Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Beach Towels or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel

Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel

This perennial favorite has a fresh assortment of colors and shorter loops to resist snagging. What makes our Rugby Towel so popular? First, it won't leave you stranded on the beach: it's so thick it's a cushiony layer between you and the sand or chaise. 100% cotton with flatweave edging for a clean finish that won't snag or unravel. We've also sized the Rugby to accommodate plenty of rollover room: measuring 39" wide by 78" long. No wonder it continues to be the best beachfront property you'll find! Plus, all our beach towels have been tested and are rated UPF +50 for excellent UV protection. *ASTM D 6603 Standard Guide for Labeling of UV-Protective Textiles. Machine wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.246 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(606 Reviews) 606
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 606 reviews
5 boats
399
4 boats
82
3 boats
40
2 boats
45
1 boat
40
492 out of 597(82%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Review 1 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded expectations!

DateJanuary 6, 2014
by AmandaBD
from Saint Augustine, FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
I paid $29.50 plus shipping and for that price, my expectations were set fairly high for "just a beach towel". My expectations were exceeded! The quality is phenomenal --thick and plush, no loose threads. The colors are just as they appear online. And the size is perfect for my 6'2" husband. My only recommendation would be to offer more color choices (particularly for women).
+51points
53of 55voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed. Towel doesn't dry/absorb and sheds a lot of lint

DateSeptember 9, 2014
by Pogo
from North Carolina
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
This towel isn't the same as my old favorite Land's End beach towel which I have used for 20 years. Thought it was time for a new one, but this one is somehow different---the fabric isn't as absorbent---doesn't seem to dry me off---and sheds, sheds, sheds, even after several washings and dryings. Very disappointed. Why change a perfectly good product???
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Big Towel

DateAugust 18, 2014
by RoniRoo
from CA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Love these towels, I bought 5 of them when they were on sale. They are very big and soft and wash well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfy beach towels

DateAugust 12, 2014
by Yankeesnyc1013
from Red Bank, New Jersey
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
They are big, soft and comfy. Cannot beat the price for such a nice towel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite beach towel!

DateAugust 12, 2014
by BlenheimGirl
I love this towel. Wish I had purchased more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these towels, very well constructed and lasts a long time.

DateAugust 11, 2014
by Jandorf
from Mesa, AZ
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
This is the fifth beach towel I have gotten from Lands End,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good strong pattern

DateAugust 10, 2014
by Lundie
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I ordered this for my husband for using on the pontoon. This towel will last forever and the quality and thickness cannot be beat!!! When it comes to towels.......I'm coming to Lands' End!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good size, thin

DateAugust 10, 2014
by Trexie
from Watsonvill;e, Calif.
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
I would give this product a 5 if it were more plush. We will see if the colors hold up after many washing's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great towel!

DateAugust 10, 2014
by SueDayton
from Dayton, OH
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
We love these towels - had two and just bought two more. They're extra big and well made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great looking; strings slightly

DateAugust 8, 2014
by Niccolinibebe
from Newport Beach
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
The towels look really nice, especially with the monogram. They are absorbent and feel good. I bought 5 of them. And two have gotten a string or two. I read this from other reviews, and it is true. But the price is great, and they look great. I just snipped the strings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Color is great but........

DateAugust 7, 2014
by NannerJ
from Lawrenceville, GA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
The towel is rather thin. Not the quality I was expecting from Lands End. I was looking for a thick, plush beach towel and am disappointed with the quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy I bought Three Different colors

DateAugust 4, 2014
by fanton48
from California
Age: Over 65
Gender: Male
Great size, weight and absorbent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

big beautiful beach towel

DateAugust 3, 2014
by DAP
from Lexington, South Carolina
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
My 12 year old daughter fell in love with this towel. It is more than ample in size and the spun cotton is the perfect weight for a beach towel. My daughter took it to the beach and I washed it upon her return. When it came out of the dryer I noticed about 6 long threads hanging. There were pulls and I was dismayed. I don't know whether the pulls came about because my daughter stuffed the towel in her zippered beach bag and some how the zipper may have caught the towel resulting in pulls or it happened in the wash/dryer. I cut the pulled threads and so far it is holding up well. I have a sneaky suspicion the pulls on the towel came about because of my daughter stuffing the towel in her zippered beach bag and getting the threads caught on the zipper. Just sayin'. All in all, I love the towel, quality material and I plan on buying more next summer in the colors I want. I bought this towel on sale and the colors I wanted were no longer available.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not thick at all

DateAugust 3, 2014
by LovLEsince2009
from New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
This towel was very disappointing. It wasn't thick at all. I bought kids towels from LE that were so thick and perfectly soft. These weren't the same so I am returning it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good beach towel

DateAugust 2, 2014
by sfgirlie
from Orinda, CA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
This is a nice, classic beach towel. It wasn't as thick as I expected though. If I didn't own the Dot Beach Towels by Lands End, I would probably have given this towel a five out of five. However, since I consider the Dot Beach towels a five, these Rugby Stripe beach towels get a four because they just aren't as thick, soft and luxurious as the Dot towels. They still do a good job though. I ended up getting a few of these for my son and husband and I bought the Dot towels for me and my daughter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good but not as great as the old ones

DateAugust 2, 2014
by fizz2
I have an old one of these towels from 10-15 years ago, and thought I'd add a few more now that my family is bigger. These are nice, thicker than the typical logo beach towel, but not nearly as thick as they used to be. However, I got it on sale so I don't mind too much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great towels...

