Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Beach Towels or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel

Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel

This perennial favorite has a fresh assortment of colors and shorter loops to resist snagging. What makes our Rugby Towel so popular? First, it won't leave you stranded on the beach: it's so thick it's a cushiony layer between you and the sand or chaise. 100% cotton with flatweave edging for a clean finish that won't snag or unravel. We've also sized the Rugby to accommodate plenty of rollover room: measuring 39" wide by 78" long. No wonder it continues to be the best beachfront property you'll find! Plus, all our beach towels have been tested and are rated UPF +50 for excellent UV protection. *ASTM D 6603 Standard Guide for Labeling of UV-Protective Textiles. Machine wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.259 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(582 Reviews) 582
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 582 reviews
5 boats
387
4 boats
76
3 boats
40
2 boats
41
1 boat
38
474 out of 573(83%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Review 1 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded expectations!

DateJanuary 6, 2014
by AmandaBD
from Saint Augustine, FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
I paid $29.50 plus shipping and for that price, my expectations were set fairly high for "just a beach towel". My expectations were exceeded! The quality is phenomenal --thick and plush, no loose threads. The colors are just as they appear online. And the size is perfect for my 6'2" husband. My only recommendation would be to offer more color choices (particularly for women).
+47points
49of 51voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The towels snagged during the first use.

DateJuly 21, 2014
by Annelies
from Long Island, NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I bought two of these towels as gifts. Both towels had pulls in the fibers after the first use. The Lands End towels I had purchased several years ago are still great after years of wash and wear. Expected the same of these. Very disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the extra big towel

DateJuly 20, 2014
by SharonInBlueSprings
from Blue Springs, MO
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Appears to be good quality - have not yet laundered it, so unable to speak about colorfast qualities or fraying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Beach Towel

DateJuly 20, 2014
by Cheryl711
from Brooklyn, NY
Gender: Female
I purchased two beach towels -- the quality is excellent. The length and width of the towel is JUST PERFECT!! I highly recommend this beach towel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Beach towels!

DateJuly 19, 2014
by princesspride
from KY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
We are going to the beach and I got two beach towels for my husband and I. I have to say they are fantastic!! The colors bright & beautiful. The towels are huge, thick, and I'm glad I bought my vacation beach towels from Lands End instead of another store. I can tell these are going to last a long time. I have washed them and they look brand new. They are so pretty, I may just have beach towels for bath towels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the color!

DateJuly 18, 2014
by Wandajk
from Tampa, Fl
Awesome quality, perfect size!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these

DateJuly 16, 2014
by momwithmanyhats
from Virginia
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I have owned many beach towels and they always either pucker or fall apart. My son has been using one of these for year round swimming (3 times a week, and gets left in the bag alot) for a year and a half now. It is still in great shape. We added one for my daughter last Christmas and hers looks great too. Now I plan to order one for my husband and I. I'd like to just throw away all my other, ripping and malfunctioning towels and go with these. Far less space in my linen closet anyway!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this monogrammed towel!

DateJuly 14, 2014
by JanetRobin
from Austell, GA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I bought this as a wedding gift and liked it so much that I've since ordered another one. The size, weight and color are all wonderful. My daughter is going to Hilton Head on her honeymoon and I can't wait to give her these monogrammed beach towels!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Beach Towel!!

DateJuly 12, 2014
by KelliJoBoBo
from Ohio
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Everyone in my family has one of these towels. They are the best! Wash up great...can cover an entire lounge chair (6 ft long)! A must have for your beach bag!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Threads pulled...

DateJuly 12, 2014
by PreppySue
from Massachusetts
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Washed it once and noticed two pulls with threads hanging off, not their best quality.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great towel!

