Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Jackets, Parkas & Coats or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lands' End.

Women's Sidney Long Down Coat

Our Sidney Down Coat surrounds you in warmth, taking the edge off winter's deepest freezes. 650 fill power down is packed in a nicely designed nylon shell. You'll appreciate the deep cut of the hood that will keep your head wrapped and snug. Oversized buttons add style while keeping the storm shield closed over the zip front. Concealed fleece cuffs and a drawcord-adjustable waist help seal out cold too, making this Down Coat one of our best winter warmers. 100% nylon. 80% down/20% feather fill. Machine wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.21 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
5 boats
37
4 boats
26
3 boats
6
2 boats
6
1 boat
1
65 out of 73(89%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Review 1 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

warm & cozy

DateJanuary 23, 2011
by HES
from PA
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
True, the pockets are small but when it's THAT cold I have gloves on anyway! I'm not sure WHY there are pockets on the chest, but they don't detract from the warmth & coziness of the coat. I bought it mainly for dog walking, but I wear it everywhere & even got compliments at work on how fashionable it was. It's a great coat!! I only wish it had the same cozy fleece at the neck as it does at the wrists.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT EXCEPT FOR THE NECK

DateJanuary 23, 2011
by nerosmama
from St Paul MN
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought this for my daughter who lives in western Canada. She wears it to/from work and to walk her dog. She says it keeps her warm and is comfortable. Her only quibble is that it doesn't zip high enough to cover her neck.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm and well-constructed coat. Smart Length.

DateJanuary 23, 2011
by SeaportKaren
from N. Carolina
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
This coat is well-constructed and very warm. The shorter length, above the knee (I am 5' 3"), is quite handy when driving the car and running errands. The hood does a great job of blocking out strong winds. I would say the fit runs a bit snug (I wear sizes 8 &10, depending on the article, and have the Petite-medium in this coat). The exterior pockets are surprisingly undersized and don't easily allow for tucking one's hands inside or for stowing a pair of gloves. Two interior breast pockets do allow for convenient storage of keys or cell phone. I purchased the coat because I wanted one that was lighter in weight than my heavy wool coats yet would still provide adequate warmth and am confident in recommending it to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!!

DateJanuary 22, 2011
by Armyof2
from Brooklyn, NY
Age: 35-44
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Last year I bought the shorter version of this coat this year got the long one because it works so well in the cold weather. I just wear it with a light sweater and I am toastie and warm in 10 degree weather. Got the spice brown but is really dark looks like black but I still like the dark color.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I BOUGHT THIS COAT FOR OUR DAUGHTER

DateJanuary 22, 2011
by Canakid
from N. Michigan
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought a coat for myself this year that our daughter really liked but by that time they were mostly gone and didn't have her size which is small. So she decided on this coat. The only one left for her was an XS so she was relieved when she tried it on and loved it. She told me it really keeps her warm and it looks really cute on her too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This coat is very warm and comfortable

DateJanuary 22, 2011
by BarbaraJane
from Tucson, AZ
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This coat keeps me warm, even in - 24F temperatures and with the hood, a hat is not necessary. The coat fits me perfectly with just a shirt or sweater. If you are looking to wear this over a bulky sweater or blazer then I would recommend one size extra than what you normally wear. I like the style of the coat and how light wieght it is. It's great for travel to cold climates. The only change I'd make which other reviewers have noted, is that I wish it had larger and lower pockets. This was an amazing deal on sale and I'd recommend it for anyone who needs to stay warm in very cold weather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A great coat!

DateJanuary 15, 2011
by Llola
from New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I gave my sister a coat from landsend for xmas a few years ago and she raved about it so I decided to get one myself, especially since it was on sale. It's only January but so far this coat has kept me warm, without me having to wear tons of layers underneath. I take public transportation in NYC, so I spend lots of time waiting outdoors and on platforms and this coat has kept me a lot warmer than my other coats. And it's very light, so I don't feel like I'm wearing a bear on my back. I would say it fits true to size, at least for me, it's the perfect length; hits me at my knee and I'm 5'3". I'm usually a medium, so that's the size I ordered and I've worm the coat with only a sweater underneath as well as with a sweater plus a fleece and it still fit well. I like that you can adjust the waist to keep air from going up your back. I've gotten tons of compliments on the color, fit, and overal look. Luv the hood, though it does block some of my side vision but it does keep my head warm, even when I'm not wearing a hat. What kept me from giving a perfect rating was the size and location of the pockets (they're too small and low on the hip) and the buttons (not necessary but they still put them on). Other than that, I'm completely happy with this coat and would highly recommend it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so love it

DateJanuary 10, 2011
by rahne
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
very warm & light.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the perfect coat!

