Lands' End Views + Reviews
Shop Now At Lands' End
Shop Casual Pants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants

Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants

Climbers™ are the go-to pants of boyhood, designed to handle the abuse your guy throws at them. That doesn't mean they're not comfortable, though. Garment washing means they're preshrunk and soft from the start. Plus, an elastic waist and built-in belt gives them a great fit every time they pull them on — no pinching, no sagging. (Tots sizes have a faux belt.) Open-bottom style. 100% cotton fabric in strong twill or ringspun denim. Machine wash. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.791 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(449 Reviews) 449
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 449 reviews
5 boats
391
4 boats
34
3 boats
15
2 boats
6
1 boat
3
431 out of 445(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Review 1 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are the best pants for boys

DateDecember 18, 2014
by Katieboo53
from Canada
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
These are absolutely the best pants for boys. My 6-year old is slim and needs the built-in belt on these pants. When these were out of stock recently, I searched other websites but could not find similar pants with a built-in belt anywhere else. Thus I was delighted to see these available again this fall. Also, the quality is excellent. I will continue to buy these pants in the future. Thanks Lands End for providing this high quality, well-fitting product! Just want to add how much I love Lands End and I buy most of the clothes for my kids and I here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great elastic waist pants

DateDecember 15, 2014
by Saritz
from Houston
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My 7 year old wears these every day to school. He is very large for his age and is not ready for snaps and buttons on the waist of his pants. These are super-soft, cozy and wear like iron. I have no trouble getting grass stains out and if you pull them out of the dryer promptly they are not wrinkled. Note- the Khaki are much softer than the indigo.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Pants that wear well & fit well!

DateDecember 9, 2014
by DelightedMum
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I purchase these for my son who is autistic. They are the only ones he will wear!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These pants are absolutely perfect for my grandson.

DateDecember 8, 2014
by Gbby522
from Lima, Ohio
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
It is so hard to find quality "husky" clothes. These pants are excellent. Highly recommend them to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants!

DateDecember 8, 2014
by ksdc
from CT
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
We have been buying these pants exclusively (they are the only pants my son will wear) for years and years. Just wish that they came in Slim sizes up to 20 as they do in the regular fit. My son is tall and skinny and it is impossible to find pants to fit him except for this brand. Please Lands End, come out with this pair of pants in Slim 18 and 20!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Geat pants!

DateDecember 1, 2014
by BW10
from Missouri
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son owns several pair of these pants. They fit great, he can pull them on and off without help. They wash and dry well. We also own many of the Open Bottom Cargo Climber pants which Lands End has discontinued. My only complaint is the replacement of the dark dyed denim, instead of the stone washed. Please bring back stone washed denim in these pants, and cargo style, too. I quit buying them because they do not come in the stone washed denim. I know there are many people who have asked this.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for school

DateNovember 30, 2014
by my3sons404
from Atlanta
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I have had 3 sons wear these pants as their school uniform pants and we have loved them. Comfortable, no belt to fool with, easy up and down, durable. Please bring back the lighter denim color! I would have ordered extra had I known that was going away!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Please bring more colors!

DateNovember 30, 2014
by chandrawalker
from delco, nc
Age: 35-44
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I just discovered these pants, ordered the navy in 10 husky for my 9 year old. I haven't washed them yet, but we love the fit and he says they are comfortable! He can wear them for his school uniform or casual wear. I like a lot of other reviewers would love to see more options like black and gray, and especially the lighter wash denim! I haven't been able to see my son in jeans for years because of his husky size. Would love to see him in jeans like other boys his age! Land's End please listen to your customers and bring us more color options, and styles like cargo pockets!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good but not as good as last year

DateNovember 26, 2014
by Coopersmom
from Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I've bought these pants for my son since he was 4. The knees are of the highest quality, but as my son has gotten older (he's 10 now) the pants have gotten harder to find. The elastic waist is good for bigger boys who want their pants to look like everyone else. My complaint is the fabric. It seems like this year the fabric is not as hefty as it has been in the past. My son also wished the pants were offered in a lighter indigo color. I hope Lands' End will continue to offer these pants.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Look Great and Feel Great