DateAugust 1, 2014
by Gatorman
from Florida
Age: 35-44
Gender: Male
Bought these towels when they were on sale for a great price. I wasn't sure how thick they would be but when they arrived I was pleasantly surprised. They're huge towels, which is what I wanted, and the thickness is decent enough for a beach towel. We had looked at some cheap towels at our local discount stores but they were very thin. These are WAY better and when I got them on sale they were only a few bucks more than the "Mart". We have had them about a month and use them at the pool about 4 days a week. They get washed after every use and have held up great so far. No loose threads, no pilling, etc. Very pleased with the purchase (glad I bought 3 when they were on sale).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Beach Towel

DateJuly 31, 2014
by Houndkeeper
from Maryland
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Large enough and soft enough for the most picky swimmers! Very soft to lay out on if you chose not to use it for drying off. I have had a few for 6 years with LOTS of washings (between backyard pool and year round swim team) and they are still quite bright. Just ordered a few more to add to the rotation. For the towels that my kid takes to swim team I treated myself to having her name embroidered....perfect way to not have someone walk off with my favorite towels and looks way better than writing it with a Sharpie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these towels!

DateJuly 30, 2014
by HeidiZn
from New Glasgow, NS
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Big, soft and absorbent
Everyone in the house uses them after our showers, not just for the beach!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Oversized and sturdy

DateJuly 28, 2014
by MLE642
from NJ
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Does the trick for the beach. Absorbent, oversized and very sturdy. Will last for many seasons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Towel

DateJuly 27, 2014
by avtx
from Houston, TX
Age: 19-24
Gender: Male
I am a young guy who often uses a regular bath towel as a beach towel. That feels weird because everyone has colorful towels and mine is an awkward white. Most other beach towels are thin and cheap or very feminine-looking. This one looks and feels good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pilling when washed is a terrible problem with these towels.

DateJuly 27, 2014
by Marie37
from North Carolina
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Photos for this Review
User submitted photo
I purchased three of these beach towels in varying colors. Before using I washed them individually, and was very disappointed at the amount of pilling. I am a long time customer of Lands' End and expected better quality. The length and thickness of the towel is nice, but they look terrible and have not even been used.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely the BEST beach towel anywhere. Soft, thick, comfy and full sized, with enough choices in color and pattern for the whole family.

DateJuly 25, 2014
by jvhehir
from Houston, TX
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
For pool or beach these towels stay soft and plush season after season.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not what it used to be

DateJuly 24, 2014
by KelleyKelley
from Northern NJ
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Photos for this Review
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought 3 of these towels a few years ago and we lost 1. I went to buy a replacement and as soon as I took it out of the package, it did not feel like the thick, plush quaity of the other 2 that I still own. So to test my theory, I held them up near my front door and you can actually see the sidelights of my front door through the new (blue) towel but can barely see any light through my old (pink/red) towel which has been washed numerous times through the years and is now probably thinner and less plush than when I first bought it. However, it is STILL more plush and thick than the brand-new, unwashed version of this towel. Land's End, PLEASE MAKE THEM LIKE YOU USED TO!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Towel pulls

DateJuly 23, 2014
by Sheera
from Franklin, MA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
While I love the look and size of the towel, 2 of the 5 that I had ordered had large thread pulls on them, prior to even washing them. My kids were disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The towels snagged during the first use.

DateJuly 21, 2014
by Annelies
from Long Island, NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I bought two of these towels as gifts. Both towels had pulls in the fibers after the first use. The Lands End towels I had purchased several years ago are still great after years of wash and wear. Expected the same of these. Very disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the extra big towel

DateJuly 20, 2014
by SharonInBlueSprings
from Blue Springs, MO
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Appears to be good quality - have not yet laundered it, so unable to speak about colorfast qualities or fraying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Beach Towel

DateJuly 20, 2014
by Cheryl711
from Brooklyn, NY
Gender: Female
I purchased two beach towels -- the quality is excellent. The length and width of the towel is JUST PERFECT!! I highly recommend this beach towel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Beach towels!

DateJuly 19, 2014
by princesspride
from KY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
We are going to the beach and I got two beach towels for my husband and I. I have to say they are fantastic!! The colors bright & beautiful. The towels are huge, thick, and I'm glad I bought my vacation beach towels from Lands End instead of another store. I can tell these are going to last a long time. I have washed them and they look brand new. They are so pretty, I may just have beach towels for bath towels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the color!