DateJanuary 10, 2011
by TeacherSteph
from Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I LOVE this coat! It's the perfect weight, length, and fill! It's not bulky and the hood is super-convenient (and adjustable). I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This coat is just what I wanted in color and fit.

DateJanuary 10, 2011
by Anonymous
from New Jersey
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
Never thought I'd get a coat that keeps me this warm. I actually can work up a sweat just walking the dog. The fit is a little large on me but sinching in the waste helps keep the warm air by the upper part of my body. Lenght is mid-calf on me, I'm only 5'4" so between the boots and coat legs stay warm and dry. Would recommend this coat to commuters. It will keep you warm waiting for the bus.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job without too much bulk

DateJanuary 9, 2011
by ValeriaC
from New York City
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I purchased this jacket less than a month ago and I'm quite happy with it. This winter has been pretty cold so far in NYC and this jacket keeps me warm without having to wear a thousand layers or very thick sweaters underneath it.
It is pretty thin and light so it's surprising that it will keep you so warm. I'm not sure if it will be enough for mountain weather or extremely cold regions but it's perfect for the NYC and Connecticut areas.
It fits a bit big so no need to buy and extra size. I'm 130Lb and 5'4" and a regular small is perfect.
The biggest drawback is that the pockets are very small so your hands will barely, if at all, fit in them. The front buttons will, most likely, need to be sewn again as they are a bit loose but overall this is a great jacket for the low price compared to the average prices of far less warmer jackets.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Jacket is just what I wanted in the cold weather climate in Upstate NY.

DateJanuary 9, 2011
by Martha59
from Syracuse NY
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
The sleeve length could be a little bit longer but overall the fit is great. I wear it all the time when the temperature is below 35 degrees.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good winter coat

DateJanuary 8, 2011
by diannah
from Cape Cod, MA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought this coat for my mother. It is warm, attractive and well made. It runs a little small. There are two downsides to the coat. One, it has small pockets. Two, there is a zipper and buttons; it takes forever to button all the buttons. Overall, however, the coat is a very good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this coat-had everything I wanted in a winter coat

DateJanuary 8, 2011
by wont
from Central New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I wanted a coat to keep my warm and dry for the wicked cold northeast winters but yet was stylish. I also wanted something longer than hip lenght but not knee length- right on target for all my requests. I like having the attached hood to protect me in inclement weather it keeps the rain / snow out of my back (I don't like hats). I did think it was a little short waisted though - maybe just my body - but I had not had that problem before. Not too puffy like some other styles - lays flat yet keeps you warm.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The coat fits nicely.

DateJanuary 8, 2011
by llwvrt
from Chicago, Il
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
The coat fits nicely. Hood coverage is great but it is a vision blocker. I agree with other reviewers about the cuffs inside the coat sleeves adding extra protection from the cold. My only complaint is that the pockets should be deeper. They are too shallow to really hold anything. I would still buy this coat-with a sweater I have done well with Chicago's miserable weather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very long - proportioned large

DateJanuary 8, 2011
by Taigagato
from Toronto
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Very Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
Was surprised at the proportions of this coat - it is proportioned very large. I haven't worn it, so can't comment on more - the coat looks nice, and if you're very tall, and with a long torso, you'll probably love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great deal if you can get it on discount.

DateJanuary 8, 2011
by Catnus
from Toronto
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This coat was a great deal because I got it on discount + an additional promo discount. I wouldn't have purchased it at its full price. The sleeves are a bit to short and the pockets not quite deep enough (although they are fleece lined which is dreamy). Not quite as warm as it is rated. The buttons had to be re-sewn within two weeks. Besides that though it fits well in the body, looks flattering, is very light and the colour is nice. The zipper off fur on the hood is a nice touch for variety. Great to have the pocket inside for your iphone. If you can get this coat on discount it is worth every penny for a down filled coat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great, warm, attractive coat, but it's NOT a long coat!

DateJanuary 8, 2011
by Jivinjean
from NJ
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I really like the coat; it's very warm and attractive. But it's described as a "Long Coat" and it's NOT long at all! Disappointing, since I already bought a Lands' End Morgan Down Short Coat last year, and I wanted something longer. This one is shorter by at least 2 inches. Otherwise, it's true-to-size, with plenty of room for layers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this coat!

DateJanuary 8, 2011
by jnsbs
from Arizona
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This coat fits wonderfully, the length is perfect and the fur looks great. I couldn't be happier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my daughter, who just moved to chicago, loves this coat - she is finally warm!