DateJuly 11, 2014
by cmpeck02
from Annandale, VA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Sturdy, cozy and holds up over many washings
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

rugby strip beach towel

DateJuly 10, 2014
by toni2ful
from Augusta, GA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I was extremely pleased with this beach towel's quality. Very soft cotton. Nice deep hem on both ends of the towel. My husband is quite tall and loves the fact they are LONG!! These towels machine wash and dry beautifully. No puckering.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect beach towel

DateJuly 10, 2014
by ElleJJ
from Chicago
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
After shopping around for beach towels, I ordered this one from Lands' End because I've always loved their beach towels. They are soft cotton, thick and absorbent and a nice large size. I couldn't be happier.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice, but edge unraveled

DateJuly 9, 2014
by Jmckee
from Lehigh Valley, PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I was excited to receive this towel, but within a few months of regular use and washing it began to unravel at the edge. The stitching is coming undone and it looks terrible. I'm disappointed because I hoped it would last several years as my other beach towels have. The color is nice and fabric is thick.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great towel

DateJuly 9, 2014
by btanner
from Texas
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I agree w other reviews, nicest towel I've owned. Too long for pool use by any child. Otherwise, 5 stars.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Check it carefully

DateJuly 7, 2014
by CleoMum
from North Augusta SC
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I received the towel and it was as I expected. A week or so later, however, I took it outside to use it for the first time and when I spread it out I saw that there were a bunch of snagged threads or runs. So check it over when you get it and request an exchange if necessary. It was too late for me as I needed to use it that day.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very soft and great coverage on a windy day!

DateJuly 7, 2014
by Psychokitten
from Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
The quality was very good and the colours are perfect for that upscale resort feel in your backyard!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect gift for others or yourself

DateJuly 6, 2014
by JenniferKY
from Louisville, KY
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
These towels are wonderful. I purchased 8 for myself for my birthday and had them monogrammed. These are thick and absorbant cotton and the monogram looks great. I was tired of my towels ending up in our neighborhood pool's lost and found or in others' beach bags. With this monogram, no more confusion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This towel will last forever.

DateJuly 5, 2014
by TechGal
from Iowa
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I have ordered two of these towels: one for me and one for my son. Drying off and wrapping up in the towels after swimming has worked great. They have washed up well too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality.

DateJuly 5, 2014
by ShopperDad
I really liked the way these towels looked when I ordered them and ordered three. When they arrived I was a little disappointed in the weight for the price, but liked them enough to keep them. One had to go back immediately because it arrived with a hole in it. Now, after one use, the towel has major pulls and is unraveling. All three are going back.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

beautiful towel

DateJuly 2, 2014
by Lulu79
from North Bergen, NJ
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Great towel, large in size, quality is excellent
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thick and Cozy!

DateJune 29, 2014
by SweetPepper
from Rochester, MN
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
We own several of these top quality towels. We like to have them on hand for our boating and swimming guests. They are thick and large and so cozy to wrap yourself in after coming out of the water! They hold their color well after multiple washings.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice and Thick

DateJune 28, 2014
by 1Reno
from VA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Thick beach towel with thick edges. Just what I wanted for the pool and the beach.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These towels are huge!

DateJune 26, 2014
by Lombardmom
from Lombard, IL
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
These towels are great! So big that when I fold them I have to hold them over my head. And I got them on sale, so that makes them even better!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wears like iron and good looking to boot!

DateJune 23, 2014
by DiscerningConsumer70
from New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
We have been buying these towels for years. My children swam competitively for over ten years, and although we 'lost' some along the way, we never wore them out. Top quality, consistently.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Balled up first wash

DateJune 21, 2014
by Em12
from Tennessee
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I ordered four towels - two of the white, black and grey striped towels and they balled up on the first wash. The black stripe has white balls all down it and the white/grey stripe has black balls over it.
I also ordered two of the red, navy and blue striped towel. You could see the red in the back ground of the blue stripe and they both have a shredded spot in the middle of the towel after 2 washes.
I have had lands end towels in the past and have lasted so long but these towels really disappointed me.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow beach towel!