DateJuly 18, 2014
by Wandajk
from Tampa, Fl
Awesome quality, perfect size!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these

DateJuly 16, 2014
by momwithmanyhats
from Virginia
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I have owned many beach towels and they always either pucker or fall apart. My son has been using one of these for year round swimming (3 times a week, and gets left in the bag alot) for a year and a half now. It is still in great shape. We added one for my daughter last Christmas and hers looks great too. Now I plan to order one for my husband and I. I'd like to just throw away all my other, ripping and malfunctioning towels and go with these. Far less space in my linen closet anyway!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this monogrammed towel!

DateJuly 14, 2014
by JanetRobin
from Austell, GA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I bought this as a wedding gift and liked it so much that I've since ordered another one. The size, weight and color are all wonderful. My daughter is going to Hilton Head on her honeymoon and I can't wait to give her these monogrammed beach towels!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Beach Towel!!

DateJuly 12, 2014
by KelliJoBoBo
from Ohio
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Everyone in my family has one of these towels. They are the best! Wash up great...can cover an entire lounge chair (6 ft long)! A must have for your beach bag!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Threads pulled...

DateJuly 12, 2014
by PreppySue
from Massachusetts
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Washed it once and noticed two pulls with threads hanging off, not their best quality.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great towel!

DateJuly 11, 2014
by cmpeck02
from Annandale, VA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Sturdy, cozy and holds up over many washings
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

rugby strip beach towel

DateJuly 10, 2014
by toni2ful
from Augusta, GA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
I was extremely pleased with this beach towel's quality. Very soft cotton. Nice deep hem on both ends of the towel. My husband is quite tall and loves the fact they are LONG!! These towels machine wash and dry beautifully. No puckering.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect beach towel

DateJuly 10, 2014
by ElleJJ
from Chicago
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
After shopping around for beach towels, I ordered this one from Lands' End because I've always loved their beach towels. They are soft cotton, thick and absorbent and a nice large size. I couldn't be happier.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice, but edge unraveled

DateJuly 9, 2014
by Jmckee
from Lehigh Valley, PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I was excited to receive this towel, but within a few months of regular use and washing it began to unravel at the edge. The stitching is coming undone and it looks terrible. I'm disappointed because I hoped it would last several years as my other beach towels have. The color is nice and fabric is thick.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great towel

DateJuly 9, 2014
by btanner
from Texas
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I agree w other reviews, nicest towel I've owned. Too long for pool use by any child. Otherwise, 5 stars.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Check it carefully

DateJuly 7, 2014
by CleoMum
from North Augusta SC
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I received the towel and it was as I expected. A week or so later, however, I took it outside to use it for the first time and when I spread it out I saw that there were a bunch of snagged threads or runs. So check it over when you get it and request an exchange if necessary. It was too late for me as I needed to use it that day.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very soft and great coverage on a windy day!

DateJuly 7, 2014
by Psychokitten
from Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
The quality was very good and the colours are perfect for that upscale resort feel in your backyard!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect gift for others or yourself

DateJuly 6, 2014
by JenniferKY
from Louisville, KY
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
These towels are wonderful. I purchased 8 for myself for my birthday and had them monogrammed. These are thick and absorbant cotton and the monogram looks great. I was tired of my towels ending up in our neighborhood pool's lost and found or in others' beach bags. With this monogram, no more confusion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This towel will last forever.

DateJuly 5, 2014
by TechGal
from Iowa
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I have ordered two of these towels: one for me and one for my son. Drying off and wrapping up in the towels after swimming has worked great. They have washed up well too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality.

DateJuly 5, 2014
by ShopperDad
I really liked the way these towels looked when I ordered them and ordered three. When they arrived I was a little disappointed in the weight for the price, but liked them enough to keep them. One had to go back immediately because it arrived with a hole in it. Now, after one use, the towel has major pulls and is unraveling. All three are going back.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

beautiful towel

DateJuly 2, 2014
by Lulu79
from North Bergen, NJ
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Great towel, large in size, quality is excellent
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thick and Cozy!

DateJune 29, 2014
by SweetPepper
from Rochester, MN
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
We own several of these top quality towels. We like to have them on hand for our boating and swimming guests. They are thick and large and so cozy to wrap yourself in after coming out of the water! They hold their color well after multiple washings.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice and Thick

DateJune 28, 2014
by 1Reno
from VA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Thick beach towel with thick edges. Just what I wanted for the pool and the beach.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These towels are huge!

DateJune 26, 2014
by Lombardmom
from Lombard, IL
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
These towels are great! So big that when I fold them I have to hold them over my head. And I got them on sale, so that makes them even better!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wears like iron and good looking to boot!

DateJune 23, 2014
by DiscerningConsumer70
from New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
We have been buying these towels for years. My children swam competitively for over ten years, and although we 'lost' some along the way, we never wore them out. Top quality, consistently.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Vertical Rugby Stripe Beach Towel
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Balled up first wash

DateJune 21, 2014
by Em12
from Tennessee
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
I ordered four towels - two of the white, black and grey striped towels and they balled up on the first wash. The black stripe has white balls all down it and the white/grey stripe has black balls over it.
I also ordered two of the red, navy and blue striped towel. You could see the red in the back ground of the blue stripe and they both have a shredded spot in the middle of the towel after 2 washes.
I have had lands end towels in the past and have lasted so long but these towels really disappointed me.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>