DateNovember 14, 2014
by Lauli
from Sherman, TX
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son doesn't like regular jeans, never fit comfortably. These look like regular jeans, but they are fully elastic around the waist. He says they are very comfy. I had to buy a size bigger than usual.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough but good looking

DateNovember 1, 2014
by drlisa
from Cohasset, MN
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I have a son who is built very large-tall and husky. I have a very difficult time finding pants to fit him. These climber pants have been our savior for years! They come in husky sizes, and the pull-on style is something my son loves, as messing with buttons and zippers is difficult with his large tummy! They are built tough with the reinforced knees and gutsy fabric, and yet they look nice enough to serve as his dress pants for school programs or church. We LOVE these pants!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are the perfect pant for my anti-jean wearing boys. Comfortable waist and durable knees...what's not to LOVE!

DateOctober 25, 2014
by Janette615
from Provo, UT
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I have been waiting to find something that my active boys could feel comfortable in AND look nice for school and church. These truly fit the bill. Thank you!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Pants

DateOctober 25, 2014
by iloveobx
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son loves how easy these pants are to pull up and down. I love how well they wash. Every time he wears them, the knees get filthy dirty. Every time I pull them out of the dryer they are as good as new. Thank you iron knees!!! I ordered a size 8 slim and they fit perfectly which is hard for my tall, skinny boy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pants that actually fit my son

DateOctober 23, 2014
by RaeW
from Massachusetts
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Small
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son needs husky size pants. These are the only pants that fit him well. They have a deep enough seat and rise so that they sit above his hips and don't slip down. When he has been in diapers in the past, they have still fit well. He is a bit tight around the belly, but when I buy the 12 H size they're OK. They are long on him so I have to take them up. The 10H is the right length, but the waist is too snug.
He's been wearing this style of pants since he was a toddler. They have always worn well and I can easily pass them to others as hand me downs.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love that these indigo pants were denim.

DateOctober 14, 2014
by MQMA
from Vancouver, Canada
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
We have a tough time finding pants, denim especially, for our special needs guy. He's 17, tall and very skinny. We bought 18 Reg and they fit a little big at the waist and through the legs. Length is perfect so I hope he doesn't get any taller! If these were available in slims (18 or 20) we would have gone with that sizing.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love climber pants!

DateOctober 13, 2014
by JenniferinSC
from Lexington, SC
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I have been buying these for years! One of my boys needs the slim and the other needs regular or husky, but they fit both boys well. The fabric is comfortable, holds up well, and resists stains. I was so very disappointed that these were not available in the regular denim this year. I do not like the dark denim as well. I had to try another style for the regular denim, and although that style was okay, it was not as good as these! Please bring back the denim!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

bring back the stonewashed indigo color PLEASE!

DateOctober 1, 2014
by mompowers25
from SD
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I love these pants for my son with special needs. I have been buying them for YEARS. It is very hard to find something with a fully elastic waist that looks stylish and is made of denim (as opposed to sweat pants). Their used to be a lighter color denim option. Now there is only the dark denim option. My son has been wearing his new pants for over a month and the dark blue dye is STILL rubbing off onto his hands. His hands look filthy all the time. I washed the pants multiple times the first week when I realized it was going to be a problem and it didn't solve a thing. I have 5 pairs because these are the only pants I buy for him other than gym pants and shorts. Even after multiple washings initially, and regular washings since, the blue dye is STILL rubbing off on his hands. It has been over a month!! This is really bad. These are great pants but unless you have your heart set on denim I would go with any of the other color options.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for school and church

DateSeptember 13, 2014
by Radine
from WV
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
Great quality! We have ordered these pants every year for the last SEVEN years:-)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best school pants!