DateJune 20, 2014
by poodlelover
from New Hampshire
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I recently gave these as a gift to my daughter and her fiance who live near the beach. They were thrilled. The towels are very thick and extra long - a huge bonus for the 6'3" fiance. Excellent quality towels.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice quality, but incredibly heavy

DateJune 20, 2014
by MichgnMom
It's a great quality towel in terms of construction, but extremely heavy. Once it's wet, of course, it gets even heavier. In terms of whether or not to recommend this item, I suppose it depends on what you are looking for. With two tween boys who don't like lugging around such heavy towels, I don't think I'd buy these again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful size beach towel!

DateJune 16, 2014
by LuvlyLibra
from Atlanta, GA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I love this new 'thirty' towel, and the size is great for the beach!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful colors, absorbent terry!

DateJune 15, 2014
by pollyforns
from Western Kentucky , USA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Consistently give this towel high rating! Long-lasting color, wash after wash. I truly don't know how long it would last, they always seem to disappear from my pool!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best beach/pool towel ever!

DateJune 9, 2014
by Trimomcia
from (South of) Boston
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I bought 5 of these towels pretty close to 10 years ago. I can tell you that they are still in perfect condition and we use them (mostly) with chlorinated pools. Both of my daughters use their towels while on swim team. So, these towels get used year round in our house. I love them, in fact I bought a 6th towel about 5 years ago and today I am going to add another 2! I believe in these towels and would highly recommend them to anyone who asks about them. In fact, when I am at the gym (pool) I can't tell you how many people have asked about my towel. It is so vibrant (shades of purple) that the towel stands out in the crowd of other towels hanging on the wall!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect wedding party gift!

DateMay 29, 2014
by JenniferDean
from North Providence, RI
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
I love this item! This is part of my wedding party gift and the monogram is a great touch! The size and quality are fantastic!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soft & absorbent

DateMay 28, 2014
by Marygriff
from State College, PA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I love the assortment of colors & size
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Years of USE!!

DateMay 27, 2014
by busyfamof4
from Northern Indiana
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
I bought this towel at least 6+ years ago.... I'm not even joking when I say that it still looks brand new!! I can't believe how many times we've washed this towel & it has yet to come unraveled!! Very soft & thick, love the length of it as well....we all fight for it!! I will be purchasing another one! Don't even think twice about the purchase of this towel, WELL worth the money!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great beach towel

DateMay 25, 2014
by BrianKrause
from Cape Coral Florida
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
If your looking for the best beach towel made, this is the one
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Perfect Graduation Gift!

DateMay 24, 2014
by Gradgiftmom1
from Dallas
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Sizable beach towel, great quality and for graduation gifts for beach or picnic blanket!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT GIFT

DateApril 29, 2014
by ScottMR
from Europe
Age: 35-44
Gender: Male
Great quality for a FANTASTIC price. I love this product so much I Have given it as gifts to many friends, who in turn love it and do the same. Great quality for price, and with the added monogram a personal gift. LOVE IT
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pilling

DateApril 21, 2014
by JDurham
from Florida
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I love the colors, size and I the edge binding used. However, I received this towel in multiple colors (4 total), washed them and was SO disappointed in the INSTANT pilling and shedding over onto the other colored areas. The white and other light stripes are now full of the other colors of lint. I was actually lint rolling trying to get it under control and yes I did wash them each individually! Why does this happen?
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lovely

DateApril 13, 2014
by waleed
from Kuwait
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
as i expected its very good item
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big and Beautiful

DateApril 12, 2014
by Simoes
from Nevada City, CA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Male
It costs a bit more than I like to spend on a towel, but it is big, plush, and colorful. The weight is pleasantly heavy.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the colors on this towel

DateMarch 15, 2014
by agnus758
from Rhinebeck,NY
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Love the Lands End beach towel, big, fluffy, great colors and they dry really well.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality

DateMarch 15, 2014
by KinTPA
from Tampa, FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
I bought 7 of these towels for when guests come to visit. 3 in the navy and white stripe and 4 in the pistachio stripe. All 7 of them were returned. I washed the navy and white, and the towels pilled terribly - with the pills sticking all over the towels - white pills on the navy and the navy on the white. I would be embarrassed to use these myself, let alone provide them to guests. I didn't even bother to wash the pistachio ones, they went straight back. I'm not sure what happened to Land's End quality - but the towels were not nearly as thick as their beach towels from the past. I would definitely pass on this product.
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy!

