25, 2012
by tamib619
from Juneau, AK
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I've been buying squall parkas and jackets for my kids for years. The quality can't be beat, and the changes only make it better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just what I was looking for

DateDecember 10, 2012
by pyrr
from New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son doesnt like to wear coats that are too puffy and this one was the perfect solution. Warm but still thin enough that i dont have to fight with him to wear it in the mornings.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket! Warm but not too heavy.

DateDecember 8, 2012
by momof3kiddosNC
from NC
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My picky 6 year old loves the length and feel- especially the thumb holes! Fits true to size. Even if a little long on the sleeves, he doesn't mind because it isn't heavy or puffy like all the other coats. Completely worth the cost!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Jacket is exactly what I wanted!!

DateDecember 8, 2012
by NicoleMB
from New Hampshire
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought this coat for my picky 9 year old. He loves it! The fit is great, it's perfect for the cold winter mornings at the bus stop and he loves the sleeve that has the thumb holes. I would buy this in every size for him to have for the next few years!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful jacket

DateDecember 8, 2012
by littlegrams
from springfield mass
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
The boys are loving these jackets! Especially the snow guard wrist cuff. That's almost the best part as far as they are concerned. I like the sleeve grow feature, one of them is quite gangly and will need it soon. Much warmer than what they did have. I met a woman with her youngest son, he was wearing the same jacket but it was 4 years old and had been through 2 other children, it still looked new. Have to say it holds up well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

DateDecember 3, 2012
by MeadowsC
from Charlestown, IN
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son loves this coat and the little thumb holes in the cuff. - We wanted to get him a reasonably priced coat, since he was in-between sizes, we know anything we buy this year he will not be able to use next year. This coat is perfect! Plenty of room to layer underneath in needed and not too big. Good price. Great coat - Would definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect coat for my 5 yr old

DateNovember 12, 2012
by Bradleymom
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Awesome, awesome coat! Well made, warm, but not bulky. Inside pocket for my son's hat rocks! He's happy, mom is happy. Also, washes and dries up like brand new!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good!

DateNovember 11, 2012
by GSCanada
from Toronto
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
We haven't gotten into the worst of our Canadian weather just yet, but so far the jacket is working out. It is not bulky so it hasn't become irritating when worn by my son on a regular Fall day, yet it is heavy enough for me to feel the warmth will be there when he needs it. I knew I bought it slightly big for his size so there is plenty of room for another layer, if needed, when the weather gets colder. Thanks!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice winter coat!

DateOctober 30, 2012
by Kelly92
from York, PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This seems like the perfect winter coat for my active 7 year-old son. It is well made and warm, but without a lot of bulk. I really like the the thumb-hole feature!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat

DateOctober 13, 2012
by tkhaney
from Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Not too bulky. Warm even for New England winters!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!!!!!!

DateOctober 13, 2012
by JuliaMac
from Illinois
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I ordered this squall jacket for my little guy, and I absolutely love it as does he! Love the style as well as the weight of this jacket, and I'm thinking that this jacket will pretty much be his "go-to" jacket for most of the winter. He doesn't like bulky clothing and so this jacket is perfect for him. Very, very nice jacket! : )
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very useful

DateJuly 8, 2012
by tlta
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Love the built in mittens. Perfect coat for 20-50 degrees.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

International shipping charges are worth it! Great Jacket!

DateMay 13, 2012
by Nickitee
from New Zealand
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Jacket fits perfectly with plenty of room for the next year or so. My expectations were quite high for this jacket, and I wasn't disappointed. There hasn't been a good selection on the local NZ market for warm waterproof jackets that aren't too bulky, so when I spotted this online with all of its positive reviews, I decided it was worth the risk. Shipping internationally is quite expensive so I'd hoped I'd made the right decision. I needn't have worried. I love it and so does my 5yr old son.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket for mild to moderate weather.