DateSeptember 7, 2014
by mommaandteacher
from beaverton, Oregon
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
I have purchased these pants three times for my son. He can get them on and off easily. They are very soft against his skin, he is super picky about the way clothes feel. The knees last all school year with out wearing out. These pants look nice enough for church and are durable enough for rough and tumble play at school. I suggest you get two of each color, since you will be washing them all the time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a classic

DateSeptember 3, 2014
by love2cook
from Indiana
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
This is the third pair I have bought for my son. Comfortable, wear well and versatile for casual or for church. Will buy again and again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well made, but extra roomy

DateAugust 31, 2014
by PleasedMom7
from The Heartland
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
My son likes the comfort and style of these pants. But, if you have a 'regular' size boy, you might need a slim, as I did. They are a little too roomy, otherwise. He is ten, and has worn 10 slim for two years. Now it's time to move up to the 12 slim, especially for length. He does not normally wear a slim. Still they fit him well. You just have to know what size to buy. (The old ones will be handed down to his cousin now.) The only reason I gave 4 Sailboats instead of 5 is the sizing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So easy to put on and take off, no zippers or snaps!!!!

DateAugust 26, 2014
by Peety50
from Holland, Michigan
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
Thank you for bringing this pant back, It has always been the best fit for my son who is a skinny child with CP.
The style makes so much easier for him to independently put on and take off, and is still "stylish" for an older child in a wheelchair!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Year after year after year...

DateAugust 20, 2014
by TwentyFourSevenMom
from Sunny California
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
After all these years, I figured I should review this product. So easy for our son to slide on; so durable. His only favorites for the last 10 years. Yes, they comes in slim fit for both Little Boys and Big Boys sizes. I always cut off the elastic belt, and it doesn't even look like something is missing. The navy fades a bit after a couple of years of washing, but by that time he is ready for a new size. I just keep an extra pair or two up on the closet shelf that I mark on the inside as "dress pants". They only come down when he needs his brightest, newest look (church, restaurants...) so they don't go through the wash as often, and they stay brighter. I just wish these slacks were available as in-between sizes, e.g. instead of just sizes 4,6,8,10... maybe there could be sizes 4,5,6,7,8,9,10... Judging from the large number of reviews and high praise given to this product, I think Land's End could support the inventory, even if none of the other slacks have these special sizes. Then our son wouldn't look like he was waiting for the flood just before he was tall enough for the next size. (No, he doesn't like wearing pants that are too long and rolling up the bottom into a cuff, and hemming them would leave a crease line.) This is only a minor annoyance, since my boy isn't too fashion-conscious. No other pants I have found come in the in-between sizes either, so these still get 5 stars. If Land's End adds those extra sizes I'll give them 6 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Way too big on my 5 yr old

DateAugust 17, 2014
by NCDEL
from Midwest
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
Fits Big
Fits Small
Fits Big
After all the awesome reviews I was really excited about these pants for my picky 5 yr old who mostly likes sweats & track pants... The fabric was really not very soft (similar to other khakis) and the fit in a size 4 was huge on him even though I ordered 3 other LE pant styles in the same size that fit well. Too long & way too wide. If I pulled the belt tight it was super bunched up around the waist. I dont think (?) there was a slim fit in the little boys sizes. That being said love the concept of the reinforced knees & wish more of the other pants had that...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Pants Ever!

DateAugust 16, 2014
by HeatherMomof3Boyz
from Phoenix, AZ
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Fit
True-to-Size
Fits Small
Fits Big
I have bought these for uniform pants for both of my boys for school for several years - one is husky, the other is not. Both fit well. They love the built-in belt as they're required to wear one and how comfortable they are. They always last more than one school year (unless they outgrow them). True double knees are awesome. They are a thick material so can wrinkle/crease but I've found using liquid fabric softener in the wash really helps and I don't have to iron them.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magic pants

