Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Shoes or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boys' Mainstay Boat Shoes

Boys' Mainstay Boat Shoes

Dapper and durable, with genuine, full-grain leather uppers and 100% cotton linings for added comfort. Padded collars provide extra comfort around the ankles. Sure-grip rubber soles help keep him steady on his feet. Antimicrobial finish reduces shoe odor. Spot clean. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 boats
6
4 boats
5
3 boats
1
2 boats
0
1 boat
1
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boys' Mainstay Boat Shoes
Review 1 for Boys' Mainstay Boat Shoes
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ouch!

DateSeptember 7, 2014
by mommyinva
from Norfolk, VA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son really wanted boat shoes for school this year, and I was thrilled to find these (on sale even!). Tried a 2, but they were too small, so we went with the 3 which seemed to fit well. 30 minutes into his school day, he had terrible blisters, which have lasted over a week. Really disappointed. Will go back to the all weather moccasin again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Boys' Mainstay Boat Shoes
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

too tight for my son

DateAugust 20, 2013
by MomInCanada
from North Bay Ontario Canada
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My son found this shoe narrow and stiff for his wide feet :( If you have ever ordered LE Boys Snow Flurry Boots or LE Boys Desert Shoes or Crocs Clogs, these are narrower.) It is a nice looking shoe, however, not too casual or dressy and in my opinion it fits true to size in the length anyway. As a reference; my son is eleven years of age and fits a Youth or Men's Size 7 with room at the toe.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Boys' Mainstay Boat Shoes
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits perfect

DateMay 14, 2012
by Buse
from Tucson,az
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Width
Wide Fit
Narrow Fit
Wide Fit
The quality is very high, my son only wears your boat shoes nothing else.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Boys' Mainstay Boat Shoes
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfort & Style

DateMarch 8, 2012
by CarolinaCuties
from SC
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Width
True-to-Size
Narrow Fit
Wide Fit
We have tried various other brands of boat shoes but my son has somewhat wide feet and we could never get a good fit. These came in today and we are thrilled with the quality and comfort! My son (who is 9) kept commenting on how comfortable they were! They are well made and worth the money for sure! Hope Lands End keeps these in the product line because we will certainly be back for more.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Boys' Mainstay Boat Shoes
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautifully made shoes.

DateJuly 12, 2011
by bearmom
from Fl
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Width
True-to-Size
Narrow Fit
Wide Fit
Excellent quality shoes. My 6 years old wears these to church and when he's wearing nice casual clothes. He loves the Green color. I'd like to get the blue too but am waiting for them to go on sale. The fit is a bit tight at first but it's leather so you have to break them in.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Boys' Mainstay Boat Shoes
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These shoes are true to size and have a good quality

DateJune 13, 2011
by mikh
from Russia
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Width
True-to-Size
Narrow Fit
Wide Fit
These shoes are just what I was expecting for my 6-year son, they are true to size and color, made of a thick leather, good to wear with socks.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Boys' Mainstay Boat Shoes
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfortable shoes but not long lasting

DateJune 11, 2011
by Emmy2013
from New York, NY
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Width
True-to-Size
Narrow Fit
Wide Fit
I am a female college student and bought these shoes in green because I'm a women's size 7 (boys 5) and the price was so great I couldn't pass them up. I loved them from the start, and have been wearing them everywhere. I've had them for just over a month and actually just placed an order for a second pair in red because I was so impressed with the look and comfort of these shoes. The only problem is I recently noticed the sole separating from the toe of one of the shoes. I have been wearing these to excess though (just about every day) so perhaps that has accelerated the wear process. Either way, I love these shoes and consider them a steal at this price.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Boys' Mainstay Boat Shoes
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like the color but haven't worn them yet.

DateJune 11, 2011
by GailMcG
from New York
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
Width
True-to-Size
Narrow Fit
Wide Fit
Haven't worn them yet. I like the color.
-12points
0of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Boys' Mainstay Boat Shoes
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great dress shoe, leather laces are a challenge though!

DateMay 15, 2011
by MeganMK
from Rainier, OR
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Width
True-to-Size
Narrow Fit
Wide Fit
The overall style and quality of this shoe is superb except for the leather laces. The leather is very soft and the sole is flexible. My son has worn these shoes once and it was a joke to keep the laces tied. Plus, the leather laces are very worn and "fuzzy" looking! I may contact LE to see what they can do about the laces. Other than that, a perfect shoe!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Boys' Mainstay Boat Shoes
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shoe

DateApril 16, 2011
by Kralbe
from Ffld Cnty
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Width
True-to-Size
Narrow Fit
Wide Fit
These are a nice boat shoe for kids. The fit recommendation about them running small was helpful. I purchased a 1 for my son who is wearing a Nike 2.5, and they fit perfectly without socks.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Boys' Mainstay Boat Shoes
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

12 yo loves these shoes

DateNovember 27, 2010
by mrbh
from Atlanta, GA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Width
True-to-Size
Narrow Fit
Wide Fit
I bought these for my 11 yo but I chose a size too big - but before I could exchange them my 12 yo took them over. He loves how comfortable they are. Nice finish on the leather, good quality.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Boys' Mainstay Boat Shoes
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice quality. Great shoe.

DateOctober 5, 2010
by MCHamma
from Orange County, CA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Width
True-to-Size
Narrow Fit
Wide Fit
FYI: The shoes run a little big.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Boys' Mainstay Boat Shoes
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We bought the wide fit and my son loves them!

DateAugust 24, 2010
by SherryC
from Ft. Wayne, Indiana
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Width
Wide Fit
Narrow Fit
Wide Fit
My son is 10 years old and we have a hard time finding shoes that are wide enough and are comfortable. They are true to size. He just started wearing them to school, so we will see how long they last, but they look pretty durable.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.