DateJanuary 8, 2011
by foof
from east atlantic beach, ny
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I am very happy with my experience at land's end - the person who helped me on the phone was very helpful - the gift got to chicago quickly and i got a great price and a happy daughter
thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good until about minus 15

DateJanuary 8, 2011
by Stef
from Canada
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This is a good coat, as long as you don't expect it to be really good into the minus 20's. The Lux down coat is much better for that - and feels a lot heavier. However, down to about minus 10 or 15 this coat serves it's pupose well. It fits nicely, and the buttons add a nice touch - just hard to undo when you come in from the cold and your hands are numb!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent winter down coat

DateJanuary 5, 2011
by cmeng
from Madison, WI
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I purchased this coat in XS with ivory when it was on sale. It was love at first sight. There is an adjustable belt-string around the waist. When the coat came, it was a little bigger around my waist, so I adjusted the belt-string for a tighter snuggle feel to keep me warm. No complaint about the pockets. There are four pockets: two around the chest area (smaller pockets), another two around the waist area (bigger pockets to put keys and small stuff). I also love the feel of the fleece inside.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it!

DateJanuary 4, 2011
by cta122
from Bklyn, NY
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I have been looking for a coat like this, at a reasonable price, FOREVER!! I was glad that i ordered this coat. Unfortunately, I usually order my coats one size larger than my clothing so that I can fit sweaters underneath, but they were out of my preferred size range. So I went to Plus sizes and although I reported that it fits big, there really isn't as much room as I thought there should be. So I suspect that the coats are actually cut small. In any event I'm happy with the fit. I agree with the point of view that the side pockets aren't deep enough, but the breast pockets are very deep and there are 2 additional pockets inside the coat. For me, they provide plenty of space for keys, wallet, etc. My biggest regret is that they were out of the color I really wanted: NAVY.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Truly Warm Coat

DateDecember 29, 2010
by YogaJane
from Yonkers, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
December 29, 2010: The crazy blizzard in NY hit the day after Christmas. I received this coat on Christmas and boy am I glad! I am petite 5'4 and 110 lbs. At the train station there were winds that were so strong I thought I was going to go airborne and it was absolutely freezing out! I stayed super bundled in this coat. This coat is the warmest coat I've ever had! I am always cold and I really wanted something that could handle below 0 like windchills and this coat can handle it! Finally!! I may even buy another one to wear after this one gets worn out. The only thing I wish it had was a tie band that went around to decrease any wind going up however there are pulls inside to tighten the waist band. You may want to have that added at the tailor. If you are looking for a good, warm jacket at a reasonable price this is it!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The coat simply ROCKS!!!

DateDecember 29, 2010
by michreedsett1
from Virginia, MN
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
I searched the world over looking for a durable coat that is rated for our brutal temperatures in northern Minnesota. Lands End rises to the occassion once again without draining my wallet! I love that it is loaded with pockets inside and out, the coat is very lightweight and I have plenty of room to bend, twist, reach, etc. I did, however, order a Large (14-16) because I wear size 14 clothes, but had to return it for an XL and this one fits very comfortably. The XL is a little longer, coming down right above my knee, but at least now my thighs stay warm, too. I have had a lot of compliments on the coat and best of all, I don't look like the Stay-Puft man from Ghostbusters! Love it, Love it, LLLLUUUUUUVVV IT! Thanks Lands End!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This coat is warm and fits well

DateDecember 28, 2010
by Patzy
from Minnesota
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I really love this coat, I have used it everyday since I received it. It fits well, is really warm even in MN, color is very nice I have the dark brown. The only down side to this coat is the pockets need to be larger. I love the fleece lined pockets, but you cannot get large warm gloves in them. I would recommend both the coat and Lands End to my friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a good, warm coat, but not designed well.

DateDecember 27, 2010
by Tapestrywork
from White Plains, NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I ordered the coat in a small, which was a little snug around the hips. I reordered it in a medium, which was a looked a little big but was a more comfortable fit, especially with a sweater underneath. My big complaint about the coat is that the pockets are not deep enough for gloves, keys, glasses, etc., and are somewhat awkwardly placed. I would have returned the coat for a refund, but I ordered it at sale price and combined that with a coupon, so the price was excellent which made the coat worth keeping.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Coat

DateDecember 27, 2010
by Jasajames
from Denton Tx
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Very warm and light weight. I've worn the coat 3 times and have had no problems with static, which is important because my hair is long.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this Coat

DateDecember 27, 2010
by Denise231
from Chicago
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I live in Chicago and the temp gets really cold,so far so good. Nice fit and true to size. One compliant is that the pockets are too small /depth.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice coat but fits a little tight and was not long enough.