DateAugust 11, 2014
by ObachanKimi
from Nashville TN
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Have spent an extraordinary amount of time trying to find school uniform pants accepted at my grandson's school that are comfortable and fit. He just started kindergarten and we wanted pants that did not involve a lot of buttons and zippers and such. It is enough of a change starting school. He is also slim and getting pants that stay up without a belt was difficult. If you find pants that are small enough in the waist to stay up, they are too short as he needed a 3 waist per most pants size charts but a 5 for the length. I saw these pants online and with fingers crossed, ordered a pair of 5 slims to try. I truthfully figured it would be a matter of disappointment and sending them back. But voila, we found our "magic" pants. Look great, fit perfect, stay up but are comfortable. He can pull them up and down without even unsnapping the buckle on the attached belt. We are thrilled. I will be ordering additional pairs so he has enough for the school year. My only complaint would be that the shorts that are made this way and in slims as well, have cargo pockets and the school will not allow shorts with cargo pockets. So these are uniform compliant, please make these style of shorts without the cargo pockets. I will likely have to buy the pants and cut and hem them so he has shorts for the hotter months. But we are SO happy with our magic pants. Oh and they dried fast. I hand washed his pair and hung them to dry not expecting they would be dry by morning but they were. I was very surprised.Thank you Lands End!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Please make these in Gray!

DateAugust 6, 2014
by AmandaWhitley
from Mckinney, Tx
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Great pants for my 11 yr old (who won't wear blue jeans)! Just wish you also had them in GRAY! Gray and Navy our our staples that go with most shirts. So I am only left with Navy and have to do gray sweat pants.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE perfect pants for special needs kids.

DateAugust 5, 2014
by Rainywoman
from South Carolina
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Finding a pair of pants with a stretch waist and no snaps or zippers or hooks or buttons is a Godsend for the parents of children with special needs. That might not have been the big deal 20 years ago that it is now, but currently there are probably 2 out of every hundred children that have issues keeping them from being able to either dress/undress themselves or use the bathroom unless wearing pants like these. I have bought them in every color every year for the last 10 years, and will continue to do so because they are an attractive and well-made item, as well as being reasonably priced. I am astonished that Land's End no longer offers their denim jeans as before. I am not talking about the dark indigo jeans that look like they have been soaked in India ink, and have no contrast stitching or rivets or anything that makes a kid feel like he is dressed like everybody else. The dark indigo pants are hideous, nasty, maybe even dangerous, with the way that dye rubs off and stains other things including furniture. Please, please, please bring back the former lighter, thicker, REAL jeans you used to carry. You had a corner on that market, but now I have to go looking again. It's important to these kids to look and feel like their peers.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

10 year old son. Loves these pants

DateJuly 19, 2014
by Cat159
from Sydney, Australia
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
These pants are perfect for a cold Sydney winter. Normally my son wears shorts but this year it is rather cold. These pants are a thick fabric that wears well. He has the pants is green and khaki and wears the Khaki to cubs scouts and says they are good for bush walking. These pants wear well and are tough.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My grandson has worn these for many years.

DateJuly 9, 2014
by 1grandmaB
from Long Beach CA.
Age: Over 65
Gender: Female
My now 12 year old grandson is autistic and has challenges with buttons and fasteners but these pants have been perfect for him since he was little. He is no longer little and is in size 20. Could you please make these in larger sizes for bigger kids who need them? I see that others have requested the same thing.
Thank you!
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pants. Fade too soon.

DateJune 14, 2014
by Cjaafar
from Roswell, GA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Have been buying for years as uniform pants.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The ONLY pants my autistic son wears....for over 16 years!

DateJune 10, 2014
by Anais
from San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
The style and quality of these pants cannot be found anywhere else; because its design and durability, these pants have been the best choice for my now adult autistic son, we still buy them year after year.
You do need to bring back the previous material and color of the jeans, because the dark indigo ink bleeds too much and stains other clothing and skin, please.
+27points
27of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

New twill jeans

DateApril 4, 2014
by Julie72965
from Aurora Illinois
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My son is 17 and autistic. We love these pants because he can do them by himself. BUT the new jeans this year are terrible. The blue dye has gotten on to his hands, legs and socks. I soaked them and the dye still ran. I had to return them. Please, please bring back the old denim. I love these pants otherwise..just bring back the old material!!
+34points
34of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't ever stop making these