DateMay 12, 2012
by MLaird
from Santa Cruz, CA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I would definitely recommend this jacket. We live in California and the winters are not that severe. Therefore, this is the perfect jacket to get my son through the entire winter and still not too heavy for the colder Spring days. Further, the quality seems good, as is true for everything Land's End...in my opinion anyway. It's a fraction of the price of say North Face and every bit as good.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too short

DateMay 12, 2012
by Caf788
from Ma
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
The jacket seemed okay, but it was shorter than I wanted for the New England winters so I returned it.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

DateApril 14, 2012
by Barossa
from Australia
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
We love this jacket. Bought for my 15 year old 5"8 son, and fits beautifully.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Getting ready to buy #2

DateMarch 22, 2012
by sduin
from Portland, OR
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Love this coat. Like many of the other reviews, my son does not like bulky coats. This is perfect. It keeps him warm and dry w/o the bulk. And he loves the thumb holes! My son just turned 8 and is thin. He was able to wear it 2 winters in a row and we still haven't let out the sleeves. Need to buy a new one because the length is getting short through the body. He has gotten taller, but not bulked up. I'm getting ready to take advantage of the sale and buy one now for next winter. Can't say enough good things about this coat.
Also love their swim trunks and rash guard shirts for him. Great quality (and those usually last us 2 summers as well and we're in the pool nearly every day during the summer months).
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket!

DateMarch 19, 2012
by Crozetseminoles
from Virginia
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This is the best jacket for my active and tough-on-clothes 5 year old son. It actually stands up to his rough and tumble activities and washes up beautifully. I really like that it is water-resistant because it makes it perfect for snow and keeps him warm on damp, cold days. I've already purchased the next size up and have it ready waiting for him in his closet. This jacket is an excellent value and can be passed down to a younger sibling.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jacket

DateMarch 18, 2012
by kasara
from MA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son has always had a 3-in-one jacket which was great when he was little, now he is 9 and prefers to wear a lighter weight coat instead of a 3-in-one (which was always a pain bc the inner jacket sleeves were always pushed out of the outer coat sleeves). This jacket solved my problem. It keeps him warm but its not bulky so he doesn't mind wearing to play sports at recess on cold days. The fit is fine, slightly long in the sleeves. I would recommend this jacket.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket!

DateMarch 4, 2012
by Mom2camp
from Texas
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son wishes Texas would experience an actual winter so he could wear it! :-)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket.

DateMarch 3, 2012
by Majedu
from New Hampshire
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This jacket is very nice. The fit is generous and the length is a bit longer which is great.
My grandson especially loves the cuffs and how he can put his thumb through it and pull the cuff over most of his hand, somewhat like hobo mittens.
The reflective material around the bottom of the jacket is wonderful, helps him to be seen on the dark nights.
The jacket is lightweight but very warm.
We are very happy with this purchase.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's nice in that it looks like an old jacket but its actually new.

DateMarch 3, 2012
by run426
from Upstate NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This is the review of the 10 year old boy who wears the jacket every day. The jackets most kids have are shiny and not very nice looking. This jacket just looks like a regular jacket. It fits well and keeps you warm but doesn't attract attention.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great jacket

DateMarch 3, 2012
by ereader
from Statesville, NC
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Ordered this for my tall and thin grandson. We all loved the color (blue) and the styling details. This is the second one ordered. Hope the jackets are still around next year. I have one other grandson who just turned 1.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purchased three of these coats for three different children = total success

DateMarch 3, 2012
by LDL
from CT
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I purchased three of these coats for three children of different body shapes. It fits all three and eventhough my lovely children don't agree on much, they do agree that this is a wonderful coat!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This coat is exactly what I expected for color and fit.

DateMarch 3, 2012
by JeanetteCote
from Indian Township, Maine
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought one for each of my kids. Great coat for my children as they do not like bulky winter coats. Thumb slots are the best (whole purpose of buying) which they absolutely love. I bought the next size up for my kids as winter is on its way out; looking forward to another winter or two with these coats. My kids wear them everyday! They love them and have not worn any of their other winter coats. :)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket

DateMarch 3, 2012
by inarastarte
from Sydney, Australia
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I was more than pleased with this jacket. The quality is excellent and it will keep my boy toasty warm in the coming winter months.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is my first LE Purchase

DateFebruary 25, 2012
by spartanmama
from Shelby Township, MI
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought 2 of these jackets for my twin 6 y.o's. in different colors and we like them quite a bit. I was hesitant about purchasing them as winter jackets due to the fact that they felt so thin and we live in Michigan. I decided to take a chance and have been very happy with them. They are thin, which makes them more comfortable for the children, but they are still quite warm. For the very coldest days I would definately make sure that a sweatshirt or sweater is worn underneath. The boys love the hand warmers and the zipper is easy enough for them to operate on their own. They wash well and I do appreciate the reflective trim on the jackets as an added feature. I purchased big boys size small and I know that my guys will definately get 1 to 2 more seasons out of them.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for a kid who hates heavy jackets

