Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Vests or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Kids' Down Vest

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lands' End.

Kids' Down Vest

Snap up this warm, light layer before the snow flies. Premium 600 fill power down keeps kids toasty, yet won't weigh them down. Box-quilt Vest has a nylon shell, two handwarmer pockets, and a stand-up collar. It's made to layer ­ a versatile piece from fall through winter. Machine wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.558 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
5 boats
31
4 boats
7
3 boats
3
2 boats
2
1 boat
0
40 out of 43(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Kids' Down Vest
Review 1 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice vest

DateMay 13, 2013
by theschoolnurse
from Tucson
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
The vest is a nice weight & well made.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great vest, keeps active kids warm, excellent price!

DateMay 11, 2013
by Rosi
from Washington, DC
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This is the third kids' vest we buy for our 6 year old daughter. They can be paired with almost anything; neither too thick nor too thin. A great way to keep children warm, but not hot, while they play during cool days. They just go in and out the washer/dryer without a problem, and are sturdy to resist rough kids' handling. At the sale price, they are a steal. I would highly recommend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really nice!

DateApril 17, 2013
by QMBC
from New York, NY
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This vest is really nice. I usually wear a womens small and have purchased a kids large in three colors. I like the fit and the look . Less exxpensive than the adult version as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We keep coming back for more!

DateJanuary 24, 2013
by missoulamom
from Montana
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Both my son and daiughter love this vest. We have purchased several over the years, and have never been disapointed. This vest is pretty lightweight; good for spring and fall weather. It is a great compromise when I feel like my kids need a coat, but they don't want to wear one. They are always willing to wear this vest!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This down vest seems to be awfully big for my 10 years' old daughter. The lenght is fine but width is way too big for her.

DateJanuary 11, 2013
by Bellis
from Hong Kong
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
The down vest quality is good, like what I expected from Landsend. However, given that it is so big, my 10 years old daughter won't be able to fit in until next year!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE ALL LE DOWN!

DateJanuary 1, 2013
by shl78433
from Wisconsin Dells
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
All the vests we have from LE, as well as this one, have never disappointed. We bought this to go over our daughter's ski suit and/or under her coat in extra cold weather. Will probably be ordering another one soon. I recommend, as always, with young children - get the monogram so that the vest is always finds its way home.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent choice for the money

DateNovember 11, 2012
by JMBKNY
from Brooklyn
Age: 35-44
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Fairly good quality vest - but nothing out of the ordinary. My daughter loves the pockets. To me, the overall quality feels "fair" - not the usual "very good/excellent" that Lands End is known for.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These vests fit my grandkids better than any other!

DateJanuary 22, 2012
by MawMawWayne
from Missouri
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My grandkids received another vest from a different company for Christmas. That vest did not fit at all. These vests always fit the best. They absolutely love these and wear them all the time.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

too lightweight

DateJanuary 8, 2012
by ANNIES18
from rockville centre,NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought this vest for my grandchildren who live upstate NY....it was described as "heavier" weight.It really isnt warm enough to wear in temperatures lower than 40 degrees without another weighted outerwear garment under it. A sweatshirt would not be enough unless it was quilted or sherpa lined. I wouldnt purchase it again. They use it for car rides and short trips in higher temps.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what my grandaughter wanted, fits big enough to allow heavy sweater underneath.

DateNovember 26, 2011
by SatisfiedGrandma
from Sapulpa, OK
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I have the ladies vest and the childs is every bit as well made. My grandaughter was thrilled, she likes the big pockets and that it's light weight but still nice and warm.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

is perfect color and fit

DateNovember 26, 2011
by andreanf
from curitiba Brasil
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
good vest, warm and confortable.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase!

DateNovember 14, 2011
by Brackettl
from Wisconsin
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought this vest for my 7 year old and 4 year old. They both love it. It is the perfect weight for Wisconsin Fall weather. It fits a little big so they may be able to wear it for 2 years. I love them and would reccomend them. Easy snaps for the 4 year old too!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

My son liked this but ...

DateNovember 14, 2011
by katd
from NJ
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
The vest was shedding feathers everywhere. I ordered a large in black and it fit him fine. He's 10 yrs. old and tall for his age. I sent this one back and I'm going to reorder in another color or the 600 fill.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Middle School Boys!