DateMarch 8, 2014
by bjqb
from Sylmar, CA
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
My disabled son, age 30, is small and wears boy's pants. He is able to dress and toilet himself because he can pull these pants on and off. What a joy for him to have some independence and control over his life. He has worn these for years and I can find nothing even close to this anywhere!
+30points
30of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far working great

DateFebruary 19, 2014
by GMD62
from Jacksonville, FL
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
These pants with the adjustable elastic belt are working great. He was having a problem with elastic waist pants riding down but with these we can tighten them just enough for him to get them off and on easily but they stay up. The quality is superb and he wears them daily to school. For a child with some disabilities they have solved a big problem for us.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dye from Pants gets everywhere

DateFebruary 16, 2014
by lynn1968
Come on Landsend! I've had these dark wash jeans for five months and the blue dye still gets all over my sons white shoes, socks, hands, etc. I have tried soaking the jeans to set he dye, washing them in hot water and nothing helps. It certainly can't be safe to have this much dye next to a childs skin. You can do somthing about this now do it.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Only pants my autistic son will wear. Please do not discontinue these Lands End!

DateFebruary 14, 2014
by Shari41
from California
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
A few years ago I searched high and low for jeans with no zippers, buttons, or difficult closures and could not find anything. Then I was lucky enough to find exactly what I needed for my son on Lands End. I bought 3 pairs and after wearing his first pair to school one day, my son was hooked and refuses to wear any other pants. I buy 3 to 4 pairs every year but now my son is on the last size offered of 20 Husky. I want to join the other 400 plus reviewers in asking that you continue these pants and also start making them in even bigger sizes and possibly with a choice of hemmed inseam like you do with adult pants. My son would happily wear these throughout his adulthood. Also please bring back the heavier denim material you had the year before. The new dark indigo is a thinner, less sturdy material though it's still nice. Maybe offer both colors? If you continue making these pants and with bigger sizes, you would be helping many customers like me that have children with special needs and have happy customers for many many years to come.
+41points
41of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome pull-on jeans for boys who hate jeans

DateFebruary 2, 2014
by Toobusy
from Ohio
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My boys hate jeans, but sometimes the sweatpants won't cut it! I bought two different sizes of the denim version of these pants and both boys love them. Fit is true-to-size. The denim does not shrink at all. Very sturdy fabric and I expect them to last a long time. The only warning I would give is to wash the dark denim pants separately, in warm water, for at least the first 4-5 washings to keep the dye from bleeding into the rest of your laundry. After that, they stop bleeding when washed on cold with the rest of the dark, cold water load. I would still buy them again as the overall quality is excellent.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

DateFebruary 1, 2014
by smarq
from Ohio
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
My brother is paralyzed on the left side of his body, so wasn't able to wear jeans because of the zip/snap/button. He's a smaller adult and able to wear these. It's helped his self esteem and confidence tremendously.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Have been buying these pants for years

DateDecember 29, 2013
by KristenG4
from Stoneham, MA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Love these pants, my kids don't complain about wearing them because they are almost as comfortable as sweats and they look nice enough to wear with a sweater to church. Easy to get on and off. My kids hate wearing dress pants or jeans and these are the only non-sweats they will wear without complaining.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for metal allergy sufferers

DateDecember 13, 2013
by RoseAThomas
from Austin, TX
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My 9 year old is allergic to certain metals, that make purchasing pants for him a nightmare, having to deal with all the buttons, snaps, zippers, etc. It was easier when he was younger but as he gets older the only "metal" free pants are the "track suit" type or sweatpants. Then I found land's end. The quality of these pants is excellent, the fabric seems very substantial (to keep up with a 9 year old very active boy) and it seems comfortable. My son was very happy to not have to deal with snaps, buttons and we are both happy that his allergies are under control. Thank You Land's end! Will be purchasing more of these! Please make them in more colors!!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

kids love these

DateDecember 8, 2013
by ruggedsports
from upstate ny
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I have been a faithful purchaser of these pants as my boys have grown. They love the ease with which these elastic waist pants pull-on. I love that they always clean-up well and look presentable. My only complaint is that the rear pockets are so thick at the seam area that it begins to wear away the material in the seat of the pants - before the knees wear out!! This is especially true in the blue jean fabric - 2 small wear spots begin to show and then the fabric wears through. But overall, I would recommend these pants. My kids request them.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rugged pants that look nice

DateDecember 7, 2013
by FayHershey
from Falls Church, VA
We've been buying these for years. They take all the abuse my kid dishes out and still look great. I love that they are rugged enough to be play pants but still look a bit more put together than more casual pants.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fade on everything!