DateDecember 26, 2010
by ValerieW
from New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
The fit of this coat was a little too tight. Also, the coat was not as long as I hoped. I did not wear the coat because of the tightness. I will return for a different coat.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The sleeves are a tad short, other than that, coat is top notch!

DateDecember 26, 2010
by Milkshake
from Morristown
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
The coat is very warm! The hood is comfortable, and I love the botton hooks. The zipper is adjustable for sitting. The only fault I can find is that the sleeves are a tad short.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cute coat! Loved it!!

DateDecember 26, 2010
by poony
from upstate ny
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Very cute design, LOVED sooo much! I got ivory coat and yellow jacket both. These buttons design is so adorable. Fur trim hood adds extra cuteness. Got a lot of compliments. Very light still very warm coat, it keeps me very comfortable here in snowy upstate NY!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not the quality I expect from Lands End

DateDecember 26, 2010
by MildredH
from Chicago, IL
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
The coat was the length that I was looking for, being just above the knee. But the quality was not there. It did not have a removable hood and the buttons were useless. I did not keep the coat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The coat is excellent and the colors are perfect.

DateDecember 26, 2010
by Satu
from Canton, OH
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
The coat fits wery well. It is exactly what I was looking for. It keeps me very warm when I go outside with the dogs. I can last for a long time outside in the 14 F degrees. I know it will be ok too if the temperature drops lower.
The length of the coat is perfect and is so linght that makes it even more comfortable to wear it.
I wear it all the time and I am thinking on getting another one with a different cut and shorter.
It was worth to pay the price for this coat.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

DateDecember 26, 2010
by wjfp25
from Vermont
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
LOVE IT!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the cloth lined pockets.

DateDecember 25, 2010
by LaSaun2010
from St. Louis, MO
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
It fits very well. Quality is excellent. All of the pockets are cloth lined to keep your hands warm without needing to wear gloves. Warm on a 25 degree day.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

TOO short and now warm

DateDecember 25, 2010
by annccccc
from queens ny
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
ng
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good jacket overall

DateDecember 25, 2010
by kns
from Toronto, ON
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I purchased XS Petite. If you are just a little bit short person, not necessarily "petite", DONT get petite size. I am a really petite person, so thank God it really fit me. I'm 5' (maybe tiny bit shorter) and my sister is like 5' 2.5".. and it does NOT fit her (length wise).. But it was a little bit bigger than I thought. I can fit like 2 thick sweaters with that jacket.
The jacket is pretty warm considering how thin it is. I was a little bit disappointed with the thickness of this jacket because it was a lot thinner than I expected. But it kind of did its job keeping me warm. Better than some of those "fashionable" yet useless jackets out there. I like how the length fit me well, as well as it being able to keep me pretty warm. I wish the fleece sleeve was tad bit longer, but it's not terrible. Better having that fleece sleeves than not having them.
I guess I recommend this jacket overall.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very warm

DateDecember 25, 2010
by Gianghi
from NY
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I ordered 2 coats for my friends and they loved them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Coat

DateDecember 25, 2010
by UpstateMary
from Albany, NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Very warm and comfy. True to size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the fit and length of this coat

DateDecember 25, 2010
by RickW
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Bought this coat for my wife. The warmth of this coat is outstanding in snow and ice. The double zipper is a nice feature. Would have liked the hood to be detachable like the fur trim.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very warm, and not bulky!

DateDecember 25, 2010
by binnielmb
from Massachusetts
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
I have yet to experience the coat in really severe conditions, but it's wonderful across the large windy parking lot after work, and the hood really adds to the warmth. It's not at all bulky, but very warm. I did find it fits a little small, and could possibly have gone a size up, but I'm not planning on seriously long times out in the cold with it, so another light layer fits between it and my regular clothes. I think one of the best features is the fleece cuffs, they're snug without binding or pinching, and will slide over gloves. Overall, I definitely recommend the coat!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic choice, very happy with it

DateDecember 25, 2010
by Euca
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I wanted a down coat that would be super warm with good coverage, and this one is perfect. It is extremely comfortable, with a good-sized hood. I zipped off the fur trim and it looks great without. It has a wide variety of pockets, including inside zippered ones that are very handy. The outside pockets are small, as people have noted, but I can fit a pair of gloves in one and keys or wallet in the other, no problem. The inside drawstring makes the fit a little more tailored and less like a duvet, which is nice. The outside buttons with elastic loops are a bit of a pain to close, so I don't always bother, but it looks nice when I do and is just as warm when I don't. The down is super fluffy and very warm, and the length is great, to just above the knee, and keeps my legs warm. I got the ivory color, which is lovely, just off white. I can wear my scarf inside the hood, and also close the hood opening with elastic toggles. What more can you ask for?
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice, warm coat.