DateMarch 2, 2014
by Kbolton
from North Carolina
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
This was purchased for a tall man and it is perfect! I had his name monogrammed on it and it looks great. Highly recommend .
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Sumptuous towel

DateFebruary 1, 2014
by Siiiri
from Green Valley
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
A perfect pool or beach towel. Nice and thick.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The beach towel was absolutely beautiful when I got it. I loved the size and weight, also.

DateOctober 22, 2013
by ghooper
from Nashville, TN
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
The problem came when I washed it the first time. Mine was the navy and white stripe, so I was very careful to wash light/wwhite towels with it. The lint from the blue stripe ended up on the white stripe, and the lint from white stripe ended up on the blue stripe. Needless to say, I was dismayed. I have tried every recommendation I can find on the internet, all cleaning tips I can find, etc., and tried these to no avail. (Note: I used cold water, gentle wash for all washings.) I gave it two stars for size, weight, and finishing. I kept watching for others to write about this; I can't believe I'm the only one.
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Shrunk by 6 inches !

DateSeptember 18, 2013
by LondonCalling
from Boston, MA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Bought 2 of these towels several years ago and they have held up wonderfully.
My husband who is 6'2" recently mentioned he wished the towel were longer to cover his feet.
I looked up the measurement of the current towel and it was listed as being 8" longer than the one I had.
I ordered it and as soon as I took it out of the package I knew the quality had gone down - this felt much thinner than the one I had purchased before, which after years of washing is still thicker than this new one. The biggest disappointment was when I washed the new towels in cold water before using and they both shrunk to 72" long - down from the 78" advertised. These are going back and I am sticking with my old ones. Quality at Lands End is really hit or miss the last few years - with more misses instead of hits !
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed in quality- large snags after one use.

DateAugust 6, 2013
by Anderson21
from Seattle
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Photos for this Review
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I ordered 3 towels as a surprise for 3 boys for a beach vacation. These towels were used yesterday for the first time. As I was washing them today, I noticed large snags in one of the towels, revealing a long white line of thread. The other two towels had several small snags and thread pulls. I can't imagine this happened after one use. While customer service was willing to replace, unfortunately we need these for our vacation. Additionally, I had the towels monogrammed and would feel horrible about sending them back to go into the trash. I suspect after reading glowing reviews that there is some quality control issue from the most recent order of these towels. My order was backordered for a new shipment. In addition, the cosmic blue towel is not cosmic blue/navy stripe as the picture suggests, but is cosmic blue/black striped. This was slightly disappointing as I had wanted navy in all 3 towels. I would not spend $30 again on a towel that will likely last one summer.
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Beach Towel!!

DateAugust 4, 2013
by SallyAnnD
from San Francisco Bay Area
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I first bought these towels more than 10 years ago and they are still going strong. I just purchased more to send with my boys to college. They are the perfect size and thickness. I would say this is money well spent!!!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This towel is huge!

DateAugust 4, 2013
by furfie
from Sebago Lake Maine
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
We finally lost one of our ten plus year old Land's End towels on the lake earlier this summer. So I purchased two of these for my husband and I. I agree with some of the other reviews that they are not as thick but we actually prefer that as they dry quicker. We have not found them to be too fuzzy and washed fine. They are soft and have plenty of colors to choose from. Great deal with the sales going on.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE THIS TOWEL

DateJuly 23, 2013
by Deb654
from South Georgia
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I normally just buy beach towels off the rack in local stores, since we go through so many of them. However, this year I had two beach trips coming up so I thought I would splurge a little. I bought the "watermelon looking" one. I am thoroughly pleased! The colors are gorgeous, and the towel is soooooooo soft and just feels luxurious! Holds up well in the blazing sun and comes out fluffy from the dryer! And, with the summer sale going on, it was a great deal!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>