DateFebruary 21, 2012
by LizMc
from Oxford,PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I got this jacket for next year. It is not a real heavy or puffy jacket but that was what we were looking for. We have had a jacket similar to this one in the past and it was perfect for my son.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful coat, full of features at affordable price

DateFebruary 20, 2012
by BaltimoreBurbsMom
from Baltimore, MD
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Love this coat-- my son didn't want to take it off! Looks great, lots of great
features at a good price.
One feature we didn't know about was, instead of a big hole in the sleeve for your
hand, this coat has a small hole for your thumb and a bigger hole for your four fingers.
Not sure if my son likes this feature or not-- it can be cozy (like fingerless gloves), but
can also be a bit constricting.
Overall, we love this coat!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Jacket for Mild Winters

DateFebruary 20, 2012
by MomofTwins2003
from Nashville, TN
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I have purchased this jacked multiple times. Each season it seems to get thinner and thinner. My children do not like bulky coats so it works great for them. This year, I have sent two jackets back, as the zippers have broken within the first 30 days of having the coat. Each time I have no issue with returning and getting a new jacket however - it is a bit of an inconvenience to do it. I really like the abilty to extend the arm length. My children are thinner so the sleeves become too short long before the "grow out of" the coat. The abilty to extend the sleeve length allows us to wear the coat at the beginning of the next season! I love the coat and can't say that I won't purchase it again, however, I'm hopeful that the quality will trend a different direction!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The old one was getting too small

DateFebruary 19, 2012
by MomDriveWorkWalkStudy
from Rural Vancouver Island
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
While it was on sale I thought I better replace his jacket as after a few years the old one was almost getting too small. He is rough on clothes yet the one I replaced went to a friend because it is still in almost perfect condition which means it is very well made! It is an ideal jacket for our damp cool climate and is worn 6 to 8 months of the year. I have a squall coat as well and would not trade it for anything. The only thing I would change on the adult one is put reflective piping on it like on the kids one and add the little tab to be able to make the hood smaller like on the kids one. I look forward to him getting several years of wear out of it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Coat!

DateFebruary 19, 2012
by AnnaO
from Michigan
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son loves this coat. Warm, but not bulky.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

DateFebruary 18, 2012
by JennyLyn
from Tennessee
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought 2 of these for my 6 and 7 year old boys. They wear it everyday. They love it. It has not ripped. It still looks great. I bought another for my 8 yr old for next year and my second boy will be able to wear the old one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cozy and Durable

DateFebruary 18, 2012
by FlyingPhoto
from Seattle, WA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought this jacket for both of my boys (7 and 10). It is cozy warm with its fleece lining and nylon shell. It is typical LE: well-made and durable with room for growing and playing. They both like the stash pocket and the mp3 pocket and cord holder. I bought both the med blue with navy trim. I wish it was a tad more stylish-perhaps more color combos and more colors in the jacket itself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good coat

DateFebruary 18, 2012
by Shelly1965
from St. Louis, MO
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Bought these coats for my boys 6 and 8 - colors are great- not the heaviest of coats- little boy gets a bit cold in 20 degree weather- but my 8 year old is very warm. I read the reviews that said the coats run small- I think the sizes are actually true- and probably ordered the coats too large, but they do not look ridiculous- they actually are big, but very cute coats, and the boys can def wear them next year, maybe even the year after that. And both my boys are big for their ages- but slender. Love the coats, and we got them on big time sale- much better quality than other coats from much much more expensive companies (ie- the crazy north face contingent). Will def get these again as the boys outgrow them. They really like them. The hoods are nice, fit well, and the built in half gloves are a big hit with both the boys. Love that they are water-repellant!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

thin but warm - love it!

DateFebruary 18, 2012
by HouseofBoys
from Coloardo
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
We bought this jacket for our six year-old and are about to buy the next couple of sizes, we've been so happy with it. He finds it comfortable and warm, and being thin makes it easy to carry and pack. And he looks very handsome in it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boys Squall Jacket

DateFebruary 18, 2012
by nanaj
from franklin, tn
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I've bought several of these jackets because my grandsons love them. They fit well and are true to size. I recommend this jacket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Boys' Squall® Jacket
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for two boys in Idaho

DateFebruary 14, 2012
by Adahle
from Burley ID
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Both of my boys love the Jackets! They fit great, keep them warm and they love the grow along sleeves.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>