DateDecember 4, 2013
by momlarm
from Midwest
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Photos for this Review
User submitted photo
I have bought these pants every year since he was about 3. He is now 12. He has cerebral palsy in his hands and sensory issues, so these have worked well for him. Plus he is very skinny, so the slim ones are about the only pants he can keep up! BUT this year, I bought a several pairs of the Indigo color- the ones that are jeans. After 4 washings, they still fade on anything in the same wash with them. This is even if I wash them in cold water with mild detergent. If my son sweats any when he wears them, they fade on his other clothing! The denim ones in the past were already stone washed and did not fade. Basically, he cannot wear these and I wasted my money! Please return to the stone washed material so that my son can have some jeans! See the picture I attached of some white underwear. One pair was washed with these pants and you can see how badly the dye bled!
Response from Lands' End:By Customer Care December 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. If you are unsatisfied for any reason, remember we are Guaranteed. Period. We encourage you to return the pants for a refund or replacement. We're not happy if you're not happy.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

these pants have the best fit

DateNovember 13, 2013
by UnhappyMother
from fort wayne in
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
this fit works well for school uniform and every day. The material is a nice fall/winter weight and I am very happy that it is sized is the husky line.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the built-in belt. Top quality and great fit.

DateNovember 13, 2013
by EStillwell
from Columbus, Ga
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Bought for 7 yr old boy for school uniform. The fit is roomy but tailored structure. The belt is a really nice feature because it is elastic but also allows adjusting the waist fit at the belt buckle, and for boys in a hurry they can pull the pants on and off without always undoing the belt. These are the only style I will by from now on!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sized Wrong

DateNovember 1, 2013
by Mom3Cees
from Georgia
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
My son is a true 4 Slim in all other Lands End pants (Slim Iron Knee Boat Pant and Open Bottom Cargo Climber ) I ordered 2 pairs of these jeans in Dark Indigo in a 4 Slim...I also ordered the same jean (on sale) in a 5 slim to have for later to grow into. These 4 Slim in Dark Indigo are WAY to long. I matched them up to the 5 Slim and they are exactly the SAME length. The waist on this dark indigo jean is a true 4 Slim however. This jean would work for a boy that has the waist of a 4 slim and the length of a 5. The inseam of this jean was 18 1/2 ". All other 4 Slim pants we have are about 16" inseam. These need to go in the "not quite perfect" section. We will have to return them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely love these pants. My boys wear them for school uniform. Comfortable with built in belt.

DateOctober 27, 2013
by Horton
from Indiana
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
These pants hold up! Been buying them for 6+ yrs, and never a rip. Comfortable and they look great with a polo for school use. Highly recommend them, no fussing with zippers and they have built in belt plus elastic waist for those not so skinny boys.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The only pants they wear.

DateOctober 27, 2013
by MaineMa
from Bar Harbor, Maine
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
My two boys have worn these for years. They love the ease of putting them on. I love the look, fit and wear of them. Two tough boys have yet to wear them totally out, before out growing them. They also, are just dressy enough that in our casual part of Maine they can wear them anywhere. Thank you, thank you Lands End for bringing them back.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Boys' Open Bottom Climber™ Pants
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best pair of pants for boys!

DateOctober 26, 2013
by Shuggie
from Spokane, WA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I've been buying some version of these pants for my two boys for the past ten years or so. The pants are extremely durable and a great value. The elastic waist and double knees make them comfy and tough for hard-playing boys. The look, however, is smart enough for school dress codes.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>