DateDecember 22, 2010
by petesmom
from Duluth, MN
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I love the dark brown color of this coat--it is the color of an espresso bean! A very nice, dark, dark brown. The coat fits well, is warm, and of course, is well constructed. Yes, the slant pockets are a little small, but there are larger patch pockets that can be used. I think this coat should be called mid-length though rather than long. I love the length because it is shorter, but the title is a little deceptive. When I see something listed as long, I expect it to come below my knee, possibly even mid calf. I am 5'4" and the regular comes just above my knees. I know I am going to wear this coat often--I even like the big buttons, although I don't know how often I will actually fasten them. I think it looks fine using just the zipper. All in all, a great buy!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Plus size fits perfectly, super warm, perfect length!

DateDecember 21, 2010
by JessaJ
from NY, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
After putting on this coat I literally danced around my bedroom yelling "I love it! I love it! I looove it"! I was nervous that the coat wouldn't fit right because I am bigger on the bottom than on top. It is literally perfect. I got it in ivory in a 1X and my boyfriend jokingly said I might look like a marshmallow. I then feared that even if it did fit, I might look like a puffy white blob. That is not true either! The button accents are great and the fur on the hood makes it look just right. Also, it is about 39 degrees in NYC right now and after walking .8 miles back to my office I was a bit sweaty. I am really looking forward to it being in the teens and me still being nice and toasty. Also, the coat feels thin but trust me that doesn't mean it's not warm. I am 5'10 and the coat falls right above my knees which to me is a great length. I am so thrilled about this purchase and I would recommend this coat to anyone and everyone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not happy with this coat at all!!

DateDecember 20, 2010
by HVP
from Naperville, IL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I ordered this coat online, but as soon as I took it out of the box, I was disappointed. It made me look like a box ..... like I was wearing a blanket. The worst part is that it does not have a collar. The zipper ends at the collar bone, and the hood does not keep you warm in the neck area. So you have to wear a scarf.
I would not recommend this coat to anyone!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My 1st Lands End Coat and so happy!

DateDecember 17, 2010
by LivelyMum
from Illinois
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I've ordered other things from Lands End in the past, but never a winter coat so I thought I'd give this one a try after reading all the reviews. I couldn't be happier with my decision! I've usually worn wool coats and they're just not enough for the harsh Midwest winters. I'm a relatively new mom so my proportions are a bit off. I was nervous about the size but it worked out well! I'm 5'6 140" and a little pudgy around the middle but the Small was perfect. The sleeves could be maybe an inch longer, but no big deal as I'm wearing gloves anyway. It really feels like I'm wearing a down comforter - very lightweight, very warm. Lands End has a great return policy so I'd recommend this coat to anyone with the confidence the you can always exchange or return it if it doesn't work out. I got a great deal on this coat as I ordered with a coupon. Now I'm going to buy my children's outerwear from Lands End as well!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I got my coat fast and absolutely love it!

DateDecember 15, 2010
by FlowergirlD
from Northwest Michigan
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I have to be outside in Michigan almost every day. This winter has already been windy and icy cold, but I have been warm and snug since I put this coat on, it has everything I need. Drawstring waist, 2 way metal zipper, lots of pockets and enough decoration to make it not look like a sleeping bag. I am short (5' 4") and curvy, my 1X is proportioned well for driving. The funky little pockets at the chest that nobody can figure out what they are for work perfectly for my MP3 player. Does LE make a pair of ear muffs with earphones in them? That would be the icing on the cake!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great warm coat!

DateDecember 15, 2010
by SCFlip
from Saxon, Wi
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I ordered this coat for our sub-zero weather, and find myself wearing it every day. It's great for temperature in the teens and twenties. The hood is a perfect size. It hugs my face and protects me from wind and snow. The length of the coat makes getting in and out of the car easy. I'm usually a petite for arm length, but these sleeves are perfect, and the inner cuffs keep my arms warm. The coat fits all over very well. I'm full in the bust and the coat fits very well. I didn't realize that the hood was not removeable, but it really isn't a problem to have it attached. All in all, a great coat purchase!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Women's Sidney Long Down Coat
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

DateDecember 15, 2010
by Maryradek
from Bensenville, IL
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this coat. It is easily the warmest coat I have ever owned. If I would complain at all, it would be that the front pockets could be a little larger. I loved this coat so much and thought it was such a deal that I ordered another for my daughter for Christmas and then one for my daughter-in-law. So many people I work with loved it and also ordered it (about 10) - I think I single-handedly sold this coat out !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>