DateNovember 12, 2011
by MomMaryb
from Centreville VA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son uses this vest as a layering piece when he waits at the bus stop on cold mornings. He puts it over his favorite hooded sweatshirt. On the way home it fits in his backpack on days that it warms up and he does not need it. He likes the feeling of having no bulky sleeves while sitting on the bus. It is a good fall and early winter item, and will work for car trips also this winter.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not worn it yet, but style, fit, and weight are what I expected

DateOctober 31, 2011
by JH1001
from Longview, TX
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I have not had the need to wear this vest yet, but it looks good and is very lightweight. I bought this for myself, not for a child. I am 5'6" size 2 and the kids' L is the perfect size for me. I have ordered the same vest for both of my grandchildren (in smaller sizes).
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

light weight, good length, good fit

DateOctober 29, 2011
by gram45k
from Wisconsin
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Gave as a gift to grandson. He never takes it off. It is all I had hoped it would be for him...
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

lighter than expected!

DateOctober 24, 2011
by sweetmama
from seattle,WA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I ordered this vest in a 10/12 so my son could wear it next year. The fit is generous and could have gotten away with the size 8. He's ok with it being roomy, so we'll keep it. I was very surprised to see how thin and light it is. We live in the NW, where it doesn't get very cold and I got it at the sale price. For those needing a more substantial weight this would not be recommended.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Vest But Order a Size Down

DateOctober 15, 2011
by TeamMom
from Culpeper, VA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Very Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
My 11 year old son could not wait for this to arrive. He wears a Youth Large or X-Large in everything. I ordered this in a Large thinking it would be good. Unfortunately, it was way too big. He can't wait for me to return it for a smaller size because he really liked it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the price

DateOctober 15, 2011
by AndyMinneapolis
from Minneapolis
Age: 19-24
Gender: Male
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Not the highest quality (some threads sticking out, down feathers occasionally pokes through) but great for the price. The men's small was too large so I bought this, which seems very similar in quality (just smaller). The boys xl seemed to fit like the mens s so I got the l. Navy color goes with everything and doesn't look to countryish to wear in the city.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent quality

DateOctober 3, 2011
by LBD09
from atlanta, GA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
Fits way too big but will keep for next season. Girl's size M is more like Women's S - it fits me (5'4", 120lbs), but not my 9 year old daughter (4'4" 67lbs). Light down fill, good for the southern winters (GA)
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great vest

DateSeptember 18, 2011
by ocmommy
from orange county, ca
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
This vest is cozy, but lightweight, and not bulky at all. The kids can totally move in it! It runs a bit on the large size on all 3 of my kids, luckily we just had to re-order one because the kids are stair steps and I ordered all the same color. I suppose if they were wearing bulky sweaters under it, the sizing would be true, but we are in CA and these are great with T-shirt layers for us.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enjoyed product so much bought more as gifts

DateApril 4, 2011
by Reta
from Banff, Alberta
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
We love the vest, we live in the Canadian province of Alberta and it's very versatile and works in a lot of seasons. The fact that it fits a bit big works well because you can put it over a sweater. We have never had a problem with our toddler getting snagged on anything or any rips or tears.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent value!

DateFebruary 19, 2011
by luckyrobin
from toronto
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I buy these vest for my kids every year and I am never disappointed. They fit well (4yr old wears a 5-6,6yr old wears a 6x and 8yr old wears a 7-8). I pair it with a light fleece underneath and if the weather warms up later in the day, they have the option of just wearing the fleece without the vest. I have looked at other vests, however you cannot beat the price/quality.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great vest

DateFebruary 5, 2011
by smalltown
from Michigan
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Great vest, and very stylish!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cozy and warm - my boys love theirs!

DateJanuary 22, 2011
by SoxMom
from boston
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Each of my boys got these vests as gifts, along with the matching fleece hoodie jacket. They are great for long car trips.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

DateJanuary 8, 2011
by PKL
from Atlanta
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought this vest for my 5 year old grandson for Christmas and he wears it all the time. It was quite the hit and I would definitely recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The vest is too light

DateDecember 27, 2010
by ManhattanMom
from NYC
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I bought this vest as a replacement for a vest made by one of Lands' End competitors. The vest while less expensive was not nearly the same quality as the old vest. I am considering returning it.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These vests keep my children warm without being restricted

DateDecember 26, 2010
by TheresaC
from St. Petersburg FL
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
These vests are warm without being too restrictive. They are perfect for wearing with a long sleeved shirt or a sweater or with another jacket. The quality is excellent and the fit is true. I would recommend these for both kids and adults.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

beautiful color / perfect fit / very warm!

DateDecember 26, 2010
by topdown17
from Madison, CT.
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Selected your "rich red" down vest for one of my grandchildren for Christmas. I was so proud when he opened it! It made such a lovely gift. The color was wonderful on him and I know he will stay warm,
wearing it. It is a great product and I intend to order more for my good-sized family. Price is right, too.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This vest is the perfect warmth for a vest

DateDecember 12, 2010
by cpdragonboat
from Ottawa, ON Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
The down in this vest is soft, full, and the perfect weight for the fall weather. It fits perfectly with a polar fleece underneath but easily looks and feels great on it's own with just a long sleeve. The colour is vibrant and exactly as shown. The quality is, as always, above par...like all Lands End products.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A perfect vest for mid-Atlantic weather

DateNovember 27, 2010
by MimiCathy
from New Jersey
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
We purchased this vest for our 13 year old grandson. since kids his age don't like to wear jackets, even on cold days, he wears the vest to school every day. The fit is great and he actually likes it a lot. By the way, my husband has one too and it is his favorite vest.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product, excellent price

DateNovember 27, 2010
by lisanrj
from berkshires
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
excellent product
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks great and keeps my grandaughter warm!

DateNovember 15, 2010
by primm
from ca
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
It's all I expected. My grandaugher will wear it next year--she's too small right now.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great color, toasty warm!

DateNovember 14, 2010
by JRenee
from Boston, MA
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
We got this in the burgundy color and it's perfect! My computer screen made it look more brownish red, but it's just the right color--not brownish at all! It's sooooo warm too! We use these almost every day in the fall. It fits a little bit big, but that just means that there is room to layer, and room to grow. These can really be dressed up or down too--we have paired them with a corduroy skirt and tights, or just jeans. Looks cute, and keeps everyone warm!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product - a little thinner than last year's model

DateNovember 14, 2010
by Jennfier
from Rhode Island
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I loved this vest for me so I bought one for my son. It is warm and fits well but it does seem a little thinner this year than the ones I've bought in the past. We'll see if the thickness matters as the weather gets colder.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for those cool days!

DateNovember 13, 2010
by NYCityMom
from NYC
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
A few years back we received one of these vests as a hand-me-down. It has been passed down and is getting more use while we purchased a new one. Same great quality, same great look. My son loves it and it's perfect for those cool fall days.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product.

DateOctober 31, 2010
by HC
from Avon, CT
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Very light down. Made well.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My six year old loves it!!

DateOctober 31, 2010
by KPal
from Pennsylvania
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Nice and lightweight. Doesn't feel bulky but warm. He loves the green color. If you have kids that hate to wear coats this keeps both happy. You know it's warm but it doesn't feel like a big heavy jacket. Win/win.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Travels the world!

DateOctober 31, 2010
by Globug
from Anchorage, AK
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
We layer here in Alaska, and this is a wonderful option under the heavy coat for longer, outside winter play, or over a hooded sweatshirt in warmer transitional weather. It packs so well, we brought it with us in our carry on bags for our cross-country/Trans-Atlantic flight in the Spring. This is a durable little vest. After much use last year, it will still be in great shape to hand down to our younger boy. We ordered one last year, and got another one this fall in my son's new size.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

House Favorite

DateOctober 16, 2010
by buckeye96
from Spartanburg, SC
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My kids love these vests and cannot wait until it is cold enough to wear them! They are great quality-- we are able to hand them down to our youngest and then onto friends, which means they have been worn for at least 3 years and still look great!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My daughter love her landsend vest

DateOctober 16, 2010
by Ness24
from Chicago, IL
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This is the second vest that I've bought my daughter from landsend and each one she
love. She wears them everyday even when it is not that cold outside because she loves
them so much. I bought the vest a little larger than her normal size so hopefully we will
get 2 years out of the vest before it is too small.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best buy for the money

DateOctober 10, 2010
by Panamama
from Ann Arbor, MI
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Great fit, wonderful quality for the price. My son loves it and wants more in other colors.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Kids' Down Vest
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made perfect addition for winter/fall wardrobe

DateAugust 29, 2010
by MTcanyncrittr
from MT
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
Bought slightly big to accomodate a fleece or heavy sweater underneath. We also bought a unisex color knowing that our Land's End jackets have survived Montana winters (Oct-May) to be passed down to the little sister!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.